Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Emiya-san Chi no Kyou no Gohan


Alternative Titles

English: Today's Menu for the Emiya Family
Japanese: 衛宮さんちの今日のごはん

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 25, 2018 to Jan 1, 2019
Producers: Aniplex, Kadokawa
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: ufotable
Source: Manga
Duration: 13 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.891 (scored by 21,271 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7222
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1686
Members: 58,976
Favorites: 294

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 1, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
I am the Apetite of my Diet
White Rice is my Body and Soy Sauce is my Blood.
I have eaten over a Thousand Dishes,
Unknown to Fast Food,
Nor known to Gourmet.
Have withstood Hunger to enter many Buffets
Yet those Hands will never Cook Anything
So, as I Pray--
Unlimited Seconds Please

I am not the biggest fate/nasuverse/type-moon fan, but there is something that I absolutely adore: the characters. And I adore them to a point that I have actually seen Carnival Phantasm 4 times (so far). That scene where Berserker turns into a car and Illya says "Berser-car" is among the most adorable pieces of art created by man. I read more
Mar 1, 2018
mspadam (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show has single-handedly delivered upon me inner peace, satisfaction, and bliss. I now know how it feels to achieve pure zen. Before watching this show this morning, I felt miserable with a hangover. Now, not only is it gone, but I feel better than I did beforehand, the bags under my eyes have disappeared, and I think I saw $5,000 appear in my bank account out of nowhere.

Suffice it to say, good things happen to you just for watching this show, and it is the cure to all worldly conflict and malice. If I have a massive heart attack tomorrow, I'll be okay read more
Jan 1, 2019
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Hey, weeb! Do you like Fate? Do you hate your own culture? Ever wish you could be Japanese instead? Well, if you wanna replace your heritage with dat sweet sweet Japanese culture, then you best start learning some shit. Luckily for you, Fate/Cooking is here to tutor you, and it’s brought some food along with it. This ain’t your ordinary Japanese class. Professors Emiya, Ramsey, and CBF are ‘bout to teach you some life skills, and class is in session!

The first thing you may notice is how lovely everyone looks with this new art style and these kickass wardrobes. The second thing you may read more
Jan 1, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Cast in a world of food wonders and desires, Emiya-san Chi Kyou no Gohan came together as a series that offers delicious entertainment. While I can’t say I’ve been a fan of recent Fate adaptations, there was no doubt that in this alternate world, it manages to awaken a certain food desire within me as well.

Welcome to the Emiya’s family and a feast of epic shenanigans.

Pleasing to the eyes is no less than the world of food. As humans, we can’t survive without it and in the world of Fate, Shirou and his friends brings in a new form of excitement with them. These read more
Jan 1, 2019
WeeabooColin (All reviews)
As a burgeoning genre, the cooking show has been becoming increasingly popular. This should have been expected due to the rise of the slice of life genre, both of which embellish the mundane, average, aspects of life. It was only natural, that the most transcendental aspect of life, the act of eating, would become a subgenre. To contrast this, the Fate series, has been becoming an all-encompassing aspect of the industry. Fate has a show in every genre, this is just a new entry in long line of work that composes the side story of the fate franchise. To many, hearing the concept of a read more
Feb 11, 2018
AaronArcher (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, I generally don't write reviews - hell, I haven't even been on this website for a long time. And let me just preface this by saying that I loved everything Fate, but I got super burnt out by the likes of Grand Order, Apocrypha and especially Last Encore (which I dropped after 10 minutes of the first episode because I was just so done with everything Fate).

