Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mo Dao Zu Shi


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Modao Zushi, Grandmaster of Demonic Cultivation, The Founder of Diabolism, The Founder of Evil Magic
Japanese: 魔道祖师

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 15
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 9, 2018 to Oct 6, 2018
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.611 (scored by 14,928 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1599
Members: 62,173
Favorites: 2,012

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 13, 2018
-Heika (All reviews)
I usually write reviews either because I hate it or love it. In this case, it’s the latter.
I’m so in love with Mo Dao Zu Shi in general, (not just the animation) and I’ve started reading the novel and caught up on the currently translated Manhua. [SPOILER-FREE]

Story: 10
If you haven’t read the novel or Manhua, (like me—because I started with the anime/donghua) then it might be a bit confusing at first but you’ll get the gist of it. I personally started reading the novel and Manhua, and they give more explanations and you’ll appreciate the story more.
This is a BL/Shounen Ai Story, so read more
Oct 14, 2018
Mr_Trafalgar (All reviews)
I never really write any reviews on anime but this time I felt like I had to. This anime is truly a masterpiece. The plot is outstanding and it doesn't get tiring at all. Although it is a bit confusing at first it's not hard to understand and follow it. All the characters are very well drawn and portrayed. The animation is beautiful too, their movements are so smooth and it's almost hypnotizing to watch. The voice actors have done an amazing work showing the characters feelings (especially in the last episode). The music is truly magnificent as well. I really liked the fact that read more
Oct 14, 2018
Njut (All reviews)
Hi, I'll make it short for you guys, put some headphones, and dive into it, the music, art and plot will do the rest.

You'll get hooked, and get sadder and sadder as the prospect of the end of the season approaches.

The ancienT China lair, and character development are really sofisticated, voice actors are great and it deservs its reviews.

The 3 best points are for me : the main character , the music, and the art and smoothness of the animation, the combining of ccg and drawings is really well done, and immersive, I know really few japanese studios that could rival with this level read more
Sep 7, 2018
mobrine (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sorry if you find some errors

Consider my review as a fan of the whole story, so this review may seem biased to you

Mo dao zu shi, Grandmaster of Demonic Cultivation, The Founder of Diabolism, The Founder of Evil Magic or 墨香铜臭 is a donghua ( Chinese animation ) adapted from a Chinese novel with the same name ( and have manhua as well )
For me this animation is a point of revolution in the Chinese animation ( I'm not joking )

The story is simply about the cultivation world, In this world there are cultivation sects ruled by prominent clans ( Jiang - Lan - Jin read more
Oct 25, 2018
asckj1 (All reviews)
Where do I begin with? I was doing a search on pinterest for some traditional media pictures and some fanart of chinese illustrations and some pictures with long haired guys that looked like anime images would pop up again and again. So I finally decided to do a reverse image search. And I can't believe what a gold mine I stumbled across!!

This anime... first and foremost there are breathtaking landscapes in almost every frame of each single episode. I kept on imagining how ancient China must look like before its modernization but I feel that most part of China (probably the central parts) might read more
Jul 24, 2018
eminoyami (All reviews)
Preliminary
Mo Dao Zu Shi or The Founder of Diabolism is an adaptation of my favourite Chinese BL novel, so I will probably be a bit biased in my review. (I hope there aren't any big spoilers.)

Story 9/10
By the 3rd episode, the anime has shown only the introduction to the main story and there are some minor plot changes, but I can see that it will be as good as in the novel.

The story is very interesting and unusual. Because of that it's difficult to put it under a curtain genre - it is very funny at times, however, there will be a couple of very read more
Jan 9, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
This review won't go too much in depth with the points presented because I am trying to forget I ever watched this show. Seeing how there are no critical opinions available like anywhere on the interwebs, I thought I should do at least this much.

Story:

Imagine your typical ecchi harem where the male mc becomes an overpowered Jesus whenever he touches boobs. Now replace this with a boylove story, insert it inside ancient China, add superpowers and evil demons. Whenever anything happens, throw in a flashback because the past is so important in this complex story that takes place inside a massive time period of 20-something read more
Jul 31, 2018
Dr-anime (All reviews)
Preliminary
i found about the anime two days ago and i’m addicted to it by the time being , after watching until the last fifth ep unsubbed ( this how much i’m addicted ) , i went to read the manga then the novel ..

the anime starts off with ambigious events you don’t understand what’s going on but by the end of the first episode you get the over all idea .. of course the novel is well built up and it does explain the first episode in details so you’re not lost as in the anime experience

the story is really rich and adventrous read more
Jul 22, 2018
KamuiRil (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is the adaptation of the Chinese novel with the same title.
I've read the novel and so far I can say they made a very good job adapting it to the visual format, cutting some scenes, but not missing the most important points and interactions.

It is hard to review the anime alone, because the characters, story and even whole lines are exactly as they are in the novel.

The art is beyond gorgeous, it manages to create beautiful atmosphere and mood.

What seemed a bit confusing to me in the beginning, is that some characters look very much alike, and if I wasn't familiar with read more
Aug 4, 2018
AvariciousOne (All reviews)
Preliminary
Only 1 adjective is fit to describe this series: Captivating

***TL;DR***
What I Like:
-Funny prankster and oddball main character who is overpowered but chill
-Fighting scenes
-Chinese-style Magic Circles (:O poggers)
-the sheer beauty of landscapes and trees
-Chinese instrumental music

What I am critical about:
-Shounen-ai
-Non-linear plot structure & time skips
-Unfamiliar chinese voice acting

I recommend you give this show at least a try! Most people may be turned off by the Chinese voice acting and the Shounen-ai aspect, making this show quite underrated. I find them more than tolerable and am quite enjoying the series.
___________________________________________________________


From the art style/animation and music to the plot structure and character interaction, this read more
Dec 18, 2018
Jairus_Kersey (All reviews)
I was amazed to my "Golden Core" ! [SPOILER-FREE]

This is undoubtedly the most beautiful anime I've ever seen in my life! It's much better than any other anime in the year of 2018, I would dare to claim. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves anime as I do.

