Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Free!: Dive to the Future


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Free! 3rd Season
Japanese: Free!-Dive to the Future-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 12, 2018 to Sep 27, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.711 (scored by 20,182 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1557
Members: 62,498
Favorites: 311

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 7, 2018
Veronin (All reviews)
If Free's second season was an improvement for the series, its third season is its all-time low.

Free, in its best moments, may not have been anything more than mildly enjoyable (if teetering the line between 'fanservice' and outright pandering), but in this case it has fallen below even being tolerable. Nonstop, incessant melodrama, focused not on the main characters but split between the dozens of irrelevant side characters around them who nobody watching the show actually cares half a dingdong about. Any humor or relaxing little moments are gone, with an endless barrage of melodrama from opening credits to ending credits. Yes, if that sounds read more
Sep 26, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
The second season was a great comfy experience. Eternal Summer was what it was called and it was H O T just like the name suggests. However, it was much more than that and left several different factors unanswered, for example, In s02e09, Haru said: "What dream? What future? I have nothing of that sort!" Other questions it rose were: The traumas behind our transfer student (not wanting to swim on the behalf of team, only on individual level), Haru's lack of motivation, and the disappearance / solitude phase of the best boy. Essentially, this 3rd season is exactly as the title promises: Dive towards read more
Sep 26, 2018
Zerity (All reviews)
Free!: Dive to the Future is an amazing sequel to an already amazing series. We get to see Haru and Makoto lives after finishing high school, which we don't see a lot of, as they face new challenges and problems that come with the higher competitive world of swimming.

This season we get introduced to Ikuya, a childhood friend of both Haru and Makoto, and he is shown to be very cold to others at the start for certain reasons which are then told later into the series, Haru, Makoto and everyone else has to help him get over his past trauma and worries so he read more
Sep 26, 2018
sawsomesas (All reviews)
Overall this season definitely felt weaker than the previous seasons. Partly that is due to the vast expansion in the main cast and obviously because of that, not all characters got to have the screentime needed for their characters to develop or to do much with the characters. However overall I feel like what has been accomplished, was done pretty well.

This season's major flaw however is the slow pacing of the first half of the season. The first couple episodes felt so so slow and I also understand that time is needed to introduce new characters and establish what is happening with all of them, read more
Aug 14, 2018
kchan13 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Two things I'd like to say before I start this review. First, I don't believe anime should be judged by their fanbase as they have nothing to do with the show itself. It's not like whoever produced the show asked their fans to ship characters etc. Second, I believe in objective reviews, which is why it pisses me off that so many of the top reviews on this site are just memes but doesn't say if the show is actually good or not. If I wanted meme reviews I would just go to gigguk's channel as he does them far better than people here.

Overall, I read more
Aug 1, 2018
Kcitkat (All reviews)
Preliminary
The highly anticipated third season of Free! is here and better than ever!! With all our old favorites, and new characters, the plot is more dramatic than ever. Now that Haru, Makoto, Rin, and Souske have graduated, we get to see what their future holds and what the future has in store for the swim club without their older members.

Dive to the future is my favorite season so far. With a perfect mix of humor, drama, and swimming it takes everything to a new level. Obviously, if you are new to the series watch the first two seasons, Starting days, and Take your marks first. read more
Sep 26, 2018
AmishaelMA (All reviews)
‘My little swimmer: friendship is magic’ - The anime. I love it as much as anyone, but you have to admit the title fits. More now than ever.

One of the best parts about watching anime is seeing a series you loved get another season. The characters you spent so many hours getting to know, the scenery you spent admiring *cough*, the thrilling parts that made you sit up in bed to get a better look, and the emotional parts that made you cry.

Free! Dive to the future is a great example of that.

I’m not saying it’s perfect, because it’s not. Heavens knows there were far read more
Aug 5, 2018
Besbel (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, so bear in mind that this review has been written with only 4 episodes out, so maybe by the end of the season I've changed my mind. So far, though, I have to say that everything about this first episode makes me think that Free!: Dive to the Future will be amazing, and exactly what the fans of the anime would expect (this is definitely a compliment) and had been hoping for.

We get to see our main characters back in action but this time all grown up and in a different context (which I think is pretty great, as we rarely get to read more
Sep 26, 2018
Sereshay (All reviews)
A third season for Free! is something I have always dreamed about but never thought would actually come true. The first 2 seasons exceeded my expectations… as if half-naked, dripping wet bishies weren’t enough, there was also solid plot and character development. These swimming boys endeared themselves to me and I was beyond excited for their return years after Eternal Summer.

However, as much as I’m reluctant to admit this, I don’t find the new season anywhere near as good as its predecessors. I have many gripes about Dive to the Future, such as:

- Not enough intense swimming races
- Not enough Rin (isn’t he supposed read more
Nov 6, 2018
luxartisan (All reviews)
If you watched S3 with shipping goggles, you were likely disappointed since that's not what S3 was about and that's a good thing. Instead, what fans got was more of the Starting Days characters and new characters to look forward to in the 2020 project. Of course, you didn't know that when you started watching but you have to have faith, ne? Haru and Makoto are very together in Tokyo, contrary to what S1&2 Director Utsumi said would happen, a big plus for Makoharu shippers, of which I am one. Rin got sassy with Sousuke, which was also a good deal of fun read more
Sep 30, 2018
Sasha_AT (All reviews)
1) I love "Free!" as much as you do.
2) This season is sh*t.

