Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Caligula


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The Caligula Effect
Japanese: Caligula -カリギュラ-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 8, 2018 to Jun 24, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 23:30 (JST)
Producers: Pony Canyon, Furyu
Licensors: Ponycan USA
Studios: Satelight
Source: Game
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.201 (scored by 13,691 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #70412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1640
Members: 51,736
Favorites: 81

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 24, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Everyone has a different form of perception, how they see reality, and everything in it. We can see a show or movie and have different reactions to it and notice different things in it. We can have different political opinions, views on society, or subject preferences. Once you think of it, it's quite fascinating, and in many cases, outright chaotic.

After dressing itself up in psychology and philosophy Caligula is a fascinating and musically endearing, if awkward, convoluted, and jarringly done foray into just how fucked perceptions are. It jumps off from its premise to deliver a unique experience in the name of establishing the credibility read more
Jun 24, 2018
SnowyDay22 (All reviews)
Underrated, I would say.

Caligula Effect explores profound theme of Western Thought -- happiness -- by gathering people in a virtual world known as Mobius, where anyone's wishes can be granted by its creator, u (mew). Throughout the series, Caligula takes us through clashes between Rebellists, the people who are disgusted by the materialized desires provided by Mobius and want to leave, and Musicians, the people who favour materialized ideals that were not provided for them in reality. Although confusing at first, the anime pulls together most of its loose ties in the final two episodes and ultimately comes to a wholesome conclusion.

There were indeed read more
Jun 24, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Caligula is what White Album 2 had looked like if it had followed its predecessor's footsteps and made its girls more obviously inanimate objects.

The story of this masterpiece of nothing is a weird one. Gay man who wears a rose instead of necktie gets stuck inside imaginary idol world where he is surrounded by sad people who all share the same music taste. When their favorite band starts playing, they go berserk and try to kill everyone. The best part is how dramatic this all is. Tables flip over in slow-motion like it's Game of Thrones killing Starks. Guy fails to solve some problem in read more
May 6, 2018
JakCooper2 (All reviews)
Preliminary
WARNING, MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD!

Ladies and gentlemen, I think that I just found the most confusing, but also most thematically complex anime of the season so far. And possibly the best, too. I’ll admit that I was looking forward to this one, but I didn’t expect it to be this interesting. At the time of this writing only four episodes have been released, and within those episodes I’ve interpreted four different themes. This is clearly the type of show that can be interpreted in many different ways, and I will be interested to know if anyone else out there has thought of read more
Jun 24, 2018
Nayout (All reviews)
Caligula is the adaptation of the videogame "The Caligula Effect" released on June 23, 2016 for Ps Vita and was released in the West by Atlus Usa in 2017. It also has a remake released a few months ago for PS4 with the name of "Overdose "including several playable improvements and even a new route as a traitor by the name of "Lucid "

The story is quite simple even in the video game, where what most stood out were his characters and how they manage to overcome their insecurities to escape Mobius, all written by Tadashi Satomi, the father of Persona series. Now entering the read more
May 8, 2018
chapulandia (All reviews)
Preliminary
Maybe I'm failing to understand what's the point behind this anime, in three episodes there's no character development whatsoever except from stupid gags trying to make something funny when two seconds before the atmosphere was dark and "mysterious", between quotation marks cause I don't sense the mistery, neither anything that makes me want to see where this goes.
All in all, I sense something like "we failed to make this serious so instead we'll give you this fat guy who pretends to be a cute loli and hope that makes the series good enough for you".
The music is quite nice, and the animation is not... that read more
Jun 24, 2018
dadnaya (All reviews)
I have to confess, the only reason I decided to watch this anime was because of two words: "µ" and "idol", I thought maybe I'd get some Love Live references here. Ha.

Well anyways, Caligula was pretty much one huge mess. The concept shown to us in the sypnosis isn't so bad, and indeed the concept of being stuck in another world and trying to escape from it- isn't so bad.
But as the story went on, it turned out to be a horrible mess.

We barely get to know what really is happening in the series, and as the story progresses we get more twists that made read more
Jun 24, 2018
somaisbatman (All reviews)
TL;DR it's bad. But if you want some convincing, here you go.

I was going to ignore Caligula entirely, until I heard that Tadashi Satomi was tangentially connected to the project. Satomi is a scenario designer who used to work at Atlus. He’s responsible for Persona 1 and the Persona 2 duology, which happen to be some of my favorite games. Caligula seems to be his current project, at least Caligula the game. That’s right, this show is a video game adaptation, which is never a good sign. Anyways, this show is particularly frustrating because for a while, it straddles the line between a flawed show read more
Jun 24, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
This series has got to be one of the most complex shows of the season, and yet it seems convoluted in its storytelling, and tries too hard to be another Persona in disguise.

From the same person who brought you Persona 1 and 2, Tadashi Satomi, comes the series of Caligula, an over-the-top series about reality and hell (or the Astral Syndrome as the series states), understanding the human mind about wanting to do things your own way (therefore releasing the Caligula effect), and the difficulty to comprehend things that have been dealt and facing your troubles like how responsible people should (therefore releasing the opposite, read more
May 17, 2018
Revisionary (All reviews)
Preliminary
Minor spoiler or two, but nothing major.

I’ve gotten halfway into the series at the time of this review, and the only thing I can really say about “Caligula” is that it’s a fun mess.

