Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou


Alternative Titles

English: Arifureta: From Commonplace to World's Strongest
Synonyms: From Common Job Class to the Strongest in the World
Japanese: ありふれた職業で世界最強

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2019 to Oct 7, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Mondays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Asread, White Fox
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.481 (scored by 51,579 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #61562
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #631
Members: 166,642
Favorites: 1,683

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 7, 2019
KrissCross (All reviews)
I can see why people hate this show but I actually enjoyed it. Of course this show was definitely not perfect. It had many problems. Minor spoilers if you haven't seen it.

One of the problems was the animation. I didn't like that they used CGI for all the monsters, it just made them look all weird and not intimidating. I did like the character designs so I will give them props for that.

The second is how it started. I have read the first light novel and will be reading the rest soon, but how the show started was much different from the light novel. They read more
Oct 9, 2019
TheOldFallen (All reviews)
I really enjoyed this anime but being a late comer I was able to watch the full 12 ep's, 1 being a review ep 5.5, I can understand the poor reviews. While yes the CGI wasn't the greatest in the world not all CGI is going to be prefect so it's bad but not so bad to not watch. Most eps don't have any or very little CGI meaning it shouldn't really be a reason to give the anime a lower score.

I gave this anime a 9 while I really enjoyed it it's not a favorite of mine so I can't give it a read more
Oct 7, 2019
gitty7 (All reviews)
By far my favorite anime of its cour, those who demand it be exactly like the manga shouldn't watch the anime.

The story of Hajime pulling himself and his friends through hell and onto the other side, while maintaining the harem trope found in many of these kinds of shows. A cute but at times brutal show, his love for those who are close to him and his hatred of his enemies are fun to watch.

if you're looking for a deep series look elsewhere, if you're interested in a sometimes light sometimes dark harem anime this is for you.
Aug 5, 2019
Nekotsuki17 (All reviews)
Preliminary
You know what? After watching 5 episodes of this anime, you can't really complain about the bad CGI anymore. I mean, let's all be honest here, there's a lot of anime out there with worse animation than this. I know they skipped some of the content but that's not something to really complain about. You can still follow the story if you watch it properly. So instead of staring at the bad CGI and complaining about how dark everything is, just try to enjoy the show. This is the part where you say the internet saying "It's so bad, it's good". And what does that read more
Jul 30, 2019
casual42 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Watching this made me think of Shirobako and how that show made me appreciate quality animation.

In Shirobako there is a scene where a young inexperienced 3D animator tries to show effects of gravity and acceleration on a piglet in a jet plane, and the result just falls flat due to lack of dynamics.

3D in this show is like that. It's jarring. It lacks any believable dynamics. It's lifeless. It's so pathetic it's uncomfortable to watch.

Web novel story can be broadly categorized as action harem. It's main appeal is: thrilling fights, escalating MC power level, sexy babes, character interaction sitcom.

But in the anime the script read more
Oct 7, 2019
ChaoticThinker (All reviews)
From common place to worlds strongest, another "Isekai" anime as the whiners would say but how does this one fare to top picks like "No Game No Life", "Gate" and "Re: Zero".

Well this anime is a lot like "Sword Art Online" season 01 structure wise, unlike SAO Alice, the very first SAO was trimmed because it was a newcomer and if you know about the anime industry, you know there are things like Slot Booking, Budget and Profit forecast, Not a lot of anime studios go in with sequels in mind. so it's about playing it safe, what can last the whole season and most read more
Oct 7, 2019
Grizzziff (All reviews)


♪♫ And to the haters we sing, no validation for bile, now hear forth my reasons, this could take a while, the show was pretty bad, baseless opinions are worse, and now let my review, become the next verse ♪♫


Most stories have a beginning, a middle, and an end. You could be more specific breaking down the different story telling mechanics: read more
Oct 7, 2019
zzz-anime (All reviews)
Arifureta is just one of the many isekai this season that met the genre's expectations.

Of being absolute garbage.

What sets Arifureta apart, though, is my personal disappointment in a well-written source novel that turned into a garbage can.

This anime was a production disaster. The CGI was a rushed job, the cringe moments were absolutely horrible, the pacing was wild, and to top it off, the general feel of the story and development that existed in the source material (Light Novel) was completely destroyed. I don't have the time (or the motivation) to point out the countless amount of times this adaptation decided to leave things out, read more
Aug 7, 2019
VanguardasVucava (All reviews)
Preliminary
4/10 for me. Believe me when I say this, but the Arifureta Manga is really good. It's a good mix of Tokyo Ghoul, Fullmetal Alchemist and Shield Hero. The only reason I have this a 4/10 is because they butchered the fucking manga.

They cut out a lot of the important parts that make Arifureta good. I stopped at episode 1 when I saw them skip the school scene. Fucking idiots ruining good material.

I'm currently still reading the manga and I'm excited for the next chapter but the anime is just so fucked up. I'm fine with them changing some parts of read more
Aug 6, 2019
SargeSmoke (All reviews)
Preliminary
Arifureta, our wonderful seasonal isekai trash of Summer 2019. It is an experiment by the novelist, wondering what would occur if he culminates many different elements of manga and novels to create this narrative, hoping to find success in extracting the most praised aspects in order to replicate said acclaim.

