Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Watashi, Nouryoku wa Heikinchi de tte Itta yo ne!


Alternative Titles

English: Didn't I Say to Make My Abilities Average in the Next Life?!
Synonyms: Noukin
Japanese: 私、能力は平均値でって言ったよね!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2019 to Dec 23, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2019
Broadcast: Mondays at 23:30 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Project No.9
Source: Light novel
Genres: Comedy, Fantasy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: None

Statistics

Score: 6.881 (scored by 8,236 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #42602
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2008
Members: 45,381
Favorites: 92

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Oct 28, 2019
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
Is there some kind of epidemic of butchering isekai source material going on? Well, here's another example.

So here's the idea they came up with: let's take the light novel and butcher it into an unrecognizable form. Now, I don't usually endorse the "They Changed It, Now It Sucks" line of thought. I don't demand them to follow the novel to the letter, and change by itself might not be a bad thing if the changes were positive. However, that is not the case. Instead, most of the changes were terrible, with only a few exceptions.

First things first: they skip much of the protagonist's backstory and read more
Oct 31, 2019
TinyTempest (All reviews)
Watashi, Nouryoku wa Heikinchi de tte Itta yo ne! or as it's known in English Didn't I Say to Make My Abilities Average in the Next Life?! is so far quite a good anime. It's got good characters that are enjoyable to some extent. It's got alright music that is fine to listen to (but I wouldn't go out of my way to listen to it). The art style is just about what you would expect from an isekai made by Project No.9, not amazing but not too bad either. The story is the part that I don't really understand.


Story 7/10:
The story so far is read more
Oct 26, 2019
ArtyWolve (All reviews)
Aside from starting in the middle, which the manga also did to a point, the anime so far skips over massive portions of the LN, throwing away entire characters and skimping on plot development to anticlimactically finish an entire arc in 3 episodes.
The animation and art is pretty good, as well as sound, so I originally had decent hopes from the first episode - I just hope the directing picks itself up from here on out.

For those not familiar with the source material, you may have a hard time connecting to the characters as the story develops so quickly, but hopefully you'll be able to read more
Oct 30, 2019
Anonymous_69 (All reviews)
Light first episode spoilers ahead. The anime: Watashi, Nouryoku wa Heikinchi de tte Itta yo ne! is not for people who have not watched much anime. Reason? there are a lot of references to other anime and other things. for example, there was a Doraemon reference in the first episode and an Ultra-man reference in episode four with many others.

Story 5/10:

Nothing much to say here, if you are looking for a good story, don't waste your time on this anime. This is typical CGDCT and isekai mixed together. There is almost no plot to this anime what so ever. It's just the main read more
Oct 30, 2019
MoeBlargus (All reviews)
We're fast entering the era of Isekai. There's no denying it. We've been hit with a constant deluge of it ever since Sword Art Online entered the picture, and it's not going away any time soon. Some hate it, some love it, but no matter what you think of it, you've gotta love a good parody.

The first great Isekai parody was indisputably Konosuba, but now a contender has arrived; following in its footsteps and even giving it a few distinct nods, the ponderously named "Didn't I Say to Make My Abilities Average in the Next Life?!" looks like it could become a comedy of similar read more
Oct 31, 2019
Superns18 (All reviews)
Abilities Average is one of my favourite light novel series. So, when I heard it was getting an anime adaptation, needless to say, I was extremely happy. However, I quickly realised that as with many of my favourite light novel adaptations this year *cough cough Arifureta, the studio was going to butcher the source material, skip entire arcs and change the story around completely.

Now, that's a big deal for me as someone who is a LN reader, but if you go into this as an anime only, you may have a totally different experience and opinion. However, for me this was a huge let read more
Oct 28, 2019
Reeeeeeeree (All reviews)
This is beyond infuriating. It makes me rage.

I'm looking into the discussion on Reddit every week and the watchers are completely obvious to it all.

This director not only skips an Arc, changes a few important moments that creates plot holes --- no, he even leaves out content.

He tries to make this a show full for lolicon adventure fanatics, when the original story itself (which is almost completely different compared to the Anime) is about adventuring with a 4 member girl only squad with a mix of adventuring + fantasy and a slice of life.