July 2013 "Free!" was airing by first time. I did not want to see it because I assumed it was going to be the <bad seasonal fujobait>. Later, my sister push me to see it... and OMG I was SO wrong. "Free!" became one of the most very careful development anime I ever saw. But now, with the pain of my soul I must say "Free! Dive to the Future" is ALL I did not want to see that July of 2013.

To put easy (to me, because my english is basic) I read more
Sep 29, 2018
Yudesei (All reviews)
Story (8/10)

Our protagonist has now started studying at the university. We get to follow him and several other characters with their respective problems. I’d say the main focus is identity - who you are as a person and what you want to be.
We get to see characters like Makoto trying to find his own path in life and Sousuke, who is concerned about a surgery that may or may not be the end of his career as a swimmer. Rei, Nagisa and Gou are studying their final year at Iwatobi. We get to see them with new recruits for the swim team.
These are only some read more
Sep 26, 2018
ChetanS (All reviews)
This is one such Anime i would recommend to anybody to watch. Like any other SPORTS genre Anime, you won't get bored with this series. At least, i didn't get bored with it.
The only Spoiler is SWIMMING in this review.

It is a decent series about a bunch of guys who loves SWIMMING. You will surely like this series, i hope.
I gave it 8, doesn't mean that there's anything wrong with this Anime. I give 9 & 10 rating only to those Anime who are on my favourite list.

Anyway, watch this series and i hope you'll love SWIMMING.
Sep 26, 2018
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
This may be the best season of Free! yet. I'm going to start off by telling you what you should watch before you watch this season of Free! Obviously, the first two seasons are a must, but you also need to watch Starting Days and Take Your Marks to fully appreciate what you're going to get in this third season.

Now, let me tell you something that may make the decision for you regarding whether or not you should watch this season. Free! is not a typical sports anime. It's main focus is not the competition but the relationships and journeys of the characters. In this read more
Aug 27, 2018
JMKhan (All reviews)
Preliminary
You know sports genre anime are quite interesting! Yes, FREE is interesting and that's why I continued to this season ! I have seen 7 episodes so far and from what i see this season has portrayed much more character developments!

Guys swimming in pools. You get to see their body parts ! Must be amazing for Female and Gay watchers, But i can assure you this anime is not a gay anime but full of fan services that might seems gay to you ! Anyway it's a fun series to watch.

STORY (9/10): About it's story? It's a solid story. Pretty solid i must say. read more
Jul 26, 2019
kzryail (All reviews)
As someone who had binged all 3 seasons of Free in the span of less than a week, I was compelled to leave a review, as a note to my future self and maybe for anyone reading this.

There are subtle spoilers if you squint.

For a sports show about swimming, Free isn't all too bad, however, season 3 tried to take flight like the other two seasons before it, and it ended up crashing.



Story (3, Poor)
This aspect ties into character, but the plot was all over the place. From one place to the next and so much drama that really was not needed as it as read more
Oct 12, 2018
KarasuZ (All reviews)
What a huge disappointment.

--
Story/Characters:

If Free managed to get its identity in its first season, and more or less holded that into the second one, the third season Dive to the Future is a huge disappointment, full of cliches and repetitive formula spammed all across the episodes.

For starters, you absolutely have to watch the previous movies to at least care about the characters and some plot points, otherwise you will be left outside of the group, not even knowing what some scenes means, or what happened in some flashbacks. But that's solely because the anime focused on drama...

Oh, the drama. Let's talk about the drama.

If read more
Sep 29, 2018
anilee0510 (All reviews)
What a mess of a season.

Too little happens in the first half of the season, and too much got crammed into the last few episodes. Just when I sort of perked up when it seems like some plot finally started to unfold, the season ends. The main issue I had was with the subplot to repair Ikuya's relationship with Haru and co. that basically went around in circles for no reason other than to waste time. The resolution felt like a cop out and only happened because the plot needed shift focus.

The story further hurts itself by stretching too thin as it attempts read more
Sep 19, 2018
MadLadOfCulture (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, after waiting four years for a season 3 (which I did not see coming) the boys are back for another season of epic pool battle.

Usually, I won't be watching this show any further, as it is a yaoi show, but what lead me to give this show another shot was because it takes place at a University competitive environment; and I can see how Haru and Makoto adapt to this new environment.

STORY (8/10) - As much as I love swimming, Kyoto Animation never stops to amaze me with the build-up of dramas with more of middle-school dilemma surrounding Haru. Despite a read more
Aug 2, 2018
LeaOotori (All reviews)
Preliminary
*spoiler free*

This review will be updated as more episodes come out...

We're back guys! Our dose of the old boys, swimming, and of course, delicious abs. What more can we ask for? I was expecting the novelty of the whole sports element to wear off for me at this point (after all, most of what I can recall from the first two seasons was just really enjoying the beautiful characters and tension between the them) but I found myself pleasantly surprised. Apparently, the makers have not lost their ability to make swimming interesting.

Let's begin by discussing the story-- this is a spoiler free review, read more