Watashi, Nouryoku wa Heikinchi de tte Itta yo ne!


Didn't I Say to Make My Abilities Average in the Next Life?!

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Didn't I Say to Make My Abilities Average in the Next Life?!
Synonyms: Noukin
Japanese: 私、能力は平均値でって言ったよね!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2019 to Dec 23, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2019
Broadcast: Mondays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Project No.9
Source: Light novel
Genres: ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.871 (scored by 5021650,216 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #41612
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1330
Members: 103,233
Favorites: 291
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 23, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
FUNA’s anime adaptation follows a common trend in recent years with the flood of fantasy isekai. Abilities Average (the shortened title I’ll be referring to) doesn’t demand much on the creative side as we witness the transformation of a teenage girl into an overpowered adventurer. Joining main female protagonist Mile includes Reina, Pauline, and Reina. Are you ready to watch an adventure with these four goofballs?

Clocking in at 12 episodes, the early warning flag raised is the faithfulness of the anime adaptation. Unfortunately, it’s easy to say the anime decided to condense the material in order to maintain a flow of the overall series. Rather read more
Dec 23, 2019
Zerity (All reviews)
May contain spoilers

I despise this series, it has everything that I hate in a comedy series, and even being the iseaki trash I am I can't justify this. The jokes are repetitive and not funny, there were close to no moments that I generally liked, and I hate myself for watching this.

Firstly I wanna say what I did like, that one episode where they were around the campfire sharing stories it was wholesome and I did enjoy that, I love the OP even though I wish I didn't, and a few of the anime references the put in. That's about it.

Firstly the comedy is dreadful. read more
Dec 23, 2019
simplydru (All reviews)
"You can attack me as many times as you like. I'll heal up every single time, and then bring this staff down upon the head of the person who insulted my friends." - Pauline, very cutely, and with the most precious smile. Yeah, I think you can see where this is going...

My feelings about 'Didn't I Say to Make My Abilities Average in the Next Life?!' (Noukin) can be summed up with four simple words: I LOVE this show! That's right, I fucking said it: I. FUCKING. LOVE. THIS. SHOW. You got a problem with that? And what do you mean "you people?" HUH? Yeah, read more
Oct 28, 2019
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
Preliminary
Is there some kind of epidemic of butchering isekai source material going on? Well, here's another example.

So here's the idea they came up with: let's take the light novel and butcher it into an unrecognizable form. Now, I don't usually endorse the "They Changed It, Now It Sucks" line of thought. I don't demand them to follow the novel to the letter, and change by itself might not be a bad thing if the changes were positive. However, that is not the case. Instead, most of the changes were terrible, with only a few exceptions.

First things first: they skip much of the protagonist's backstory and read more
Dec 23, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
The ever expanding world of Isekai light novels just keep getting bigger and bigger with all kinds of similar but weird concepts, but what if I told you that a change will actually cast some new light onto these stories and shed an entirely new function that is still a good watch? That's the result of "Watashi, Nouryoku wa Heikinchi de tte Itta yo ne!", with the main MC being reincarnated (for reasons obvious) with a wish of wanting to be average in the next world (but who cares, the Isekai gods aren't wavering, so they STILL made her look OP instead).

But as-is with the read more
Oct 31, 2019
PandoraAlter (All reviews)
Preliminary
Watashi, Nouryoku wa Heikinchi de tte Itta yo ne! or as it's known in English Didn't I Say to Make My Abilities Average in the Next Life?! is so far quite a good anime. It's got good characters that are enjoyable to some extent. It's got alright music that is fine to listen to (but I wouldn't go out of my way to listen to it). The art style is just about what you would expect from an isekai made by Project No.9, not amazing but not too bad either. The story is the part that I don't really understand.


Story 7/10:
The story so far is read more
Oct 30, 2019
Anonymous_69 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Light first episode spoilers ahead. The anime: Watashi, Nouryoku wa Heikinchi de tte Itta yo ne! is not for people who have not watched much anime. Reason? there are a lot of references to other anime and other things. for example, there was a Doraemon reference in the first episode and an Ultra-man reference in episode four with many others.

Story 5/10:

Nothing much to say here, if you are looking for a good story, don't waste your time on this anime. This is typical CGDCT and isekai mixed together. There is almost no plot to this anime what so ever. It's just the main read more
Oct 26, 2019
ArtyWolve (All reviews)
Preliminary
Aside from starting in the middle, which the manga also did to a point, the anime so far skips over massive portions of the LN, throwing away entire characters and skimping on plot development to anticlimactically finish an entire arc in 3 episodes.
The animation and art is pretty good, as well as sound, so I originally had decent hopes from the first episode - I just hope the directing picks itself up from here on out.

For those not familiar with the source material, you may have a hard time connecting to the characters as the story develops so quickly, but hopefully you'll be able to read more
Oct 28, 2019
TarisuReda (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is beyond infuriating. It makes me rage.

I'm looking into the discussion on Reddit every week and the watchers are completely obvious to it all.

This director not only skips an Arc, changes a few important moments that creates plot holes --- no, he even leaves out content.

He tries to make this a show full for lolicon adventure fanatics, when the original story itself (which is almost completely different compared to the Anime) is about adventuring with a 4 member girl only squad with a mix of adventuring + fantasy and a slice of life.

The anime includes references never made and even unrealistic, because read more
Nov 11, 2019
Sorghaghtani (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overall score: 4/10

I feel the need to balance out the inflated scores on the reviews here. This is just not a very good show. At best, it's painfully average. I've read the LN, and it's way ahead of this adaptation.

