Tomie

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Ito Junji: Collection Specials
Japanese: 富江

Information

Type: Special
Episodes: 2
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 27, 2018 to May 25, 2018
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Genres: DramaDrama, HorrorHorror, SupernaturalSupernatural
Demographic: JoseiJosei
Duration: 10 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.041 (scored by 93849,384 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #84912
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3656
Members: 24,309
Favorites: 56

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 9, 2018
garyborken (All reviews)
If you think "Ito Junji: Collection" was not good, well this is worse. Being an BD special OVA of said series, the art and animation is poor even for this series' stander. And it's rushed as hell, lots of monologue from the source material of episode 1 was cut out. Episode 2 was not as noticeable but they still cut out more than a little stuff, which hurts the atmosphere of the story, since those parts really helped building up mood in the manga.

Episode 1, You'd think this being an adaptation of Ito's first story ever, there are lots of place they could have improved. read more
Sep 11, 2018
DarkYuzuko (All reviews)
I recently got into Junji Ito and I really enjoyed reading Tomie, and when I discovered that it had an anime adaptation a while back, I was hyped!
After watching the short two episodes, I was genuinely disappointed. The stories weren't clear, and for the people who might have watched it without reading it's manga, they might get confused and think tomie is a type of ghost or something. The stories were also pretty confusing for me, even though I read the manga. The censorship was pretty heavy as well which was a turn off for me.
My overall opinion on this short series is that it read more
Aug 24, 2019
Renee96 (All reviews)
This was a horrible adaptation.

For anyone who wants to watch this to avoid reading the manga because the Omnibus is so thick....DON'T!
If you haven't read the manga you're going to be lost when watching this.

I couldn't tell what was going on since everything was so vague.
I assumed they changed things for this OVA adaptation and thought Tomie was a vengeful spirit seeking revenge for her murder.

The art and animation was okay except for the censorship.
It was so annoying seeing black streaks taking up most of the screen.

I was happy to hear Tomie was getting an OVA because all of the live action films read more
Apr 17, 2021
Underson (All reviews)
Summarizing: the manga itself was written in an episodic way, making it really easy to take... say, 2 chapters and adapt to anime. Hell, they didn't even had to make it chronologically, just take two really cool stories and adapt it...
But no, they choose to make TWO 10 minutes episodes that can't even cover 1 chapter properly and the result is... bad.

I mean, the voice acting is really good, the sound track is very cool, but it's not worth it. I enjoyed cause I just finished the series and it was refreshing to go over some plot points again, the animation is not bad, and read more
Apr 12, 2021
Saaayuriii (All reviews)
I really don't know what really happend because they have switched everytime and I could not understand whats happening right now. First they showed us the class and then in the other episode there were just a girl and a boy. I also hated the reasons why they killed her, but it made the anime scarier. I wish she would take revenge from the class, but they did not show them. Also I think this anime is similiar to the Thai drama called "Girl from Nowhere", but the only difference is that "Girl from nowhere" made sense but this anime made no sense for me. read more
May 27, 2021
karyli (All reviews)
Well, seems like this is gonna be my first review.

As someone who has read the manga before and decided "oh, there´s an anime adaptation of it, I should go watch it" I'm feeling a lot of regret.
Not only did the anime not covered everything about the story, as it is even confusing for me, who as read the manga.
The story is confusing, jumping from place to place without any background to it, and introducing new characters without actually introducing them, no background, nothing.
I really like the work of Ito Junji and I think his mangas have a lot of potential for everyone who is read more