Then this came along out of nowhere (I wasn't even aware of it until last night). This show is everything that I loved the most about both Fate/Stay Night and Hollow Ataraxia - just the chilled, slice of read more
Mar 31, 2019
Timz0r (All reviews)
What kind of nutjob you have to be if you start the Fate series by not reading the eroge visual novel because you know you have to commit about 100 hours into it for the full story and it never really officially appeared in the west iether, plus it contains very lewd things in it or watching the 2006 anime series Fate/Stay Night by studio that contains very comedic fan-sub quotes like "People die when they are killed." and jump straith trough 'Today's Menu for the Emiya Family' or let's call it "Fate/Flavor"? In a way, it makes sense. You see, in the Fate/Stay Night read more
Jan 1, 2019
cities516 (All reviews)
Look how far we have gone. The 18+ Hentai Game has grown a lot and gradually forms a big franchise. But why should we watch the numerous Fate series where people die because they are killed? Emiya-san Chi no Kyou no Gohan is the true answer to the Fate series: everyone should stop fighting at each other for that dirty little cup; relax, sit down, and enjoy Shirou's meal today.

Story: 8/10
The story starts with Emiya Shirou cooking today's dinner, and Saber and others have the meal with a blessed smile on their faces. That's it. Despite having nearly zero plot movement at all, like most read more
Dec 2, 2019
TGK94 (All reviews)
The Fate series has gotten a bit... unwieldy over the years. It starts off fairly comprehensibly: a hit visual novel from 2004, a sequel, a prequel, and several anime adaptations. Fair enough. But as you move through the series’ fifteen-year history, things begin to get increasingly strange. A magical girl spinoff? A dungeon crawler RPG? A cash-cow-turn-based-strategy-visual-novel-hybrid-gacha mobile game? At times, it can seem as though TYPE-MOON and company are less interested in meaningfully progressing the series and more interested in pushing the boundaries of the time-money continuum. And then you come to perhaps the most seemingly egregious, the most apparently bizarre entry in the read more
Jan 1, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
So the Fate series dipped their toes in food porn...

Emiya-san Chi no Kyou no Gohan is another installment in the Fate series but more of the slice of life side of things, looking at Emiya's daily life that revolves around him making breakfast, lunch and dinner to the majority of the cast. That's the basic gist of Emiya-san Chi no Kyou no Gohan.

Emiya-san Chi no Kyou no Gohan has plenty of fanservice for Fate fans but what with the main cast being limited to the Fate/stay night cast but nonetheless. Some of the other fanservice leads into once enemies of Emiya now getting tips from read more
Sep 17, 2019
felixlovesanime (All reviews)
Emiya-san Chi no Kyou no Gohan is a pretty creative spin-off for the Fate/stay night saga and it truly is the opposite of what the saga would usually offer. It is comparatively shorter, milder, with lots of food and sadly, not much weight.

First of all, it is refreshing to see Emiya-san, Saber, and the entire gang in the setting of which everything is peaceful and everyone could tie up a perfect, humdrum day with homemade, heartwarming dishes-- which is exactly the point of this particular spinoff. Instead of presenting new plots or providing different perspectives towards Fate/stay night saga, Emiya-san Chi no Kyou no Gohan read more
Aug 26, 2019
johnbradshaw (All reviews)
Today's Menu for the Emiya Family or as I like to call it Shokugeki no Shirou is a spin-off we don't ask for and clearly don't deserve. But it happened anyway and I'm really thankful for this.

There's no doubt what the Fate franchise has achieved. The highest status of Action Fantasy for its beautiful fights and heartbreaking moments. Yet they are so dark, at times I couldn't bear watching it and wondering to myself if they would ever have a happy life after all of this. Thankfully, someone heard my wish and made this beautiful spin-off.

In a world where they don't have to fight over read more
Apr 3, 2018
AmericanSomnium (All reviews)
Preliminary
So this is probably the only review I'll ever watch before the end of a series, but given the content of this show I think I can get a pass.

You will only really appreciate the show if you have watched other Fate series', but mainly the Fate/Stay night time period.

It's cute. It's fun. It makes you really hungry. Each episode is structured basically the same. Emiya meets one of his longtime enemies, invites them over for dinner while worrying if they might try to kill him, then makes the hell out of some food. It's not really food porn like some shows where they enjoy read more
Jul 15, 2019
Phloup (All reviews)
When I finished watching Emiya-san Chi no Kyou no Gohan, I had only watch the first season of Fate/Zero, both seasons of Fate/Stay Night UBW and the first movie of Heaven's Feels. As such, I went into this anime with an incomplete knowledge of the backstory of all characters. However, that did not prevent me from loving this anime.

