Carole & Tuesday

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: キャロル&チューズデイ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 11, 2019 to Oct 3, 2019
Premiered: Spring 2019
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Bones
Source: Original
Genres: DramaDrama, MusicMusic, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.001 (scored by 7462174,621 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #661
Members: 197,422
Favorites: 2,031
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 2, 2019
AndoCommando (All reviews)
Imagine, if you will, a moment of bliss. The dazzling array of lights illuminating the hall, radiating along the stage. Glimmering golden flakes floating down from above like snow upon two girls pouring their hearts out in the performance of their lives. Their eyes are transfixed on the spectacle of it all as the narrator bellows that “it would go down in the history of Mars as the miraculous seven minutes”. This is the moment that Carole & Tuesday wished to define itself by. A celebration of music and the power it holds consummated in seven special minutes.

But behind these seven minutes is the journey read more
Oct 2, 2019
SingleH (All reviews)
Be it for better or for worse, 2019 is not over yet, but after taking an effort to look through and genuinely analyze much of the upcoming Fall lineup, I don’t think it’s at all early to claim I have found the single worst anime of the year. While you may be able to gravely fault things like either second season of One Punch Man or Kemono Friends for being insulting towards the fans, or while you also may be able to do the same for something like Arifureta for serving as an exceptional low point in the production quality of modern TV animation, you’d be read more
Oct 2, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
With nearly three decade span of experience, Shinchiro Watanabe once again takes the stage as a director for a new original anime project. It’s well known that Shinchiro Watanabe’s Cowboy Bebop managed to garner an international audience and achieved universal success. Carole & Tuesday won’t likely have the same level of success but the premise is worth to think about. Considering that there’s not many 2-cour music-drama these days, the idea of Carole & Tuesday sounds like a refreshing experience.

The first time we see Carole and Tuesday is two characters with different backgrounds and personalities. It’s easy to get the image of these two girls read more
Oct 2, 2019
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*Minimum Spoiler Review*
TL;DR: Futuristic Cowboy Bebop mixed with Kids on the Slope sprinkled with some Nana and a whole lot of wackiness from Space Dandy to give you the new hit, Carole & Tuesday. Seriously, it's just like wrapping yourself in a blanket by a fireplace and drinking hot-choco while enjoying some lo-fi music and falling asleep while watching this anime... Except you don't fall asleep.
[Story: 7/10 , Characters: 7/10, Art: 8/10, Sound: 9/10, Enjoyment: 9/10]

"Fucking bullshit... Goddamn bullshit... Son of a bitch, what the hell?" - Galactic Mermaid ♪

It's definitely a little cold in paradise tonight for the brainchild show Carole & Tuesday, read more
May 16, 2019
Waifwu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tl;dr This is a very enjoyable show even if you don't like music genre and is definitely worth watching.

In my case it was like came for story stayed for music and visuals although that doesn't mean story is bad or anything. Carole and Tuesday is a story about two girls named after the title of this anime living on Mars after it has been colonised(elon musk heavy breathing) and finding their way into music industry. First few episode start off very good with girls trying to sync their chords, looking for ways to gain popularity(via Instagram coz probably they are sponsoring this show) and gaining read more
Oct 2, 2019
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*potentially vague and mild spoilers for a show I don’t recommend*

Carole and Tuesday is an empty shell. It’s fundamentally at odds with itself as well, given the narrative of the show and the contemporary feel it oozes in every direction. You can smell the corporate in the air here, which is probably the most bizarre thing to say given that this is a Shinichiro Watanabe anime. The man responsible for stylish classics such as Cowboy Bebop and Samurai Champloo is one of the main people who crafted something that’s at the crossroads of trends from both the popular anime industry and the popular music industry. read more
May 16, 2019
jigglymig (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm more of an action/adventure/fantasy/magic/shonen person. The only musical anime I have watched are Your Lie in April and Fuuka. So this is coming from someone who goes for great animation and plot with less emphases on the music aspect....

IMO this anime is a mix of music arts , good animation, and story development. So far I really like the development speed and a sly mixture of music from current or past generations. This anime has a different future concept that gives it a fun quirky side. The character development is really nice and gives a good taste of each individual's background and why they read more
May 16, 2019
Straysan (All reviews)
Preliminary
An original work by the famous animation studio Bones (MHA, FMA, Mob Psycho 100, Noragami ...) that we greatly appreciate. This is something very surprising considering the genre of Carole & Tuesday since usually Bones often adapts us actions, shonen works. So what’s the value of this new work out of nowhere?

First of all the story begins with the introduction of our main protagonists Carole & Tuesday, Carole is a girl who lives alone in town, looking for a stable job, while Tuesday lives out of the city in a very rich family. Tuesday runs away from home, to go to town and meets by read more
Aug 1, 2019
Chthonis (All reviews)
Preliminary
Don't get me wrong, Audio and Visuals nice as heck. I will still listen to the music. Would easily be a 9 for me if it wasn't laden with SJW themes. They give you a great looking anime to hook you, and then force shitty American Politics in it.

Netflix's attempts to politicize anime just ruins the whole show though. It was low key and tolerable for a while, but eventually they turn up the SJW themes. Writers really enjoy the "Trump is Evil incarnate, the future is transgender" kind of themes.

Was tolerable for me till' this last episode 15, if it gets better I'll read more
Aug 4, 2019
paperminh (All reviews)
Preliminary
Maybe is it still too soon to emit a judgement about this show, but well, I'm kind of bothered by how things turned out for me, watching this show. *Rant alert*

The first few episodes were very enjoyable, discovering new characters, a new world...
I immediately liked Carole, she's a strong character, she's got style and she's driven. The supporting cast is decent, and funny at times, at least they try very hard to be funny... Tuesday would be my least favorite aspect of this show, although I understand her background as well as the fact that every character needs room for growth and improvements. Now I read more
Sep 2, 2019
SoyaMilk (All reviews)
Preliminary
How am I supposed to buy that these two girls are the more unique, different and exotic thing if their songs are the most generic, pop, country, dumb shit ive ever listened to??

