Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Youjo Senki Movie


Alternative Titles

Japanese: 劇場版 幼女戦記

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 8, 2019
Producers: Kadokawa Animation
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Nut
Source: Light novel
Genres: Action, Magic, Military
Duration: 1 hr. 55 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.471 (scored by 18,840 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1172
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1366
Members: 78,117
Favorites: 386

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 10, 2019
MadaoPriest (All reviews)
The Youjo Senki Movie is a mixture of historical anomalies, self-reflective commentaries on the perpetual cycle of death and war in human history and the persistent yet noble personal battle which our main character Tanya puts up against what's effectively the God of this world (Or Being X, if you will).
All whilst stuck in the body of a young girl. Sounds like your kind of thing? Then welcome, to the "Saga of Tanya the Evil" (movie)!

Tanya as a series was made by Studio NUT, a relatively new studio comprised of passionate individuals willing to work their ass of for their craft. I recently read more
May 16, 2019
The_Rippled (All reviews)
The long awaited sequel to the Youjo Senki series, this movie brings in a new character and antagonist to light. Once again, our sociopathic salaryman loli finds herself in a complex predicament reminiscent of our world’s historical world wars, facing the interference of being x at the worst possible times. Like the original series, Tanya’s squad 203 sets out to face enemies that appears impossible to win against, according to their political and strategic heads, and the battles are reflective of the nature of difficulty.

In this movie, we are shown a more emotional side of Tanya. There are some scenes in the movie where she read more
May 16, 2019
Skerza (All reviews)
The long-awaited sequel is here and oh boy was it good, overall the movie was an action-packed and had some character development. Furthermore, we see the continuation of the saga of Tanya.

The movie explains the next involvement of characters like our new anti-protagonist Aka Mary Sue, the daughter of Anson Sioux (Aka the guy who had the fucking trench shotgun in season 1).

It goes into her "upbringing" and what type of character she is. The movie also shows what we can expect from the next season(which is going to be a thing) which I'm excited about.

The quality was overall great like other read more
May 16, 2019
TheHentaiKing (All reviews)
Just personal scratch.
Advised, possible spoilers.
Opinion & Informal

Art: 8/10
The anatomy and proportions checked out and no noticeable changes in these two points were made between the main series and this movie. There weren't any special panoramics or expanses that were showcased. There were a few environmental and nature elements in this movie but they weren't particularly focused on or given their own scenes for us to admire any sort of artistic skill in that regards. The few instances where there was living foliage and nature that we got looked pretty nice but not something I'd praise; much of what was actually relevant was city-scapes and the read more
Sep 2, 2019
DarknessReality (All reviews)
ITS FINALLY BACK!!!!!

The amazing Youjo Senki series is finally back with our lovely Tanya Degurechaff being calculating and evil as ever. If you thought the series was epic and bombastic then the movie doubles that easily. The action, explosions and emotions are tripled, giving an amazing experience of war and destruction.

I find it really interesting how many of the battles of Youjo Senki have clear similarities to real life battles that occurred in world war 2. I'm really happy Youjo Senki has this setting as so little anime actually explore war and the world war so getting a sequel to the series is a read more
Sep 4, 2019
pipn123 (All reviews)
While the movie I feel is good, I am somewhat disappointed at it. It pains me to say this since i'm a big Tanya fan. One of my big problems for the movie is that, while the movie is action packed, battles are quite often short or skipped, then summarised. I feel like I was constantly being teased with those battles with really no pay off until the final big battle. Another problem I have is with charactor growth/arc. I don't want to spoil anything so I won't go into details. I feel like the main atagonist Mary Sue's arc was just way to speed read more
Sep 3, 2019
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
“SPOILERS FOR YOUJO SENKI SEASON 1”

Well better late than never eh?

Youjo Senki was one of the most entertaining anime from 2017 and gave birth to anime’s most vicious loli, Tanya von Degurechaff. The series has been, without a doubt, one of my favourite Isekai series but the show was left on a cliffhanger that left to the possibility of a season two. What we go was not season two but a sequel movie which followed up after season one. A bit annoying but hey, we are getting more Tanya so who am I to complain. Now that I have finally got around to read more
Jul 11, 2019
Superns18 (All reviews)
A few months late to writing a review. Youjo Senki's film debut offers the same great animation, humour, story and action that fans of the series have come to expect, dialled up to 100. The film manages to encapsulate everything that's great about Youjo Senki and is fun throughout. I was certainly not disappointed.

