Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Banana Fish


Alternative Titles

Japanese: BANANA FISH

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2018 to Dec 21, 2018
Premiered: Summer 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.321 (scored by 51,577 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #644
Members: 163,360
Favorites: 4,688

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 10, 2018
LizaSpade (All reviews)
Preliminary
After watching the first six episodes of Banana Fish, it has proven its self to be one of my favorite animes this year.

Story:
The plot is arguably the best part about this anime. The fast-paced actions scenes coupled with the well thought out actions of the characters (albeit gruesome) create an absolutely thrilling experience.

Characters:
The contrasting natures of the two main characters are enthralling. Ash being the stubborn and intelligent gang leader with a dark history, and Eiji a timider character just starting to regain his lost courage. In addition to this, I would like to point out the effort that has gone into read more
Aug 9, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
At the age of 8, after his notorious debut role in the critically acclaimed cult show, Boku no Pico, Ash "Pico" Callenreese ran away from his home in Cape Cod to escape social pressures and was taken into the custody of Papa Dino (or simply, Papa), the leader of the Corsican Mafia, to become its future leader. Turns out Ash does not wish this to happen, but Papa like really wants, so naturally we now have a series about 2 gay mafiosos running after each others because neither of them wants to change their opinion. One could even go as far as declare they aren't read more
Dec 20, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
If there’s one thing that’s enticing about the Noitamina network, it’s their way of broadcasting shows to a variety of audiences. Banana Fish seems like one of those shows that isn’t aimed at a wider audience but it definitely has its own appeal. Taking place in a crime-noir setting, the series deals with teenage gangs in a corrupted city. It’s a time period of recreation and Banana Fish sets a firm example of an old school crime drama resurrected to modern life.

Now I have to admit, I’m not too familiar with Akimi Yoshida’s work or her style of writing. The only other series I’ve read read more
Aug 11, 2018
Yorkshire_Megan (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Updated after episode 9] Since starting to watch this show I've quickly learned why Banana Fish's manga is one of the most well recieved and impactful manga of all time in Japan; Banana Fish's animated adaptation is rapidly shaping up to become one of my all time favourite anime.

-Story-

Essentially the plot is that Ash Lynx, a 17 year old gang leader and abuse survivor, is caught up in the fallout over a thing or entity named "Banana Fish", linked to his brother Griffin and the war in Iraq. Ash's boss and abuser Dino wants the drug back. Meanwhile 19 year old Eiji from read more
Dec 20, 2018
AndoCommando (All reviews)
*THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS*

“He very definitely told your father there's a chance – a very great chance, he said – that Seymour may completely lose control of himself.” – J.D. Salinger.

A soldier’s life is one of hardships. Seen as the pride of a nation, they are tasked with defending the honour of their motherland with both flesh and blood. A life that requires chivalry, discipline and steadfastness. Their existence serves as a beacon light to the tame and cowardly; a source of inspiration for the youth to grow strong. But underneath all the glory and medallions reveal a darker tale more telling of their lives. read more
Dec 20, 2018
Lunallae (All reviews)
Since its publication in a shoujo magazine in the 1980s, Banana Fish has received several labels such as boys’ love (BL), shounen-ai, and yaoi due to popular misconceptions. Not only are these terms incorrectly applied to the work, but they also do not cut at the meat of what Banana Fish is. And even its original shoujo demographic tag deeply misrepresents the content of this anime.

Drugs. Rape. Pedophilia. Gangs. PTSD. Violence. Corruption.

These are the terms at the core of Banana Fish. Though at the same time, the crime and gangster backdrop is not all the story is about and confining it within those read more
Dec 20, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Banana’s look sort of phallic.

Fish are high in omega-3 fatty acids.

Invert the two and what do you have……..a fat dick. **badum-CHING**

Summer is the time of year for promiscuous young-adults to experiment with their sexual desires, in a hassle free relationship that requires no commitments from either party. But why limit one’s exposure to the opposite sex, when there are plenty of “gay-fish” — I mean, banana fish — for the taking. Why else would a Shoujo anime feature two young queens in New York? For a “crime” investigation? Now that’s rich.

Speaking of wealth, the main character in the read more
Aug 17, 2018
Haruhi_chiyo (All reviews)
Preliminary
The anime is depressing, and quite stale, to be honest, The first episode I enjoyed initially, but the rest were... very strange. Fucking EVERY CHARACTER is gay.

Honestly, I am a fujoshi, but if every character is gay, and just wants to rape Ash, I'm obviously going to have problems. I don't get people who rate a show very high, because at a certain point they cried or something but this wasn't very enjoyable. Almost all characters are gay, and except Ash none of them are explored, at all. They are interesting but meh at the same time. I've read the manga, it faces almost the read more
Aug 11, 2018
queermight (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me start off by saying this: if you've written this off as ~ohh sexy yaoi for the fujoshis~ before even watching an episode, you're not only gross but missing out on a great anime. Does Banana Fish has scenes with two men sleeping together? Yes, but they are all without consent (except one, I think, maybe two depending on your idea of "consent") and the fact some male anime fans are writing this off as some sexy story for us fangirls is really demeaning to the struggles of Ash, the main character. Banana Fish does heavily hint at a romantic relationship between the two read more
Dec 20, 2018
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
The summer 18 anime season was very problematic as it was the season that was dominated by anime that contained 12/13 episodes and many of the anime unfortunately fell flat in the face either because there were either bad throwaway shows or they ended up getting crippled by the 12th/13th episode count where some of the show they had enough content of to make a 24/26 episode but set studio poor decisions making these show only ended up having the episode count that they ultimately got. This doesn't say that the summer 18 anime was a complete failure as it did give a couple of read more
Sep 20, 2018
OG_Guts (All reviews)
Preliminary
“What is Banana Fish? I heard it’s some Yaoi anime so I’m not going to watch it”

These are the type of comments I’ve seen floating about in regards to Banana Fish. I wanted to address this first, because it’s a huge misconception about what the show is about. In fact the closest thing to “Yaoi elements” is the relationship between the two main leads.

