Ahiru no Sora

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: あひるの空

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2019 to Sep 30, 2020
Premiered: Fall 2019
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 17:55 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Diomedea
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, SportsSports, DramaDrama, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.401 (scored by 3547435,474 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #18882
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1157
Members: 119,314
Favorites: 602
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 10, 2020
Humbby (All reviews)
Preliminary
I want to start by saying that a lot of people compare this anime to Kuroko no Basket.
Completely Absurd, you can't compare the 2.

With that said lets get Into the review (time of writing this review I have seen 18 episodes).

The Animation:
It's bad, It uses a lot of still Images and I'm thinking, Why, just why...
why don't you animate that? Probably a limited budget but It's so dissapointing to see.

Character Development:
18 Episodes Is enough to get you attached to atleast 1 of the characters.
And since this anime doesn't have super powers like Kuroko It should be much easier.
They failed, atleast, so far. I can't seem read more
Dec 21, 2019
Nayeriel (All reviews)
Preliminary
An another sport anime, if you don't like those type of anime pass away, Ahiru no Sora didn't revolutionize anything. But If you like this genre then give it a try.

I'll compare this anime in my review with Kuroko no Basket, same sport and popular anime.

Date of review : 22/12/19 (will probably make some edits further the anime advance)

Story : 7/10

A generic sport anime but not driving by the shonen spirit (for now).

Player's skills seems logical, contrary to Kuroko no Basket, and character's background is interesting, again in Kuroko the characters background is kind hollow (IMO !).

I find more interesting to follow the progress read more
Mar 15, 2020
Dracoborg (All reviews)
Preliminary
I never write reviews this is actually my first review and though i could have written a review for a top tier anime that would be a universal top 10 i gave my review virginity to ahiru no sora. With the hundreds of anime I've watched i can honestly say without a shadow of a doubt this anime is in my top 10.

I love the story and the characters. My god the characters i love each and everyone of them like the friends i've never had. i have not found a cast that was anymore compelling to me not One piece, Naruto, SAO or read more
Dec 11, 2019
beSc (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a quick review of the new basketball anime "Ahiru no Sora". Take into consideration that this is all based on my personal preferences and taste.

Story: The plot is very simple, it's about a short guy who wants to play basketball, we've seen this many times in this genre, but so far it has been well executed and that's what matters to me. 7/10

Art: I am not a fan of Ahiru no Sora's art, and the animation is ok, but not great. 6/10

Sound:No complaints, the VAs fit the characters and the sound is good overall. 7/10

Character: The MC is not original at all, but read more
Sep 30, 2020
Dee333 (All reviews)
I loved the story of this show so much, the characters are the most real I've seen in a while; they make mistakes, they fall in love and they're not all perfect all the time.
and they feel like they're people I know in real life.

SPOILERS BELOW


In the entire show I don't think I've seen the team win once which as a person who played basketball for 3 years I say that's the most realistic thing ever basketball takes a lot of time to learn and not a sport you can perfect in a couple of month and it's a given that a new formed team read more
Sep 29, 2020
NextUniverse (All reviews)
TLDR Review at the bottom. Hopefully, that helped. Thanks for reading this review if you do.

Ahiru no Sora truly wanted to be something. Ahiru no Sora had the story, the characters, but with most Shounen anime, high episode count = bad. You know, the Toei Animation disease.

The problem with high episode counts is that there is too much room, way too much room. So much room that episodes get drawn out to add suspense for, well, “DON’T MISS OUT ON NEXT WEEK’S EPISODE”. With so much room you would probably expect a magnitude of plot devices here and there to keep the story somewhat read more
Nov 5, 2020
Szints (All reviews)
This is the best anime I've watched by far. I really enjoyed it. Go watch it because it is fire. It was a great watch from start to finish and I loved it the whole way. The FitnessGram PACER Test is a multistage aerobic capacity test that progressively gets more difficult as it continues.

The test is used to measure a student's aerobic capacity as part of the FitnessGram assessment. Students run back and forth as many times as they can, each lap signaled by a beep sound. The test get progressively faster as it continues until the student reaches their max lap score.
Apr 2, 2020
Shole (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a former basketball player, and current coach, I have maybe a different perspective on this as a whole, as my whole life was in Basketball and will be forever.

One thing is for sure, this happens in basketball. When you meet athletes you will notice that most of them are very positive people and the reason why is simple, sports are hard.
I know it might seem easy to some, seeing people just playing a game, but honestly, when I was playing I was having two practices per day with my team plus at least one or two more, I was a bench warmer at best. read more
Sep 30, 2020
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
I have watched a decent number of sports anime however until I finished Ahiru no Sora I had never completed a basketball anime. So, I don’t know how this show in particular compares to kurokos basket which I dropped mid-way due to the absurd superpowers in the show. Given this, the review will cover this show on how well it performed in regards to story, art an animation, along with characters, compared to other sports anime and how well it performed in comparison to notable drama series, the review will not compare Ahiru no Sora to other basketball anime.

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Story: 5

The read more
May 31, 2020
suwuwawa (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is not KnB. There aren't any "super powers" and "zone" in the show. Just straight up pure basketball.

Please give this show a chance before you pass it up. People have been complaining about it's pacing but it's fine in my opinion. The anime takes time to actually develop all of the characters. Matches span over multiple episodes but everything is explained to the viewers. Every single quarter. Everything put in the show is intentional, none of it being filler. Every episode either moves the plot forward, or explores a character further.

