Chihayafuru 3

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Chihayafull 3
Japanese: ちはやふる 3

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 23, 2019 to Mar 25, 2020
Premiered: Fall 2019
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:29 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: GameGame, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, SportsSports, DramaDrama, SchoolSchool, JoseiJosei
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.531 (scored by 3233532,335 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #902
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1561
Members: 84,777
Favorites: 1,125
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 20, 2019
HEISENB3RG (All reviews)
Preliminary
*Edit*
Now with all the crap dealt with the scoring, ignore the first paragraph and enjoy the rest of the simple review :)

If you're someone who is new or returning to this wonderful series and is glancing at the scores for this season in comparison to the two previous seasons, it is pretty obvious there is quite a difference. Simply put, this is due to a few "trolls" who lead sorry lives and have nothing better to do than ruin the score and reputation of a niche and amazing anime. As stated by others, it is honestly disturbing, and frankly repulsive, that a few read more
Nov 12, 2019
paperminh (All reviews)
Preliminary
First things first : Please watch this. Get the season 1 & 2 and take your time to appreciate them, before coming back here and enjoying this third season, which is really starting in a most beautiful and endearing manner. I'm positive fans of this show keep on watching this because it's such a well-rounded piece of entertainment. Even the word entertainment sounds improper to describe Chihayafuru, because you're just gonna fall in love with the game which it's about (Karuta card game) and at least a couple characters.

If you're not gonna read much further, please know that it's a delicious piece of Japanese culture read more
Nov 29, 2019
Buttnip (All reviews)
Preliminary
In case you're wondering why the score on season 3 on this particular website is so low, it's because certain people were upset that Chihayafuru 3 was the HIGHEST rated show of the season, when there are much bigger titles out there. You can easily find proof on weekly records of the ratings.

I've never written a review, I think there are better places for reviews to be, but a score below 7 (6.9 atm, 29/11/19) just goes to show how jealous some people can get. If anything, a score this low reflects more about the website, than it does for the anime.

Since I'm read more
Mar 24, 2020
Kipo0007 (All reviews)
There are few rare anime series which have a consistency of delivering top notch quality throughout consecutive seasons and even few who can take it up to another level. Chihayafuru is one of those.

The 3rd season of this amazing series has just been so amazing that i am sure that all the older and new fans were hooked onto it with the utmost interest and awe. Madhouse has just outdone themselves again and its not just a regular praise, it comes from a heart of a fan
who has read the manga and seen the adaptation with such finesse and quality it actually makes me happy read more
Nov 21, 2019
DHancock (All reviews)
Preliminary
This message goes for you, innocent lector, for you who love anime and the only thing you are looking for in the page is the recommendation for a good anime. So one thing I have to tell you: Chihayafuru is, with no doubt, an incredible manga-anime.

Chihayafuru 3 follow the lead of the first two seasons to make an incredible spokon from a discipline quite unknown outside Japan: (competitive) karuta. A discipline that, though creates some scepticism at first, you will soon love because of the righteous adaptation to animation it has.

While the first season focused on the presentation of the characters and world of karuta read more
Mar 24, 2020
Stark700 (All reviews)
Before Chihayafuru season 3 got announced, I’m sure some fans have been clinging onto hopes that the franchise would again take the anime medium by storm. The first two seasons have gained a cult following since the franchise introduced us to the world of its karuta and wonderful cast of characters. Now more than six years later, we are back in this franchise as if it’s almost yesterday.

It did take a bit of time for the anime franchise to return but jumping back into Chihayafuru’s third season felt like going back to school after a Summer break. We reunite with our friends, learn the competitive read more
Mar 24, 2020
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*Minimum Spoiler Review*
TL;DR: Do you like sports anime? Do you like sports anime based on actual sports and not something completely made up? Well, if you've been hiding under a rock or not yet cultured on the competitive game that is Karuta, then get yourself educated because Chihayafuru S3 is back... after 7 goddamn years to give us something heavenly to cherish during these quarantined time.
[Story: 8/10 , Characters: 9/10, Art: 9/10, Sound: 9/10, Enjoyment: 9/10]

"Naniwa-zu ni / Sakuya kono hana / Fuyu-gomori / Ima o haru-be to/ Sakuya kono hana"

How long should a studio wait before delivering something to the fans that read more
Mar 25, 2020
abystoma2 (All reviews)
First things first - karuta isn't a sport. It's just a game that that some folks took way too seriously. Well, not like that has any impact on the anime, I just wanted to get this out of my chest. But it also means that you might enjoy this even if you don't like sport anime in general.

Now, I more or less liked the first two series (altrought I though they were, well, not *that* great), so when the 3rd season was announced, of course I was going to watch it. Yet, when I started thinking about the previous seasons... I found out I don't read more
Dec 20, 2019
_Alleria_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's really sad that the show is being attacked like this on its score when its quite literally the best the franchise has been up to this point. Chihayafuru 3 is a must watch for all Chihayafuru fans and for those interested in the franchise don't be disheartened by its score and please go watch Season 1 and 2 and if you still love this franchise give this season a watch.
Now that aside
Chihayafuru 3 excels at bringing a lot of what the previous seasons built up into fruition. The matches are as tense and exciting as ever with the animation on point providing some beautiful read more
Dec 13, 2019
rooru-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review is valid as of Episode 10 airing.

First thing first, don't trust MAL rating anymore. Chihayafuru 3 (anime third season) has been struck by people downvoting it for childish reasons. So from now on, don't trust MAL rating until they fix their issues (which they haven't as of December 13th). MAL admins and moderators, your site credibility is in jeopardy.

