Penguin Highway
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

Japanese: ペンギン・ハイウェイ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 17, 2018
Licensors: Eleven Arts
Studios: Studio Colorido
Source: Novel
Genres: FantasyFantasy, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Duration: 1 hr. 58 min.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 7.741 (scored by 1004610,046 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #9812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2568
Members: 31,760
Favorites: 123

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 24, 2018
-HippySnob- (All reviews)
"Penguins inexplicably appear in a suburb some distance from the sea, and a grade-school boy seeks to solve the mystery, in this humorous and at times philosophical novel for young adults that puts author Tomihiko Morimi's playful sensibilities on full display."

Adapted from the most finest work since Tatami Galaxy, The Night is Short, and The Eccentric Family

"As the wind blew, the grass sparkled, wet from the morning dew. There was a squeaking noise that sounded like the school’s floors creaking. In the middle of the huge empty lot, there were a number of penguins waddling around."

Going embark into superstitious child-oriented but with eccentric wholesomeness from read more
Mar 4, 2019
YTG21 (All reviews)
Very good movie with excellent visuals. Recommend it. Worth your time. Shame it didn't get hyped as much as other good anime movies.I would give this a solid 9 plus.

This movie is about a pretty smart and curious kid who happens to fall in love with a dentist. The dentist is an actual mystery as the little boy happens to unravel that mystery. The kid is not like super genius but your above-average kid with keen scientific experiments.Do watch the movie with good quality. Because the visuals will blow you away. Don't want to spoil the awesome experience by saying more.
Do watch this if you read more
Nov 12, 2018
fillyy (All reviews)
Penguin Highway is an anime film about a boy who is mature for his age but still has some things to learn as a growing boy. He is a genius kid who finds great interest in researching new and bizarre phenomena. The film is structured quite well and uses a lot of metaphors through the animation and storytelling to represent the coming-of-age of his character. This film does have a bloated run-time of about two hours and it compromised some of my enjoyment. The dialogue is poorly written and attempts at humour in the film don't quite cut it. I do appreciate the representation of read more
Feb 23, 2019
Saacool (All reviews)
So this is probably the visually best animated movie I've ever seen. If you know you're going to see it, see it on the biggest possible screen, you won't regret it.

That said its not without its faults, there is one overlying issue, and a couple less intrusive issues that mean my enjoyment does need to be qualified.

First and foremost the art is easily 10/10. Just absolutely gorgeous graphical quality, solid animation, the framing occasionally questionable but that's an issue for later.

The story on the other hand suffers heavily. I could just leave it at: "This movie only exists for visuals" but theres definitely a read more
Sep 28, 2019
Zergneedsfood (All reviews)
I really disliked this movie. I merely thought it was disappointingly mediocre when I finished it a few weeks ago, but the more I've thought about it, the worse it's become.

Coming from someone who loves some of the previous works of the author (Tatami Galaxy, Uchouten Kazoku), I was pretty stoked for this. A more recent movie, The Night is Young, Walk on Girl wasn't my favorite anime movie of all time, but it had some decent pieces that was really just hampered by Yuasa's over indulgence in his artistic ego. I felt like a different director this time could really bring this movie to read more
Mar 13, 2019
SlaceTheDark (All reviews)
Welcome to my review to the 2018 movie 'Penguin Highway'. It's runtime is almost 2 hours so be prepared for it. For this review I will try to limit myself from giving spoilers as much as I can. Before I forget it, this movie is done by Studio Colorado.

Plot/Story: Aoyama is a very intelligent kid. He always looks for experiments and things he does not yet know. One day however, something very unusual happens. Penguins. In the middle of an empty field. As out of nowhere penguins appear everywhere in the city and Aoyama and his friends try to solve this experiment. Oh, and there read more
Apr 7, 2019
laingalion (All reviews)
First, be wary of which translations you use. The some translations are off and cause a ton of confusion. The original Japanese dialog is carefully crafted which is important because the witty responses are the main character's selling point. On the contrary, the English translations are basic and often grammatically wrong.

One example of bad translation is of "Onee-san", one of the main characters of this movie. The closest translation would be "Lady" as it is written in the character list of this website. However, the English translation sometimes refers to her as "the dentist's wife" but no where in the Japanese dialog does it mention read more
Jun 10, 2019
nwbrn (All reviews)
Not true to the novel at all - I feel sorry for Tomihiko Morimi.

I was looking forward to watching this because the novel is fantastic. To me, watching this was a let down and a waste of time.

I'd recommend just reading the novel instead - it will provide for much more enjoyment. There is an English translation available, it's like 12 dollars on amazon, or something. Seriously give that a try instead.

By the same creator, Tatami Galaxy and Walk on Maiden are crafted much more carefully to their source, give those a go if you'd rather watch a film. Here, the brilliant work of the read more
Aug 6, 2019
thedarkbillymays (All reviews)
This film is an absolute classic in the making. Taking a page out of Studio Ghibli's book, the artwork is phenomenal, with warm, bright colors taking center stage for the majority of the film. The characters are enjoyable and have subtleties all their own. Our protagonist, the young genius, is analytical and strange, but feels about as innocent as a kid his age would be. His supporting cast, including his dentist's assistant/neighbor, and rival/ new friend all play wonderfully off of each other and make them feel organic and lively.

The environment plays an amazing role in making you feel right at home in a bizarre read more
Jun 4, 2019
pocketcroc (All reviews)
Morimi adaptation (tick)
Coming of age story (tick)
It's about penguins (tick)

It's beautifully imaginative and has a fantastically unique premise it executes and takes flying with glee. Just try watching its opening sequences or its climactic half hour or so without grinning ear to ear. It's brimming with youthful wonder, like Hosoda's Mirai dashed with generous helpings of Ghibli and sprinkles of Pixar. Fantastically written flawed MC and holistic perspective-taking from his viewpoint, great dialogue (comparing Aoyama to the penguin puffing out its chest- 'so proud for someone so small', Aoyama's faux-objective dialogue collapsing under the weight of emotions he can't process or admit yet, the motifs read more
Apr 12, 2019
WatchedAnt82141 (All reviews)
This is the first of these I've written, so it's less of a review and more of my own thoughts. Penguin Highway, on the surface, looks like a fun story of kids investigating a cute mystery in their town while dealing with the struggles of growing up. And it is, and a very good one at that. The artwork is great, the soundtrack is nice, and the story is easy to follow and intriguing as you peel back the layers. But if I could offer my opinion on what the film is about, I think it's there where the core of the movie is. Penguin read more