Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hanebado!


Alternative Titles

English: Hanebado!
Synonyms: The Badminton play of Ayano Hanesaki!
Japanese: はねバド!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2018 to Oct 1, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Kodansha, TOHO animation
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: LIDENFILMS
Source: Manga
Genres: Seinen, Sports
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.101 (scored by 40,874 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #33352
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1062
Members: 95,396
Favorites: 268

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 30, 2018
Suisightseer (All reviews)
If you didn’t already know, there is a subset of the anime community called the Sakuga Community, whose principle value in anime lies solely within it’s production value. No matter how good or bad a show is, considering the hundreds of aspects that go into it’s production, this community will watch or drop a show on it’s quality of animation alone. While I never thought negatively of these people, I can say that I certainly never understood them. These are people who watched the entirety of Fate/Apocrypha for it’s sakuga, and watching a show THAT bad to completion just to see a few flashy read more
Jul 22, 2018
Target_Finder (All reviews)
Preliminary
Most people think the 'bad, in Hanebado is for 'badminton.' Unfortunately, it literally stands for 'this show is bad'. Long story short, this show is not impressive in the slightest. Abysmal writing and comic book antagonists (that would actually be disrespectful to comic book villans though)

Remember the show "Everyone Hates Chris"? This is pretty much Everyone Hates Ayana. They introduce a new rival every week that just make no sense. The characters don't care about badminton at all for the most part. Everyone seems like they hate it. The whole show is just doom and gloom. Every week we think they are turning a corner, read more
Jul 22, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hanebad AKA Hanesaki Badminton is yet another underwhelming sports series from 2018. This time, our series focuses around edgy feelings stuff, crying scenes and other melodrama, and the title itself already acknowledges it is bad.

Apparently, life is pointless and so is badminton, so wearing an edgy face directly from Madoka Magica whenever someone hits the ball, or cringe flashbacks with sad feeling stuff occurs, is obligatory. I have no idea what the series tries to accomplish by anyone crying every 5 minutes and reflecting their suicidal vanity via badminton. Better cut myself some wounds that won't heal to understand how deep it is, I read more
Sep 30, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Ever wonder what the female version of Haikyuu!! would look like?

No, you say??? Alright, then…..carry on.

Its just, this anime bears some resem—….oh, you still don’t care. Okay. I’ll just leave you alone….



F—k you! I’m writing this review whether you like it or not.


As regular as the seasons change, another sports-genre anime has graced our computer screens for what seems like the umpteenth time, the flavor of the month being: badminton. Not the most exhilarating sport in the world, but it definitely has intermittent moments of shock and awe (much like Hanebado!).

Following in the footsteps of its male counterpart, Hanebado! is read more
Sep 30, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Sometimes, I wish sports anime gets more attention whether it’s swimming, basketball, soccer, tennis, or anything competitive in nature. Sure, there was Free! from these past few years but it clearly had an audience from the very beginning. Badminton is a one of those sports where it doesn’t get too much attention, at least not on an international level. Yet Hanebado has its own fame when it comes to selling its sports drama.

I would have originally watched this show just for the sheer competitiveness feeling. However, Hanebado persuaded me to invest into its character cast from the first few episodes. We meet a colorful group read more
Sep 30, 2018
animesscythe (All reviews)
I'm not a fan of the sports genre, I may be missing out on some treats, but I'm not interested in cliche games where the main character always wins. I came across Megalo Box and it proved me wrong, so I thought why not give this a try? It might impress me too... but it didn't.

The story is about a tournament in which challengers play against each other. I guess that's it, that's the most of the story. There's also the unnecessary drama which is also criticized by its fans, but if you dislike the drama, then what do you exactly like about the show? read more
Jul 24, 2018
Dr_Sephiroth (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hanebado is shaping up to be one of the more thoughtful and emotional sports anime. Instead of relying on gimmicks like crazy superpowers and overpowered shonen protagonists, it seeks to tell a more personal story by focusing more on the characters and them dealing with their internal struggles through a sport that they all enjoy.

Story:

The story setup for this one is about as simple as you would expect for a sports anime. A struggling badminton team is on the verge of closing when a new coach and an ace badminton player show up to join the group. With their powers combined, they begin playing matches read more
Sep 30, 2018
Its-Maki-kun (All reviews)
Coincidentally, this anime aired when the hype was on Asian Games 2018 and I was fired up to watch sports! Phantom Thieves may have their own show this season but the one who stole my heart in this season actually not them but this very particular badminton anime. While many people resent how this anime flows (being overly dramatic), I am personally love them just because I could analyze everything in this anime scene by scene or even second by second. Hanebado! proofed that sometimes it is not too bad to change course from how the original material works for the sake of character building.

Let read more
Sep 30, 2018
SoraSenpai (All reviews)
When it comes to Sports anime Hanebado is one of the more realistic ones out there when it comes to the actual play of the game. No over the top nonsense like super powers or bring undersized and overcoming tall obstacles (im looking at you Haikyuu) or going down a Yaoi fanbase (im looking at you Yuri on Ice). Instead Hanebado focuses more on two girls who overcome personal issues to better themselves not only in Badminton but in life as well. I really would have liked to give this Story a 10/10 however the introduction of side characters backstories and side stories set this read more
Nov 11, 2018
AnibonOfficial (All reviews)
(This review is spoilerless.)

This series is a very bad sport series.

Honestly, based on the ideas and quality productions alone cannot make this series to be an interesting or even watchable. Personally, I like nothing in this series starting from plots, ideas, characters, pacing, tones, dialogues, progressions and developments. This is one of most pandering and corny sport series I have ever seen for a while. It feel like I'm not even watching sport or let alone the series itself. Everything look fan service to me.

