Quanzhi Gaoshou Specials


The King's Avatar (2018)

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: The King's Avatar (2018)
Synonyms: Quanzhi Gaoshou (2018), Quan Zhi Gao Shou, Full-Time Expert, Master of Skills, Quanzhi Gaoshou: Tebie Pian
Japanese: 全职高手特别篇

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 3
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 27, 2018 to May 11, 2018
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: None found, add some
Source: Novel
Genres: ActionAction, GameGame
Duration: 27 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.321 (scored by 3876238,762 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1659
Members: 78,684
Favorites: 350
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 11, 2018
wdakdkwVdwadwad (All reviews)
Story: 8
Finally a good anime about gaming which is not "Transported to a gaming world. If you die in the game you die in real life" based because there are way to many of these. It is a pretty original story about a professional gamer which were forced to retire and now wants to make a comeback. This OVA features a tournament between rookies and pros, and there are a few cool fights.

Art: 6
The art is okey. Nothing outstanding, nothing really bad either. The art in season 1 was a bit better than the art in this one, but it doesn't really affect the OVAs read more
May 22, 2018
HakaseMachine (All reviews)
For a person who did not accompany the novel, this ONA was absurdly incredible, without words, the new animation was very pleasing to me.


Story:
Well the story comes from the annual glory game event, the famous all star, which God Ye Qiu has already participated in, this time he comes as a spectator along with Guo, and Tang, well what to expect from such an event, it is as you imagine the future of eSports, as you want it to be, with a scenario like that of the League of Legends in increasing all hope that it is that way, well the story came with a read more
May 16, 2018
HatefulRandom (All reviews)
Disclaimer: Novel reader > Biased

The story is based on the All-Stars event which, like any other all-stars event, is meant to showcase the players. An issue that anime-only viewers will experience is confusion as the OVA gives head-nods to all the titans in the scene gathered together for this spectacle.

(8) Story: The story progresses fast and effectively, highlighting themes such as passing the torch and personal struggle while introducing a myriad of characters onto the screen.

(7) Art: The characters aren't as stylized as in Season1, but the animation quality of battles and the arena are very much adequate and pleasing read more
Oct 22, 2019
MrHaibo (All reviews)
This had to be one of the best OVA/ONAs I have ever seen for any anime

Before I start, I would like to add the fact that I was planning on writing a review for the main anime, but I never got to it, so some of my opinions of the first season will also be put in here if it is suitable. I assume that everyone here has watched the 1st season, because why would you be here otherwise.

even tho this ONA follows the story of the main anime, it introduces something that the main story doesn't have that much of, detailed one on read more
May 10, 2018
ihavesexeveryday (All reviews)
Preliminary
EDIT: Just finished watching the last ep, and it was quite the suprise. Much of my review still is the same. Others may disagree and they are certainly entitled to that ;)

Story - So far it just immerses us into a tourney between pros and rookies, not really much of a "season 2"; it is well deserved as an ONA

Art - Pretty good imho, I always liked how well they did all the skill effects - you'll see what I mean ->especially for the 2nd and 3rd eps

Sound - The sound effects during fights are hilarious sometimes. Like how the hell did that make that read more
May 11, 2018
Eanki (All reviews)
The first season has had growing pains and, fortunately, the lessons learned have been incorporated. The first episode of the ONA is a confident, competent stride with all-around better animation and direction. It now uses creative ways and shot angles to help express the emotions of a moment and that presents one of the biggest leaps of the franchise coming from Season 1’s piss-poor direction and a tendency to telegraph everything to the viewer, sometimes in the most obnoxious slapstick way possible, reinforced by the janky animation of that season. Here, however, the motions are more fluid and subdued. And it’s a much better product read more
Oct 9, 2019
Jushepe (All reviews)
Awesome anime about the world of the professional game industry. As a fan of this type of events. I loved the anime and this Special episodes.

There's no much bad things to say, just that maybe sometimes it's a bit lazy or boring and the art could be better. Even though, the fights effects are awesome and flashy.

We get to know a lot of characters and their goals, the oaths and the pressure of each one of them to be there and fight at the maximum level of play.

Epicness in battles and the thrill to get to know the mysterious main character, the one read more
May 11, 2018
lilsasa (All reviews)
Preliminary
For having spent a year on three episodes, some parts of the animation is rather disappointing, especially episode 1. I can see a lot of people being turned off from it after that episode. But the parts where you can tell that's where they put all their money into, i.e. Gao Yingjie vs Wang Jiexi, the animation and the style used there is amazing. Fortunately, the quality of the episodes gets better after that.

In terms of the plot, the All-Star Tournament was a turning point in the story where, finally, we get to see Ye Xiu and crew interact with the pro-league in a read more
May 13, 2018
Zaber_san (All reviews)
*Spoilers Ahead, (though seriously if you watched it already then its fine)*

The "Game" genre have been going popular these days. With the likes of SAO, Log, and Accel World, the genre received many praises and critics throughout the community. Then comes the country China where there animation is getting influenced by Japan and brought us The King's Avatar (Quanzhi Gaoshou). I, indeed enjoyed the first season with its excellent art, sound, story, character developments, game mechanism and especially its maturity. It is very rare that a Chinese animation made me impressed even though we know that its base/inspiration is already common (generic). With season 1's read more
Sep 26, 2018
Mythicism (All reviews)
I was planning to watch just 1 episode at a time, but I was glued to the screen and watched all three back to back.
Brilliant show, typically Chinese though. Good, better, best, ultimate, god.
These 3 episodes provides the perfect bridge between season 1 and season 2.

Appreciate it that the main character is not arrogant/annoying. They are really good at creating and maintaining tension. Sometimes with shounen series they become repetitive, so far this does not seem to be the case for King's Avatar. Hope they can keep up with the level and perhaps go even beyond.

Read in the interview earlier this year with China Literature read more
Jul 16, 2018
maljester (All reviews)
As a short ova follow on to the main show of The King's Avatar Aka Quanzhi Gaoshou Tencent has done a great job, The story follows on and leaves you wanting more.
My one major bug bear is the about of product placement that they are contracted to put into this clearly heavily sponsered show, this really breaks up the flow of the episodes and is completly unnecessary they could easily slide it into the story with a few lines of dialogue and just altered a few of the key visuals job done and much better show.

Other than that love the are style and the read more
May 22, 2018
Ondrej_Zacka (All reviews)
Even tho I loved the first season and was looking towards this full of hopes and full of excitement, it ws rather disapointing.
I feel like the animation went dow a level, it's still good, but in my eyes it's not as good as the trailers for season one or the season 1.
The story is good but compared to the novel some really cool character moments and developements are omited from here and some minor details are given more space then needed.
Whats the most disapointing drop for me is the music. The OST from season one was really good, right on the top read more
May 26, 2018
Tacker (All reviews)
Having loved the first season, i was very eager to see this second season.

It is short, and deserves being called a OVA more then a 2nd season tbh.

The story is as always interesting, who doesnt enjoy the path of a betrayed hero back to the top while those who discarded him sit on the side line in confused frustration.

The characters too are interesting and anyone who has read the online web book for which this originates knows already that our Hero is the pinnacle of deadpan badass lol.

I particularly enjoy Chen Guo who while might not be tasteful to the culture she is part of read more