If you're into the LN series, the film covered book 5 and did so really well. The fight between Tanya and Mary Sue is one of the best animated fights I've ever seen, there's some really cool first person viewpoints similar to DBS Broly, and this rivalry looks to be the main read more
May 17, 2019
Chilly95 (All reviews)
After watching the movie, I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed it. If you liked Season 1, hope you're ready for some new content in "Loli Hitler VS The Commies."

The movie gives more development to Tanya and tackles the next page in Tanya's story, as well as giving us new insight into the character properly introduced at the end of Season 1: Mary Sue, daughter of Anson Sioux. The illusion that there is always a "right" side is easily destroyed once again. War is complex, and this movie exemplifies it. Not to mention the irony of going to war in order to attain peace.

Studio NUT read more
Oct 2, 2019
Singto_ (All reviews)
This review will include **SPOILERS**

Story: 10/10
I have already read up on the light novels and they adapted this very well into the movie. They did do a very good in managing the chapters and time. Though this did leave out some details that made the light novel enjoyable, but I understand they had to do it to not make it too boring. The only thing I do regret about it was that they left out the African Campaign, I guess they wanted to get straight into the fight with Mary Sue.

Art: 8/10
The art is pretty ok, but there are some points where the CG gets read more
Sep 9, 2019
Wonted666 (All reviews)
I can still feel the dread curling in my stomach as I watched each and every moment of this wonderful movie. As an avid action fan, I couldn't help but be thrilled at Degurechaff's victories and dread her losses/missed opportunities. The story jumps right in without any recap, so it's best to watch the previous series, but let's be honest if you're here for this movie specifically you would've watched the series. The music and art are spectacular as always with the sounds always amped up for dramatic effect or quieted down to amplify the sense of death/not blow your ears out which I appreciate(a read more
Sep 7, 2019
Bird_of_Hermes_ (All reviews)
The only think I didn't like about this was that the CGI was at some points bad, but that's a common problem within most anime... just look at Dragon Ball Super: Broly.

This was everything and more that I was expecting. The sound design was phenomenal... NO everything was phenomenal. As stated the CG was at some points bad, but not distractingly so. Story wasn't too complex, but it didn't need to be.

In the movie the characters from the series stayed as great as they were and even the newer characters worked great in the story and Mary Sioux's character development and change from a read more
Sep 12, 2019
ArchangelEST (All reviews)
Youjo Senki Movie picks off right where the anime series left off, and it's every bit as good, and in many ways even better than before.

If you haven't watched the anime, go do so now. I won't repeat my review in depth, but let's just say that production values have been cranked up even further, the solid story and characters remain, leading to an amazing visual and storytelling spectacle.

If military and magic anime is your thing, you MUST give this a watch.

Like seriously, it's good. Story is a direct continuation from the anime, the art and sound are absolutely mindblowing yet again, and the read more
Sep 6, 2019
__flux__ (All reviews)
I'd like to preface this review by saying that Youjo Senki anime series is probably the show I enjoyed the most in more than 10 years of watching. It's one of the few shows that I gave a 10/10 alongside Rakugo and HxH, but I gave this movie only an 8.

The stuff I enjoyed first before I rant. It was an interesting take to have an actual Mary Sue to be the main antagonist named "Mary Sioux". She even has the revenge backstory and the ancient "I suck at practice but I kick ass at the real battlefield" trope that mainstream shounen protagonists used to read more
May 17, 2019
SalivatingSally (All reviews)
This is how you properly use the budget of a movie to enhance animation, art, and sound. I cannot stress enough how much the sound in particular enhanced all of the action scenes. This movie is a much watch with high-quality headphones or a surround-sound system.

Animation wise the fights are spectacular and exciting. Later in the film, when they face the federation, CGI is utilized properly to create a massive horde of men that really creates a sense of dread. The stakes are raised and the sounds of war really cements a feeling of dread in the latter portion of the film.

Unfortunately, the movie is read more