The anime includes references never made and even unrealistic, because read more
Nov 11, 2019
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
Christ almighty what happened to this series.

What started out as a decent, if repetitive slice of life comedy isekai has been seriously dragged down by out of place poorly written drama that is more infuriating than it is engaging. This is by the same team as Yuru Yuri, Sabagebu, Umaru, Uzamaid and assorted comedies. Why oh why are they doing drama. It failed before in Kotoura-san why are they attempting it again. The comedy was fine prior to episodes 5 and 6, a little repetitive, but serviceable, sometimes even great comedic moments. Now all that's left is a really sour taste in me.

This has read more
Oct 30, 2019
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Normally I would hate these kinds of characters. I don't know why, but they've rubbed me the wrong way in different animes. I guess I'm not a fan of it. But here. It's done and written in a better lighting in my book. Which makes it more enjoyable and better than regular shows that give off that vibe for me. I won't go into full detail, as that would require spoilers. But as you can tell from the plot description alone, I'm not really a big fan of over powered characters.

But like I said here, it's set out great and really meshes with the show read more
Nov 26, 2019
khaiari (All reviews)
I am kinda surprised that people wrote bad reviews for this show.

To be honest, I am really enjoying this show out of all the ones that are out in this season, even with shows that I follow like Azur Lane, Oresuki etc etc. The reason would be that this show is very very easy to pick up, especially if you're having a bad day or just went through some tough time at work or school, as what an anime should be, a peace of mind and a break from everyday life.

The show is very light hearted and features an isekai element, a form of read more
Nov 11, 2019
Sorghaghtani (All reviews)
Overall score: 4/10

I feel the need to balance out the inflated scores on the reviews here. This is just not a very good show. At best, it's painfully average. I've read the LN, and it's way ahead of this adaptation.

I suppose my biggest gripe with the anime is that it never quite resolves any of the problems our MC faces. Putting aside the fact that the MC is already immensely overpowered, even the character development is choppy. Whenever someone presses her on the source of her immense powers (that she barely bothers to hide) or her history, she just makes an awkward laugh and read more
Nov 3, 2019
EzeeLife (All reviews)
A good anime overall, the typical story of a main character being transported to another world. A very cute anime that is different and enjoyable. The friendship of the Characters are well put in, however if you don't like the 'usual' anime troupe characters eg. 'Tsundere' , you may not enjoy this very much. However they don't really make any of the characters annoyingly 'typical' of anime. The style is nothing special but entails lots of bright colours which catches they eye!

There is an O.P character so don't be expecting a long series where the character becomes almost unbeatable half way through... Not much read more
Dec 4, 2019
Otaku_5ama (All reviews)
So I'm not going to drag on with this review. I'm going to keep it short and sweet. As someone who read the source material, although I enjoy the VA choices, the art, and the OP, I am APPALLED by what they have done to this. Characters from the source material have either been edited, replaced, or erased. They have even created characters that did not exist. Events have also been edited, replaced, or erased. Some events have been spliced with others, while there were additions that weren't in the LN. For those who have not read the source material, this might be something you read more
Nov 22, 2019
RielleLeigh (All reviews)
Didn't I Say to Make My Abilities Average in the Next Life was one of my all time favorite light novels, and the manga was just as good as the novel, so naturally I was really excited when I found out that it was getting an anime adaptation. However, this anime just isn't what I was expecting from the series. It seems like they completely ditched the source material when making this adaptation. Considering how good the source material was, it was extremely disappointing. Don't get me wrong, this anime is okay, it just doesn't live up to the light novel or manga. If you're read more
Nov 11, 2019
As4shi (All reviews)
There is already a review explaining how they butchered the novel to make this... abomination... so i will skip that part. Everything said here is regarind the anime, the novel would receive a completely different (and way more positive) review.

Story:
Doesn't makes sense sometimes, is clearly rushed and doesn't develop properly.
The world feels "empty", there is little to no world building at all. They can't decide if the focus will be the comedy or the drama, and clearly they can't make a good balance either.
Btw they "managed" to fit 2 volumes from the novel in 6 episodes.

Art:
The animation is ok, for a (probably) low budget isekai. read more