Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mirai no Mirai


Alternative Titles

English: Mirai
Synonyms: Mirai of the Future
Japanese: 未来のミライ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 20, 2018
Licensors: NYAV Post, GKIDS
Studios: Studio Chizu
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 38 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.451 (scored by 18,273 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #18952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1877
Members: 48,573
Favorites: 108

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 20, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Mirai no Mirai -- literally Mirai of the future in English -- is a children's movie about Kun, a 4 years-old boy who gets a little sister named Mirai and then becomes incredibly jealous because apparently his mother + father doesn't have any time for him anymore.

Kun spends his days yelling, crying, begging for attention, teasing his little sister and being annoying in every imaginable way until several different time travels occur and Kun gets to meet alternative timeline versions of his family members, including the older version of his little sister... after which he still does this exact same thing, but we get to read more
Aug 14, 2018
tgaffer (All reviews)
This movie is very experimental in a lot of ways, and I appreciate that. Is it a masterpiece? No. Is it the best work by Hosoda? No. But it is a very cute movie, surprisingly deep, with phenomenal artwork and cinematography.

Music: 10/10
The soundtrack is rreminiscient of Ookami Kodomo Ame to Yuki, and each song is gorgeous.

Plot: 8/10
I think the title and trailers were misleading, because they focused on Kun's younger sister, Mirai, visiting him from the future. This does happen, but it's a small part of the plot. The true title should be "Annoying Child Repeatedly Stumbles into his Courtyard and is Greeted read more
Dec 2, 2018
bitchassdarius (All reviews)
In the planning stage of Mirai no Mirai, significant consideration was put into the designing of the house in which the majority of the movie is set. In fact, director Mamoru Hosoda employed a real architect, Makoto Tanijiri, to design the Oota house. The house is a series of four levels, not quite stories as it were, connected by a series of steps on one side of the house. It's a peculiar layout, as noted in a throwaway comment made by the grandmother at the beginning, designed in-universe by the architect father. A sloped tracking shot near the beginning of the movie, similar to Wolf read more
Jun 20, 2018
fillyy (All reviews)
Mirai, also known as Mirai no Mirai, is an animated film directed by Mamoru Hosoda. He has directed other notably well-received anime films such as Wolf Children, The Boy and the Beast, and The Girl Who Leapt Through Time. Mirai is about a boy named Kun who unexpectedly goes back in time on different occasions to meet his relatives from different eras. This film makes a wholesome and heartwarming statement -- that family shapes who we are and are the primary reason why we exist and we should be thankful and loving towards our family members, even in the toughest of times. This film shows read more
Jul 29, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Mamoru Hosoda giving us a visually accurate depiction of both sibling bonds and the stressful yet typical things families ALL grow through...

Mirai no Mirai through basic means tells of a 4 or 5 year old boy by the name of Kun-chan and the trials and tribulations when his "love" is taken away by the arrival of his younger sister Mirai and thus we see his journey of not only both his looking at his family members backstories but also learning about the world one step at a time..........with MANY screaming along the way.

Ok, LA might as well get LA's gripes done and away first before read more
Jun 14, 2019
Jonah_Lee (All reviews)
Not gonna lie, I want to like this movie but it did disappoint me in some ways. Let me explain:

Firstly, the art style is very reminiscent of Wolf Children and I liked it a lot. The composition of the music was top-notch as well. But this movie lacks the character development and plot that makes the movie fall short on meeting my expectations.

Let's talk about the character development, The main guy, Kun was a spoiled kid who had an attention child complex and demands a lot of attention. This is a good driving point but the way he handles the situation is honestly very read more
Apr 17, 2019
Joshimatsoo (All reviews)
Mirai is truly precious and downright heart-melting, while rarely coming off as treacly or overly-saccharine thanks to the clear place of experience and insight showcased in the portrayal of family and siblings that Hosoda possesses. His understanding of the essence of family grows more profound with every film. The man has always been fascinated with the theme of family and how our bonds to our lineage form us into the people we are. Mirai is perhaps the most resonant implementation of this theme the visionary director has yet conceived. Truly a beautiful, heartwarming and downright infectious and endlessly charming experience. The film doesn't follow a read more
Aug 8, 2019
Darkraioys (All reviews)
I was looking forward to the release of this film since I seriously love the director other works (especially Wolf Children). So it goes without saying that when I saw this film get an oscar nomination I was ready for it to be the second coming of Christ.

Well, it was far from that

I found the Story quite boring and unintersting. It felt that something that was mostly directed for small children. I think it would be more fitting for this to be a short collection of episodes, since the sections of the movie felt like that. 4/10

Now for the art, what could I possibly except? read more
Feb 14, 2019
Hatul (All reviews)
Mamoru Hosoda is an absurdly talented filmmaker. He's able to take the masses on an emotional roller coaster through his visual prowess and maximum enhancement of his characters' emotions while making it look as easy as flipping a switch. If there is someone worthy of being called 'the next Miyazaki' then look no further.

With that being said, I'm not really a fan of his films. That's not to say I dislike any of them per say, I just don't think they resonate with me on a personal level as they do with many people. Also I find some of their thematic content, drama and strange read more
Aug 17, 2019
kojinai (All reviews)
It’s 2am and I have a busy day that starts early tomorrow, so - what better time than to type out a couple lines worth of notes and impulsively decide to fill it out to full review length? You’re looking at a priority mastermind.

