Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tensei shitara Slime Datta Ken


Alternative Titles

English: That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime
Synonyms: TenSura
Japanese: 転生したらスライムだった件

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2018 to Mar 19, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: 8bit
Source: Manga
Genres: Fantasy, Shounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.241 (scored by 141,941 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2992
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #244
Members: 328,878
Favorites: 5,680

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 5, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
'That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Loli Don't Mind The Slime Part It Is Just a Marketing Bait' is truly a fantastic self-insert series because the mc's face looks like a dead moth and the story line is basically Overlord but isekai. "B.. b-b..b.but isn't Overlord an isekai?" Not compared to this.. piece of.. slime.

The setup is a really great excuse for the story. One of the best ever to be honest. 37 years-old virgin NEET who hasn't left his apartment for 38 years goes outdoors for the first time ever and dies because the world is really a fucked up and sad place read more
Mar 25, 2019
Johan_Liebert_ (All reviews)
Insert obligatory pretentious quote here because I’m not good at starting a review. The Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime or TenSuru is an anime that slipped into the radar of ever hungry anime watchers in October 2018. Since then, the anime has been praised as being a wholesome isekai deviating from the norm and positing a new and refreshed take on the genre. So, imagine my confoundment when only the first 5-6 episodes held true to the preceding sentence. After the first 6 episodes it turns into your typical harem loli bait. Allow me to elaborate.

The anime starts off pretty good actually with read more
Nov 5, 2018
Ballroomdancer (All reviews)
Preliminary
*If you are just too tired to read the whole thing just skip to the last paragraph*

This show puts a smile on my face.

Every season there is one show that just makes me happy as a person and makes me not regret getting into anime.
In Winter it was Yuru camp, in Spring it was Hinamatsuri, in Summer it was Cells at work and this Fall it is about a slime.

That time I got reincarnated as a slime is a show that actually makes you feels like you were reincarnated as a slime. These 6 episodes actually focuses a lot on the world building and read more
Mar 25, 2019
RebelPanda (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime has one huge issue preventing it from being the fun wholesome D&D comedy it wants to be. There are no stakes.

Nothing matters, there is no reason to care all because the main character is insanely overpowered. Rinmuru was a 37-year-old-virgin office worker randomly killed and then reborn in a new world as a blue slime in a JRPG-like fantasy world. Like most isekai power-fantasies, he is immediately overpowered. Anything he encounters in the world can be effortlessly defeated, draining any tension out of the show.

The premise isn’t inherently flawed, especially because it aims for read more
Mar 25, 2019
papsoshea (All reviews)
I use to ponder how isekai is an unusual phenomenon, seeing how it's rather so popular and draws so many people in with its stories. But the more you watch, you start to see that it really isn’t—it’s quite understandable, really. The fandom of light novels tends, more than most, to be fond of wish-fulfillment and self-insert type stories. And of course, isekai is the ultimate platform for that. Maybe there was a time, before it became almost unimaginably overused and tired, that the word “isekai” didn’t immediately elicit a groan—but that time has long since passed. The genre is overplayed and overdone, and almost read more
Nov 6, 2018
Jio_Inzagi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tensei Slime is THE isekai of the season, with a great first episode, it presented a relatable main character and how he ended up getting into another world but in a slime's body, all of this on a great animation budget and a good background music. I personally enjoyed it very much. The plot itself wraps p pretty originally and in a good way it connects up beetween events, in a not-rshed pace everything gets developed in a way that you get to really like most of its characters.
Rimuru himself is the star of the show, this cool slime fella is imensely cool, cute and read more
Mar 25, 2019
ThatShiny_Hex (All reviews)
*This review contains SPOILERS!*
That time I got reincarnated as a slime is basically a bad version of overlord. It started as a light hearted slimavilization which was fun in the beginning but then became horribly boring.


The premise starts off with our 37 years old virgin NEET being killed and reincarnated as a jesus with a mix personality of a mary sue and being nice because supposedly being nice and having a god like power can make girls with big tits or naked lolis to like you. There's literally no story here. Rimuru is building his own slimavilization along with everyone he meets. There are no read more
Mar 25, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Life can be harsh and I’m sure most of us think so in some way or another. The typical everyman at adult age works an 8-5 schedule on weekdays to make a living. Satoru Mikami is a very ordinary person until he gets reincarnated as a slime after being killed in a knife attack. As tragic as that sounds, it may not be a harsh life after all. Isn’t life just full of surprises?

After being turned into a light novel, Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken (That Time I got Reincarnated as a Slime) is one of the few isekai shows that I genuinely looked forward read more
Nov 5, 2018
Shirokuza (All reviews)
Preliminary
A modern staple of fantasy legends, the Slime Monster is an amorphous, shapeless, gooey creature best represented by the original Dragon Quest Slime. They are typically weak, but certain slimes, such as massive ones, ones made of special materials, or ones that are immune to damage, can be quite dangerous and deadly. Its usual attack is to engulf its prey.

The Slime is an iconic creature from Dragon Quest, but the existence of slime monsters dates back at least as far as Dungeons and Dragons, to the Gelatinous Cube. Which is suggested to be an invention of Gary Gygax.

Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken is an adapted read more
Nov 5, 2018
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
Preliminary
"That time I got roped into thinking that this anime might actually be good after seeing all of the praise for it only to be terribly disappointed" basically sums of my experience with TenSura right now.

This season's token isekai anime is super duper original because it's protagonist gets reincarnated as a slime instead of a person. Mind = Blown. Our hero is portrayed as an embarrassment to society with no unique qualities who dies a horrible death when he ventures outside to communicate with other humans. Now here we have the moral of the story: Don't go outside kids. So after dying a virgin read more
Mar 25, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Mikami Satoru’s (Rimuru Tempest’s) top search results:

1) Japanese Spooge-casters (newscasters)

2) AppleJack(ing) Off (My Little Pony Futa)

3) Slime Stuff (self-explanatory)

4) Grew Grew Cock fO`shO (spirit gun!)

