Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou


Arifureta: From Commonplace to World's Strongest

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Arifureta: From Commonplace to World's Strongest
Synonyms: From Common Job Class to the Strongest in the World
Japanese: ありふれた職業で世界最強

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2019 to Oct 7, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Mondays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Asread, White Fox
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy, HaremHarem
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.491 (scored by 144773144,773 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #58322
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #422
Members: 299,647
Favorites: 3,065
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 29, 2019
Kurenai_Shu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I feel like I'm watching someone grind in an MMO.

This is garbage and I say this as a person that likes the isekai genre.
The thing is, they kinda forgot about the "isekai" part. There's no transportation to another world in this anime because for some reason they skipped it. The pacing is terrible, instead of things playing out as they should they put everything into flashbacks, confusing everyone. And honestly that might have been their goal considering that if you haven't read the source material, nothing in this adaptation is going to make sense. I'm 4 episodes in and if I hadn't read the read more
Oct 7, 2019
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Have you ever been excited to watch a dumpster fire? You know, that special kind of train wreck that reaches so bad it’s good territory, or the legendary "schlock" status”? It’s rare to find such titles in the current anime market, as Big Order and Inuyashiki are some of the last ones out there at the time of writing. Most bad anime are just frustrating or boring, especially when it comes to the prevalence of bad isekai anime. With episode 1 at least, Arifureta seemed to have done the impossible. It had become something so legendarily awful that it would be remembered as the best read more
Oct 7, 2019
Inferno792 (All reviews)
The disappointment of the season. Worst anime of the year. An anime that should never have existed. No matter how many insults I throw at Arifureta, I'm afraid it will never be enough to convey just how loathsome I consider this atrocity.

There are several levels of bad isekai anime. You've got the disappointing kind like How Not to Summon a Demon Lord. Then comes the horrible kind like Kenja no Mago and Isekai Cheat Magician. And then you have Arifureta in a league of its own with not a single competitor in sight. It's so bad that I watched it every week just to read more
Aug 5, 2019
Insanity_Spirit (All reviews)
Preliminary
Most people seem to be really hating the series for having the 1st ep be a power struggle than the keeps getting cranked up with power. I won't deny that it's unlogical for an anime MC to be getting ridiculously OP by the second however I think most of you are judging before waiting to see what happens. As he mentioned in the ending of the 5th episode he could end up facing god-level threats, as a maverick yes he is OP as it stands but he could get annihilated by gods. On top of all of that this anime gives you the fan service read more
Jul 30, 2019
NB_Tenchy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tl;dr This series is a disaster. If you really want to give Arifureta a try read the Manga or the Novel.

May contain spoilers;


Oh boy, where do I begin with this mess. When I saw this was in production by White Fox 2 or 3 seasons ago I was reasonably hyped for it to come out. White Fox has done reasonably good to great work on other series that I have been reading long before an Anime adaptation happened and with only minor nitpicks at some plot rearrangement with my full understanding that Manga and Anime are essentially marketed to separate(but still overlapping) read more
Oct 7, 2019
TenshiTobacco (All reviews)
Kaneki Ken, Shinobu Oshino, Aqua, and Darkness destroy CGI monsters with Hammer, sniper rifle, and grenade launcher. If you think that it will be extremely enjoyable and fun to watch, think again.

Summer 2019. Fairy Gone is finally ended, so I needed to watch another guilty pleasure show. I skipped Shield Hero hype train, Slime hype train, and some other isekai hype trains before, but new another world one looks fine to join and discuss. No deep expectations: cool and “kinda weak in first episodes, super op after them” protagonist, cute fanservice girls, nice graphics and 8.xx MAL rating — what else do I need from read more
Oct 7, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
How should I say this…my first impression of this abomination is: Did studio Asread go creatively bankrupt of anime projects? Is that why they keep producing garbage after garbage all these years? Watching Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou feels like injecting yourself with a lethal dose of poison but you won’t die. Instead, you’re lying there in a pain of agony trying to move on to the next life.

To be honest, I had low expectations before the anime began airing. Red flags were already raised when they made an announcement that the show would be delayed to this year. Normally, people would assume that it’s read more
Sep 16, 2019
edy0511 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is really bad. Everything about it is horrible. The CG is horrible. The acting is terrible. Every frame looks confusing as hell. But if theres one thing that Arifureta does well, is that it makes you laugh. The ugly looking CG and the confusing scenes are absolutely hilarious. Of course in the first few minutes of the show, you are just left confused. But after you start expecting it and take the whole thing as a joke, it is the funniest thing ever. This is very similar to Garzey's wing. But unlike Garzey's wing, where only one episode was really funny, this show read more
Oct 7, 2019
Nitoni (All reviews)
I absolutely love this anime, and I am not here today to make the most critical and in-depth reviews of all time, as it is a show for light entertainment, not Gordon Ramsay's kitchen or the world's most complicated medical surgery (I'm trying to say this stuff isn't so serious that people have to blow up about it). Anyways enough about that and lets delve right into the review.
I am going to be honest, this anime is my kind of thing. I do like a bit of 'OP protagonist who dashes into scenes and save the day', some can say its corny and all that, read more
Jul 29, 2019
jon9kittil352 (All reviews)
Preliminary
After watching 4 episodes of this show, I got to say that the story and character so far has been really well. However, the way they use that ultra cheap 3D animation on some enemies, just ruins it all... i find it hard to look away when it all looks so goofy at times. I understand that it might be to much work painting it all, if you dont have the budget for it, but in my opinion, i would rather see some less detailed monster, than a horrific attempt on a 3D monster in a world where everything else is painted.. hopefully there wont read more
Aug 3, 2019
BlueNeonAG (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Masterpiece Novel got misunderstood because of the bad adaptation"