Plots that building up to be an obnoxiously over-dramatic sport life where everyone don't play sport as they feel read more
Sep 30, 2018
RiverRode (All reviews)
“this badminton anime has had like 6 or 7 different characters break down crying in the first episode. badminton must be absolutely miserable” -@shaun_jen

The protagonist of a sports anime will typically have some talent that makes them eligible to be the protagonist – Kuroko lacks presence, Hinata jumps high, Sawamura has flexible wrists, and the list goes on. This is an ability that they have, that no one else will be able to develop, no matter how hard they try, and it’s what gives them the edge over their competition. Hanasaki Ayano has every talent there could be when it comes to badminton – handedness, read more
Sep 30, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
No words could better describe this series than a progressive trainwreck of its characters, amidst the overall setting, and we literally just got so trolled over the fact that we don't ever know what this anime wants to be anymore. And that was the result of Hanebado!, a pretty intense yet mind-boggling series that has everyone calling foul over many issues that have since happened.

Let's get the bad things out of the way, then we can end this on a good note. (Spoilers be warned)
First off, it is the adaptation from the manga that immediately develops its own material while taking snippets from it. Immediately, read more
Sep 24, 2018
OG_Guts (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hanebado has proven to being one of the more unique, emotionally driven sports anime. What I mean by that is it tackles the genre by having a more serious tone, focusing on the ‘dark side’ of competitive sports that sports anime don't usually show. It doesn’t have those stupid “special moves” or fanservice crap you see in sports anime.

Hanebado is basically a sports anime about badminton. Whilst saying that, I think one of the core strengths of the series is it focuses more on the characters, their inner struggles and overcoming their emotional tramua. Badminton is in a sense the platform to have to read more
Oct 1, 2018
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
I honestly don't know why I bothered finishing this. As a child I grew up with Badminton so to see the first two episodes portraying the sport in such an ugly fashion put me off it for a while before I continued. But here we are and let's have a chat on Hanebado. (Insert joke about how you can't spell "Hanebado" without "bad" here).

I've watched two sports anime this season based on fanservice-heavy manga. The other one being Harukana Receive. While I can't comment exactly on how faithful each adaptation is, I would've much preferred Harukana's approach to the genre. That is to say a read more
Sep 30, 2018
DirectorK (All reviews)
Hanebado! This anime has come under a lot of praise and criticism since it first released this summer. Some have praised it for its realism while others have criticised it for bad writing and character inconsistencies. For me though, I’m actually really happy with the way this anime went. I got invested in this show because there’s a lot I can relate to. To give us out some serious talk, all us have had some kind of issue growing up especially with our parents. Now granted, most of us didn’t have the kind of issue that Ayano has with her mother, but the anime gives read more
Aug 4, 2018
Origami_Bullets (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was reluctant to call this show a summer Sleeper Pick

I mean who would think a show with amazing animation, body physics, and deep and investing plot that satiates you in the moment but is appetizing enough to keep you craving for the next serving.

Rich and Robust characters with varying degrees of development and outlooks, each holding their own goals and desires close at heart.

One of the best opening scenes that i have watched in quite some time, with little to no dialogue, a world was built in between the girls you were watching in a spell...doing what?

playing Badminton.

That's right, Hanebado is read more
Oct 2, 2018
taky1234 (All reviews)
I only write short reviews for the people who want a quick rundown of what to expect. (this shouldn't spoil anything for you)

The art and sound were incredible at least...

Now the story was enjoyable and I would argue the main points were believable for example Ayano's mom leaves her at a young age (guessing between 6-10) and she obviously resents her for it and thinks she left because of her talent. When she starts playing in high school she plays only to win to prove to her mom she doesnt need her (which i think is MORE the reasonable) which i enjoyed because it was read more
Oct 9, 2018
chaggo (All reviews)
It takes a lot of effort to fail at sports anime but this one manages to do it.

Yeah, it's pretty bad. The worst thing for me was that it felt like they didn't really know if they wanted the show to be your typical "funny, upbeat with a few serious moments here and there" sports anime or something more serious and realistic. At times they want to make the whole thing sound really serious and realistic and then they give one of the main characters an "eye transformation" power up or an "i win because of the power of my heart even though i'm actually read more
Sep 30, 2018
subrashijohnsan (All reviews)
Ah Hanebado, the sport that is really underrated in all honesty is finally being adapted into a show...except that show is disguised as a cheap drama with a competition to see who can draw the best yandere face at LIDENFILMS

They don't call it HaneBADo for a reason amirite?


*THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

Plot:

So Hanebado delves into the perspective of 2 central protagonists. Well I say to but really we just have 1 protag while the other is pretty much disregarded for half the story. If I had to give an analogy over how the story went, let's use a burger shall we? Now Aragaki our read more
Apr 13, 2019
alwaysflying (All reviews)
Although I’ve marked this series as “Completed”, I actually ragequit in the last episode with only a few minutes left to go. I’ve never seen a supposedly character-driven show fail so hard on every plot-related aspect while acing everything else.

The OP drew me in with its slick, beautiful animation and the charming smile of Ayano Hanesaki. Unfortunately, upon finishing (or near-finishing) this show, the only positive impressions I was left with were indeed the animation and Ayano Hanesaki.

Hanebado! seemingly wants to depict the growth of Ayano and her counterpart Nagisa into badminton players who play with a happy, healthy mindset. Yet while it read more