Cutie Honey Universe

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Cutey Honey Universe
Japanese: Cutie Honey Universe

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 8, 2018 to Jun 24, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 21:00 (JST)
Studios: Production Reed
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, MagicMagic, RomanceRomance, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 5.441 (scored by 32773,277 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #97902
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4050
Members: 15,630
Favorites: 15
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 24, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
This is Japan's 176th (give or take) attempt on giving Cutie Honey the anime adaptation it deserves. At this point, I am convinced that there is no director alive nor studio in existence that can do it today. The only person who could have ever done it in the history of anime is Kunihiko Ikuhara, it should have happened 20 years ago, and the title of the anime be Shoujo Kakumei Cutie Honey - or Revolutionary Girls Cutie Honey in English.

Cutie Honey is a giant. It's hard to deal with, and even harder to understand. The best way I can think to describe it is read more
May 7, 2018
Atetotion (All reviews)
Preliminary
[6/26/18 - After finishing the show, I am going to give it a 5/10. Overall, Cutie Honey Universe is disappointing as a modern reincarnation, though there are some aspects that I liked throughout the anime. For example, I really liked the shift in tone in the second half of the anime, in which it took a more grimmer and darker approach that was far more atmospheric than what I expected. I also liked Natsuko and Honey's relationship as it was more fleshed out and more convincing, outdoing what the original 1970s anime and Cutie Honey F had done.

My complaints that I wrote in my read more
Jul 5, 2018
kofmaster (All reviews)
Don't get me wrong, this show had A LOT of direction's issues, but if you enjoy Go Nagai's mangas, you may enjoy Cutie Honey Universe, since this is one of the closest versions to the original source, albeit with creative freedoms.

If we are going to compare this with something else, it would be with Shin Mazinger or Dororon Enma Kun Meramera, although these did a better job than Cutie Honey Universe.

I agree with another review in which the author said that if someone could make a good Honey's adaptation, that should be Ikuhara, the creator of Revolucionary Girl Utena. Instead, we had a director who read more
Jun 26, 2018
dasgood (All reviews)
I just don't get the latest entry into the Cutie Honey universe. I am not a fan of the series or Go Nagai in general but Re: Cutie Honey knew what it wanted to do & was entertainingly fun.

Cutie Honey Universe was neither. It looks fine with some occasional very interesting visuals (such as in Episode 6) undercut by some quite rough moments. Music was also fine. I quite like the new theme actually but that the original theme is missing is a slightly disappointing. Some of the action and fight sequences were also genuinely quite good. Not great but not terrible either.

Any flaws read more
Sep 27, 2018
Mngalahad (All reviews)
Cutie Honey Universe had a gorgeous art design, amazing voice acting, the new opening was good (even if all the fans wanted the same one as always) and the new weapons for honey were appreciated.

The plot was interestingly dark, as it attempts to put the main character in a pretty dramatic conflict, leading her into deep sadness. This contrasts with Honey's happy and positive personaility.

However, while this is clearly the main conflict of the show, more so than a monster of the week shounen anime, it barely produces any dramatic scenes. Most of the episodes are two characters talking, with minimum action or character development.

While read more
Jun 9, 2019
Sailor789 (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Cutie Honey Universe" is the fifth animated adaptation of Go Nagai's classic manga, "Cutie Honey". I've only seen this adaptation and "Re: Cutie Honey" (Which is one of my favorite animes of all time).

So ... Was this adaptation good in any way?

the answer is simply ... No

Animation:

It is very obvious that this anime went through many address problems, it shows in the effects.

their camera angles are strange, the character designs are aesthetically ugly and disproportionate, the backgrounds are cheap and repetitive.

In terms of character movement, there is nothing special and it looks somewhat compressed at times. The color tablet does not have anything special either, read more
Sep 16, 2018
Asimov_Fan (All reviews)
Oh Cutie Honey Universe, so much potential, so ill executed. A beloved decades old manga, given the light of a new modern adaptation after the previous simply stunning Gainax adaptation of Re; Cutie Honey, or the more shoujo Flash meant to replace the vacant spot of Sailor Moon. Further back to Shin Cutie Honey with the overall more edginess. Even back to the OG 70's adaptation. Is still think Honey looked better with brown eyes.

Universe was produced for the 50th anniversary of Go Nagai as a manga artist. Other famous works of his include the violent Devilman and Mazinger manga's, each laying their groundwork read more
Jul 24, 2018
Pockeyramune919 (All reviews)
I've had Cutie Honey and its adaptions in my Planning list for a while now. I was excited to learn there was an adaptation that had only finished airing about a month ago, and so I began watching the series. At twelve episodes, it didn't take long to finish.

And let me tell you, Cutie Honey Universe is weird.

Seeing as how Cutie Honey is a series about a superheroine that regularly takes clothing damage, has a copious amount of fanservice, and is notable for being the first anime with a nude transformation sequence (ala Sailor Moon), this is to be expected. If you've done the bare read more