Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gegege no Kitarou (2018)


Alternative Titles

English: GeGeGe no Kitaro
Synonyms: Spooky Kitaro
Japanese: ゲゲゲの鬼太郎 (2018)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Apr 1, 2018 to ?
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 09:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 6.781 (scored by 5,848 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #46212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2456
Members: 29,330
Favorites: 75

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jun 21, 2018
Armins2 (All reviews)
Even though Gegege no Kitaro is an really old anime series, i've never had any contact with Kitaro series before this 2018 version, even if since 1968 it has a new remake airing each decade...

At first, to a person who never heard about Gegege no Kitaro, the anime seems silly and adding the children rate, most people would not even give a chance to this one, but thank God i gave that chance... because
considering it is a children rated anime, which is mostly to introduce the yokai culture to the new generation, this anime is really amazing.

Instead of treat Yokais as something silly read more
Jul 3, 2018
hyaoyi (All reviews)
Do you like anime with many different myth monsters on it? Do you like anime which has alot action and boss-like situations? Or do you like anime with dark elements but still entertaining and somehow with moral lessons? Then Gegege no Kitarou is the right anime for you.

This 2018 version will show you how good Gegege no Kitarou anime is. Since in this series, it takes place into the 21st century which is quite different from the older versions. The existence of yokai is forgotten in this generation which results alot of disastrous phenomena in the human world. But there is one yokai who avoid read more
Aug 20, 2018
lazy_eraserhead (All reviews)
For a child, I can see this show being one of the best on TV. As an adult, however, the episodes are usually enjoyable but can be a bit hit or miss. However, the show isn't afraid to delve into much darker themes which have produced some great episodes that I would see myself going back and re-watching.

I never grew up with Gegege no Kitarou so the entire idea of yokai was new to me. Though, that never decreased how much I liked the show or my understanding. On the other hand, the older watchers are more than likely watching it (at least in some read more
Apr 13, 2019
Riza_Kurta (All reviews)
Updated, no-spoiler review. We're at 51 episodes, and the Sixth GeGeGe no Kitaro adaptation is going into its second year of airing. Congratulations!
As I stated in my old review, I grew up with GGGnK and am very familiar with the series. Viewers should be going in knowing that this is an Anime centered around Japanese folklore that introduces new yokai [usually] every week. Being "G" rated doesn't mean it is a kid's anime. It means it is an anime that EVERYONE can enjoy, though there are some gruesome scenes that might give kids nightmares (it is an action/comedy/horror anime, after all).

Everyone has their own read more
Mar 9, 2019
BG2K (All reviews)
Gegege no Kitaro is an anime I wasn't expecting to be much at first. After replacing Dragon Ball Super, and seeing people bashing it, I thought the anime would just be something Toei would push out for the sake of filling the time slot. With the first episode, I found it to be decent. Nothing really great or much for me to write home about. I unironically hyped it up for the sake of taunting the Dragon Ball Super fanboys and their hate for it. But after watching a new episode each week, I grew to love the show. Now for one, the anime is read more
Apr 16, 2019
KungSour (All reviews)
SS Review – GeGeGe no Kitaro (2018) Part 1 [Episodes 1 to 50]
(Short and Sour)

I’m just going to refer to this series as Kitaro just to make things easier for me. Kitaro is a manga series from the 1960s by beloved author Shigeru Mizuki. His depictions of yokai are famous in Japan and statues of them are all over Japan too. Kirato has been adapted many times into anime and other media (even had a live-action film) the last anime outing was in 2008 with a film. I was completely in the dark about the series and had only watched the live-action films before, so read more
Feb 23, 2019
BigDamnHero (All reviews)
Kitaro is a classic anime/manga property, but what I appreciate about this adaptation is that it updates things and takes on more modern themes. I wouldn't expect anything too complicated, it's still an ooky-spooky family show if you're into that sort of thing.

I mean, it's a big reason why I'm still watching 40+ episodes in. The level of ambition and commentary the show attempts to touch upon is impressive in my opinion. It's still strong on its own, but I like how it gives a lens into some of the issues in Japan and how they're being talked about in mainstream media like this.
Jan 1, 2019
Dilectus1 (All reviews)
I had never heard of this incredibly old IP before, but if the originals were this good, I might get curious.

What makes this 21st century remake so compelling is that while it's true that it's technically a "kids show," the themes are very mature and fleshed out to relate to the modern age. Almost every episode is a moral lesson, or a cautionary tale, of the pitfalls of today's society. It is a serious examination of various cultural phenomenon brought on by technological advances and modern social attitudes. It even takes a quick look at western vs eastern viewpoints, through an eastern lens, that read more