Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Detroit Metal City


Alternative Titles

English: Detroit Metal City: The Animated Series
Synonyms: DMC
Japanese: デトロイト・メタル・シティ

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 8, 2008 to Oct 28, 2008
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio 4°C
Source: Manga
Genres: Music, Comedy
Duration: 13 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.251 (scored by 64,398 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2582
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #547
Members: 113,864
Favorites: 2,295

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 15, 2008
Beatnik (All reviews)
It’s about a reserved young lad, Negishi, moving to the city of debauchery that is Tokyo and fronting a death metal band, as Krauser II, even though he would rather be at home drinking green tea and listening to laid back indie pop.

It’s tear-inducingly hilarious.

DMC's humour is similar to Cromartie High School in its lunacy, albeit more traditional in narrative-stakes, and it’s also more unrelenting and risqué with its filthy potty mouth and explicit scenarios usually involving public humiliation involving a young man dressed like an 80's prog-rock-gone-wrong band member furiously thrusting his groin against a piece of government property in order to placate his read more
Nov 20, 2014
JediMindTricks (All reviews)
Wow man, DMC was fucking crazy. I swear that shit was so funny I almost fucking shit myself during every episode. It also made me want to kill and rape every bitch around me. As for my parents — you know I'm just going to stop right there.

Detroit Metal City is a brief comedic anime that is known for its vulgarity. The language is foul and the jokes are wildly offensive. And that's the show's shtick. If jokes about raping and murdering your own mother offend you — *cough* if you're any kind of sensible person they probably should offend you *cough* — read more
Jun 13, 2009
KingOfRoll (All reviews)
Alright, so this here is my first review on MAL. I'll try to make it a good one. As you can see, I'll be reveiwing Detroit Metal City.

I'd like to apologize in advance for how long this will be...

Let me say first off that if you think you will be offended by off - color humor and swearing, run away in panic now, as this show is not for you. It is filled with swearing, rape jokes, drug references and other implied naughtiness. It is not serious, of course - it is comedy and there is no nudity and little violence to be found here.

The read more
Nov 11, 2008
YoungVagabond (All reviews)
"Detroit Metal City" is the most consistently funny anime ever made. It's not just a couple of episodes that hit the mark; all twelve are hilarious, unexpected, and brilliantly written.

Based on the manga which I also wrote a review for, the anime version is probably the most faithful translation imaginable. Every scene, word, and expression is exactly the same as in the comic, and in this case, that turned out to be an excellent decision.

DMC is based on the theme of dual personalities. Negi Souichi is a kind-hearted, simple 23 year old, a virgin with an ugly bowl-shaped haircut. He read more
Sep 10, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Once upon a time, a young anime fan who was catching up on all the Japanese cartoons he missed out on over the years noticed that a certain comedy anime called Detroit Metal City was in quite a few top anime lists. The descriptions stated it was a hilarious satirical takedown of the music industry with more laughs in it than an average season of Seinfeld, so said fan downloaded the anime eager to populate his top anime list with more “critically acclaimed” stuff and laughed his ass off at the “at the time” brilliant card the show played regarding how this badass heavy metal read more
May 19, 2009
noteDhero (All reviews)
Detroit Metal City is a rapid fire comedy about the rise of the death metal band, DMC to prominence. It is also about the protagonist, Negishi, coping with his placement in a style of music unlike that of what he dreams to perform--Scandanavian Pop.

Animation - 7
The animation itself was pretty lacking, but the art style I really liked. It seemed quite clearly inspired by Mike Judge and Beavis and Butthead. It's a little crazy to me that I think this is a good thing, but it really does add something special as a bit of a frame of reference. As a read more
Oct 3, 2012
Lindle (All reviews)
Detroit Metal City strikes a bizarre balance of the cringeworthily unfunny and the gut-bustingly hilarious.

This short, 12-episode OVA which will henceforth be abbreviated to "DMC" for convenience's sake, revolves around Negishi Souchi, an aspiring musician fresh out of college who has moved to Tokyo with a love of catchy, lighthearted European pop music. However, due to a misreading of his lyrics, he has accidentally ended up as the lead singer of death metal band Detroit Metal City, who are the antithesis of everything he stands for, using the alter-ego of Johannes Krauser II, a psychopathic omnipotent devil-creature who murdered his parents and raped them. In read more
Nov 6, 2008
Nezerchin (All reviews)
Quite possibly the best show in years. Though at the same time it can be pretty hard to recommend. To enjoy the show you need to be open to extreme expletives and adult theme/humor.

Story:
A calm man who dreams of being a musician becomes the lead singer for a rising Metal phenomenon. I found the story to be pretty original and quite a good setup for some amazing comedy. Its not the best story in the world, but they certainly do a lot with 12 episodes.

Art:
Clearly not the best art, but it never intended to be. Instead they went for more of a read more
May 20, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
“I will accomplish the feat of saying 'rape' eleven times in one second”
-Krauser, Detroit Metal City

This show is utterly ridiculous. Recommended by a MAL friend for its "give no fucks" vulgar and insensitive humor, Detroit Metal City certainly had quite a name to live up to. Do the rape and satanic jokes go too far? Well, there was only one way to find out.

Adapted from an iconic manga written by Kiminori Wagasuki, DMC has one of the most memorable anime intro sequences I can recall. You find the main protagonist, Soichi Negishi riding a train and taking about joining high school with the aspiration of read more
Nov 21, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

What would happen if you mixed the random comedy and faux tough guy MC of Cromartie Highschool with the crude humor and heavy metal parody of Metalocalypse?! You would get Detroit Metal City. I watched all 12 episodes in 1 binge and I haven't laughed that hard in a LONG time! Not only is this one of the best anime comedy series in years, it is widely accessible even for people that don't like anime.

