Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Itazura na Kiss


Alternative Titles

English: ItaKiss
Synonyms: Naughty Kiss, Teasing Kiss, Mischievous Kiss, Itazurana Kiss, It Started With A Kiss
Japanese: イタズラなKiss

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2008 to Sep 25, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Saturdays at 02:25 (JST)
Licensors: Discotek Media
Source: Manga
Genres: Comedy, Romance, Shoujo
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.681 (scored by 96,813 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11532
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #504
Members: 183,184
Favorites: 2,754

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 31, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
Shoujo romance can be a bit of an annoying genre for me. First it is dominated by bishounen love interests who often look more like girls and usually have aloof or abrasive personalities that make you wonder why the heroine fell in love with them in the first place. While at first glance, Itazura na Kiss may not seem to be any different (though with the relieving lack of bishies) it evolved before my very eyes into the most heartwarming romance I have seen to date.

The plot for Itazura na Kiss is no different than your standard shoujo romance. A plain and read more
Nov 1, 2014
Darkmoq (All reviews)
*sigh*
This is one of the most annoying romance animes I’ve ever watched. Now either hit the “not helpful” button or keep reading to find out why.
Story 3:
I chose to start InK because I heard it broke with the romance genre’s stale tradition of ending with a high school rooftop kiss, and instead actually followed the characters into their adult lives.
InK’s longitudinal narrative style was the one positive thing that I can say about this train wreck of an anime (that and its surprisingly accurate use of medical jargon).

This anime is about Kotoko, a ditzy, klutzy, dimwitted, high school girl, and her one-sided read more
Mar 2, 2010
ZweiTheBadAss (All reviews)
Would you just back down after being told no? To be honest, very few anime make me want to actually write a review about them. This is one of the rare exceptions. I have never seen such a beautiful, but also realistic story. However, there was a myriad of things beautiful about the anime outside of the story.

The score for this anime was beautiful, not as much as one would had liked, but they did a very good job with this. The art style also stuck true to the manga written back in 1991, which I also appreciate. However, enough of that, let's get on read more
Dec 6, 2009
jxthree (All reviews)
The reason I chose to watch this anime was because it seemed to be highly recommended by others, so I feel like it is partly my duty to give a differing point of view since I really didn't like this anime at all.

This shoujo comedy centers on Kotoko, a character who is nothing new to the genre: pretty, but not too pretty, stupid, determined, feminine and someone whose whole being revolves around the guy she likes. Unfortunately the guy she happens to like is mean-spirited when he's not being completely indifferent towards her, rude (and of course incredibly good-looking), arrogant (and also the smartest read more
Nov 27, 2011
Jigoku-n3ko (All reviews)
Preliminary
ItazuraCrap is of all the anime I have seen the one I detest the most. Sure, there are tons of stupid, annoying, brainless shows out there but this one exists in a craptastic category of its own. There is so much wrongness stuffed behind the mask of a cute shojo that it makes me want to get myself into a Tardis and erase every sign of this anime ever having been created. Let's dissect the wrongness…

Story:
The story kicks off clichéd to the n(th) degree: plain, ditzy girl is unrequitedly in love with the School Prince™. Now, this kind of setting can be charming given the read more
Jun 27, 2008
ichigopan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Not in recent memory has an anime piqued my need to write a review. This one is a great adaptation of the manga. The setting has been updated to reflect current times. The flavor of the original story has stayed true with extra filler material cut out which paces the anime well. Keep in mind this manga began publishing in 1990. While the art may seem weird to some, this anime really does stay true to the original manga.

This version of Aihara Kotoko is prettier and while still not the sharpest tool in the shed is more tolerable than the manga version. Irie Naoki looks read more
Mar 26, 2012
catalysst (All reviews)
Be warned, this review may contain /spoilers/.

Aihara Kotoko is in love with the unattainable Irie Naoki. Fate intervenes when one day Kotoko’s house gets ruined by an earthquake, forcing Kotoko and her father to move in to Naoki and his parents’ house. Does Kotoko have a chance with Naoki after all? The romantic comedy begins! Itazura na Kiss is one of those few anime that go past the main couple’s high school life and transcends into their adult life – their marriage, honeymoon, and university/college experiences. The manga which this anime is based off of is unfinished due to the tragic, untimely death of the read more
Aug 27, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Itazura na Kiss is a Shoujo, Slice of Life, Romantic, Comedy about the unrequited love of our heroine, which slowly develops into true love. This concept is anything but original but this anime adaptation surely did the manga justice.

Here we have the typical shoujo set-up of the average girl (Kotoko Aihara) that has a crush on the school idol (Naoki Irie), but he doesn’t feel the same way towards her. So she makes it her goal to find a way to unlock the door to his heart. This premise is kind of dull on the other hand the whole living together, due to some unforeseen read more
Jan 17, 2014
Diassia (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review does contain spoilers.

As you can see, I did not rate this anime very highly at all. I actually stumbled across this because I wanted something “happier” and “cuter” to watch as I’d just finished a really deep intense anime. I am actually quite partial to romance anime and have watched some of the big ones such as Ef: A Tale of Memories, Clannad, Kanon, Air, etc.

This anime is not happy. It is not cute. It is sadistic.