The story follows the usual formula for cooking anime. Introduce a recipe, have people eat it, finish with a heart-warming epilogue. It is a really simple anime, and that is completely fine. By making this anime simple, it allows for the generation of cute and heart-warming scenes. read more
Mar 6, 2018
Rabb2t (All reviews)
Preliminary
A random, but lighthearted cooking show with Fate characters that's sure to warm you up.

Story: The story of Today's Menu follows the basic slice of life formula (in my opinion). That is, it follows the current season and whatever important dates lie around it. That being said, that affects the story by having Emiya cook whatever is related to the holiday that the show is centered on. This allows for a good episode, no matter what it is, as everything is different in what they make, allowing for new places for Emiya to go when shopping for ingredients. Also, being around 12 minute episodes, there read more
Jan 20, 2019
JakkoFourEyes (All reviews)
Fate/Cooking is best Fate. It is all you need in life. It's wholesome, and will make you want to cook this stuff for yourself and it's very wholesome.

This should've been enough to convince you, but MAL wants more. Expect a very undeep analasys.

Characters are the usual Fate characters, just in a not-at-all depressing and not-at-all dire situation. It's very wholesome.
Medea is adorable here.

I suppose there's no story. It's just Emiya cooking for a bunch of people and it makes for some great character moments. It's very wholesome.

Animation is fitting for the SoL style it's going for. It's nothing fancy, but very pleasing to the eyes. read more
Jan 4, 2019
Its-Maki-kun (All reviews)
Remember that time when everyone summoned some historical hero figures and trying to kill each other in Fate series? Guess what? You don't need to remember all of those tragedies, betrayals, and deaths because Shirou Emiya now dedicated himself to cook special dishes for all of you! Weirdly enough, this anime released every first week in a month of 2018. So, it ended up with standard 13 episode seasonal anime count but span for the entire year of 2018. This is an adaptation of a manga that no one wanted and no one expected to come (mainly because we were expecting Heaven's Feel part adaptation) read more
Sep 4, 2019
KouhaiSenpai (All reviews)
This is a spin off of the popular fate series. It includes many of the fate characters and their servants.
The art is a lot softer and the colors are more vibrant compared to the parent story. The music is great, the opening song is so adorable, the atmosphere in the show really is peaceful. The animation is pretty smooth and the voice acting is pretty solid.
If you ever thought that the characters were cute, but couldn't watch the original show because how harsh fate was, then this is the show for you. Since it is a spin off it doesn't have to do with the read more
Aug 30, 2019
PowerUpOrDie (All reviews)
If you needed any additional proof that 'Fate' has gone from a story to a brand look no further than "Emiya-san Chi no Kyou no Gohan". Or as I like to call it: "Fate Stay For Dinner"

-STORY-
Remember "Fate Stay Night", that story about wizards summoning mythical heroes to do ruthless battle for a cursed magical artifact? Well, those guys decided to take a break from sadistic games of death, horrifying personal trauma, and blatant disregard for civilian casualties to eat some delicious food... And it's remarkably relaxing and entertaining. I don't know how they pulled it off, but they took a visual novel built around read more
Jul 16, 2019
CrusaderElly (All reviews)
Ahahaha, it's the fate cast, but it's a cooking show! Why do people make this! Why is it so good! :D

It's so sweet! And that's not a pun! Watching any 10-minute episode just brushes a smile on anyone's face. It's so lovely seeing the characters interact as friends, going grocery shopping, preparing for a festival, or going to the swimming pool. Everything is wonderful and happy and blissful!

Shirou is such a cooking boss! But we also get guest stars such as Archer and Rin; and we get to experience some other cast members that dearly needed more screentime in the main plot.

There's a lot of read more