Story: 8/10

The story is about a mild mannered guy from the country named Negishi that moved to Tokyo in order to become a pop singer. Unfortunately, his music doesn't sell, read more
May 2, 2015
idkifangirlalot (All reviews)
I'm not sure how to write a review on MAL and I don't usually leave reviews because I'm lazy, but this time I really wanted to write something.

As a metalhead I was really happy when I found out about this anime so I was very excited. And then I was disappointed. I know this should be comedy, but I don't like the way metalheads are potrayed, with all that raping, aggression and brainwashing their audience.

I like the opening even if I don't like the lyrics, but overall it sounds great.
And I don't like that the lead character shows so little interest and passion for metal read more
Sep 19, 2008
sadasd (All reviews)
Preliminary
DMC is an drama, comedy, action, slice of life, romance show about this guy named sou-kun and krauser.


Story- Nothing too special just a ordinary story with a simple plot around a young man's going through everyday life problems.


Art- A bit different from your everyday anime , but very bland colors and lighting(wrong shadow direction in some parts). Besides Krausers everyone else just looks japanese and yes I know its supposed to be japanese ppl but today's standard anime have characters with unique colors all over. All i see is black and white nippon nippon! -_-


Sound- Best opening song I've heard in awhile.MURDER RAPE read more
May 16, 2015
Ex-Machina (All reviews)
I don't know why it's rare to find a comedy anime that makes you really laugh until tears are flooding from your eyes,but,what if someone asked you to describe a comedy anime that makes you laugh, the answer is simply: GO WATCH DETROIT METAL CITY.
Firstly, I find it hard to categorize this anime, because of it's uniqueness

The story is about a young man called Souichi Negishi, due to his love for music decides to move from the country side to the city(to attend school of arts or whatever...) wishing that one day he will become a famous stylish POP singer and singing happy songs read more
Oct 21, 2008
GuUguk (All reviews)
It will sound a little bit cheesy but the perfect phrase for DMC is 'brilliance at the best'. If the musics of the anime influences your final judgement and you like rock/metal music, I bet you will love this one too. This is one of the most funny series I have watched so far (I even nearly fall from my chair) but the comedy factor is far from elegant, but beside the crude jokes you may catch the witty ones. The story might not be sophisticated at first glance (a music band trying to get famous (or legend!)) but the still I read more
Jan 21, 2011
Nilvius (All reviews)
[Story: 7.5] Taking on the old Jekyll and Hyde concept with a new twist, Detroit Metal City is a comedy about Negishi, who for some strange reason, ended up singing for a band of the genre he hates the most. There, he takes up the persona of Krauser II, a supposed deranged escaped convict. The setting for DMC thus brings forth the question: how different is it between the performers' stage personae and their actual lives? How much of the so-called scandal and tales of debauchery publicized on the media true? However, that's a minor detail. The real humor lies in how Negishi gradually loses read more
Sep 27, 2015
thumpz99 (All reviews)
Laughed my ass off! I've been watching anime for 25 years and I can't remember anything this damned funny!

My only 2 wishes were that these were full length episodes and that there were more episodes coming!

When Negishi's ability to compartmentalize his true self from that of Krauser starts to crumble the situations become absolutely hilarious. It's what this entire anime is about and it's fresh and wonderful to watch.

Don't be afraid of it - embrace it!

Jan 27, 2010
BDL (All reviews)
Detroit Metal City isn't just a celebration of extreme heavy metal in the form of a parody, but it is also a brilliant comedy show. The funniest elements here are the filthy language and bizarre sex simulations (but without erotic content or intent, just humor), both part of Krauser's extreme performances on stage or sometimes offstage. The bad and usually unexpected behavior of Krauser-san is the biggest reason why this show is so funny.

- Art

The animation is not that good, but it's purposeful. At the first time, I stranged the different screen sizes showed along the episodes, but it just help with the drama.

- Sound

The read more
Aug 6, 2010
deleteme234 (All reviews)
"GO TO DMC, GO TO DMC..."

At first I was misled by the beginning of the show into thinking that it wasn't going to be that good. Fuck, was I wrong...

Detroit Metal City is one of the funniest and brilliant shows ever created and is the best metal parody I have ever seen.

Story:

Detroit Metal City doesn't consist of one main story, but is broken into different segments. For this kind of show, this was a good choice.

Each individual story is hilarious, consisting of bizarre situations the characters find themselves in, and full of raunchy jokes which involve raping the Tokyo Tower, masochism, spitting into people's read more
Feb 24, 2012
chidoriko (All reviews)
Detroit Metal City is the most unique anime I've come across. This show is hilarious from beginning to end. And I really wish it was longer.

To be honest, the art wasn't incredible. What DMC lacked in art style, however, they made up for in content. The plot was so unique and unlike any other anime I've seen. I just wish there was more of a solid ending than the one in the anime. (This is part of the reason why I want to watch the live action movie. I want to see how they interpreted the ending.)

What I loved about it the most were read more
Jul 19, 2010
MisaTange (All reviews)
Story: 9/10

You've seen a story like this before. 'Boy leads a double life, and that double life are polar opposites.' However, I find it rare in comedies, even in dark comedies like this piece of work. One point off because I found something... missing.

Character: 9/10

Each of the characters are interesting and adds to the comedy. However, really only Negishi really gets some character development. But, this is a comedy, people only watch for laughs, not character development.

Art: 10/10

I really liked the art style of this dark anime. Dark, very fitting for this type of anime.

Sound/Voice Acting: 10/10

Without a doubt, one of the more stronger points read more