The Recommendations list compares Itazura na Kiss to Clannad After Story which is by far one of my favourite animes. This is mostly due to read more
Jun 3, 2008
theflibbet (All reviews)
Preliminary
when i first started watching itazura, i was worried it was going to be a big mistake. the plot seemed cliched and a bit obvious (don't they always get together in the end...?) but i'm glad i stuck with it, because the getting there part is very well done. i enjoy how the characters are fleshed out, and while the art isn't fabulous, it's enough to get the point across. kotoko is cute, though rather annoying in that her life's desire is to end up with irie. she's really setting an example for little girls. irie, on the other hand, is your stereotypical "too cool read more
Oct 19, 2008
kosquarepelli (All reviews)
Fun premise with some genuinely humorous and touching moments, but tries to cram too much story into too few episodes, severely undermining the character development and romance that should be two of the show's star attractions. Irie's characterization suffers most from the compression -- every show of affection comes off as random and perfunctory, seeming less like the result of his feelings for Kotoko than the show meeting a necessary benchmark so it can move on to the next phase of the Irie/Kotoko relationship. (Not surprisingly, Kotoko herself comes off as a bit of a doormat early on, given that she suffers so read more
Nov 28, 2015
Kecchan (All reviews)
This anime has ONE thing to say:
It is okay for a woman to be treated like trash, be constantly bullied, abused, rejected and belittled by her romantic interest. A woman should worship a man who has more respect for trash than for her, and her sole purpose in life should be to serve, idolize, and love him. As long as she continues to love him despite his utter lack of respect for her character, she will get a happy ending, because even though the man will always treat her as inferior piece of shit, he will eventually love her back. Kind of.

Kotoko's relationship read more
Oct 13, 2008
ethann (All reviews)
Itazura na Kiss is about a girl who is not so bright but very determined who falls in love with a verytalented and supposedly "way above her league" guy.The story follows the trials and tribulations that she goes through in her relationship with him.

I liked the story of this anime very much because it is one of the few animes that actually go so far as to follow the relationship of the couple after their marriage. this makes it different from most animes which just end the story when the two confess to each other or something along that line. However, a warning to all read more
Jan 9, 2012
xMintyPie (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oooooookkkk...

Let me start off by saying, I had *high* expectations for this. I had about 4 or more friends tell me that "Itazura na Kiss is beautiful! It's exactly like Clannad: After Story! I'm sure you'd LOVE it!"

Sorry, but what is there to love? And how the dang flying crap is it in ANY WAY like Clannad: After Story? HOW? I don't see the similarity at all! Most of the time I wanted to vomit because of how utterly gross this idiotic junk was.


Story~
Ughhhhh... more cliche romance. This is why I dislike romance-- it's very annoying to me. Mainly because the only ones I can read more
Sep 29, 2008
Mantret (All reviews)
The series has just ended, and I can finally deem myself worthy enough to write a review. But beware spoilers after the first paragraph!

What is Itazura na Kiss exactly? Probably the most amazing, wonderful, and romantic anime you will ever find. The story follows Kotoko, a cute and spunky girl who, though she is not book smart, is makes up for it in personality traits that a normal human could not possess. Kotoko is the girl everyone who has failed a class wants to be, the girl that gets kicked around by those smarter and more attractive than herself, but who is able to read more
Feb 26, 2010
shojoaddict17 (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you like hopelessly brainless girls with a hopeless love interest, then this the anime for you! Usually these unrequited love stories have the girl who may be weak and clumsy, even dumb, but they also have an indomitable will and can at least Cook their way into your heart. Not here. And the guy may be smart and popular, but also secretly sweet, but here the guy is manipulative, mean, and publicly humiliates the sad girl for his own amusement. I had a hard time finding interest and will to root on the couple at all.
Apr 1, 2011
trzr23 (All reviews)
"Love isn’t blind. It’s retarded." – Charlie, Two and a Half Men

What happens when the unstoppable force meets the immovable object? Love blossoms, of course! Itazura na Kiss is the anime adaptation of the smash hit manga of the same name that published in the late 1990s. However, due to the sudden death of the mangaka, Karou Tada, the manga never reached its intended climax. After the release of three successful live action series (and another later in 2010), TMS Entertainment decided to conceptualize the ending and produce a 25 episode anime series.

Itazura na Kiss follows Kotoko, a naive and clumsy girl who falls read more
Dec 20, 2016
roehell (All reviews)
Spoilers. Probably. Not really. There is definitely spoilers in this review.


NOTE: HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO REWATCH THIS ANIME IF YOU HAPPENED TO SEE MY COMMENT AND YOU ALREADY LEFT A COMMENT WITH HIGH MIGHTY RATING AGES AGO.

Well, well, well, well I rated this anime 7 back then when I was a child. I thought I should re-watch this after reading the synopsis and was clearly dumbfounded that I actually liked this anime. Was I masochist or am I just plainly ignorant back then?

Story and Character

Alright, the MC girl is a stupid, clumsy, masochist, dimwit, silly, idiot, klutzy-- wait, did I just use interchangeable words read more
Oct 1, 2008
Otaku1412 (All reviews)
Itazura na Kiss, or "Mischievous Kiss", does start out as a typical romantic comedy of Kotoko Aihara having a crush on Naoki Irie for a long time. When Kotoko gathers enough courage to give Naoki a love letter on her 18th birthday, he flat out refuses to accept it. That is when the stereotype of romantic comedy takes a nice detour.

Aside from the synopsis that I gave above, Kotoko is pretty much an airhead when it comes to most things where as Naoki seems to be able to do almost anything set in fromt of him. Actually, Naoki said "I can probably do about read more
Feb 8, 2009
vault2049 (All reviews)
This anime caught my atention a while ago. It's a love-drama-slice of life and "Shoujo" if you call it the japanesse way. I wasn't expecting anything good from this one but I was wrong, instead this anime turned to out to be one of my favourites of this genre: it has a pretty decent story complemented with rich characters and a very funny overall development.

The story just begins like it usually does when you mix love and romance with the Shoujo genre: "girl likes a boy and tries to tell him about it". The difference is that (for very incredible circustances xD!) this girl read more