Youjo Senki Movie


Saga of Tanya the Evil: The Movie

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 劇場版 幼女戦記
English: Saga of Tanya the Evil: The Movie
German: Saga of Tanya The Evil: The Movie
Spanish: Saga of Tenya the Evil: The Movie
French: Saga of Tanya the Evil: The Movie
More titles

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 8, 2019
Producers: Kadokawa Animation
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Nut
Source: Light novel
Genre: ActionAction
Theme: MilitaryMilitary
Duration: 1 hr. 38 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.251 (scored by 107677107,677 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2692
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #878
Members: 214,076
Favorites: 859

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 10, 2019
MadaoPriest (All reviews)
The Youjo Senki Movie is a mixture of historical anomalies, self-reflective commentaries on the perpetual cycle of death and war in human history and the persistent yet noble personal battle which our main character Tanya puts up against what's effectively the God of this world (Or Being X, if you will).
All whilst stuck in the body of a young girl. Sounds like your kind of thing? Then welcome, to the "Saga of Tanya the Evil" (movie)!

Tanya as a series was made by Studio NUT, a relatively new studio comprised of passionate individuals willing to work their ass of for their craft. I recently read more
May 16, 2019
Skerza (All reviews)
Spoiler-Free Review!

The long-awaited sequel is here and oh boy was it good, overall the movie was action-packed and had some character development for our new characters. More importantly, we see the continuation of the saga of Tanya.

The movie explains the next involvement of characters like our new anti-protagonist Aka Mary Sue, the daughter of Anson Sioux (Aka the guy who had the fucking trench shotgun in season 1).

It takes a turn and goes ahead into the story but introduces her "upbringing" and what type of character she is. The movie also shows what we can expect from the next season(which is going to read more
May 16, 2019
3xTripple (All reviews)
The long awaited sequel to the Youjo Senki series, this movie brings in a new character and antagonist to light. Once again, our sociopathic salaryman loli finds herself in a complex predicament reminiscent of our world’s historical world wars, facing the interference of being x at the worst possible times. Like the original series, Tanya’s squad 203 sets out to face enemies that appears impossible to win against, according to their political and strategic heads, and the battles are reflective of the nature of difficulty.

In this movie, we are shown a more emotional side of Tanya. There are some scenes in the movie where she read more
May 16, 2019
TheHentaiKing (All reviews)
Just personal scratch.
Advised, possible spoilers.
Opinion & Informal

Art: 8/10
The anatomy and proportions checked out and no noticeable changes in these two points were made between the main series and this movie. There weren't any special panoramics or expanses that were showcased. There were a few environmental and nature elements in this movie but they weren't particularly focused on or given their own scenes for us to admire any sort of artistic skill in that regards. The few instances where there was living foliage and nature that we got looked pretty nice but not something I'd praise; much of what was actually relevant was city-scapes and the read more
Jul 11, 2019
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
A few months late to writing a review. Youjo Senki's film debut offers the same great animation, humour, story and action that fans of the series have come to expect, dialled up to 100. The film manages to encapsulate everything that's great about Youjo Senki and is fun throughout. I was certainly not disappointed.

If you're into the LN series, the film covered book 5 and did so really well. The fight between Tanya and Mary Sue is one of the best animated fights I've ever seen, there's some really cool first person viewpoints similar to DBS Broly, and this rivalry looks to be the main read more
Sep 4, 2019
pipn123 (All reviews)
While the movie I feel is good, I am somewhat disappointed at it. It pains me to say this since i'm a big Tanya fan. One of my big problems for the movie is that, while the movie is action packed, battles are quite often short or skipped, then summarised. I feel like I was constantly being teased with those battles with really no pay off until the final big battle. Another problem I have is with charactor growth/arc. I don't want to spoil anything so I won't go into details. I feel like the main atagonist Mary Sue's arc was just way to speed read more
Mar 25, 2020
badabass (All reviews)
Subarashi!

Way too much! An overwhelming battle scene, and i really like the concept of the war. Simple, but full of art, full of determination, full of dilemma! Once again, my beloved little bitchy evil bring another victory to my dearest empire. She regret it at the end tho. But still, what a brilliant combat she brought for the glory of the empire! They even really bring the description over a nation with the USSR nation concept to the show. It have foreshadowed before, however they apperance in this movies really give me a little heart attack! They did change it into the Federation names, its read more
Aug 30, 2020
L_0106 (All reviews)
I'll keep it short.

- The story mainly concerns a World War that seems to have aspects from both the World Wars in our world. Literally nothing else happens. Some really like this premise, anyways, but I don't see what's so great about it.

- The art and animation does not disappoint since this does have a movie budget.

- The same OST and ending from the anime. I liked them both and the OP.

- I don't like the only main character and all the side characters are her subordinates whose only personality is being a soldier and a drinking addiction. We see some higher officers read more
Sep 2, 2019
DarknessReality (All reviews)
ITS FINALLY BACK!!!!!

The amazing Youjo Senki series is finally back with our lovely Tanya Degurechaff being calculating and evil as ever. If you thought the series was epic and bombastic then the movie doubles that easily. The action, explosions and emotions are tripled, giving an amazing experience of war and destruction.

I find it really interesting how many of the battles of Youjo Senki have clear similarities to real life battles that occurred in world war 2. I'm really happy Youjo Senki has this setting as so little anime actually explore war and the world war so getting a sequel to the series is a read more
Sep 7, 2019
Bird_of_Hermes_ (All reviews)
The only think I didn't like about this was that the CGI was at some points bad, but that's a common problem within most anime... just look at Dragon Ball Super: Broly.

