Megalo Box


Alternative Titles

Japanese: メガロボクス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2018 to Jun 29, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:28 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.201 (scored by 54,136 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3202
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #595
Members: 143,892
Favorites: 835

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 26, 2018
Groenboys (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am a sucker for Moe/Slice of Life/Romance/Comedy type of anime, but once in awhile I like to tip my toes outside of that safe area. It introduced me to some great anime like Made In Abyss and not so great anime (*cough cough* Citrus *cough cough*). I tipped my toes outside of my safe area again with Megalo Box and Megalo Box is a great one… actually not just great, an amazing one! Well, put on your boxing gloves and start your engines, this is my review of Megalo Box.

Story: 8/10
It's the typical underdog story, but executed well. read more
Jun 28, 2018
DarthInvader (All reviews)
*Minimum Spoiler Hidden Gem Review*
TL;DR: If a young Hajime no Ippo made an illegitimate baby with the sexy cougar, Cowboy Bebop, in an 80's themed love hotel with Samurai Champloo music blasting in the background, then Megalo Box would be the gorgeous mixed bastard child that will emerge from the Redline ambulance nine months later. Such a hidden gem but packs so much hype. "JOEEEEE!"
[Story: 6/10 , Characters: 7/10, Art: 9/10, Sound: 9/10, Enjoyment: 8/10]

"They don't make tombstones for stray dogs" - JD

Yes Yes Yes. This is that shounen sports anime this season badly needed to remind what real anime is all about. You don't read more
Jun 28, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Art, in its purest form, is a catharsis of imperceptible cognitive entities onto a “canvas” for the purposes of provoking reactions from others. Sometimes that reaction involves laughter, other times it is sorrow, and on rare occasions, profound enlightenment, in either case, it is the responsibility of the artist(s) to determine the desired reaction, and how best to achieve it through their intended medium. As one would expect, it permits a copious amount of creativity to take place, yielding unexpected outcomes that one would rarely see in the real world. Antithetical to this branch of human intrigue, is the world of binary read more
Apr 26, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Megalo Box is an anime adaptation of the Nintendo Switch game 'Arms'. Not really, but it could as well be since both are about tool-assisted nu-boxing.


First thing I have to mention is that I don't like this series very much unlike the 7 billion other people who are watching it. My favorite anime genre has been Sports since 2012, but this series is much closer to the Game genre. It mainly reminds me of 'Robotics:Notes', you know the 'Steins:Gate' alternative robots battle anime no one likes, and represents various things that I do not appreciate.

I have several problems with this series. These read more
Apr 26, 2018
RapidShadow (All reviews)
Preliminary
Megalo box might be a contender of anime of the year, the level of quality it has is simply amazing I was honestly not expecting an Ashita no Joe reboot to be this good let alone have such a unique art style. If there is any anime that can be considered a must watch for this season it's definitely this one.

Story:
Yes it is predictable and there many other series with the same type of story but no one can argue that it is a very well executed and well written story that has some creative elements to it like introducing scifi to the sports genre read more
Apr 26, 2018
vern4813 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I thought I'd throw in my two bits of info. Megalo Box is set in kind of this steampunk futuristic type setting where boxing apparently is still big...of all things. We've got our run of the mill down-and-out character who just wants to have a good fight. You might be thinking "Boxing? Eh, not really my thing." To be honest, boxing isn't really my thing either. BUT, the character writing in this story is very well done. The animation is well done. Voice acting, at least right now, is believable. You might stray away from it because of how the art looks but don't let read more
Jun 28, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
There’s an infamous quote in the wrestling community that was said by the legendary Ric Flair. “To be the man, you gotta beat the man!” While Megalo Box is not wrestling, there’s definitely an iconic meaning that can be applied here. As I was watching Megalo Box, it reminded me the excitement of fighting. A few years ago when Hajime no Ippo returned on television, it became a glorious showstopper that lived up to all expectations. For Megalo Box, this was like a feeling of deja vu.

The premise of the series involves Junk Dog, an underground Megalo Boxer. He participates in a popular sport in read more
Jun 28, 2018
Aslt (All reviews)
I have never been interested in the sport of boxing. I didn't have anything against it, but, back then, the chance of me watching an actual match or something related to the sport itself would be as big as the understanding of the Internet of a 90-year-old grandpa. However, everything changed after I had watched Hajime no Ippo, as not only I truly enjoyed it to the fullest, but it also sparked an odd interest in the previously avoided sport. Naturally, when I noticed that in the Spring of 2018, there's going to be an anime centred around the said sport called Megalo Box, I read more
Jul 3, 2018
nickycolas (All reviews)
--------- THIS REVIEW HAS SPOILER----------


Writing critical texts, especially when addressing final episodes, it’s difficult not to start at the end. The elephant in the room is so massive that it really doesn’t leave oxygen for anything else. And that’s pretty much the situation with Megalo Box, because despite this being a cracking episode, the ending is surely what most viewers are going to be talking about. There’s nothing wrong with that – it’s as natural as can be. But it makes it rather pointless to lead with anything else.

Megalo Box was in kind of a funny situation, because while it’s an read more
Jun 28, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
In spite of all the hype that Megalo Box created from it’s first few episodes, it became one of the biggest disappoints of the season. At first, it presents a familiar inspirational sports story with a vague setting to get you interested in the well-directed boxing matches. But by the end, the writing is still incredibly shallow. Megalo Box is just a carbon copy of the generic underdog boxing story, but slightly worse than the classics it desperately tries to imitate.

