Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dragon Ball Super Movie: Broly


Alternative Titles

English: Dragon Ball Super: Broly
Japanese: ドラゴンボール超(スーパー) ブロリー

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 14, 2018
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 55 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.321 (scored by 39,573 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2222
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1254
Members: 79,542
Favorites: 728

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 17, 2018
Otaku329 (All reviews)
" THIS IS A NON SPOILER REVIEW"
This is an absolute gem of a movie. Modern Dragon ball can't get any better than this. It was really phenomenal. Here a few key features of the movie

Story 9

The movie is divided into 2 phases. The "Past&The Present". The start of the movie is all about the history of the Saiyans. The movie does a half an hour long depiction of the history of the Saiyans. The past is mostly based on "DB MINUS" with a few tidbits from the "Bardock: The Father of Goku". The movie is more about broly. Broly was a read more
Dec 17, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
"I smell death in the air."
-Goku who has a scar in his face

"I smell obligatory money grab in the air."
-Me, and about half of the DB fandom

Let's face it, Dragon Ball Super is just fanfiction written by the original Dragon Ball creator. First the amazing Dragon Ball manga was ruined by the Z route with its fillers and godawful pacing, and then the franchise got extended with million different side/backstories/sequels over decades and they are shamelessly even called "canon" because that's the best insult anyone could ever come up with when trying to mock DB. I wish this would stop because nothing was read more
Dec 17, 2018
deejay_BUM (All reviews)
i have written this review after watching the movie unlike the many reviews written by wannabe anime fans who even never watched it.Sadly this is a more common thing happening between weebs.

now,

STORY:

I am not going to explain the story because the internet is flooded with it.

What i do can say is that the story used for the movie is built up better than most popular series movies in the last 3-4 years.To be honest i did not expect that because most of the past movies are not that big story based in the DB universe.
however i do feel that they could've exploit some topics broader.

ART:

Ladies read more
Dec 20, 2018
papsoshea (All reviews)
Dragon Ball is an amazing franchise, it’s so iconic and so grand that even though it has seemingly done it all, it still finds ways to keep popularity and relevancy at an all-time high. Dragon Ball Super: Broly is a love letter from Akira Toriyama to the fans who have been yearning for years to see more of this juggernaut of a character in Broly, the Legendary Super Saiyan. The star-studded team at Toei Animation is making a proclamation to the world that Son Goku has a lot more fight left in him, essentially producing its best film to date, definitely the franchises greatest visuals read more
Dec 23, 2018
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Firstly, I would like to thank the random Japanese guy who recorded this in the theater and uploaded it to Kissanime with subtitles. You're doing the lord's work! If Toriyama wanted our money, he wouldn't have made the events of Dragonball Minus canon.

This movie has some awesome action and animation, but the writing is just...ugh. The best part is that it was written by Toriyama himself and this movie is now officially canon. I had some minor gripes and issues with Resurrection F that I brought up in my review of that film, but this was just awful!

Background:

"If you listen to the fans, you'll be read more
Dec 18, 2018
Tak93 (All reviews)
I just finished watching the latest Dragon Ball movie a little while ago and after giving it some time to digest (not much was required), I feel adequately capable of writing up a review. I, along with millions of others, spent a great deal of time engrossed in the Dragon Ball series as a kid. The anime, manga, and games were some of the cornerstones of my childhood and I’d by lying if I said that I didn’t derive enjoyment from them. That’s why it may come as a surprise when I say that Dragon Ball Super and the content that has spawned from read more
Dec 27, 2018
Draculoid (All reviews)
With Dragon Ball surging back in a big way with Dragon Ball Super and it's "conclusion" , along with the news of this film focusing on fan favorite Broly and showcasing some great animation in the trailers, this film is likely the most anticipated Dragon Ball film yet. While Battle of Gods had some great character and comedy standouts and Resurrection F upped the action and brought back the series greatest villian, Broly ramps up the action to the series heights while also providing some solid character work.

Story/Character:

The first third of the film deals with Broly's backstory as well read more
Feb 28, 2019
JThePervSummoner (All reviews)
What you will witness when watching this movie is the pure embodiment of fanservice, however that isn't why I rated 5/10 a movie about a series I do feel a lot of affection for.
The reason this movie gets an "Average", in my humble opinion, is because of various plot issues instead of style/animation ones, there are some basic structure problems too.
Don't confuse me with those boomer-Guts-profile-pic elitists that take a dump on this kind of anime on the regular: I'm one of the many who did enjoy Dragon Ball Super, despite its issues.
So, I'll make a review for this movie, spoilers and all, so read more
Dec 18, 2018
Allen-Owen (All reviews)
Ok put simply unless you feel like shutting your brain off with this just don't bother wasting your time on it as the entire movie just doesn't make any logical sense. The biggest problem is the powerscaling which is so bad every time you question it the only answer is because reasons. This was a clear money grab from toriyama because no thought actually went into making the story make sense and sadly the original broly and it pains me to say this made far more sense.Considering the original new movie was meant to be about the original saiyan god yamamoshi; this was just toriyama read more
Dec 30, 2018
L_Snow (All reviews)
This review is avaiable in portuguese and english!

I never thought of giving such a high rating for Dragon Ball. I must defend that DB is my favorite franchise, which I feel an immeasurable passion since I was younger. However, I try to judge as impartially as possible. Therefore, with objective criteria, it was unlikely that Dragon Ball would receive a rating above 8.

I present you Dragon Ball Super: Broly, the most interesting and important movie for the universe of Dragon Ball.

