Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tsurune: Kazemai Koukou Kyuudoubu


Alternative Titles

Japanese: ツルネ ―風舞高校弓道部―

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 22, 2018 to Jan 21, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:10 (JST)
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Genres: Sports, Drama, School
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 17,946 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14012
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1774
Members: 50,097
Favorites: 290

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 11, 2018
HibikiHiro (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tsurune is a work that has clearly impressed me with its history, animation but also atmosphere.
It is a work, to relax, a work that will make you dream, a work with many poems, dream but especially an exceptional graphic paw.
This mixed with a palette of characters that is complete, which will help evolve this character who is afraid to resume his passion.
Kyoto animation, have still manage in all the staging, reminding me at times some of their works as Hyouka.
The Ost, are also working, entering perfectly with the story. The choregraphy during archery sessions, are beautiful, the episode 2 was one of the episodes with read more
Jan 20, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Close your eyes and picture a moment in your life that really affected you. It could be anything like made you into the person you are today. As humans, we are bound to change in some ways or another throughout our lives. Especially in our teenage years, we can be easily influenced by others and events around us. I can safely say that without a shadow of a doubt, we have all experienced change in our lives some way or another. It’s called growing up.

Like most sports shows, competitors experiment with themselves to be the best they can be. Tsurune lives as an example read more
Jan 20, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
'Tsurune' is the sound caused by (bow)string upon its release.

Tsurune: Kazemai Koukou Kyuudoubu follows bunch of bow-wielding school boys during their daily life / archery club activities because this is a show by KyoAni and they only make one show every 10 years that isn't related to school clubs.

This time we meet several students whose names are pretty much irrelevant, but they are basically downgraded version of KyoAni's other "cute boys do sports activities within club" series called 'Free' only this time around they don't have much character to show. One of them is smart and wears classes because he is smart. Another can sometimes read more
Nov 15, 2018
Velleity (All reviews)
Preliminary
Another season, another sports anime.
"Why should you watch this anime?" You probably asked yourself that question a lot. Hopefully, I get to answer that by creating the most unbiased review I can muster.

[I'm basing this off of the first 4 episodes]

(I'm a bit inexperienced in this oops)
(skip to the end if you want an overall outlook)

Story (7/10)
You have a guy that was a god at a sport, but something happened (in this case, target panic) and he drops the sport. Pretty basic. He starts school where a club of said sport (archery) has just opened up. He refuses to join it at first read more
Nov 11, 2018
OG_Guts (All reviews)
Preliminary
The first thing to spring to mind when I want to describe Tsurune is it’s Free!: archery edition.

Story (3/10):
The story follows Minato, a highschool student who suffers from target panic due a incident in middle school. After abandoning the sport, he returns to play archery in his high school's archery club as they aim to win the prefectural tournament. The basic premise is that of your typical sports anime, however i would say this show is lacking in several aspects which is why I’ve gotten bored with it.

Watching Minato overcome his trauma of target panic is the most compelling aspect of the show, read more
Jan 20, 2019
BackstageMage (All reviews)
Tsurune is weird.

It’s a Kyoani anime that wasn’t a cultural phenomenon, probably because it aired two weeks late and had to share the year with both Violet Evergarden and Free!, but let me say I enjoyed Tsurune the most out of all the Kyoani anime I’ve watched.

Why? Because Tsurune felt real.

There is drama, and there is a lot of it, it feels hectic, nothing gets solved right away and more problems pile up, and some people may have a problem with this but I like this part of Tsurune. Life is hectic, Tsurune just follows the example.

Along with drama Tsurune also has a lot read more
Jan 20, 2019
papsoshea (All reviews)
Tsurune is the sound of a bowstring after the release of an arrow. To an archer, there is no joy like producing a beautiful tsurune, and that alluring reverberation can capture one’s heart and soul. Even if they use the same bow and arrow, an archer can never produce the exact same sound. It really is once in a lifetime. Each shot is a meeting and farewell you will never again experience. To Minato Narumiya, each tsurune always represented a meeting. First year high school boys as fresh and youthful as the new leaves of spring are about to embark on an eternal path of read more
Nov 17, 2018
sepid_96 (All reviews)
Preliminary
here we are with another 2018's fall anime series in sport genre :D
tsurune is one of those anime series which you can enjoy as a teenager the most :D
i loved watching it so far...

story 7/10 :
the story is simple...nothing complicated or impressive...its about japanese archery which some kids are interested in it and fight for their purposes as an archer :D all sport anime series are like that tbh :D

art 10/10 :
the art is perfect...we have the same studio as free anime so this was expected :D
i always love the perfect art of this studio *~* i wish that some other anime series with the read more
Dec 19, 2018
kuddlesworth (All reviews)
Preliminary
Just a very bland show in all honesty. It has no real characters, they are all bland and there is virtually no character development to be had. That wouldn't be a problem is there was an interesting overarching story but there isn't.

There are shows that can do the slice of life properly where the main plot isn't very interesting or engaging but it's the dialogue and characters that make up for that. Fune Wo Amu is such a show. That show is about a group of people who come together to make a dictionary but it manages to engage the viewer the entire time read more
Jan 20, 2019
MScientist0 (All reviews)
In terms of sports anime, I would say that Tsurune is probably the most realistic of the bunch. That is to say, there isn't any super powers, or randomly shouting out the name of their secret techniques. It's all about the real struggles that people who practice archery, or any sport, have to experience and overcome. Overall, I would say that it did a great job at depicting this, but it certainly isn't going to provide you with much hype. If you're not into atmospheric slice of life type anime, then this entry, most likely isn't for you.

