Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hataraku Saibou (TV)


Alternative Titles

English: Cells at Work!
Japanese: はたらく細胞

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2018 to Sep 30, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: David Production
Source: Manga
Genres: Comedy, Shounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.781 (scored by 103,473 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9572
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #385
Members: 255,198
Favorites: 1,250

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 28, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Cells At Work is an educational series about how the human body functions on cellular level. Its source material was originally released in the Japanese science magazine called Gross Biological Stuff and Geeky Nerdy Shit Weekly, now made into an anime format to ensure the misinformation of this shonen comedy reaches a wider audience.

I refuse to use the reddit meme phrase ""as a" biology major" to back up my rhetoric with titles -- moreover, majoring biology requires bit more than reading 3 wikipedia articles about cells -- so instead I will say this series has a pretty interesting take on something that could be read more
Jul 28, 2018
star_crumbs (All reviews)
Preliminary
(I’ll only be keeping my review short and brief as only 4 episodes have been released as I write this)

As a nursing student who has had to take microbiology, anatomy, and immunology classes and such I have to say I'm quite surprised as to how accurate and informative this anime is whilst being able to have a laugh at the way they portray formed elements and bacteria as characters and the landscape of the different transportation systems and organs in the body.

This anime is great and I highly recommend it to anyone, especially if you're looking to learn about cell biology-although I believe it'd read more
Sep 29, 2018
Zaber_san (All reviews)
"The human body is the best work of art." - Jess C. Scott

Science is the study of everything around us. From the early stages of our universe, to the ancient civilizations in the past that leads us to our modern and technological society. Then we come to society. What makes a society even? The people. Humanity have transcended and evolved for generations and generations and will continue evolving like an endless cycle of life.
What does a human compose of? Cells, organs, organ system, tissues, atoms, molecules, ions and so on and so forth. This things, particularly the cells, are the ones that keeps on giving read more
Sep 29, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
It’s almost impossible to ignore biology when it comes to the human body. Hataraku Saibou (Cells at Work!) has the confidence to be its own series. It’s like you take the cartoony Osmosis & Jones and turns it into an educational exploration. The human body is complex and that alone really made me wonder how this show could capture its magic.

I’d say making this show takes a creative mind and the audience should feel connected when watching this anime. Right from the start, the show reveals the human body and what it’s made up of which is essentially red blood cells. It takes place in read more
Sep 29, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
This series was one of the most unique ones that most have been anticipating since the start of the year, and when it arrived in the lackluster Summer season, aside from the certainty that does not disappoint, it is entertaining to the mildest degree, while having a lot of *pokes* at the function of the most important system: us human beings.

Now, I don't care that whether you have studied subjects that are close to this, but I'm fairly certain that no matter our background as people whom have learned about cells in one way or another, Hataraku Saibou, or Cells at Work!, will definitely please read more
Sep 29, 2018
backdoornight (All reviews)
The Summer season of 2018 seemed to rely heavily on original adaptations when compared to the previous seasons of the same year, especially Spring, when more than half of the top ten most popular anime on this site were sequels. Various well-received returning and continuing anime fought for the position of best show of the cour, all of them with very high ratings; but new releases also held up competently, bringing both classic manga and recent visual and light novels to the screen, along with its fair share of originals. Among the new names of Summer 2018, Hataraku Saibou (Cells at Work!) deservedly warranted much read more
Sep 29, 2018
CordobezEverdeen (All reviews)
Hataraku Saibou or Cells at Work has been highly praised despite his lack of story and the lack of characters just because it's unique and innovative.
If Hataraku Saibou can do something is to show that originality is not a guarantee of a good anime.
The show lacks something that i still cannot precisely explain. After the initial shock you quickly realize that despite its originality this anime is incredibly generic (does that make sense? i dunno but thats how i felt while watching this).

Story: There is no story, this is kind of a simpsons slice of life where at the end of the day everything is read more
Aug 4, 2018
thesalami (All reviews)
Preliminary
The first episode and the community hype gives you a lot of hope. But other than the interesting concept (well, it's not that new, even Osmosis Jones did it), the show is very cliche, has no story (more slice of life), and the characters all basic.

Before you go on hating this review because this show is your new favourite anime, please give it a minute.

There have been 5 episodes, and they all have the same storyline.
Something harmful enters the body.
Scares the Red Blood Cell girl.
The White Blood Cell guy comes to save her.
The enemy is stronger than expected (some biological explanation).
Some new cell read more
Aug 26, 2018
TheMAM (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of the laziest shows I've ever seen.

Lazy characters. The main characters are each one of the cells of your immune system: red blood cell, white blood cell, etc. There is little reason to care about any of them, because they act similarly to their comrades and lack any defining traits that separates them from the trillions of cells like them. And any minuscule defining traits these characters show are being incompetent at their jobs or having backstories that don't matter in the slightest in regards to their development.

Lazy setting. Before we stray too far away from the topic of how many cells read more
Jul 29, 2018
somejackass (All reviews)
Preliminary
Cells at Work is a mediocre/slightly above-average show that gets by solely on it's gimmick, that gimmick being that it takes place in the body and follows the various biological functions, but with personified cells.

