Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

3D Kanojo: Real Girl


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: 3D Girlfriend
Japanese: 3D彼女 リアルガール

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2018 to Jun 20, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:59 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Source: Manga
Genres: Romance, School, Shoujo
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.751 (scored by 37,823 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #46532
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #951
Members: 101,648
Favorites: 289

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 20, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Are you a socially awkward otaku who doesn’t understand why mean 3D ladies don’t want your very eligible d? Sick and tired of the Real Girls and 2D waifus are all you need in your laifu? Then oh boy, do I have the perfect anime for you because I sure as hell don’t want it.

3D Kanojo: Real Girl is a painful experience. A lazily shat out romcom that uses cliches and plot contrivances as a crutch to hobble its way through twelve agonizing episodes. Proudly it presents insultingly stereotypical characters that are anything but three dimensional.

All you need to do is gaze read more
Jun 20, 2018
Shingster (All reviews)
Please note this review is intended for those that have finished watching 3D Kanojo Real Girl and while care has been taken to minimise story related spoilers there may still be spoilers within character analysis. You have been warned.

An unlikely romance between an Otaku and a popular but broken girl that awakens their heart to the feelings that they have been hiding from


Based off a popular manga of the same name 3D Kanojo real girl better known as Real girl is a romantic comedy anime that gives us the opportunity to look at what will happen if a high school boy shunned by read more
Apr 24, 2018
Mike98 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Typically, a show scored under 7 is garbage. Therefore, it is surprising that this is getting such a poor score.

Don't get me wrong, it's not groundbreaking anime but I saw many shows over 7.5 that are definitely worse than this one. I feel like the MAL score is slowly becoming irrelevant.

I typically can't handle shoujo anime (the pace is so slow, I feel like dying) but there's just enough mystery in the story to keep you interested. The character interactions are indeed awkward and cringey but considering the setting it makes perfect sense.

From the setup, it looks like it's supposed to be a drama more read more
Jun 20, 2018
VileKurata (All reviews)
There were two-romcom anime that were airing from the spring 18 season. 3D Kanojo Real Girl and Wotaku love is hard for an okatu. However compare to Takagi San which was more a tease feast instead of a romcom both 3D Kanojo Real Girl Kanojo and Wotaku love is hard for an okatu were actually romcom that uses the character, drama, comedy and narrative to the fullest. However only one of the two romcom anime from the spring 18 season was good and that was Wotaku love is hard for an okatu. What Wotaku love is hard for an okatu has over 3D Kanojo Real read more
Apr 25, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Watching 3D Kanojo feels like standing in the middle of no man's land where two parties are trying to bomb the living shit out of each others with cliches and cringe. By two parties, I mean our two main characters. It's so over the top, it is actually quite entertaining to watch.

The writer keeps throwing romance cliches in such a tempo it can only be called an impressive work. Our main girl is full of opposites. At the same time, she is a whore and an innocent treasure. A strong badass and a crying little girl. It's never certain if what she says is honest read more
Jun 20, 2018
HereticHunter (All reviews)
**Disclaimer: This is a Rant**

After the second episode of this anime I was expecting this anime to be better than that atrocious first episode. What I got in exchange was a shitty romcom with misleading topics and very infuriating characters... Can't believe that this is getting a second season when a lot of good shows out there are left without a sequel. So lets get into details. (There might be spoilers)

The "story" centers around Tsutsui who is an Otaku who only has one friend (A very shitty friend I must say). well, at least that's what this anime tries to portray on him. He has read more
Apr 25, 2018
kchan13 (All reviews)
Preliminary
It is often said by many that anime is gradually getting worse. As much as I want to deny this, I can't help but reluctantly agree. Over the past few seasons, there had been such a lack of originality and overuse of cliches that besides the occasional 'a place farther than the universe', I'm wondering if anime is even trying anymore. Lets take a look at '3D girlfriend', which, as much as I wanted to like it, I can't help but getting annoyed by how cliche it is.

Plot (4/10): The story to this show is extremely mediocre and predictable. A boy who is an otaku read more
May 9, 2018
justahiddenotaku (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime popped up on kissanime before I had a chance to even look at it's score from MAL. From what I've seen so far I've been surprised that such a cliched and typical plot could produce such a quality anime.

The qualities of this anime does not lie in an amazing plot, or even perfect and picturesque artwork. Its strength lies in the characters and the style in which the plot is presented. While the plot may be cliched, you're made to feel like you've never seen an anime like it before. Other reviewers have claimed that it is full of cringe cliches, however, the read more
Aug 20, 2018
petrichorbones (All reviews)
I am only writing this because it bothers me when someone's hard work is misunderstood or misrepresented.
I want readers of my review to understand that while the overall story/plot of the anime is mostly unremarkable and hardly creative, the characters themselves and how they drove their own actions is what made this worth a watch.
Real Girl is no masterpiece, but for those of us who enjoy a few romcoms out there, some slice of life shows, this one is definitely in my opinion, not the worst out there at the very least. In fact, all it took for me was to wait out read more
Jun 30, 2018
9tate98 (All reviews)
I wouldn't normally write a review but with all the hate that this show is getting I felt I had to write something... Im not going to go into telling you what this anime is about since you can literally flick back to the main page and read the bio so Im just going to jump right into how I feel about this anime... (FYI score is fully based on entertainment)

I have never really been in a significant relationship myself... Partly because the idea doesn't appeal to me, I feel as though there is nothing someone of the opposite sex can offer me while in read more
Jul 2, 2018
Mikasabestowaifu (All reviews)
3D Kanojo: A series with potential that sinned from shallow



After watching the 12 episodes of 3D Kanojo I had that bittersweet flavor of an anime that touched interesting topics, but did not develop them correctly.

