Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hinomaruzumou


Alternative Titles

English: Hinomaru Sumo
Synonyms: Sumo of the Rising Sun, Sumo Wrestler Hinomaru
Japanese: 火ノ丸相撲

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2018 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.491 (scored by 7,348 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #17012
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2128
Members: 34,348
Favorites: 97

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 9, 2018
PurpleRose328 (All reviews)
(Spoilers free!)

When they say that anime literally has everything you can think of, even the weird ones, they're speaking the truth. An anime about magic? Done. An anime about ghosts? There's one. An anime about turning war weapons into cute and beautiful girls? Look no further. And finally, an anime about soda cans also being feminized? Yes, it exists.

And now a shounen anime about sumo.

I can now finally add another entry on my "Japan's Greatest Ideas" list and not on the "Japan's Weirdest Ideas".

Hinomaruzumou or Hinomaru Sumo is about Ushio Hinomaru, a new student who enrolled at Oodachi High School and joined read more
Nov 9, 2018
saiyan_junio (All reviews)
Who knew watching 2 fat dudes hug could be this entertaining...

Art=6/Sound=9:
First of all, let's get the somewhat ugly art style and slightly above average animation out of the way; character designs that appear throughout the show are nothing special and usually their appearance reveals their personality before we even get to know them, every character seems basic and stereotyped to the max, even the MC has the classic shounen body scars to show he's been through some shit! Animation is very still typically but I can't deny that it becomes good and borderline great in action sequences! Sound wise, the OP, ED and OST read more
Nov 9, 2018
icekoolkr (All reviews)
Personally, I don't see why this anime isn't as popular as it should be. It feels as if this anime needs a little more attention so I decided to write this review.

As a fan of sports and shounen anime I think that Hinomaruzumou is actually quite original. There are all these anime that have already been done such as volleyball, tennis, boxing, baseball, etc. But never in my life I thought there would be one about sumo. Every single time I watch an anime that is about a certain sport, I think its great that these anime's teach you about how the sports work as read more
Jan 20, 2019
Sajan_Stanley (All reviews)
Being an outsider, I have always been fascinated by Japanese culture and Anime is the main reason for this. This is one such anime which takes you a sport which is practiced professionally only in Japan and is full of ancient traditions.

The artwork is nice and more than anything, it gets you craving for more. The protagonist (Ushio) is the normal guy with a -never-give-up- attitude and a never ending love for the sport. In the anime, He sparks interest in everyone who is spectating and much like the anime, He will quickly get you interested in Sumo as well. I started reading up on read more
Dec 26, 2018
Injenss (All reviews)
This anime is being unforgivably slept on. In light of the popularity of similar anime like Kuroko's Basketball, Food Wars and Ballroom e Youkoso, it's amazing that this hasn't gotten more attention and more love. This anime is every bit as good as Hajime No Ippo so far. Perhaps it's because its sumo that it isn't getting the interest those other competition style animes do, but if Ballroom Dancing can be popular, I see no reason why this can't be.

Hinomaruzumou is not breaking the sporting tournament genre in any way. It is exactly like Kuroko No Basket, in read more
Dec 1, 2018
zentoshi_ (All reviews)
This anime should [honestly] get more views.

The first thing I would like to say is that although this is a sports anime, it is different from the usual sports anime that we typically see. Most sports anime will have a common theme so they tend to be redundant but Hinomaruzumou is the first anime (that I know of) dealing with sumo as the theme.

I guess you could say the only thing Hinomaruzumou has in common with other sports anime is that the main lead, Hinomaru, wants to be the best and is aiming for the top.

The art might not be super attractive to some but read more
Jan 18, 2019
BlackNeonStar (All reviews)
The embodiment of hype!!!

Hinomaruzumo has been completely overlooked by a lot of people, and i don't understand why...

In terms of story, it's nothing groundbreaking, an underdog trying his best to get to the top. Sounds cliché right?

Well... Yeah... It is.

But that's not what the charm of the show is. This show is phenomenal at getting you hyped up.
The first opening is intense, in visuals, and especially with the song. When that's over, you see intense fight scenes.

Hell, even after the fights!
The first ending is the most hype-inducing of all. So even after you've finished an episode, it somehow keeps you hyped up, which read more
Jan 9, 2019
gabthehobbit (All reviews)
This anime is unexpectedly the one that I find myself the most invested in this season! What a pleasant surprise to have this show(about sumo of all things!) be the best, and yet the most under appreciated. I’m honestly surprised at how little attention it’s gotten because I think it’s a glossed over treasure.

It feels like a breath of fresh air as it actually added some new things, sure there are some the troupes you can’t escape but the unique touches are enough to set it apart! I’m a HUGE shounen anime fan so for me it already had a lot that I read more