They sound exactly like a white girl who has been gifted a guitar on her 18th birthday and is traveling to find herself #bodypositive #smiling and along the way she found a black poor girl on the street playing the piano and they became the new trending interacial duo!!!!

And these two girls are the flattest character Ive ever seen for real I dont even know why I keep watching it, im read more
Oct 2, 2019
AstralBread (All reviews)
If this show ended after the first cour it would’ve been 9/10. I haven’t seen an anime fall apart in the second half so badly since Aldnoah.Zero.

So, the first half of the series has its titular heroines pursuing their dream of creating music. They face the many challenges of an aspiring musician, meet industry people, cross paths with crazy fans, but also with Angela - a corporate-manufactured instant hit which serves as their foil - etc, etc. The first cour culminates with them getting a big break. So, where would you think the story will go from there? Suffering from success? Having to sell your read more
Oct 2, 2019
Xnovazero (All reviews)
Good music doesn't mean that become masterpiece. Every artists and bands are familiar with it. Convey their feelings to people is very difficult thing. Then what should they do? They just do their best. Don't be too serious. It's better to they make what they want to make songs. That is one kind of theory.

Okay. Let's talk about this show, Carole & Tuesday. Protagonists of this show are literally these two girls. Two relationship is the most important point. A certain event triggered they met each other. They hit it off soon, and they've started to musical activities with their companions (Gus and Roddy). On read more
Jul 2, 2019
blitZerK (All reviews)
Preliminary
Carole & Tuesday: ep 1-12

"A rough masterpiece". it may be unfair for me to bring up "Nana" in this review but Carole & Tuesday gave me some similar chills.

in this review I won't be talking about the simple and nit-picky aspects of the anime that I would usually hammer on,instead I will simply give it praise where praise is due because if you are reading this review to see if you want to watch it or not,I strongly recommend that you watch it regardless of what is said about it,it is an anime that deserves as much opinion as it can get and believe me read more
Aug 16, 2019
Cloudwolfs (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story(3):
Well, 17 episodes already and I feel like the characters didn't got a lot of development or any originality, specially because of the political part, it has been consuming the time to make this anime good and looks really artificial and forced, looks like they put it there just for some political (anti)propaganda. It as been really annoying because it doesn't help any development of the story and also have a lot of unanswered questions like "Why people are fleeing the earth?", "What happened there that is so bad to live?" or "Why a entire planet that lauched a new civilization in another planet(Mars) is read more
Sep 7, 2019
Angel-uwu- (All reviews)
Preliminary
Carole and Tuesday explores different genres of music that sparks enjoyment for a wide audience demographic. The effort in producing quality music each episode with elements of music from different artists come into play. As someone who enjoys a large range of music genres, I appreciate the types of music utilised in this anime.

Carole and Tuesday also explores issues that are actual reality as well. E.g. refugees in Mars being discriminated highly relate to the current issues we have in terms of immigration and stereotypes that refugees face in real life. You see how it applies in an anime and hits home to those read more
Oct 3, 2019
aikaflip (All reviews)
"When it comes to researching the human brain in order to control emotions using AI, music and politics are very much alike."
— Jerry Egan

It’s been fifty years since humans colonized Mars. Cities akin to Tokyo and New York are populated with an array of immigrants from Earth, and natives recently born there. Technology crowds every facet of life—from streets, to homes where an android or robot pet is commonplace. Thanks to artificial intelligence, people don’t have to put as much effort into working, thinking, or even creating anymore. “99% of modern hits are produced by AI,” a record producer tells an up-and-coming idol. Doing anything read more
Oct 4, 2019
21stdealer (All reviews)
Carole and Tuesday are supposed to be the collision of two worlds—as Crystal says, "Carole, a refugee, and Tuesday, Valerie's daughter" (Episode 24). But the two of them lose all individuality from the moment they team up. From then, they function as more of a unit than as two individual beings—their dialogue becomes entirely interchangeable.

Here is a conversation (Episode 5) in which the girls talk to Roddy. Can you tell who's saying what?

RODDY: Well, it's a gig, but it's just one song. Just a trial kind of thing.
???: Don't worry, that's just fine.
???: Hey, what song should we play?
???: Well... why don't we write a read more
May 21, 2019
Boknoy_Buhisan (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, I have to mention that Beck Mongolian Chop Squad is one of my favorite shows of all time. With that out of the way, Carole & Tuesday is not far behind.

Set in a future where people live in Mars, we follow a couple of pretty miserable girls in very different situations. Music is dominated by AI generated crap and our girls are pretty set in their dreams of making music great again. Carole is our hard-working one-wheel skateboarding keyboardist who busks at bridges in her free time. Tuesday is the privileged one who is bored at home with her expensive Gibson read more
Oct 3, 2019
_Maneki-Neko_ (All reviews)
Overall Grade: 8
Story / Pacing: 7
Art / Animation: 9
Sound / Music / Voice Actors: 10
Character: 7
Enjoyment: 8

INCLUDES SPOILER

WORDS: ca. 2.100

I have quite a lot to criticize, although I really liked and enjoyed the anime. I'll explain this in detail later on.
I think, the anime took the wrong path in the second cour. It should have stayed more of a character-centric story with two girls that found each other to follow their dream to make music and defeat their loneliness with each other's presence and some other people they meet. It also had too many characters it didn't use properly and too many half-assed themes. read more