Character development is rushed, the story is all over the place, and the show’s tone seems to fluctuate from minute to minute. There were times where I had to pause an episode and try to rack my brains around why a certain character would do something. While some of these questions become answered as the episodes go on, some were left unanswered, leaving some lingering questions that may never be answered read more
May 17, 2018
godofwar23 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is pretty awful. The writing is so so bad. It is supposedly supposed to be about two warring factions in a digital world. However most of the episodes seem to focus less on that and focus more on bad writing and dialogue. 5 episodes in and the villains or heroes still haven't fought eachother it mostly just consists of watching the very bad job done by the writers play out on screen. And it is overall just very boring and lame. Given the premise the series could be allot more exciting had they executed it more properly. Wouldn't recommend that you watch this read more
Oct 8, 2018
Vccminimalist (All reviews)
To be fair, the premise is good. OP, ED and ost are very good. Unfortunately it just felt cheap and was done poorly. Too much powers from nowhere, screaming and bs. To be honest it felt like an excuse to either advertise music or a game. At times there were moments that were downright cringeworthy. All things considered, it started off fine until it turned to generic typical anime you'd find anywhere. Things don't really play out until the last couple episodes.

Again, it felt like the anime was made just to have somewhere to dump songs and ost. At times it felt like it was read more
Aug 3, 2018
WeeabooWaifu (All reviews)
Caligula's story line is dense and has an underlying issue with a static sense in mind. The question of "happiness" is referring to psychology the whole entirety of the anime. Yes, it has interesting perspectives but if you've never been associated with a psychology class in your life, you better get ready for some research. This is a detrimental part of the storytelling, for instance in the first episode they bring up Sigmund Freud and his school of thought and their explanation feels absurd and irrelevant until the very end of the show. However with this sense of story telling, it seamlessly envelopes you with read more
Jun 28, 2018
Helivelton100 (All reviews)
- Finally my review of Caligula, beginning with the story, which is simply the most incredible story I've seen in an anime this year so far; the story of Caligula is simply spectacular, with several mensanges and reflections on life, and best of all is that it is performed in a sensational way, with some moments of tension and excellent emotional moments or just dialogues between the characters; is very interesting how the anime can make you reflect on life only with a dialogue between two characters; without doubt the history is the strongest point of Caligula.

- Now about the technical part, unfortunately is not read more
Jun 26, 2018
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
Another cyberpunk genre anime has ended, and as much as it annoys me , it has that same vibe of SAO Alternative Gun Gale, where people finds escape from the reality of life into the virtual world, except in SAO the character can go offline, while in Caligula the characters were trapped in what can be called as Astral Syndrome that was created by some company who were responsible for creating Mobius. Now , the story was very good since it wasn't always that we get to see a story plot where a group of rogues, aka Go Home Club members wanted to go back read more
Jun 26, 2018
LTU_EiMs (All reviews)
So, I am new on Anime so take this in mind. Caligula is a story about people who what to run away from there problems, but in progress understood that you can't run away. They stuck in the world which was created by μ ( AI who thinks can make humans happy). But of course AI imagen happiness differently then we. Story I don't like how its structured we heard all storys why they entered to this world almost in the end. Art is good I even don't know how you can fail art in this computer age. Sound meh but done its job. Character read more
Jun 25, 2018
zvenx (All reviews)
Well this show was certainly a ride am just gonna say right off that bat that if you are watching this for just the action you aren't gonna enjoy it, and it's that that holds back the show not to say it's bad the story is incredibly enjoyable however I feel at points the action in the scenes are disrupting the story but all the charters are in general understandable and likable however as the series draws to a close it gets a bit jumbled which is what also made me decide to give it an 8/10, it has a great story but at times read more
Jun 25, 2018
ZephyrArcturus (All reviews)
This review will contain mild spoilers and it's a little long, so beware.

As you all may have already guessed, Caligula is an anime based off the JRPG with a similar title: The Caligula Effect. I don't recommend looking up the reviews for the game, since most of them call it a "Persona ripoff" when, after playing the game myself and watching the anime, they really aren't comparable at all. The only similarities are the "power of friendship" theme, the main cast are high schoolers, and the gain powers from getting in touch with their inner emotions, all of which are nothing new in a JRPG read more
Jun 25, 2018
Religate (All reviews)
This anime is a mess, but a good mess at that. The anime is based on the video game The Caligula Effect, which was directed by a member of the Japaneses rock group, The Oral Cigarettes, Takuya Yamanaka.

The story very confusing from start to finish, there are a lot of loopholes, and a few plot twist which didn't really fell like they were needed. 8/10

The art of Caligula was very good in my opinion, both the colors and the art style looks great. Although the last few episodes fell kind of rushed, and therefore doesn't look so great until the last bit of episode read more
Jun 24, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
No this isn't about the crazy Roman Emperor, but a video game adaptation...and you KNOW that those three words are easily a curse in an anime adaptation.

Caligula gets it's name from the "Caligula Effect", referencing the desire to see and do prohibited things, so can guess what most of the characters will go through.

Caligula involves around Mobius, a perfect digital world run by μ, a virtual idol program that gained self awareness and has given the wishes to the humans in the digital world to quell their suffering. However a group of rebels break free and see what Mobius truly is and tries to get read more