Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ingress the Animation


Alternative Titles

Japanese: INGRESS THE ANIMATION

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 18, 2018
Producers: Fuji TV, NIANTIC
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Craftar Studios
Source: Game
Genres: ActionAction, GameGame, Sci-FiSci-Fi, MysteryMystery
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: None

Statistics

Score: 6.501 (scored by 33113,311 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #61162
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3418
Members: 17,690
Favorites: 23

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 30, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
"Now that Netflix has released two garbage-tier cop shows with supernatural elements in a row, I wonder what they gonna do next..."

Ingress the Animation is the third cop show with supernatural elements Netflix has decided to release this year, but it's not exactly as awful as the other two. I have absolute no idea who is greenlighting these, but please, stop.

Characters:

We have 3 main leads here and they are called: Jack Norman, but I will proceed to call him Jack Normal in this review because he is so Normal that even his first name is Jack. Sarah Coppola -- whose last name, indeed, is of read more
Nov 27, 2018
Andreikun (All reviews)
Review might contain small spoilers/references. Watched this with the Italian sub. Also never played the game this is based on, so my review judges what I've seen animated and not if it follows the source material.

This show is a mixed bag in my opinion. First, if you dislike fully CGI anime (such as Ajin) this might not be for you. All the characters are done in CGI, it's not bad, but not really good either. Sometimes the movement, especially during walking or talking feels and looks weird. Backgrounds and action scenes are nicely made, car chases care also animated nicely in CGI.

Plot is read more
Jun 6, 2019
Sasori_Nagashi (All reviews)
I know little to nothing about the history or production of either Ingress the Game or Ingress the Animation so my assumptions may well be off, however this anime reeks of a soulless promotion piece. A piece of animation made with no intention of actually being good, with no passion to tell a tale. A piece of animation made solely to promote a video game, which I never played.

Ingress the Animation is really unique... It's rare to stumble upon something with this much raw suckage. This anime features truly horrendous CGI in a time where ugly, cheap CGI is becoming commonplace with the only anime read more
Dec 17, 2018
enJ0Yable (All reviews)
At first two diclaimers: I am not a fan of 3D-CGI-animated series. And I didn't play the game Ingress, so I have no knowledge of the story in there.

Story (6/10):
World conspiracy is a theme that is used quite often in anime lately, so the story is nothing special. Some plotholes are there, but in general it's done quite fine. The last two episodes are a bit over the top, and I didn't like the end at all, but that's just my opinion. The plot twists were predictable, at least if you understood what's going on. Even the post-credit-scene in the last episode was no surprise... read more
May 4, 2019
Kukker (All reviews)
Hello there - as Danish Netflix finally decided to put Ingress onto its page, I decided to go watch it for fun.
Before starting on the review I want to note that I have played the game for a couple of years and therefore have some knowledge towards what's happening and how the game works. Even so, I went into this with low expectations and sadly the anime didn't do much to make me regret my expectation level.

On to the review:

Story and Plot: 3
The anime is set in an ordinary world, where a game Ingress flows around. The game contains certain portals for different factions enlightened read more
Nov 23, 2019
1Ni1 (All reviews)
Before i watched ingress i had never heard about it's game.So honestly i went in blind, not knowing what it was .It's a decent Anime for sure . The story isn't too deep or complex it's all out there. I tend to have fun instead look for my shows to be perfect because i know that most Writers try their best , and the Writers in this show did as well. Converting a Mobile game into an Adaptation like this comes with more challenges than we can imagine, but the journey that the characters go on is interesting to say at least.It's nothing special and read more
Nov 11, 2019
shoxs84 (All reviews)
Now this is a rather unique case of where i really wanted to like this show!
As a sci-fi fan i thought this show could be something interesting ...and to be honest, it was and wasnt at the same time! It an anime with so much lost potential that i was rather disappointed with how they had produced the show.

The world building was done really well compared to some of the other other sci fi anime out there with no "because its anime" logic. The premise and the stage was set, what failed sadly was the execution!

the 3d gci was absolutely atrocious making the read more
Aug 6, 2019
Jabami0323 (All reviews)
It will be a small review so that they have a preview of the impression they will take when watching the anime.

Unlike other pretentious stories, Ingress has a very easy plot to digest and also does not use the typical resource of putting its characters just to push the plot. The development of characters and their characterization is very good, unlike their design, because I found it a bit generic.

The soundtrack is executed at the indicated time and does not over-extend. As for the animation, the fights are very dynamic although it has been done with this new animation that has been implemented recently. I read more
Jul 11, 2019
WiseKouichi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story is nothing new but the CGI, music and character design are nice. Especially the ED is very catchy. I am really enjoying the show right now since there are not many good thriller/agent themed anime from what I gather. The MC is neither overpowered nor stupidly pathetic. It doesn't take him 10/12 episodes to change his mindset.
I was surprised that this is a mobile game adaptation since I haven't had good experiences with those.
The concept of capturing points is nothing new but it is the first time I see it (kinda) outside of a game.
All in all I give it a read more
Jun 21, 2019
MapleKoala (All reviews)
Having watched a variety of anime, I was interested in how the Ingress game could be adapted into its anime form. There are some spoilers below, but I have avoided the main ones.

Story: I don't dock points from Japanese anime for being predictable so I'm not going to do it here either. Yes, the story was pretty predictable and not all that exciting or original. There are some interesting twists here and there but for the most part it's standard anime storyline.

Art: Decent art, they definitely had a limited budget but they also have consistent action scenes that drive the story along. Those eat up read more
Jun 2, 2019
Fraell (All reviews)
This is a short review

Art/Animation: 3/10
The animation is bad. It was made by computer. It is CGY and not good one.
The mood of the sceens are often ruin because of the bad animation.

Sound/VA: 7/10
It is nothing spectacular but it is not bad.

Story: 5/10
The story is simple and very straight forward.
Even if the story is a bit cliché it is still enjoyable.

Character: 4/10
The character are bland and never change in the series.

Overall: 5/10
You can have a good time watching this, but you will have forgotten about it tomorrow.
I will definetly nerver watch it again though.
May 9, 2019
BananaFurikake (All reviews)
I just binge watched this on Netflix. I won’t repeat what others said but the storyline is “ok”- I did find it a little on the hokey side but I can forgive it somewhat for being based on a game. I did end up liking the characters though I do think that the portrayal of some of the “indigenous” folks was a little unfortunate in their one dimensionality. What really got to me was the translation of the subtitles. They were laughably bad to the point that there was sometimes zero connection between what the characters said in Japanese to the read more
May 6, 2019
Kams335 (All reviews)
*The first paragraph is about the game in which inspired this anime and how it relates to the original game so skip to the second paragraph if you want*

As a fairly long time player of Ingress (The game that came out in 2013 and that i started playing in 2016) I have got to say that most people who haven't played the game won't get everything straight away or be able to understand some game terminology but it explains it in a fairly simple way. I liked the way they used sounds from the actual game as well as footage from the re-booted version of read more
May 5, 2019
_Koutarou_ (All reviews)
Netflix is filled with very average and even under average animes. Because of my previous experiences with the so called "Netflix Originals" I honestly did not expect much, and yet this serie is worst that I thought.

Story: 4/10
This anime is set up in a regular present world where certain groups found a phenomena which could affect the entire world. Basically there is a form of energy which some special people can use in order to improve unnatural abilities. This "energy" is divided in two fractions, the Enlightened and the Resistance. These two groups have different perspectives and opinions about this energy and how to use read more