I have mostly great things to say about this anime with a couple of complaints.

First of all, the arts, style, music and character design in this series absolutely amazed me to my "Golden Core"!

The artistic portrayal of ancient China is breathtakingly beautiful. Every frame seems like a picturesque poem. In fact I would call the read more
Oct 6, 2018
Star7777777 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note 1: This first season has "a bit better than good friends" vibes between the main characters. If you just stared at the "Shounen-Ai" tag and the rating "R - 17+ (violence & profanity)" and thought "Oh, this is just like all the other Shounen Ai animes where the main characters are in love with each other" You are COMPLETELY WRONG!!! (for now) This season (Season 1, I'm not sure about the other seasons) is DEFINITELY rated 17+ for the gore (like zombies eating people gore), not the love between the main characters (These two characters did not do any flirting. At most, it is read more
Jan 4, 2019
deadinside-x_x- (All reviews)
Now, I have never written any reviews on any anime whatsoever. However, Mo Dao Zu Shi has me sister stoked in such a good way that I cannot hold myself back from writing a review on this masterpiece.

Story (9.5): The reason why I'm not giving this a 10 is that the story starts off quite confusing. That being said, the pacing of the story will definitely give you enough time to clear off all your confusion and misunderstandings about the world, the characters and whatnot. The show starts off with more comedic scenes that are funny and exciting. Yet, the anime will turn an entire read more
Dec 31, 2018
Viest (All reviews)
The art is realistic but not to a point where it's annoying or far-fetched. The story is extraordinary with its tearful moments that brings jabs to the heart and overjoyed moments that make you want to jump off your seat. Mo Dao Zu Shi contains plenty action, some BL/Yaoi, some comedy, drama, and heart-felt scenes that brought myself to tears. The sound is even greater than any anime i've ever watched in the past years with its exquisite music. Not just the music, the sound effects as well. The characters were my favorite of course due to the development of Wei Wuxian's character and the read more
Nov 26, 2018
sepid_96 (All reviews)
so i watched this chinese ONA because one of my friends recommended it :D
i came to watch this for a first try and never would have thought that i would like it to this point :)
everything was perfect for me...i watched spirit pact but i watched the japanese dubbed ver of it so it seemed like an anime and it was so beautiful with a good enough story...i hope chinese animation industry will bring us more and more ONA's like these :D i personally adore them...they are so good *~*

STORY 10/10 :i watched the first episode and i was like whats happening...i watched chinese read more
Oct 10, 2018
wenq (All reviews)
Preliminary
On first glance, MDZS the animation seems superb: great characters, unique soundtrack, gripping story... but there are glaring weaknesses that I feel pulls down the score significantly. Note, this review is influenced by my experience reading the novel.

Story: 7/10
There is politics and complicated webs of relationships between characters. Plus, there is undeniable appeal in following an underdog who, through suffering and circumstance, ends up attaining great power. Unfortunately, there's a lack of depth and emotional punchiness - it's too much wish fulfillment, evil is completely evil, good is completely good, there's no complexity in how the story plays out.

Art: 9/10
Fluid animation, amazing (!!) backgrounds. read more
Jan 27, 2019
ayeitzanime (All reviews)
I personally really enjoyed this show. The art was amazing the soundtrack was amazing and not only that but the story telling was extremely well done. Although most people will tend to avoid this show because it contains BL. I really think that people who usually avoid BL, can actually watch this because the story is so amazing and you can somewhat ignore the aspect of it being BL and pass it more as bromance. So whether you are into BL or not I think this donghua was very well made and I really enjoyed it(literally got me obsessed lol).
Mar 10, 2019
kogimp (All reviews)
I cannot imagine going back to Japanese anime after this show. It has obliterated all current standards. The worldbuilding, storytelling, music, ART, plot....everything has surpassed my expectations.

I watched the donghua before moving on to the novel, and suddenly realised there are tons of easter eggs hidden within the show, waiting for me to grasp the meaning of. And when i did, ho boy. I fell so fast and so hard.

It is rare to empathise with more than a handful of characters in shows - but not for this. You don't finish this series without having strong feelings for close to 20 characters. You read more
Feb 5, 2019
Anjin77 (All reviews)
Mo Dao Zu Shi is absolutely awesome! The story is very interesting with amazing plot structures. The setting of fiction ancient China creates a tons of charming experiences to the audience.
And the most importantly, the characters are SO CUTE!
Speacially the main characters, Wei Wuxian and Lan Wangji. They kind of have the opposite personality, but their inside are the same...I don’t know how to describe it. Just pls, watch Mo Dao Zu Shi!
Another thing is Mo Dao Dao Zu Shi is actually very deep. Each of the character is so wrong when you only think about it in one perspective. But at read more
Oct 14, 2018
Haruko_Miya (All reviews)
Im going to start off by saying, this is the first review i've ever written, you'll surely find grammar mistakes along the way and maybe silly reasonings, but bear with me!

I got recommended this anime by a friend of mine who's really into Shounen ai, and i know what you're thinking "shounen ai, this doesn't look like ai" At first i was hesitant to why it was tagged as specific. So i got curious and decided to give it a watch... And OHHHHHH Boy! was i surprised. I guess this is one of those things where "Dont judge the book by its covers" Same thing read more