This was everything and more that I was expecting. The sound design was phenomenal... NO everything was phenomenal. As stated the CG was at some points bad, but not distractingly so. Story wasn't too complex, but it didn't need to be.

In the movie the characters from the series stayed as great as they were and even the newer characters worked great in the story and Mary Sioux's character development and change from a read more
Aug 15, 2020
TitanGotRekt (All reviews)
The anticipated sequel of Youjo Senki has finally arrived & starts off immediately from where it left off (along with some “spoilers” of the future events). From start to finish, the movie has Tanya kicking butts left & right, the Infamous loli smile and Tanya kicking butts again but this time with style. Although the story and characters felt pretty bland to me but had a great time watching it nevertheless.

Story:2/10

In all honesty, the movie felt like a filler rather than an actual arc happening. It was more of a transition period for the series to move on to the next arc with read more
May 10, 2020
Mxyiee (All reviews)
(NOTE: This is actually a review of both season 1 and the movie. I scored 8 for season 1 and 10 for the movie.)

Anime Review: The Saga of Tanya the Evil

This is one of the shows that I did not expect to like at first, especially I'm not into military, history, and political stuff, and their terms used is a little bit foreign to me. I wasn't very hooked at the beginning and that's probably because of my interest. But when I continued watching, it's getting way better than what I expected. I love the personality of Tanya and how it was low key developed read more
Feb 16, 2021
Balder777 (All reviews)
Everything you loved about Youjo Senki, but this time our lovely Tanya is killing commies on the Eastern Front (because hey, God decided that bringing the communists into the war furthers his goals...)
- Art is amazing, as usual. Mature & realistic, and exaggerated when it comes to highlighting the strong emotions of Tanya.
- The battle sounds deserve the best headphones. You feel the sound of crunching metal as both personnel and equipment are blown to smithereens by the Mage battalion. .
- Tanya Degurechaff is as kawaii as always, and feels strong about defeating the marauding commies to protect her peace as a capitalist salaryman.
- read more
Apr 1, 2020
Lil_shinji (All reviews)
In the approximate time it takes Tanya to turn a battle around I saw the series and the movie lol.

If we talk about the plot we find a mix between a warlike environment about a supposed world war in an isekai, and whether or not you want it is an interesting plot for two genres not innovative, but if striking and entertaining if they are developed correctly.

Speaking of development, we find something entertaining and unfortunately at the same time repetitive at some points, surely everything has given us the feeling you want it or not: she and her battalion destroying everything without problems wherever they read more
Oct 2, 2019
Singto_ (All reviews)
This review will include **SPOILERS**

Story: 10/10
I have already read up on the light novels and they adapted this very well into the movie. They did do a very good in managing the chapters and time. Though this did leave out some details that made the light novel enjoyable, but I understand they had to do it to not make it too boring. The only thing I do regret about it was that they left out the African Campaign, I guess they wanted to get straight into the fight with Mary Sue.

Art: 8/10
The art is pretty ok, but there are some points where the CG gets read more
May 17, 2019
Chilly95 (All reviews)
After watching the movie, I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed it. If you liked Season 1, hope you're ready for some new content in "Loli Hitler VS The Commies."

The movie gives more development to Tanya and tackles the next page in Tanya's story, as well as giving us new insight into the character properly introduced at the end of Season 1: Mary Sue, daughter of Anson Sioux. The illusion that there is always a "right" side is easily destroyed once again. War is complex, and this movie exemplifies it. Not to mention the irony of going to war in order to attain peace.

Studio NUT read more
Sep 9, 2019
Wonted666 (All reviews)
I can still feel the dread curling in my stomach as I watched each and every moment of this wonderful movie. As an avid action fan, I couldn't help but be thrilled at Degurechaff's victories and dread her losses/missed opportunities. The story jumps right in without any recap, so it's best to watch the previous series, but let's be honest if you're here for this movie specifically you would've watched the series. The music and art are spectacular as always with the sounds always amped up for dramatic effect or quieted down to amplify the sense of death/not blow your ears out which I appreciate(a read more
Sep 3, 2019
Snapshot426 (All reviews)
“SPOILERS FOR YOUJO SENKI SEASON 1”

Well better late than never eh?

Youjo Senki was one of the most entertaining anime from 2017 and gave birth to anime’s most vicious loli, Tanya von Degurechaff. The series has been, without a doubt, one of my favourite Isekai series but the show was left on a cliffhanger that left to the possibility of a season two. What we go was not season two but a sequel movie which followed up after season one. A bit annoying but hey, we are getting more Tanya so who am I to complain. Now that I have finally got around to read more
Nov 28, 2020
Moomochi (All reviews)
Youjo Senki Movie – (anime movie)
Out of 100 Nobles watching...
68 were impressed!
32 died in the trenches of modern animated movie development

I really struggled with how to score the Youjo Senki Movie. Youjo Senki is one of the finest and most unique Isekai in the genre, but that makes a disappointing adaptation all the more painful. It’s really hard to pinpoint exactly where everything didn’t hit for me, and I feel bad saying it’s mostly in the animation but that’s really most of it. It’s safe to say that if you like Youjo Senki and don’t have a discerning eye then you will probably get a read more
Sep 12, 2019
ArchangelEST (All reviews)
Youjo Senki Movie picks off right where the anime series left off, and it's every bit as good, and in many ways even better than before.

If you haven't watched the anime, go do so now. I won't repeat my review in depth, but let's just say that production values have been cranked up even further, the solid story and characters remain, leading to an amazing visual and storytelling spectacle.

If military and magic anime is your thing, you MUST give this a watch.

Like seriously, it's good. Story is a direct continuation from the anime, the art and sound are absolutely mindblowing yet again, and the read more