Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tensei shitara Slime Datta Ken


Alternative Titles

English: That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime
Synonyms: TenSura
Japanese: 転生したらスライムだった件

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2018 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: 8bit
Source: Manga
Genres: Fantasy, Shounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.361 (scored by 41,167 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1942
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #509
Members: 174,504
Favorites: 1,841

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 5, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
6 episodes in, and I can firmly say that Tensei Slime (or TenSura for short) is the isekai series to end all isekai series that has since premiered this year, and with Tate no Yuusha on the horizon to come next season, we're all set for (FINALLY) THE good isekai series to come out with full force.

This is a prelim and I'll just keep it short, because this is just too good. A slime, saving the entire isekai genre? I can live with that!

Story and characters:
Pretty much how EVERY isekai series start with the MC, some XX year-old Don't-care-what's-his-name got his life lost in the read more
Nov 5, 2018
Ballroomdancer (All reviews)
*If you are just too tired to read the whole thing just skip to the last paragraph*

This show puts a smile on my face.

Every season there is one show that just makes me happy as a person and makes me not regret getting into anime.
In Winter it was Yuru camp, in Spring it was Hinamatsuri, in Summer it was Cells at work and this Fall it is about a slime.

That time I got reincarnated as a slime is a show that actually makes you feels like you were reincarnated as a slime. These 6 episodes actually focuses a lot on the world building and read more
Nov 5, 2018
Shirokuza (All reviews)
A modern staple of fantasy legends, the Slime Monster is an amorphous, shapeless, gooey creature best represented by the original Dragon Quest Slime. They are typically weak, but certain slimes, such as massive ones, ones made of special materials, or ones that are immune to damage, can be quite dangerous and deadly. Its usual attack is to engulf its prey.

The Slime is an iconic creature from Dragon Quest, but the existence of slime monsters dates back at least as far as Dungeons and Dragons, to the Gelatinous Cube. Which is suggested to be an invention of Gary Gygax.

Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken is an adapted read more
Nov 6, 2018
Jio_Inzagi (All reviews)
Tensei Slime is THE isekai of the season, with a great first episode, it presented a relatable main character and how he ended up getting into another world but in a slime's body, all of this on a great animation budget and a good background music. I personally enjoyed it very much. The plot itself wraps p pretty originally and in a good way it connects up beetween events, in a not-rshed pace everything gets developed in a way that you get to really like most of its characters.
Rimuru himself is the star of the show, this cool slime fella is imensely cool, cute and read more
Nov 5, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
'That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Loli Don't Mind The Slime Part It Is Just a Marketing Bait' is truly a fantastic self-insert series because the mc's face looks like a dead moth and the story line is basically Overlord but isekai. "B.. b-b..b.but isn't Overlord an isekai?" Not compared to this.. piece of.. slime.

The setup is a really great excuse for the story. One of the best ever to be honest. 37 years-old virgin NEET who hasn't left his apartment for 38 years goes outdoors for the first time ever and dies because the world is really a fucked up and sad place read more
Nov 5, 2018
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
"That time I got roped into thinking that this anime might actually be good after seeing all of the praise for it only to be terribly disappointed" basically sums of my experience with TenSura right now.

This season's token isekai anime is super duper original because it's protagonist gets reincarnated as a slime instead of a person. Mind = Blown. Our hero is portrayed as an embarrassment to society with no unique qualities who dies a horrible death when he ventures outside to communicate with other humans. Now here we have the moral of the story: Don't go outside kids. So after dying a virgin read more
Nov 5, 2018
MarlyTT (All reviews)
Honestly, the whole isekai trope isn't inherently bad- It's definitely feasible to make something genuinely good with creative world building, interesting character interactions, good direction and premise, and so on. Unfortunately, this series, like most others, has none of those and is quite literally the most trite isekai that could be made by what I'd presume to be a human. Though if someone said this was computer generated by re-using every awful isekai trope ever, I'd unironically believe it. This is a prime example of a series using an incredibly "clickbaity" title as a hook without offering anything of substance beyond it, and it really read more
Nov 8, 2018
Frqncy (All reviews)
I love to see how the anime industry supports these authors who in their stories abjectly abuse the same format, and within the same format take advantage of the same resources and end up creating a garbage like this BUT that inevitably takes the liking of Most, I love it.

It must be clear that the protagonist, a man of 37 yo, is a failure, so the first thing that is mentioned in the anime is that it is a virgin and all that, but being transported magically to another world and lifestyle, its existence begins to be more interesting, a premise that reminds me read more
Nov 5, 2018
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
Who knew that the isekai genre could be saved by a fucking slime...

Art=7/Sound=8:
The art style in the anime can be seen as very basic for your typical isekai with some very little tweaks but honestly you can't fault a show for having a regular art style; however what stands out is that the animation is typically smooth and the action scenes so far (even though there haven't been many) have all been executed well! And thank fuck for NO FUCKING CGI goblins/monsters! Sound wise, the OST isn't mind blowing and neither is the OP but they are acceptable and borderline good but yet again I read more
Nov 16, 2018
MAF__ (All reviews)
One of the best fantasy world based anime's this year, this anime manages to be unique in the most over-saturated genre.

Our mc becomes a slime, and the biological and emotional challenges are presented to us in a comedic way in the first 2 episodes. For the rest of the 6 episodes Iv'e watched, the mc is meeting new characters where the few main supporting characters are developed rapidly. This gives a sense of a real community as it wouldn't be realistic to build meaningful relationships with every other character. The story gets 9/10

for Art and Sound , they read more
Nov 14, 2018
Satyr_icon (All reviews)
That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime — but not really, since writing a fantasy story with an actually weak main character would take some effort, so let's just throw that overpowered blue blob into the usual generic JRPG fantasy world and hope we can get away with it.