Second, before you watch this, watch the first and second season. No need to read the manga (I'm not a very active manga reader to be honest). But you know this series is quite popular if it has its own trilogy of live action movies. read more
Feb 26, 2020
Reviewholic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh wow, now that the troll ratings are removed, whilst the anti-troll ratings remain, Chihayafuru S3 has way more score than it should have, more than the previous seasons, which is obviously WRONG.
This is very simple. In S3, the plot has progressed to the most important event, the Queens and Masters, the peak performance of karuta. The stakes are at an all time high, and the drama will be most dramatic, fans would think this season will climax and surpass the previous seasons... but they were WRONG.
S3 did retain the charms of Chihayafuru, sufficiently developed characters, strategic & intense monologues and emotional soundtracks. read more
Mar 24, 2020
Watame (All reviews)
Chihayafuru is a manga series written and illustrated by Yuki Suetsugu; Chihayafuru is her first animated work, but not the first manga. The manga has been serialized in Be Love(Kodansha) since December 2007. Third season of the series aired in 2019, which is 6 years later after the second season. The manga, as well as the TV series, have won many awards; the manga also has more than 16 million copies in print.

Being in a team is always challenging: aside from improving yourself, you need to improve the team and help them keep going no matter what frustration they might face. Mizusawa High School's Karuta read more
Mar 24, 2020
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
After a seven year long break, Chihayafuru is finally back and it’s better than ever before. Fans, rejoice, because this is by far the best season of Chihayafuru and with some small exceptions this season has otherwise improved on every aspect compared to prior seasons. This review will outline the exact places where this series has improved, and why I believe this show deserves the highest rating of any sports anime around.

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Chihayafuru 3 starts off with a quick recap and possibly for the first time in the series actually properly explains how Karuta is played, and I will admit straight up, when read more
May 11, 2020
M_Hawk (All reviews)
*Disclaimer*
I don't know what's all about with this review bombing mentioned. Here I'm just fairly pointing why for me 3 season was a disappointment. After picking up the whole series just a week ago.
/*

And oh boy it was. The story was much worse than in earlier seasons. Characters felt like they stopped growing and became more and more childish. With the ultimate transformation of Taichi into a toxic jerk, who doesn't care about people and their reaction to his actions. Only he and his feelings were important. The story was overly focused on creating a love triangle, rather than showing fine sports/school life like in read more
Oct 1, 2020
Misbah_shah (All reviews)
This anime definitely is not for everyone. I don't know why is it rated so high, by so many people. I'll explain just 7 points why you can watch it and why you can't.

1. The character TAICHI is one of the major reasons I kept watching the 3 seasons and anyone would love his character more than any other character in the series (say it girls or boys, they'll get impressed). He's a childhood friend of Chihaya, the girl whom he liked ever since 6th grade. They're high schoolers now, but he's not able to confess because he thinks that she likes Arata, another read more
May 31, 2020
Sesshomaru (All reviews)
ちはやふる 3 - Chihayafuru 3 is an endearing sequel to the past seasons with the same distinctive charm and a lot of heart. It is a really beautiful series that appeals to a wide audience with excitement, fun and emotions and entertains them great. The third season, my third review of the series, and I still recommend the series as much as I did at the beginning.

Story: Familiar, yet different & new, so that tension & excitement arise again (9/10)
The story follows a very plausible structure. While I understand that shifting focus from teams to individuals is a source of discussion and a read more
Mar 24, 2020
Ethan_07 (All reviews)
Though we are parted,
If on Mount Inaba's peak
I should hear the sound
Of the pine trees growing there,
I'll come back again to you.

A bittersweet poem that represents Taichi. If you can feel the emotions in it, then you are hopelessly in love with Chihayafuru. It’s been eight years since the first Chihayafuru has been introduced to the world, and this is how long this anime community has waited for this season. Despite being both a jousei and slice of life genre, over the seasons, Chihayafuru has created much competitive and warm atmosphere for the matches and built up ample friendships and tension. Now, it’s finally time read more
Apr 8, 2020
Excalibur1702 (All reviews)
Before starting Chihayafuru, I'm sure most people wondered how interesting a Japanese card game based Anime could be. Much to our delight, Chihayafuru 1 and 2 made us fall in love with Karuta and the Hyakunin Isshu, along with all the characters. While they both were pretty good Anime themselves, Chihayafuru 3 is better than the previous seasons by a huge margin, in every department - the Karuta, the romance, the character development, and the overall feel of Chihayafuru in general.

(Spoilers for Seasons 1 and 2 ahead)

Story : 9
The story picks up where Season 2 ends - with the High School Tournament over, Taichi and read more
Apr 26, 2020
WolfSand9 (All reviews)
Chihayafuru the 1 and 2 season were great and fun but 3rd is more dark and sad.
I prefered previous season than that. Main characters were beautiful and clothes.
The ending is open. They settle on year in 3rd series. Authors could make shorter challenges in karuta for episodes.
Everone wants to get better in karuta plays but they must pay for that.
They must choose between friendship, love or rivalisation to gain their goals.
You feel that series is more cold and sad. Feeligns can change in to more negative.
Characters become more egist than previous seasons. On 3rd is more emotional than game read more
Apr 5, 2020
Jefumaru (All reviews)
I write this review in a vain attempt to get even a single extra person to watch this. Even though this is a season 3 review, perhaps in some small way this tiny blip will contribute a fraction of a fraction of a percent to increasing its popularity. I truly believe this is one of those hallmark shows, one that every anime viewer should see.

It was six years since season 2 ended, and to have even witnessed this new season is what I perceive to be a miracle. Seasons 1 and 2 had grand achievements in story telling, character development, and even world building I read more