Story (10/10):
In a time when most shows nowadays are generic isekai light novel adaptations, or eechi harems with self-insert dense MC, filled with cliches and troupes- Banana Fish manages to be a compelling, gritty, complex story about gang warfare, drugs and read more
Aug 11, 2018
Yuuki_Kiyopon (All reviews)
Preliminary
After more than 30 years, it's finally an anime. Oh mah gawd. As a person who actually finished the manga 12 years ago, I'm here to tell you, don't fuckin drop this.

Comparing the anime and the manga based on ep 1. oh kami. The art is just beautiful. no homo but I didn't think Ash could get any hotter. Action scenes are engaging. It's a fast pace. Like it. The setting's pretty good.

If the anime is going to follow the manga completely, the story is going to be so fucking lit. It's definitely going to be one of the top WILD ass storylines with horrible read more
Aug 21, 2018
shakira-moon (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the first anime that make me create an account and write a review for it, because I want to recommend others that you should watch Banana Fish (BF). It is just incredible, from the animation, camera angle, action scene, plot, story, character design, soundtrack, everything is just awesome.

The story is very realistic. It talks about all bad sides of our world (rape culture, drug, pedophila, corruption) and also the comparison between America and Japan, where people allow to have gun and where people cannot have and also do not need a gun in their life, which is a powerful and meaningful base for read more
Aug 13, 2018
farian (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't usually write reviews, especially for anime but I really wanted to give my two cents on Banana Fish in the hope it might encourage someone to give this show the chance it deserves.

At its core, Banana Fish is an anime covering heavy topics like rape, drugs, gang violence and paedophilia which it shows with refreshing realism. There's no casually ignoring clearly pedophilic actions or 'uwu non-consensual yaoi', and nothing is used just for the shock value of seeing it on screen. Banana Fish treats these topics with the weight they deserve and doesn't sensationalise or normalise them like they often are in read more
Dec 21, 2018
mpdissonance (All reviews)
It is well known, even mentioned in the first two episodes, that Banana Fish borrows its odd name from a classic short story written by JD Salinger called “A Perfect Day for Banana Fish.” What is somewhat less noted, however, is how perfectly this reference captures the theme and style of the manga and anime series. Salinger’s story tells of the suicide of Seymour Glass, a World War II vet. The most famous passage of the story features a young man telling a young girl of the “very tragic life” of the Bananafish species who enter a “banana hole” as “very-ordinary looking fish” and gorge read more
Oct 22, 2018
mdrago5 (All reviews)
Preliminary
**Spoilers but whatever**
The first 4-5 episodes are pretty damn good and if the show kept my interest after those, I would rate this show higher than I did. Unfortunately, it falls into those boring anime tropes that really ruin the interesting story they had going on.

I didn't have a problem with how most of the characters in the show are either gay or extremely progressive in their views on homosexuality, but they take it so far so that every single character Ash meets has to say how '"pretty" or attractive he is, even these tough mobsters and gang leaders and the straight married adults in read more
Aug 12, 2018
sepid_96 (All reviews)
Preliminary
*edited 1 DEC *
so those who watched this anime so far...i told you its so good didn't it?
i really love everything about banana fish...with all these airing anime series BANANA FISH is the only perfect one for me...i wait the whole week to watch one episode really...a total 23 minutes :|
in my opinion this anime is one of the top anime series of 2018..those who like the story should watch it
this anime created by yuri on ice studio(MAPP) and free! director so you can see the quality here :))
so here we go:

STORY 10/10 :the story is really enjoyable...its about a guy called ASH...he is read more
Dec 25, 2018
Slotch (All reviews)
So I rewatched this anime a second time. All 24 episodes. Not out of desperate need or desperate desire to rewatch, but to accurately rate this material for myself and for you, since I forgot things and the momentum was broken, since I watched while it was airing and saw episodes inconsistently.

It’s honestly very difficult to classify this show. It’s about gangs, but it’s not. It’s about drugs, but it’s not. It’s about survival, but it’s not. It’s about love, but it’s not. Willing to sacrifice everything, but at the same time not budging to compromise who you are and why you fight no matter read more
Dec 20, 2018
kuraakil (All reviews)
I've never written a review before, my apologies.

This anime had me hooked at the first episode. From the brilliant animation and impeccably detailed illustrated environments, to the fast paced- but not rushed- plot line. The episodes hardly left you on a frustrating cliffhanger, but i was always left wanting more. I'd always find myself asking questions every Thursday in the episode's wake, like "How big of an issue does Banana Fish actually get? Will Ash really be able to protect Eiji and manage to watch his back simultaneously?" I couldn't keep my mind off it.

HOWEVER, as you've probably figured out, this anime fits into the read more
Dec 20, 2018
Xnovazero (All reviews)
There is a man in the city. Nobody knows the man's name. He lives for killing and buddies, himself. But it's not only that.
Revenge, atonement, best friend. These elements are big key for him. Especially best friend...another boy is yearning for the man.
They are connected to each other strongly. If the man break up the boy, what do you think he will be in the future?
Wrath and sadness. It depends on every emotion, He will lose sight of the essentials. There is a possibility.
Meeting seems difficult but easy. Parting come up right away. He struggle untill death do them part. Even if no matter read more