When you first go through the show you might find that it's plenty of fun. The mere gimmick itself got me to episode 4, but the show's writing wouldn't find itself out of place in a stereotypical 5/10 shounen show. It becomes so cliche at point that I found myself cringing a bit, especially in this fourth episode. The show does a lot of fun things with it's setting but read more
Oct 27, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
Who would’ve thought that such a series existed that had an imaginative way to learn about how the body's blood system works. I haven’t come across anything like it in my time as an avid fan of anime so from that alone you can’t help but be intriguingly interested. Hataraku Saibou (Cells at Work!) is a unique and terrifyingly accurate depiction on what actually happens during your body's never-ending fight against outside antigens, diseases and injuries. Whilst a semi-educational anime on human biology, rather than being boring, this anime is full of life and it includes elements of both shounen action and great comedy, allowing read more
Apr 7, 2019
ItIsIDio (All reviews)
Hataraku Saibou is an abstract interpretation of how the human body operates as a system, portraying the human body as a society of people (or rather cells) in which all these people have certain tasks to do. This system is constantly under attack, with the main drive of the series being to showcase how this society endures all of the threats placed upon it. There's not exactly a market for this type of show since biology, an exact science, represented as an abstract concept, by being rebuilt into a system that retains the basic notions within the exat science and changed into something else, is read more
Oct 6, 2018
Kakita_Ookami (All reviews)
While there is no denying that Hataraku Saibou is unique and innovative, people seem to believe this, by itself, makes it a great anime. It does not.

Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed this anime, and thought it would be a great idea to teach kids about biology, but the anime itself is lackluster.

Story: 4/10
A slice of life anime that follows the daily activities of a red and white blood cell. We get to see in detail how the body reacts to different problems and learn more about how the body works. HS gets points for accurate biology and for a novel idea, but unlike your read more
Jul 30, 2018
RumpPlug (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review so it's probably not going to be that good, but I'll try.

First off I'd like to say that I've always had a love for media that takes a concept and personifies it, and I also have a fascination for biology, so this anime was already perfect for me. The comedy is hilarious and I found myself laughing a lot of times, which I don't tend to do with most comedies.

Story: 9
There isn't much of a standard story, of course, the basic is that we follow the cells in our body, working in their special fields, in a city-like setting.
But the read more
Jul 29, 2018
-_-Valen (All reviews)
Preliminary
Like always when i write a review i Make it clear i don't speak Englsih i have mistake like a person that only learn English alone and help of nobady
WELL WE STAR WITH REVIEW.

Hataraku Saibou is a nime that form is one of the best of this season because is very funny , learn about my body , i did learn about on the function of white blood cells, hemoglobins, spleen, etc. In just 4 episodes so it goes something I never learned in 5 months in my school . Each day i'm more than studying medicine xD

Good about characters my favorite is U-1146 because read more
Jul 28, 2018
Kcitkat (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime tells the story of red blood cell AE3803, Red blood cell U-1146, and many other cells all working together to keep your body safe. Through explanation and dramatic scenes it will teach you how your body works and draw you into a fascinating tales of cells at work.

This anime will completely change the way you view your cells, and how you live your daily life. It will tell you stories of all the cells as they help to heal you, and to protect you from germs, all the while entertaining you with adorable and unique characters, all with their own charm.

I am fully read more
Oct 14, 2018
Gundroog (All reviews)
Hataraku Saibou might be one of if not the best educational anime out there. While feeding you information on a pretty wide variety of biology and anatomy related topic it managed to mix it with a healthy dose of comedy, action and drama without feeling any of those feeling tacked on.

The show revolves around a human body being represented as one huge city, inside which the human looking cells diligently go about doing their jobs the keep everything in good condition. Just from this it should be clear that there’s plenty of artistic license taken when it comes to depicting a human body and everything read more
Aug 19, 2018
MechaZugzwang (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's "Once Upon a Time... Life" + genocides&kawaii, all made by the JoJo animation team.

You don't need anything else.
No kidding, whatever I'm gonna write from now on is pointless, since I've already given you all the reasons to watch it.

You remember that french cartoon that used to teach us how the human body was, from muscles to viruses, from vaccines to leukemia?
"Siamo Fatti Così/Esplorando il Corpo umano" in Italy, "Il était une fois... la Vie" in France, "Érase una vez... la Vida/Érase una vez... el cuerpo humano" in the hispanic world, "Es war einmal … das Leben" in Germany, "人體大奇航" in China.
Unless you're too read more
Aug 19, 2018
Shinsukichan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Nearly ignorant of biology,I’m much obliged to はたらく細胞 for imparting me those biological knowledge about our body ,cells and innards,etc in such a colourful ,informative and appealing way.As for me,I don’t agree this anime should be categorized into pseudo-science.Because there is no convincing evidence showing its presentation of biological education is erroneous as yet.Abd we are still not too retarded to be devoid of the faculty for identifying the practice of anthropomorphism,that is to say,we certainly know the silhouette of cells are not human-like,and bacteria are not actually into the way like the intellectual aliens.If an anime bound up with science education could manage to read more
Dec 2, 2019
BabaORiley (All reviews)
In this anime are we following an idiot og a red bloodcell who can't flow through the bodies blood streams without help frol white bloodcell Josuke Higashikata from JoJo's Bizarre Adventure. I liked everything about the show from learning about how the body operates to the banter between the characters. However, I hated every second when the idiot red bloodcell came on screen. It really sucked thefun out of the show for me. You shoud watch it. Just be prepared for the annoying main character.

Macrophage is best girl don't @ me.

The show would have been average if not for the learning experianse. You could read more