Well, they did. After all, that title would be too long even for a light novel. And the isekai formula still works like a charm: you just need to change whatever the main character gets incarnated in next, be it a polar bear, a vending machine, or — oh for fuck's sake — bloody Vladimir Putin read more
Nov 8, 2018
DoomRanger (All reviews)
As far as I’m concerned, this anime revolves around a generic intro where some dude gets transported into another world by means unknown and becomes some overpowered person, from a nobody to a somebody.

So far, many Isekai anime takes up this form (the past few at least)

However, reincarnation is a first, especially as a slime. Who said slimes weren’t overpowered ‘weakest’ creature my ass! Rimuru with his skill, ‘Predator’ allows him to basically eat anything and obtain their powers which is actually pretty damn overpowered!

He also has a load of ‘mana’ and not to mention the ability to store a large amount of things read more
Nov 19, 2018
dadnaya (All reviews)
[Mild Spoilers Alert]

Isekai fan reporting in. I've watched many Isekais so far, including Death March and Isekai Smartphone (that one was pretty fun to be honest), so when I heard we're getting ANOTHER Isekai anime, how can I not check it out?

It was paired with tons of praise (thanks r/anime) which made me think it's some hot stuff.

8 episodes in, and nope. Nothing.
It's not bad, it's not good, it's "Fine I guess".

The pacing is the biggest problem with the anime. I already have one anime to follow which has the pacing of a snail (thanks One Piece), but unlike One Piece which actually has some read more
Nov 13, 2018
Tommeow (All reviews)
Let me get this straight right off the bat: this is just another isekai anime. If you think the genre overall isn't that bad or if you think that it's good you're going to find this series above average. If you don't like isekai overall this isn't going to rock your world or change your mind, the only real thing it has going for it is the fact that the slime is kind of charming and the series doesn't focus on humans (more on that later).

Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken is an incredibly middle of the road isekai without incredibly glaring weaknesses or immense strengths. read more
Nov 8, 2018
Velleity (All reviews)
This is the first time I write a review, but I enjoyed the anime a lot (even though it was just the first 6 episodes)

(spoiler free)

Story (10) -
I have to admit I dropped the manga at chapter one a year ago since the exaggerated and unrealistic storytelling was a bit obnoxious, but now I see how I was wrong. While the events that take place in the beginning (the human world) feel more like a sit-com, it contributed well to the main isekai storyline. That's because you feel a sense of detachment from the real-world characters and their feelings as the anime itself doesn't take read more
Nov 30, 2018
PackOfSalt (All reviews)
--Review may contain spoilers--

Mikami Satoru, your average businessman residing in Tokyo, Japan, gets stabbed and dies by a passing murderer. He gets reincarnated as a Slime in a parallel world. This Slime is not your average weak and lame Slime you'd find in every MMO game, but a Slime with special abilities and unique skills that make him overpowered. He meets Veldora, the Storm Dragon in a cave where he was reincarnated to, becomes friends with him and was named as "Rimuru Tempest".

Story (9): This is undoubtedly the isekai series to set the bar for the upcoming isekai series out there. It all starts off read more
Nov 22, 2018
botagas (All reviews)
Okay, I'm usually rarely the type to go blindly into series, but this one just popped up in recommended for Goblin Slayer. The synopsis seemed fun, even without romance, which I sometimes like depending on the mood. There have been shows before, shows with very similar premise, and that is even more exciting with the fact on-board - I am the type to search for shows that are similar to the ones I liked very much before, or at least in the way of what I'd like to see in a series I imagine interesting for myself.

I started the first episodes and literally rushed it read more
Nov 14, 2018
Kipo0007 (All reviews)
Rebirth into a Different world, Okay.
Getting Overpowered skills and abilities from the start. Alright looking good.
Expecting a Cool looking Hero and Getting a Slime.. WTF?! WOW

When I first watched the anime , I thought of this as weird, unusual way to tell a isekai/ Another world story.Like its really a Slime, we are talking about here on the first view and perspective.
It started a bit funnily and mysteriously , but after couple of episode, I grew fond and got hooked on the slime a.k.a Rimuru.
Okay Rimuru has Over powered skill right from the start, especially after meeting the Dragon, but he really doesnt act read more
Nov 9, 2018
VinWicksNet (All reviews)
Other world anime is very good, I am a lover of other world anime. The story line in this anime is very interesting and I guarantee that the next episode will be even more interesting. The visual design offered in this anime slightly makes my eyes fascinated. Everything is good, starting from the sound of the characters that are in this instance, it can be said to be a little different from the others. I really enjoy this anime because the first of the characters presented is very interesting and certainly the second is the storyline. If you like other world anime whose characters are read more
Nov 6, 2018
donati01 (All reviews)
*I wrote this review for only the 6 first episodes.*
*I plan to do another review after the 12th episode*

*NO SPOILERS*

[Story 8/10]
Simply, original. It may seem stupid at first, but trust me, it works so damn well.

[Art 9/10]
It's diverse and attractive.

[Sound 8/10]
Sound effects are on point and has a pretty good opening.

[Character 8/10]
All the characters are good, especially the protagonist. It's so funny and cute.

[Enjoyment 8/10]
It's an enjoyable anime in general. The only cons is that some people might not find the humor funny, which in some cases, is acceptable.

[Overall 8/10]
Overall, it's a solid 8 out of 10 until now. It really got me into it read more