Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Strike Witches


Alternative Titles

English: Strike Witches
Japanese: ストライクウィッチーズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2008 to Sep 19, 2008
Premiered: Summer 2008
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:20 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.081 (scored by 51,987 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #34652
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #836
Members: 127,791
Favorites: 965

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 28, 2008
KaminaKai (All reviews)
*A Japanese government endorsed loli-pantsu anime.*

Please don't say it is bad just because you find girls in panties horrifying. I admit it is lousy for the director to claim that girls in panties = fashion in the Strike Witches' world, but that alone is no reason to give a bad rating to an anime (if you do, I am sorry, you don't know how to rate at all). Strike Witches is MUCH deeper than one may expect to find from a fanservice-oriented series.

--Updated on February 12, 2009--

The Japanese Agency for Cultural Affairs has recently openly endorsed Strike Witches as an example of cultural excellence.

The read more
Oct 25, 2008
Skadi (All reviews)
I don't know what it was that intrigued me about this show when I first saw it but I was very interested in seeing it after the first episode. In the end it was a bit disappointing though because early on I thought it had the potential to be something very special.

As others have said, Strike Witches is automatically going to appeal to a certain group of people, and you probably already know who you are. Basically SW is the battle of Britain with Loli witches riding mechanical brooms fighting mysterious aliens and carrying huge guns... without pants. Yes I don't understand read more
Sep 18, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
Though Strike Witches isn't nearly as generic as the first few eps would lead you to believe, it's still nothing to get all in a tizzy about. Moe cliches and fetishism abound, you already know the audience with one glance, and if you're in that audience it's not half-bad.

Strike Witches is about young girls fighting faceless enemies in an alternate WWII era. Inexplicably, they sprout animal ears and tails when they use magic and pants don't seem to exist anymore. As you can probably guess, this isn't a show heavy in plot. What makes it relatively enjoyable is that the plot (and use that word read more
Dec 1, 2012
AnnoKano (All reviews)
“Never in the animated medium has a cast of so many, worn clothes so few.”
-Winston Churchill

Strike Witches is perhaps the most elaborate method to showcase girls in their underwear that has ever been contrived; while other series make use of upward camera angles or ‘hillarious’ accidental groping to provide the viewer with their ration of sexual titillation, Gonzo decided that it was time to stop beating about the bush and start being candid. And what could be more candid than a five second close up of an adolescent girl’s camel toe?

Admittedly it’s not exactly the most cultured form of entertainment around, and read more
Dec 10, 2012
HopeFails (All reviews)
Strike Witches is the story of some flying panties, a bunch of girls and a few pairs of breasts. If that’s all it takes to make you happy, then great, because Strike Witches offers very little else.

This is a fanservice anime, so if you're expecting anything deeper than a puddle in terms of plot or people, you might as well give up now. However, that's not an excuse for a truly awful anime.

The premise is about as dumb as it sounds. We have eleven girls with magic powers and airplane propellers strapped to their legs, who are apparently the military’s only hope of defeating a read more
Dec 28, 2009
JuicyBuddha (All reviews)
Strike Witches is a fresh, entertaining anime that has been unfairly criticized by a handful of spoilsports who claim moral superiority over the rest of the internets, all the while ignoring the excellence and vibrancy of this fine series.

It's a story that has been done before, of course: mysterious aliens invade earth. They attack our cities and villages one by one, and conventional military weaponry is useless against them. Luckily, an elite band of young people have been found and given experimental weaponry that can be used against the xenos. This kind of story usually creates all kinds of angst and bawwwing, but Strike Witches read more
Sep 5, 2008
Kimura_Sensei (All reviews)
Strike Witches is by far the best anime of the year. It will not only save Gonzo, but also influence lots of animes in the near future.

Story (9/10): The story is not pretentious, but it's quite interesting. Simple and enjoyable it delivers what it pretends.

Art (10/10): Even those that dislike the series have to agree that the art in the series is great. This is one of the best parts of the series and critics may say, the reason why the series is so popular.

Sound (10/10): Great sound effects and cute songs. The Ending songs are really good.

Character (10/10): Strike Witches is a character based read more
Apr 10, 2009
BudokaZ (All reviews)
One of the worst Animes I have ever seen.

The premise is that young girls wearing flying boots modelled off of WWII era aircraft are the only things on this alternate version of Earth that can consistently defeat the attacks of an unknown invading force hell bent on razing the planet for unknown reasons.

Lets get the 'good stuff' out the way. The art isn't all that bad, generic character designs and such, but the boots modelled off of WWII aircraft do look good. Also the designs of the Neuroi enemies based on prototype aircraft were also pretty good.

The sound wasn't terrible. The OP and ED weren't read more
Nov 6, 2008
DarkDaySaturday (All reviews)
Good:
Young girls with guns and no pants...Hell Yes!
Good characters-All of them stood out among each other and they all mesh very well while still clashing with each other.
Air combat-Well it's no Area 88 or anything like that but it's still pretty cool to watch if I do say so myself.
Forced homosexuality-Though there is no lesbian action here, you can pretty much tell are either gay (Perrine especially) or are still exploring their sexuality (Yoshika), and that adds some nice humor.
Archetype aces/characters somewhat nailed-They definitely nailed the whole Erich Hartmann/Gerhard Barkhorn thing pretty well. Anyone who's read "The Blond Knight of Germany-The read more
Oct 7, 2008
erwinmm89 (All reviews)
Watching this series was painful, long, boring and tedious; I can hardly believe I endured until the end. This anime is just plainly too innocent, naive, happy, friendly, whatever you want to call it. The "problems" that are presented in the anime are all very dumb and not interesting, and the way the characters act is too childish. If you like fast-paced animes, with good action in it, you can stop reading this immediately and look elsewhere.