The art is amazing, as standard for Chizu. Anyone who grew up, like me, watching Hosoda’s other works (the first Digimon Movie, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, Summer Wars, etc) will recognise the style in a heartbeat, and appreciate the airiness and consistently clean execution with a lot of character.

Voice actors could have used some .. tweaking, or changing altogether. read more
Apr 24, 2019
bee_33 (All reviews)
Mirai no Mirai, a title that catches the ear, but apparently, the show is not as catchy as it sounds.

It's hard to believe but afar from the poorly done soundtrack and story, what ruined everything is the character's behavior--or how they were made or portrayed.

Kun-chan, a four-year-old older brother who doesn't know how to be a good brother, has a totally crappy attitude. Well, I thought that was fine as the story moved forward, but I guess everything just didn't fit at all--even until it ended.

A kid having a bad attitude is normal, but Kun-chan's attitude doesn't just go at all. His attitude, the way read more
Apr 14, 2019
xcomprr (All reviews)
Little Kun is excited that he will be having a new baby sister soon but when he discovers his parents doting on the baby he becomes jealous. One day while playing in the garden, something magical happens. Kun discovers their family dog Yukko taking human form and his sister Mirai travelling back from the future. Ever since then, Kun finds himself taking trips back to the past and meeting his older family members. With every trip little Kun grows up just that little bit more.

Mamoru Hisoda's movies had always had great art and this time we seem to see more use of 3D. Unfortunately the read more
Feb 17, 2019
NatsumeHyuuga2 (All reviews)
It's pretty clear everyone knows this movie was made by the same director who made The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, so this show has some pretty big expectations. While both of these movies are a sweet slice of life, coming of age, I wouldn't put them together. This movie was good. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time was an instant hit.

This movie wasn't quite how I expected it to be when I first heard and read of it. It was a strong start but grew tiresome in the middle, and then it was over. With a collage of stories that inform us of who read more
Nov 30, 2018
Ixact (All reviews)
Spoilers: Read at your own risk.

The movie I was expecting to see was something that combined the best parts of "The Girl Who Leapt Through Time" with the best parts of "Wolf Children", two of my favorite films from Mamoru Hosoda. I wanted to see a heartwarming journey of recognizing the importance of family through time travel shenanigans. I was a little disappointed when this was only partially realized.

Story: 6
The story had a lot of promise for an extremely heartwarming story of young Kun coming to appreciate his younger sister, Mirai, and his family, even though he initially hates Mirai for taking his read more
Sep 12, 2019
Erohiel (All reviews)
I want to start by saying that the top review by Karhu is incredibly unfair as I can only assume he has NO first-hand experience raising small children--especially not a newborn and toddler simultaneously.

Throughout the story Kun is very evidently NOT being neglected, he's only being a very spoiled and needy child out of jealousy of not being the center of attention, and whenever his parents have to stop paying attention to him for extremely valid reasons, such as WORK (the dad is not scrolling memes, he's working), cooking, taking care of the infant's needs, or just being beat tired and attempting to get a read more
Jul 4, 2019
NebbyChan (All reviews)
It's a cute movie. I have a younger sister and the movie is really relatable when you are an older sibling. Although I think Wolf children is still better it is still pretty good. I like how the dog has a human personification LMAO. The only part about this movie I didn't like is how obnoxious the main character can be. I know he is 4 but it still makes me cringe. The art is as great or even better then Wolf children. There are thing that happen that I am still confused about but overall it's pretty understandable. It is definitely a movie that read more
May 25, 2019
pie_chan (All reviews)
Mirai of the future was something I had been planning to watch for months now, and after finally getting to watch it, I must say that I am slightly underwhelmed.

STORY: 6/10
The plot strives to be heartfelt — an intense, magical method of realization for a young stubborn toddler now that he isn't getting full attention in the household. Time travel is nothing new in Hosoda's films (and somewhat overused at this point) and is utilized as a huge plot point on the film for Kun to make emotional development for himself without help from his rather lax parents. The way the story was going, read more
Apr 2, 2019
Demonaru (All reviews)
Mirai no Mirai, Future of Mirai in English. To start off, you can immediately tell it's a Mamoru Hosoda done film. Which immediately gives off a "good news vibe." I'll try to avoid spoilers to heavily.

The movie is great.
The Story is definitely an experiment playing with classic ideas coming from such things as even Christmas Carol and the link. Moral lessons being essential to the plot. Wonderfully done in execution, for the most part, really cool plays in the character involved teaching. The trailer was a bit dishonest as far as execution, but unbelievably great story idea and playing on it from it. As far read more
Mar 8, 2019
SlaceTheDark (All reviews)
This will be my review on the movie 'Mirai no Mirai'. The movie has a runtime of an hour and around 30 minutes. It is produced by Studio Chizu who have been responsible for Wolf Children, Summer Wars, and The Girl who Leapt through Time. I just finished the movie a few minutes ago so everything is still fresh to write down. So, let's get down to this. Let's get this bread!

Story/Plot: The very young (maybe around 5 year old) Ken gets a little sister! And as it is always told and actually the case soon Ken feels neglected by his parents who only seem read more
Feb 3, 2019
Magixi (All reviews)
Your family is not something you can change, you are born with your mother, father, and possibly siblings, and are forced to interact with them for much of your life. Sometimes you may hate these people, but there comes a time when you must accept them for all their flaws because no one will ever replace them. Mamoru has a very distinct style when it comes to his stories and directing, and once again he has amazed me. Just a warning if you do not like Mamoru’s other works, you will probably not like this movie, and if you get annoyed easily to a point read more