**I have watched a ton of sports anime before, and am currently read more
Jun 12, 2020
Sommeil-Eternel (All reviews)
Preliminary
I usually dont write reviews. At the beginning Ahiru no sora was a cliche anime... with a very slow story.
In the episode I´m I can say that the characters development in this anime is one of the best I have seen, they grow as players but as humans as well.
The story moves very slow (sometimes it even turns to be boring) but because of the slow story you can appreciate every single detail in the characters, from the way they play, move or talk.
I love how different the characters are from a lot of other animes I have watched, theyre not the typical talk and read more
Oct 3, 2020
sushiisawesome (All reviews)
Ahiru no Sora is a coming of age story about how easy it is to live an uncomfortably aimless life, with a cast that struggles with how listless living such a life makes them due to their isolation from living a youthful life, social problems and their own apathy, with the series emphasizing the importance of breaking out of that apathy and struggling to find a passion in order to at least move forward, regardless of the excruciating difficulty that would follow. Basketball is the vehicle used to drive these characters forward and plays an important role in these characters finding a way to be read more
Apr 11, 2020
raphaelM (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've see alot of people compare this anime to other sports anime such as Kuruko no basket however it is very different from what we usually see in sports anime.
story:8
Ahiru no Sora is unique as unlike other big sports anime like haikyu and kuruko no basket the characters in Ahiru no sora (excluding the MC) did not initially want to play basketball, we see them slowly learn more about the sport and develop their love for the sport. The characters are not necessarily good at basketball from the start but we get to watch them improve frm scratch.

Art:6
nothing special

sound:6
nothing special

characters:
as i read more
Jun 17, 2020
jagdze (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hello, i will keep this review as long as possible. i will explain why.

First it's an anime which i recommend to watch if you play basketball yourself.
Second This basketball Anime is unique and way different from kuroku no basket or slam dunk. Why? Because this anime has something that other 2 don't, it's defeat. First basketball anime where you do not win without hard training, where non of people played basketball in highschool level. That is my argument why it is underrated.

Story - 10: It starts with new 1 year student joining basketball club, well if you can call it like that, because no read more
Feb 5, 2020
Deadman_Walkn35 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have hardly posted any forums posts in my time on this site, but I had to vent my frustrations with this anime.

So far this has been one of the most boring experiences I've had in awhile watching a show, and it really is a shame, seeing that I love both the sport of basketball and the sports anime genre. I came into this anime with decent hopes and expectations, hoping it could one-up the completely unrealistic Kuroko no Basket, but after 18 long, drawn out episodes, I've been boringly let down.

It's realistic, don't get me wrong, but it's realism is so strong to the read more
Jan 26, 2020
ArahaN (All reviews)
Preliminary
Here we are with another sports anime. I don't mind that since I dig that genre but since I watch them so frequently this show kind of disappoints me.

At first I was hooked, liked the premise of the small main character in a sport where height is key like in Haikyuu!!. Nothing special but gets you the feeling of cheering for the underdog.

The art of the series is the absolute biggest low of the show. In games the movement is lacking fluidity. The pacing in those basketball games feels so weird it's hard to enjoy the matches.
The game always stops after one move happened and read more
Apr 9, 2020
zohruii (All reviews)
Preliminary
There hasn't been a basketball anime in quite a while. So I was quite stoked when I saw Ahiru no Sora had a more realistic take on basketball—no exaggerated anime style techniques, OP players, etc. But it simply didn't deliver. [Overall Grade: 3.6≈4]

I dropped this series primarily because of the very slow pacing. Twenty-two episodes had passed and the team had only just finished their second practice match. What took that amount of time to accomplish could have been done in half of that. The conclusion of their practice match for example, could have been part of the previous episode itself. But instead, it's stretched read more
Mar 8, 2020
Orochimaruuuu (All reviews)
Preliminary
When started watching this anime, I asked myself 'Why are their lips so big?'... I don't know, I have no clue. Anyway, the reason I'm writing this review is because I'm seeing a lot of people comparing this to Kuroko no Basket, rightfully so, they are both basketball anime. And there seems to be this idea that Ahiru no Sora is so much more realistic compared to Kuroko no basket. Well, I'm here to tell you the opposite.

1. Basketball is a fast-paced game, where as the anime doesn't seem to understand this. Characters repeatedly stop during a game to talk and discuss stuff, they are read more
Nov 23, 2020
UmOtakuCritico (All reviews)
Formal and Dramatic

(Warning: this review contains important spoilers, be warned.)

I really liked how Ahiru no Sora manages to act as a collective test of endurance between characters and viewers. The protagonists do not win any game during all 50 episodes. The weight of the practically certain defeats, of the changes that the characters suffer, of the early elimination at the beginning of the championship, all the disappointment experienced by the characters who fail to achieve small conquests is always reflected to the public through a dramatic formality in small details.

The anime during matches gives a very significant importance to some more dramatic devices than the read more
Sep 23, 2020
Ahdyen (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ahiru no Sora sets itself apart from every other sports anime I've watched. It's about a boy named Sora, a typical boy who wants to play basketball while trying to overcome obstacles along the way. It seems generic at first, but as you watch you will come to realize how different it really is.

Story(8): It starts off like any shounen sports anime. A boy striving to be the best at his sport, trying to overcome any hurdles along the way. The show gradually begins to show its true colors though, with a great mix of drama and action. This isn't some happy-go-lucky show about a read more