The story follows our optimistic and kind protagonist Nagumo Hajime, as he is ridiculed for his supposedly useless skill by his peer who possesses far superior skills (hmmm... kinda reminds me of a series... *cough* SHIELD HERO *cough* ), he is later betrayed by one of his peers and undergoes extraordinary emotional trauma that damages read more
Oct 12, 2019
Flashpicky (All reviews)
Non-spoil review :

At first glance it looks like a normal anime to be honest but dig deeper and it was pretty fun to watch, funny and bring tears as well (little), the story are great but it's not cleared yet so SS2 confirmed, the character is a bit too much but kina fit into the place, music are good especially the opening, the art is good but some parts are cheap out and weird some weird computer graphic but overall, this is a brilliant anime

For me this anime is a : Great Enjoyment, Good Music, Fantastic story.
Even tho, people rate this anime low and read more
Oct 10, 2019
Chiptempest (All reviews)
If I'm giving an objective review of this anime, it's a 3 as such I shall spoil the shit out of it without mercy.

It has exactly 2 good ideas and has a alright soundtrack. Those two ideas are.

1: The dragon people being samurai or at least eastern inspired. I just always enjoy this so this is a personal thing.

2: Hajime adopting Myu is unironically wholesome and is the best character interaction in the entire anime. I am a sucker for hardass/edgelords becoming doting dads, so of course this is my favorite legitimate aspect of the show.

Now you may have noticed that I scored this read more
Oct 9, 2019
Varivachan (All reviews)
Pure concentrated cancer essence.

Trivialest plot, cardboard characters, spontaneous porn episodes, awfull slide show animation and awful music. Who created this? Why it was created? Who would like this? The greatest mysteries in the world.

All the parts of this title are dreadelly bad, i didn't catch even few pleasurable seconds, it's some kind of achievement for creators

It is something like "50 shades of grey" for guys and I can assume that poor unformed children will enjoy the primitive idea underlying the plot but enjoying this title will fatally lead to brain liquefaction.

It is the saddest anime-industry event, which lowers base quality of read more
Oct 9, 2019
Tenderizer17 (All reviews)
"Butchers the source material"
"So bad it's good"
"Generic isekai trash"

I've heard these three claims made, and none of them are valid.
1. Let me make one thing absolutely clear, the source material for this is not good. The best manga or light novel I've read is not even comparable to an 8/10 anime. But that aside, some specific claims are demonstrably false. That it's incomprehensible, I understand it perfectly so I don't know what anyone's on about. That they ruined Hajime's character, from what I've heard he's edgier in the source material, and if he were to be any edgier Yue would be cut touching him. All read more
Oct 8, 2019
Der_Reichter (All reviews)
So, after watching dis S1 Arifureta, the first half of the series (Ep1-4)was indeed hard to watch because the progresive-regresive flow of the anime (constantly initiating flashback to make-up the story). buts still it wasn't dat hard to understand.

The Story was fair, compare to another isekai in summer 2019. The art and Sound was superbly well made and good, but still it can'teven compared to Kimetsu no Yaiba (ufotable) quality in current season.

i was realy enjoying a "from zero to Hero" plot and Anti-Hero Type. BUT the series has it drawback, YES everybody realized this after the first half of the read more
Oct 8, 2019
CrimsonDonger (All reviews)
Arifureta is similar to a giant turd stuck in your ass. It's painful, it stinks, it looks and feels horrible, but by the time you're done you feel so much better that you forgot how awful the experience actually was.

Story: 2/10 The story for this anime is such a mess that it's almost impossible to describe. They took the source material for this anime, skimmed it like a lazy high school student skims a book they have to write a report on, and then confidently present it as if what they've done is acceptable. In this scenario the viewers are this student's teacher, and if read more
Oct 8, 2019
ijen (All reviews)
I stopped watching anime seriously since 2 years ago, that's probably the only reason this anime got 5 from me, a fair, impartial one, otherwise not even worth my remarks. Why stopped watching anime? Simple cause animes are childish and most of the time nothing but retarded japanese ideas which are well what can i say!! Retarded. This shitty shows boils blood for a certain 8th grade syndrome group and after that meh! Well, exceptions are obviously excluded.

My review is based on the my experience of anime, manga and light novel, all of them.
The light novel deserves an 8, balanced and worth reading. The manga read more
Oct 7, 2019
david627 (All reviews)
This anime would have been better as a 24 or 25 episode anime. Mainly because they are trying to cover 4 volumes in 13 episodes, which normally wouldn't be that bad until you see how much content is in each volume which would need around 6 episodes to cover just 1 enough to do it justice. Especially since they covered volume 2 in just 2 episodes while cutting out most of the volume.

However if you haven't read the books the anime itself covers a lot of the main plot details so that you can at least know what's going on.

Overall, the anime read more
Oct 7, 2019
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
Arifureta is a work of art. Let me present a few examples:

- skipping hundreds of pages of source material in a few seconds,
- skipping important character development,
- skipping the protagonist's entire backstory,
- skipping the "summoned into another world" event in the first place,
- harem power fantasy with girls falling for him immediately,
- harem antics that take up most of the screen time,
- an edgelord protagonist who still acts as a hero and saves his waifus and the local towns,
- trivially steam-rolling any threat with his OP abilities and only minor planning,
- generic edgy dialogue with all the subtlety of a sledgehammer to the face,
- generic read more
Oct 7, 2019
AnimeEtoOshibka (All reviews)
The two most powerful warriors are patience and time. Some anime creators, however, fail to understand what it means.

Arifureta: From Commonplace to World's Strongest is a Japanese light novel series, which is written by Ryo Shirakome (his first work) and illustrated by Takayaki. The novels are licensed in English by J-Novel Club, with Seven Seas Entertainment publishing them in print. An anime television series adaptation by White Fox and Asread premiered on July 8, 2019. The final episode aired on October 7, 2019 and concluded 13 episodes series.

Hajime Nagumo and his entire high school class are summoned to a fantasy world to save the humanity. read more