5) Legends of the Galactic Queero’s (starring Yang in the putang — otherwise known as Reinhard’s vagina)


But enough giggles for one afternoon, what do these words bring to mind?

Squishy. Amorphous. Pliable. Flaccid.

No. This is not an explanation of Rimuru “The Slime” Tempest’s appearance — or a Donkey Kong dong Shlong — rather, it’s a succinct description of That Time I got Reincarnated as a Slime’s (henceforth, will be referred to as just read more
Nov 5, 2018
MarlyTT (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly, the whole isekai trope isn't inherently bad- It's definitely feasible to make something genuinely good with creative world building, interesting character interactions, good direction and premise, and so on. Unfortunately, this series, like most others, has none of those and is quite literally the most trite isekai that could be made by what I'd presume to be a human. Though if someone said this was computer generated by re-using every awful isekai trope ever, I'd unironically believe it. This is a prime example of a series using an incredibly "clickbaity" title as a hook without offering anything of substance beyond it, and it really read more
Mar 25, 2019
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
As someone with literally thousands of hours of playtime in the Sid Meier's Civilization series over the years, I very much appreciated this anime.

Isekai series are a standard staple in the anime industry nowadays and managing to stand out from the crowd can be easier said than done. Generally the way people do this is by giving some sort of twist to an otherwise quite generic setup, which in the case of Tensei shitara Slime Datta Ken is quite simply that the protagonist gets reincarnated as a slime of all things once he gets transported to this particular fantasy world. However, it is important to read more
Nov 14, 2018
Satyr_icon (All reviews)
Preliminary
That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime — but not really, since writing a fantasy story with an actually weak main character would take some effort, so let's just throw that overpowered blue blob into the usual generic JRPG fantasy world and hope we can get away with it.

Well, they did. After all, that title would be too long even for a light novel. And the isekai formula still works like a charm: you just need to change whatever the main character gets incarnated in next, be it a polar bear, a vending machine, or — oh for fuck's sake — bloody Vladimir Putin read more
Nov 8, 2018
Cenizeee (All reviews)
Preliminary
I love to see how the anime industry supports these authors who in their stories abjectly abuse the same format, and within the same format take advantage of the same resources and end up creating a garbage like this BUT that inevitably takes the liking of Most, I love it.

It must be clear that the protagonist, a man of 37 yo, is a failure, so the first thing that is mentioned in the anime is that it is a virgin and all that, but being transported magically to another world and lifestyle, its existence begins to be more interesting, a premise that reminds me read more
Mar 11, 2019
OG_Guts (All reviews)
Preliminary
What started off as a unique premise of a middle aged man being reincarnated into a Slime in a fantasy setting, slowly devolved into another generic, power fantasy Isekai. [Warning spoilers]

The light hearted slimevilization was fun for a while, but it became boring.

Story (4/10):

There’s not much to the story. Rimuru says he wants to get avenge Shizu and defeat the demon lord Leon, well not really it’s just building Rimuru’s nation until the next enemy attacks. There’s no tension/stakes, especially after Milim joins. The loli demon lord is too OP for her own good. She could oneshot all of the enemies, but doesn’t because read more
Jan 6, 2019
Verdigris6 (All reviews)
Preliminary
After hearing so much about Reincarnated as a Slime I finally decided to binge the 13 eps that are out to see what the fuss is about. I am pretty disappointed with what I found, not because the show is terrible, but at how over-hyped it has been.

To start, the story so far is pretty boring. Pretty much every conflict that has happened so far has been resolved either by our OP protag, or the OP ability gifted by our protag to his friends (I'll leave it at that for spoilers). This was fine at first but by episode 13 I should have seen our read more
Mar 25, 2019
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
When was the last time a light novel adaptation or isekai tried to be straightforward? Nothing fancy, nothing repetitive or self-indulgent, just simple. With the likes of Re:Zero, Akashic Records, Overlord, and Mahouka, it’s become harder and harder to find an LN or isekai show that just wants to entertain (parodies like Konosuba don't count cuz fuck you). Even many of the “simpler”, “safer” anime like The Asterisk War and Isekai wa Smartphone fail to realize that we just want something simple and satisfying. That’s probably why Slime is as popular as it is. It just wants to entertain us with a fun, digestible isekai read more
Nov 19, 2018
dadnaya (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Mild Spoilers Alert]

Isekai fan reporting in. I've watched many Isekais so far, including Death March and Isekai Smartphone (that one was pretty fun to be honest), so when I heard we're getting ANOTHER Isekai anime, how can I not check it out?

It was paired with tons of praise (thanks r/anime) which made me think it's some hot stuff.

8 episodes in, and nope. Nothing.
It's not bad, it's not good, it's "Fine I guess".

The pacing is the biggest problem with the anime. I already have one anime to follow which has the pacing of a snail (thanks One Piece), but unlike One Piece which actually has some read more
Mar 25, 2019
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
Sometimes in anime there comes a point when there is just too much friendship. Characters who were enemies seconds ago suddenly become best friends for no real reason. No hard feelings, no suspicion or anything. Never any problems, just one happy family. There are no alliances of convenience, no fear of being backstabbed, no slow defrosting of relations. I can appreciate the idea of talking people out of hostilities, but come on. Just a few words and there we go, best friends forever? Am I supposed to take this completely unironically?

And apparently this is because they really respect the protagonist, whom they have suddenly chosen read more