Commonly, other fandoms criticize the "lack of history" of DB, but at this point they are totally mistaken. DBS: Broly has a rich and important read more
Dec 21, 2018
GodMudit (All reviews)
I had my doubts for this movie and even more as it was reportedly a tribute for the the back to back titles: Bardock: the Father Of Goku, Fusion Reborn and Broly: The Legendary Super Saiyan. Most ambitious projects tend to go overboard. Entering the cinema, I felt a sense of dread overcome me and wondered about my choices. However, by the start of the movie, I felt a bit relieved on seeing the animation and the art style. so far, it held up to my expectations. I lost track of time as the movie progressed and by the end of it, I was hoping read more
Jan 19, 2019
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
Dragon Ball Super Movie: Broly Review
(Minor Spoilers)


Story (8/10) Very Good
More Specifically (8.75/10) Very Good+

The story for Dragon Ball Super Movie: Broly was very good, at first I was not a fan of them going back and changing the origin story that was established in Dragon Ball which was already sort of a homage spin off origin story to Superman's and this new Dragon Ball Minus backstory makes it even closer in resemblance to that of Superman's. But after watching it and seeing the execution behind it, I don't necessarily think it's all that bad. I guess I just wasn't comfortable with change but read more
Jan 15, 2019
iNVE14 (All reviews)
If I had the pleasure to know Akira Toriyama in person, first of all I would say thanks to him for give me one (if not the best) thing in my childhood, and second I would ask him gently: WHAT ARE YOU TRYING TO DO WITH THIS THINGS?!?!

I am a lover of the dragon ball universe and almost every Akira Toriyama work, but I am also intrigued of what is he trying to do with this bad as hell movies and animes.

The movie not only change the whole Broly story but besides that it is so badly animated, that it is hard to believe that read more
Jan 18, 2019
Skoringo (All reviews)
As a long time fan of the Dragon Ball series, first getting into it via Toonami in the 90s, I'd say it safe to say that the movies of Dragon Ball have been a bit more hit or miss. Many of them having no cannon connection to any part of the series made them seem superfluous and more interesting "what if" scenarios. And many of them lacking quality and good writing when it comes to the memorability of the villains our iconic Z warriors would fight. Every now and again you'd get something in the vain of great TV movies like "History of Trunks" or read more
Jan 17, 2019
GameMasterGary (All reviews)
This movie is epic, it's a great mix of story telling and action. Every anime fan has to check this out. I suggest everyone in America just go to the theaters and check this out while it's there! Watching at home just isn't as intense.

The fighting scenes are some of the best I've ever seen, maybe number 1 ever. The only fighting scenes I can think of that are on the same level is in Boruto when Naruto and Sasuke face Momoshiki. I don't think any animation will top this for a while, this is top notch art.

This is definitely the best story telling read more
Dec 25, 2018
Kaneki2401 (All reviews)
THE BROLY MOVIE IS "PHENOMENALLY MAXIMUM BUT FANTABULOUS"

STORY:
The Story is cliche or what we can say simple formulaic revenge story or fate to save the world. But to be honest, this time unlike past DBZ Feature Films Battle of Gods (2013) & Resurrection "F" (2015), it had story delving into past though not about Origins of Saiyans but about Frieza, Destruction of Saiyan Clan & Paragus's Revenge Story.

ART & ANIMATION:
Art & Animation are quite awesome. Kudos to Toei for replacing Tadayoshi Yamamuro with Naohiro Shintani as Chief Animator along with Yūya Takahashi, Naoki Tate & Naotosh Shida. The Last 45 mins of Movie had fantastic read more
Jan 18, 2019
PurpleMiku (All reviews)
Note that this review is of the english VA done by funimation as I saw it in theaters in the US. I'll try to avoid spoilers as best as I can.

Story: 8/10

The story portion of the movie was very well-written, but in my opinion shortened a bit too much. I would have liked certain details not omitted and felt that more could have been done in this department, though I think that's because the longterm DBZ fan in me wanted to see some of the things like King Vegeta's revolt against Frieza and Bardock's attacks as well. I also really wanted to see more of read more
Jan 23, 2019
Lemmy7003 (All reviews)
Dragon Ball as a franchise has always been a pretty important part of my interests – it’s what ordinally piqued my interest in Japanese animation, it got me into martial arts in media, and it consumed me when I was around 11 or 12. The newest series, Dragon Ball Super, besides some highlights, didn’t really grab me as a fan, and I started to wonder if I had been the one to grow out of it. Dragon Ball Super: Broly convinced me that it wasn’t me – this is the best Dragon Ball has been in a very, very long time.

The first thing I took read more
Jan 20, 2019
Arsal_Wise (All reviews)
This is A Non Spoiler Review
Story 8/10
The story is pretty amazing by dragon ball standards. It is simple yet interesting and well written.The only problem I had was that the story could have been fleshed out more and It also felt like the movie wanted to do more but couldn't because of the limited time and because Toriyama-sensei's script was shrunk from 3 hours to approximately 1hr and 45 Minutes
Art 10/10
Pure sakuga !!!! but CGI seems out of place sometimes(doesnt match the 2d animation). I have seen reviews saying that this style is way too old and seems like an old Ghibli read more
Jan 17, 2019
Astraea_ (All reviews)
This review contains some spoilers

Once again I am forced to leave my house in order to see another Dragon Ball movie in theaters. Over the past few years, the Dragon Ball franchise has seen 3 new movies, a brand new series, and finally managed to get an actual fighting game for once. While Dragon Ball is certainly not what it use to be, there is no denying that anything recent has come even close to the quality of GT. BOG was enjoyable but a bit disappointing since most of the movie was a build up for a 10 minute fight. It was different and a read more