Arifureta is one of the few series that got really popular in Japan by just a novel, it got 3 Audio CD before the anime announcement and the sell is so good when compared to other popular anime series

for the Anime, it got really bad storytelling on ep1 (much better on ep2+). for the animation and visual side, it around average and it still enjoyable

for those people who have been told or heard that "the author is so picky about the staff so the anime got delay by 1 year and the animation got worst lol" well, read more
Oct 7, 2019
KrissCross (All reviews)
I can see why people hate this show but I actually enjoyed it. Of course this show was definitely not perfect. It had many problems. Minor spoilers if you haven't seen it.

One of the problems was the animation. I didn't like that they used CGI for all the monsters, it just made them look all weird and not intimidating. I did like the character designs so I will give them props for that.

The second is how it started. I have read the first light novel and will be reading the rest soon, but how the show started was much different from the light novel. They read more
Oct 7, 2019
gitty7 (All reviews)
By far my favorite anime of its cour, those who demand it be exactly like the manga shouldn't watch the anime.

The story of Hajime pulling himself and his friends through hell and onto the other side, while maintaining the harem trope found in many of these kinds of shows. A cute but at times brutal show, his love for those who are close to him and his hatred of his enemies are fun to watch.

if you're looking for a deep series look elsewhere, if you're interested in a sometimes light sometimes dark harem anime this is for you.
Aug 10, 2019
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
This really doesn't seem like anyone's cup of tea to be honest. But I didn't mind it so much. The animation isn't a problem for me, as it is for some. So if you're not too picky on that, then you won't be bothered by that supposed flaw.

The characters aren't that bad either. Sure there are issues. But if we just focus on the main main cast, then it's not a problem.

My only real problem with this show, is that it's pacing is a little eeeeeeeh.

I will say, if you're going into this and expecting something like Shield Hero. Then you're mistaken. It's read more
Aug 13, 2019
snephnode (All reviews)
Preliminary
(no spoilers)

Alot of other reviews already mention how badly this story is explained,
It's isekai but you don't even know because they skipped it, character development is insanely rushed, it takes only one episode for the entire character development to shift which is unrealistic and pulls you out of the story to say the least...

Anyhow lackluster story aside;

Imagine the worst CG you've ever seen, and then this anime does it worse, fight scenes feel like you are watching a plastic doll on a screen.

Just when I thought this anime could not possibly get any worse, episode 6 is a recape episode. Yeah, because I totally forgot read more
Oct 7, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Production horror, disagreements between newbie novelists and production staff, and horribly bad animation. That's all I have to say about this trash of a shitshow that if handled correctly, it could really turn out to be a decent show, honest to God.

When this show was greenlit for an anime adaptation in 2017, the Isekai trend was just taking off, and seeing the massive successes and failures of shows we've seen up until this point, it seemed like all was destined for good. Alas, novelist Ryo Shirakome, being a newbie in the anime industry, you could say that it was part of his fault when the read more
Aug 14, 2019
WhiteWolfKiba (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Arifureta: From Commonplace to World's Strongest" certainly lives up to its name: it's about a commonplace synergist character named Hajime, who can't fight and basically can only transmute rocks, and his change into an OP gun-toting badass killing machine straight out of Devil May Cry! There are a ton of isekai (transported to another world) anime that have been coming out lately, but I wanted to let you know that you'd be missing out if you skipped Arifureta! I've seen the 5 episodes that are out so consider this a preliminary review.

Story: 5/10. This is as generic as an isekai gets: Hajime and his homeroom read more
Oct 7, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Arifureta is an awful anime.

BUT! Underneath its anemic story and banal characters, there’s something you might not expect…..More. F—kn’. Awfulness. In fact, one needs to descend through 65 layers of crap before anything worthwhile reveals itself. Prior to crossing that bridge, however, let’s dissect the multitude of flaws with this ‘cookie-cutter,’ cliched Isekai.

As is the case with any self-proclaimed Isekai, Arifureta features an unimaginative main character — Hajime Nagumo — who starts off as a weak bitch, but eventually levels up to a Pirate/Terminator/1800’s Banker/NSYNC Justin with the frosty tips/phony bad-ass, to fight cannon fodder on his way read more
Sep 12, 2019
akumaino (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show doesn't know what kind of show it wants to be so it left it so that it could be any kind of show. You find out that it is an isekai and that the entire class was transported, but you dont see the actual isekai event. It is like playing an rpg where someone else has played the first few levels for you and you are just continuing from there.

Story is horribly done including the attempts at comedy and fanservice.
The art is below average.
The characters don't feel unique. Especially the main characters.

The best way that I can describe this anime is read more
Aug 4, 2019
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
Preliminary
Our main character is transported from another world to one of fantasy with his class. In this world he gets a somewhat useless magic skill and has to fight in a labyrinth. He gets betrayed by one of his classmates, falls down a deep hole causing everyone to think he is dead and this is where our main story starts. Im rushing through all of this because the show does too.
In this hole he is forced to eat monsters to survive, he learns that eating monsters gives him more and useful powers so he goes on a killing spree to get more powers and we read more