As previously the mentioned, the narrative that is read more
Jan 20, 2019
PyraXadon (All reviews)
I'm not really one for sports shows personally.  There's just something about them that I feel makes them so formulaic and by extension less interesting to watch.  Sure, Kyoto Animation as the tacked on production company for this work is one for interest, but given their track record with Free! and the following that show has accrued, I wasn't really sure fully what to expect with Tsurune.

Story:

A budding archery prodigy in middle school, a bad tournament crushed by expectations and nerves catalyzed by his mother's passing has inflicted Minato Narumiya with 'Target Panic', making him unable to properly shoot a bow well enough to hit read more
Jan 13, 2019
Evangelion163 (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's kyoto animation so the art is gonna be on point as always, but the show itself and the plot is just bad. I ended up watching this whole thing because I was lead on by the great animation and possibility of it becoming good, only for it to just be utterly disappointing. This show is NOT about archery so if your looking for a good sports anime this is not it chief, it's about possibly gay boys and every-single person on the show's drama. This show felt like a crappy remake of the first season of Free!, and I loved Free!, I loved the read more
Jan 20, 2019
Itsukil (All reviews)
If you've ever done archery, or any sport/hobby that you heavily enjoyed in your life. You would know what it feels like to lose control of it. Feel like you aren't doing good at it anymore, failing every time you go back to this thing you love and wanting to give up. Tsurune gives you a glimpse of what that feels like, and the joy of overcoming it and being good at what you love again.

Story: 10
The story is beautiful. what else can I say. It throws you in to all of the emotions the main character is feeling and just tugs at your read more
Jan 22, 2019
teikou (All reviews)
Tsurune is a collection of paradoxes: delicate yet purposeful, subtle yet grounded. It deviates from the traditional sports anime formula and carves its own identity amidst moments of endless doubt.

It starts off with somewhat of a generic but tried-and-true premise, what with the protagonist being estranged from the object of his passion due to recent bouts of trauma. However, while stories of this nature are charming in their own right, what makes Tsurune so memorable lies in its approach to the topics at hand. Despite being a sports anime, it is a slice of life and a character drama first and foremost. The sport itself read more
Jan 21, 2019
YukkieTS (All reviews)
Description :
The story follows Minato Narumiya. Minato played Japanese archery in middle school, but after a certain incident, he ran away from the sport. In high school, Minato meets new friends, and together as part of their school's archery club, they aim to win the prefectural tournament.

Review :
I was quite interested when I saw this anime's trailer and can't wait anymore for the episode release. Finally, it was released. And then I watched the episode 1, apparently, it was shared that this Minato was afraid to join kyudo again in his high school because of some problem. And then I was thinking, "Ahhh, I read more
Jan 20, 2019
ReikaUchiha (All reviews)
There are many reasons to watch Tsurune. ^(=^.^=)^
First of all you can experience a different kind of friendship, deriving from teamwork and companionship. When a group of people fight for something they all love, they create bonds that compress other negative vibes between them. 🥇
Second of all, it's a peaceful anime with beautiful sceneries, and if you are into japanese traditional stuff this one suits you! 🇯🇵
The art is wonderful, and the animation studio put a lot of effort in every episode until the end without rushing any of them.
read more
Jan 14, 2019
apep23 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tsurune, how well it could be in real life? This show brought to you by kyoto animation and it is as good as always! The main thing here isn't about your ordinary sport type of anime, this is about how they overcome and went to every obstacle that are occur on their way to their goal line.

The fact that this is kyoto animation's work, I got to feel the amazing graphic throughout the entire episodes, not to mention they have a good op and very chilling ending.

The story is not as pleased as that in my opinion (storyboard was too simple imo and is read more
May 30, 2019
xckc (All reviews)
Spoiler free review.

The feeling I get from Tsurune is both similar and completely foreign to what I have felt before. The characters, though clichéd and stereotypical, manage to integrate well with the story line and the overall feel of the story. While it may seem like a typical bishounen cast, the female members of the club are included in a way that felt natural, without detracting (much!) from the focus on the boys. I really looked forward to the girls' screen time. I believe that I have watched my fair share of sports anime including Cheer Danshi!!, Free! and Haikyuu!! (notice the exclamation marks?) and read more
Feb 28, 2019
spacecraft555 (All reviews)
TL;DR Review

Personally, I enjoyed this. I mean, it's pretty good if you ask me. The plot is pretty good. It follows the main character, Minato Narumiya, who finds his passion for archery again, while being supported by his friends a teammates. This is pretty heartwarming and nice; however, like all other anime, it's not perfect. Some of the characters you'll definitely not like and the background of Minato is pretty vague for the first part. On the other hand, the art is beautiful. I love the way they animated the archery scenes and special effects that go with it. The special effects aren't outrageous and read more
Feb 9, 2019
dandantas (All reviews)
What mostly fascinates me about this anime isn't its art, characters, sound or story. What fascinates me the most is the rich Japanese culture present in this Anime. As a non Japanese person, I tend not to hear much about traditional Japanese culture, so I never grow any interest in that. Although it's just another sport cliche, it carries much more importance in its cultural exchange than in everything else(art, story, sound, Character). I feel great that I've heard about Kyudo through this anime, it gave me a good experience along with an above average story. Traditional Japanese art and sports fascinates me a lot. read more