I suppose my biggest gripe with the anime is that it never quite resolves any of the problems our MC faces. Putting aside the fact that the MC is already immensely overpowered, even the character development is choppy. Whenever someone presses her on the source of her immense powers (that she barely bothers to hide) or her history, she just makes an awkward laugh and read more
Oct 30, 2019
MoeBlargus (All reviews)
Preliminary
We're fast entering the era of Isekai. There's no denying it. We've been hit with a constant deluge of it ever since Sword Art Online entered the picture, and it's not going away any time soon. Some hate it, some love it, but no matter what you think of it, you've gotta love a good parody.

The first great Isekai parody was indisputably Konosuba, but now a contender has arrived; following in its footsteps and even giving it a few distinct nods, the ponderously named "Didn't I Say to Make My Abilities Average in the Next Life?!" looks like it could become a comedy of similar read more
Dec 25, 2019
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
To begin with, I stress that the only reason I picked this show up and endured all the way to the end was because the creative team behind this was also responsible for some of my favourite shows from the past few years, including Yuru Yuri, Uzamaid, Sabagebu and the list goes on. Basically wacky comedies with a reliance on slapstick to get its point across. Simple, wholesome and very effective. Come Noukin however, and I honestly wondered what happened to the team.

The series started out decently enough, a bit overly reliant on referential humour and running gags, but it still worked decently enough. Then read more
Nov 11, 2019
_Kuroe_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is already a review explaining how they butchered the novel to make this... abomination... so i will skip that part. Everything said here is regarind the anime, the novel would receive a completely different (and way more positive) review.

Story:
Doesn't makes sense sometimes, is clearly rushed and doesn't develop properly.
The world feels "empty", there is little to no world building at all. They can't decide if the focus will be the comedy or the drama, and clearly they can't make a good balance either.
Btw they "managed" to fit 2 volumes from the novel in 6 episodes.

Art:
The animation is ok, for a (probably) low budget isekai. read more
Oct 30, 2019
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Normally I would hate these kinds of characters. I don't know why, but they've rubbed me the wrong way in different animes. I guess I'm not a fan of it. But here. It's done and written in a better lighting in my book. Which makes it more enjoyable and better than regular shows that give off that vibe for me. I won't go into full detail, as that would require spoilers. But as you can tell from the plot description alone, I'm not really a big fan of over powered characters.

But like I said here, it's set out great and really meshes with the show read more
Dec 23, 2019
Hajictan (All reviews)
best thing: the opening I will miss those on my Mondays.
anime was okay, fun to watch and have a chill time to get back home and have an episode to enjoy.

The last episode they decided to add the story, but well this one is not likely to get a second season so for those like me who will watch and forget this, the last episode was a farewell to a soothing Monday.

cringe, a lot of it but fun to watch if you do not start nitpicking faults, better to do it once you have seen and enjoyed all of it >:3

characters were lovable and funny read more
Apr 13, 2020
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
Youkosou to the review of a generic anime by a person who's simply bored and sleepy. I'll try to make this review as straightforward as possibly and not too stretched.

Story : 8/10

First half of the series is good. Though its pretty much the generic MC flexing. The comedy adds a touch to it, making it amusing and enjoying to watch.

The second half of the series is an utter disappointment. It was tainted with unnecessary drama which ruins the tranquil and serenity the show had built.

The story can be drastically improved if it simply becomes a full-fledged comedy show like Endro. It's read more
Jan 27, 2020
kawaii123456 (All reviews)
"Oh you're a tsundere"
--- Mile
"I got isekaied so I could serve food in a maid cafe ?"
--- Mile.

I loved the first 8 episodes of this anime. It was smart, funny, endlessly poking fun at overused anime tropes, a sheer joy to watch. Then it turned stupid serious for some reason. Instead of cute girls, doing cute and silly things in a fantasy world, it turned into a bog serious isekai which aside from being a mood breaker, turned the whole thing into who cares moments. Gags that gave you lines like the above just stopped, and it would have been better if the read more
Dec 23, 2019
MacerV (All reviews)
Didn't I Say to Make My Abilities Average in the Next Life?! is quite predictably an average quality Iseki. The wrong parts of the plot are focused on (there's already a beach episode), and this throws away the screen-time needed to see the characters grow as individuals and as a group. This ultimately results in the characters actions feeling hollow and makes it hard to sympathise and become attached to the characters.


Story: 4/10

The story suffers to quite a large degree as a result of the overpowered protagonist. This is usually an issue that arises later on in shows due to power creep, but with read more
Dec 23, 2019
YeeYeeAss (All reviews)
I enjoyed it

Again, we turn into the next episode of cute girls doing something. This time it is an isekai

Characters: Our main character is Mile. She was an otaku and was reincarnated. She wanted to have avarage abilities but god did not understand and he is the avarage of all beings in the universe. Reina is a fire mage who had a sad past. Pauline is a merchants daughter and can use healing magic. She is kinda scary. Mavis is a knight, she comes from a royal bloodline.

The story: We just follow their adventures through out the lands, accepting and completing quests, saving people, read more
Dec 6, 2019
pandalin (All reviews)
Preliminary
My thoughts on this show is only on the show. I haven't read the original manga this is based on so my thoughts are very one-sided. What honestly sold me on this show is the SLAYERS vibe it gives off. It reminded me of the pointless stupid slapstick humor I loved during the 90s watching Lina & Gourrey blow sh** up and run amok! (⌒ω⌒)

They may have butchered the original as others have mentioned in other reviews, but at this point I don't like to take any isekai seriously. It's already overdone and I'm rather sick of the typical isekai crap.The opening song is catchy read more