Aside from the addition of Gear, exoskeletons to enhance the boxers fighting, Megalo Box tells the very standard tale of a misfortunate boxer Junk Dog. read more
Jun 28, 2018
KurataLordStage (All reviews)
If there was one anime that I would love to get a remake it would be Ashita no Joe. I really series especially the manga for its great boxing matches, amazing rivalry, and wonderful and realistic character development. The series also had great darker portrayal of boxing as sport where not all matches will not end pretty as boxers can potentially get injured to a point where they get they lives destroyed. Thanks to these elements that the show offers as well being a great realistic coming of age + underdog story Ashita no Joe is currently my favourite sports anime/manga series period even read more
May 5, 2018
Botan-Chan45 (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Spoilers]
So what I'm about to say is controversial and make people angry, but Megalo Box is a boring mediocre anime and is such.

Arc 1: Story;5
It's simple and not really to revolutionary. It's about our MC trying to prove he's a good boxer and wants to participate in Megalo tournament to step in someones ring. And to add insult to injury the execution isn't really great. The decisions in anime are admittedly retarded and how can anyone call this a future great is beyond me. Compared to HnI or AnJ it really pales a lot in what it's supposed to do. Really not much read more
Jun 28, 2018
DEUSVULTs (All reviews)
As somebody who never watches boxing matches in real life, as I find boxing to not be that enjoyable. I was skeptic about starting this show, now that the show is done I think that the time I spend on it was well spend. Though I did expect more from it, especially with people hyping it up as a show in the vain of classics like Cowboy Bebop. The show does boast an unique style rarely seen these days. Plus, it delivered one of the most badass main characters of the spring 2018 season.

Megalo Box is set in a dystopian world filled with deserts, slums, read more
Jul 2, 2018
EXStephen (All reviews)
...I gave it a few days to think about. I cannot give Megalo Box any score higher than a 4. I really wanted to enjoy Megalo Box. While I initially did, the excitement I had for the series steadily died out with each passing week. The characters got less interesting, the fights got less intense, and it just became so predictable and lackluster.
Let’s start with the characters. We have Joe, the main character and focus. For some reason, he’s basically made of adamantium so he can take hundreds of blows, get his ass knocked to the ground, but will always magically get right read more
Apr 30, 2018
KenDeep (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is an outstanding anime. It feels nostalgic without feeling old, it feels gritty without feeling rusty, it feels grounded without feeling basic. Everything it sets out to do it does perfectly - and at that point it never forgets what it wants to be.

Story is a 9/10 so far because it gave itself enough time to give us setpieces, and made them easy to understand. We have clear motivations for all characters and we dont just have "good guy, bad guy". We have a clear goal for the whole series and the struggle is very apparent as well. It is told without hesitation, which read more
Jun 29, 2018
84DaysWithout (All reviews)
Much to my disappointment, and perhaps to the disappointment of other combat sport enthusiast out there, Megalo Box has very little to do with the art of fighting itself. There is no emphasis on technique. There is no weight training. There is no satisfying payout following the arduous process of a fighter desperately trying (and often, failing) to improve their skill. There is the bizzare inclusion of gear technology that grants fighters additional strength at cost of speed - a useless consequence with speed being paramount in combat. So how can an anime that revolves around fighting, but offers none of the impertinent detail of read more
Apr 26, 2018
UnjustifiedYeti (All reviews)
Preliminary
TLDR:
Megalo Box is an incredible watch which sets the stage for you to want to kill for the next episode. It is the epitome of an original action-packed thriller boxing anime and will not disappoint in any major way. If you have the time of your life to lose, Megalo box should be the thief that takes your damned free time.

Scores~ Story [8] Art [7] Sound [9] Character [9] Enjoyment [10] Overall [8.6]

Story [8]:
Megalo introduces a new approach to the boxing genre as it incorporates an entirely new mechanic into the physical sport. This mechanic allows the series to pan out quite interestingly as read more
Jul 5, 2018
Warriors_of_God (All reviews)
Warning this review contain spoilers for Megalo Box

Tribute is a way to celebrate old works, by taking ideas of the thing is was inspire by, try to modernize its theme, and setting. That what Megalo Box is it’s a tribute to manga that was made in 1968 known as Ashita no Joe. For those who have never heard of it, Ashita no Joe was a shounen sports manga that ran in Shounen Magazine Weekly. It spanned for 20 volumes and had 171 chapters, it got an anime adaption in 1970 that ran for 79 episodes, it later got a second season during 1980 and it read more
Jun 28, 2018
WalleyeSauger (All reviews)
Spike Spiegel retires from bounty hunting and decides to become an underground boxer! Reel Steel meets Hajime No Ippo!

Megalo isn't mega-awesome in any facet of the game, but it does provide enough entertainment for me to consider it a good show. Our protagonist is similar to any deadbeat, wannabe protagonist in the history of anime except for the fact that he has cool scars and rides a motorcycle to get his mind off of spicy tentacle porn.

"Joe" is tired of being a boxer who has real potential, yet continues to throw it all away by partaking in fixed fights within the underground read more
May 25, 2018
ElijahDuelLinks (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a bilingual review about my experience with Megalobox, I haven't seen Ashita no Joe which is what this series is giving tribute to, but that's not the real point of my review, this is probably the best candidate to anime of the year that I ever seen so far and you are gonna see why.

La reseña está en español, ve un poco más abajo para leerla.

English:
Megalobox is one of those animes that are not seen very often in the modern anime, we can not always see a protagonist with an underdog style who has to beat people in street fights to survive through read more