In my first impressions I commented how I liked that this series fought against the cliches and showed a fresh approach to a story that we have seen more than once in the anime; However, its execution did not end up being as solid as it would have liked, and in the end it did not know how to develop the themes it played.

Of course, in defense of the anime I read more
May 10, 2018
Quantentheorie (All reviews)
Preliminary
Unfortunately this is a bad one. It's not actually telling a consistent story, it's just a series of teen love problems each fitted into the frame of an episode. The show at random picks clichés to ignore and embrace never to actually address them. They create tension out of thin air and simply drop it after a set amount of time having that conflict. For that purposes they don't shy away from abusing serious and extreme topics for minor conflict.

Character consistency is barely existent as both MCs will just randomly express the sentiment and emotions needed at this point of time in the episode. read more
May 3, 2018
MaximusExtremus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Appalling!

Some spoilers ahead. Doesn't matter anyway, cause you won't need to watch this show. Oh, but there's also a major Your Lie in April spoiler. Now let's get down to it,

It's absolutely appalling.

Flat characters. Stupid development. Trying to make MC looks like some saintly dude when he's just a m*****f*cking pussy of a human being.

The anime is a clusterfuck of cliches and cringe. They copied almost the annoying cliches of annoying anime, they also copied from good anime, but they did it no justice. I decided to drop after episode 4, but since I was bored I decided to watch eps 5, and KAZAMM! read more
Apr 25, 2018
Mywifesson (All reviews)
Preliminary
Believe me when the description of anime starts with "____ is an otaku" I typically run away, but on a whim I decided to give this a shot and look at this for what it is.

The story is not very compelling, it is a cliche Messiah complex story where some beautiful girl saves a loser from his life, and he learns to function as a normal individual. What this anime does with this; however, is why it is above par.

The pacing is great, rather than waiting 12-24 episodes for a love connection dopamine hit the anime zigs and zags with peaks and lows, read more
Jun 23, 2018
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
What happens when we get a THOT like Iroha Igarashi with an Otaku loser like Hikaru Tsutsui? well we can expect that a THOT like Iroha would have belittle a loser like Tsutsui, but in this anime/manga that didn't happen, since the THOT Iroha isn't such a bad girl after al, in fact she quite the opposite of what THOT should be and Tsutui was is loser who was soooo lucky that he still has some trust issues with her where he at 1st tries to distance himself from that THOT, but ends up being with her. Now enough of the spoilers, what we read more
Jun 23, 2018
tachibana_mei (All reviews)
In a word this was "Disappointing".
When I first saw the manga was going to get an anime, I was elated and as a fan of the original I was anticipating it. I already knew how good the plot was so even when after the first episode it started to get bad, I decided to not judge it until the end. As the series proceeded forward it got blander and more disappointing. But I will write this review without being biased on the manga so you can expect an opinion solely on the anime.


STORY:
A socially awkward stereotypical otaku ends up going out with the read more
Jun 23, 2018
ZakkuRa (All reviews)
I made review back then. At first, it was good, but, as the series progress, it's getting predictable and not enjoyable to watch. I was even thinking of dropping this one but consider nothing doing so as I already reach the end...

The plot or the story is good if you ask me but the characters and some scenes ruin it. The story goes around on an anime otaku and a girl which is beautiful but have a bad reputation when it comes to having a relationship. Also, as I finish watching the last episode, it felt unfinished. The 12th episode is showing us that there's read more
May 13, 2018
Haru_Rose (All reviews)
Preliminary
From the same studio that helped work on the fail attempt called "Jiggly Jiggly Heaven" -- ah, sorry, "Marchen Madchen", from the same studio that brings to us hentai, we have this emotion-focused show that at episode 6 already fails with the animation completely, not like it went already downhill from episode 2 on. I could draw better.

So, we have our classic lonely otaku protagonist that goes and just so casually acts like a normie and finds a girl. So original. This show is as smart as 'him and her' that do not think before doing anything then the "she" gets in fights read more
Jan 17, 2019
Unconfidence (All reviews)
No spoilers.

When I first picked this up I was expecting to drop it after one episode. The premise of basically having an incel somehow get into a relationship with a really pretty girl seemed kind of shallow. But I was entirely wrong and this is easily one of my favorite high school romance series. The plot is simple but engaging, and the artwork is admittedly mediocre. But the thing that makes this anime shine out above other romance anime is the characters. Every single character is relatable, human, deep, and nuanced. The authors did an incredible job of keeping read more
Dec 31, 2018
TheSaltyGendo (All reviews)
Preliminary
I picked up 3D Kanojo: Real Girl for two reasons. First because it was gonna receive a continuation on the winter season of 2019 and second because it looked like a nice little romance anime about the development of the relationship between a socially-awkward otaku boy and a supposed bad girl. But what I got was one of the most poorly executed shows I have seen so far.

Narrative: 2/10 (Horrible)
The story itself isn't bad but the way in which it is told is very unenjoyable with a lot of unnecessary and, honestly, pretty stupid elements that fail to convey almost anything substantial.

Characters: 2/10 (Horrible)
Almost every read more