The story starts out with some mysterious "Neuroi" race that has appeared on Earth and has suddenly started attacking humans all around the world. That's about as much as read more
Jan 23, 2009
Thaiberium (All reviews)
I've heard much about Strike Witches before I first watched it. Thankfully, I was pleasantly surprised by its actual depth than what common hearsay has informed me of. Allow me to elaborate.

Picking up slowly, with the introduction of the setting and characters, it eases us in to a somewhat formulaic format. We begin with our heroine, Yoshika Miyafuji and her initial anti-war sentiment and her joining the titular organisation. It then segues in to the exploration of the respective members of the 501st Joint Fighter Wing with a Neuroi usually present to showcase the ability of that particular member. There read more
Nov 4, 2014
garbadorable (All reviews)
The Strike Witches series follows Yoshika Miyafuji, teenage girl who goes to school (in a skirtless uniform) and helps her mother and grandmother around their medical clinic. Her father, Dr. Miyafuji, the inventor of the Striker Unit (what you're here for, if not the butts) has been MIA for some time. Yoshika, appalled by war, ends up enlisting in the navy in order to find out about the fate of her father. Hilarity ensues as she enters the boob-and-butt-festival that is the 501st Joint Fighter Wing, a group of elite ace pilots, even though she has no combat experience whatsoever. Doesn't it sound idiotic? Guess read more
Apr 12, 2011
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
The mere premise of Strike Witches is enough to make some cringe. It reeks of otaku pandering nonsense, and is sure to alienate just about anyone who does not take pleasure in voyeurism. Really, all this appears to be is another reason to show half-naked girls using big weapons, and in truth, that is exactly what it is. The funny thing is this show is not bad. In fact, once you get over the unspeakably absurd premise and all the shameless fan-service (or already like this sort of thing), this show is actually quite enjoyable.

Yoshika Miyafuji is a kind-spirited, perky 14-year old. She also happens read more
Sep 4, 2008
TohkaShido (All reviews)
Preliminary
I found the anime Strike Witches really interesting and catch the anime viewers attention fast.while i was watching it there are two elements present in this anime one of the element of the mahou shoujo genre and the other is the gun user female characters which is also present in other anime series.
the strike witches characters are unique because each of them has animal ears on their heads and some of them have unqiue abilities like Miyafuji who has healing abilities and major sakamoto whose eye can see far targets.their Mahou shoujo type character is different from the others because instead of having use of read more
Oct 6, 2008
ukonkivi (All reviews)
You've probably heard a little about Strike Witches already, I'm willing to gander.

You've probably already heard something about it being a fanservice anime if anything. And have already formulated your opinion about it from that.

The likelyhood of that opinion being that it's just a fanservice anime and is therefore not good. And while there are quite a few fanservice anime that would make you to think that way, being since there are a lot of poorly done fanservice anime, that is not the case here. Oh, but it is not the case at all. Strike Witches is in fact a fanservice anime. But it is read more
Jan 26, 2012
Yukariki (All reviews)
When I left my home and mom two years ago, I (along with Pikachu) venture into the deep realms of the anime territory. Alienated towards the otaku culture, I felt depressed looking for a war anime that can suit my tastes; Grave of the Fireflies was not enough for me. I entered into a forest one night. Night came and none appeared before me. I ate all my Kitkats by then. Hungry, I killed Pikachu and devoured its tender meat over a campfire. I continued journeying, but my vision blurred; everything around me turns misty and foggy. I hear the flapping of the wings and read more
Nov 13, 2014
r3quiem (All reviews)
Three years ago, I watched this anime and slapped it a rotten score. After all, an anime featuring pantless, gun-bopping teenage girls couldn’t possibly ascribe anything of depth to the varied community of anime goers and entertainment seekers today, right?

Right.

Then during my second time through, I realized something unbelievable about this series. This anime isn’t about half-naked chicks shooting down big, black cocks with guns. Right?

Right…ish.

So yes…by my THIRD time through I realized: Strike Witches is an idiot savant of an anime. It is an attempted excuse for Japan’s WWII guilt, and combined with incidental, radical feminism investigates a unique reality of victory for read more
Mar 18, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Strike Witches was originally created by illustrator, Shimada Fumikane as a mixed-media project. It has since been adapted into light novels, manga, anime and video games. The first anime series was brought to us by Gonzo. You may remember them from their work on Gantz, Brave Story, Bakuretsu Tenshi, Basilisk & Zettai Boei Leviathan, just to name some of them I've reviewed. So, how does this one compare to the others? Let's delve into it and see.

Story:

Strike Witches is set in an alternate world where an enigmatic enemy called the Neuroi has appeared and started attacking people. Humanity's best line of defense is a group read more
May 4, 2011
Smoku (All reviews)
I had very high hopes when I finally made a move and started watching Strike Witches.
And those hopes were brutally murdered.

Story 2/10
The plot of this anime is ridiculously full of holes.
For example in episode one Miyafuji and Lynne fall in the ocean with their striker units on and swom without any trouble, while in episode two they actually undertake training for situations with falling into the ocean with their units on AND THEY SUCK AT IT suddenly.

There are many mysterious events going on about without much explaining at all. Like the thing that every single young girl has only underwear on her lower body parts! read more
Apr 2, 2017
Rapyuta (All reviews)
I've got to level with you, fellas. This series was just unbearable.

It takes place on an alternate earth in World War II-era and focuses on a government-assembled air force squad formally named "Strike Witches." It may seem interesting on the surface, but what we expected was far from what we got.

I am completely aware that this anime was heavy on the fan-service. But when the fan-service eclipses any traces of intended plot, the series will drag on for what feels like eternity. Every time I thought that things were about to get interesting, the creators instead slapped me with more insignificant loli ecchi. You can read more