Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kokkoku


Alternative Titles

English: Kokkoku
Synonyms: Kokukoku, Moment by Moment
Japanese: 刻刻

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2018 to Mar 26, 2018
Premiered: Winter 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:30 (JST)
Producers: Twin Engine
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Geno Studio
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.141 (scored by 41,941 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32052
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #945
Members: 113,425
Favorites: 208

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 25, 2018
DannyTheDonkey (All reviews)
MOD EDIT: *The review contains spoilers*

There’s a reason why average amount of anime audiences tend to choose, common, less-risky and visually appealing type of show for their seasonal line-ups rather than the irregular one, because sometimes you’ll get something like Kokkoku: Weird, Slow, and simply put a fucking waste of time. The anime really doesn’t deserve more attention it needed to be.

That doesn’t to say this is kind of stuff that is hard to get into. In fact the anime has pretty straightforward idea: it got superpower, it got alternate world and it got basic tales of good and evil where the good guy trying read more
Mar 25, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Kokkoku is an ambitious failure. It fails to understand the limits of its budget and writing, taking on far more than it could possibly handle. Its story is idiotic and illogical, the art is ugly as sin, the characters are frustrating as hell, and its glacial pacing makes it one of the most boring 'thrillers' I have ever seen.

It juggles many intruiging ideas like stopping time, a dysfunctional family, psychic powers, and many more, but Kokkoku wastes them on mediocre execution.

The dysfunctional Yukawa family comprises the main characters; an unusual choice for the cast that piqued my interest. It would be an understatement to read more
Mar 25, 2018
dadnaya (All reviews)
Let the time... STOP.

You are now stuck in a world where everything is frozen, except you. What now?

That's basically what Kokkoku is about, Juri and her group is stuck in the "Statis" along with the bad guys of course.

Review will contain minor spoilers, I guess.

Kokkoku started out as an interesting anime, interesting premise. Why are they stuck in the Statis? What is that world? And what is that huge creature shown in the OP (or the ending of the first episode?)

Many questions, some answered, some not, but meanwhile- The bad guys are taking place. Well, they want to research this statis, so they're bad. read more
Mar 25, 2018
HereticHunter (All reviews)
Back in time, when I was wandering around at the anime list of what were about to air in Winter Season, there were an specific anime I got attracted to: Kokkoku, the PV, the art and the synopsis looked great and quite different from what we normaly watch. But is it being different what makes an anime good? Not in this case. This review might be heavy on spoilers.

From my life time, I always wanted to stop time and do whatever I want, be it kissing girls, trying to finish my homework, trying to have more time at certain stuff, things like that. And when read more
Mar 22, 2018
sageofagora (All reviews)
Preliminary
A SERIOUSLY UNDERRATED AND DEEPLY MISUNDERSTOOD ANIME.

I'm going to have to sucker punch you and give a simultaneously review of Stein's Gate and Kokkoku. Beware of the reviewer who said he was disappointed by Kokkoku, after watching Stein Gate. Stein Gate's characters are all 1-dimensional caricatures, unlike Kokkoku's characters, almost all of whom, act like real human beings and hold conflicting emotions and desires which make them feel like 3-dimensional people.

The family we see kidnapped by a religious cult in Kokkoku feels like a real-life Japanese family. If you prefer funny, unpredictable, and absurd characters rather than realistic human beings, then Kokkoku read more
Mar 27, 2018
jmsjrdn (All reviews)
Why should you watch Kokkoku?

Story is Outstanding (10). Kokkoku is one of those stories that you didn't know until it was adapted to anime form and even if it was it is usually got overshadowed by main stream or fan service anime. You can put this anime side by side with the likes of Kiseiju (Parasyte) and Elfen Lied mainly because the story. The premise of another world or dimension existing alongside our reality is something really interesting especially for me to dive into. The moment you watch the first episode, you will immediately get sucked into the stasis until the last episode. Believe me read more
Apr 3, 2018
LandingZone (All reviews)
This is my first time writing a review, so I hope this can be helpful for at least one person.

To be completely fair, I am very aware that I probably have a dissident opinion regarding this anime. However, I think the other reviews paint this anime in particular in a bad light. I agree that the art is a bit clunky at times, the pacing is weird, to say the least, and the end is sort of tacked on. But all of that aside, I think that this is a great little anime to watch if you need something to tide you over between seasons read more
Mar 25, 2018
PixEFit (All reviews)
Kokkoku has ended today and I'm sad to see it go. It was a wonderful concept with a wonderful execution. This anime is about a 20 something year old girl of a poor family named Juri. One day, her nephew and brother get kidnapped and ransomed an amount of money they cannot pay. Fortunately, the family holds an ancient relic in the form of a stone that lets them enter a world called, "Stasis". Stasis is a place where time has stopped in the exact same moment the Stasis spell was activated, only allowing people who has activated the spell to move around in this read more
Mar 6, 2018
Violapatra (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review ever, and its because i absolutely enjoyed this anime. it's currently airing but i am very sure it won't be disappointing.

Story 7/10
The story feels new and fresh, i'm saying this because any one who's into animes knows the usual alternate universe or another world has been used up alot, but kokkoku finds a way to make it feel new, although Juri has failed a lot of interviews, her brother is a NEET, her sister is a single parent and her dad was laid off, this dysfunctional family is struggling on the outside and they are at the bottom of the read more
Apr 6, 2018
YarrickOE (All reviews)
I had never heard of Kokkoku when I watched the first episode, but I was hooked afterwards. Now, here at the end, I definitely enjoyed myself, but I can see it probably isn't for everybody.

Art 3/5
Well drawn, the action scenes do a good job of communicating the speed and impact of every action, and the cast are all distinctly designed without having to resort to goofy hats or anything. In fact, kudos to the animators for keeping the details of the time stop in mind when lots of small objects are flying or falling. However, it makes extensive use of CGI for several elements - read more
Mar 25, 2018
LaLeLuLiLo (All reviews)
Kokkoku is an anime that kind of leans heavily on the high concept side of storytelling. While the translation for the title is “Moment by Moment”, I believe that it’s better dubbed as “Moment” as everything takes place technically in one single moment. The reason why is because the concept of the show is “ what if we had an action/thriller story, but almost everything occurred when time froze”. Of course the show has its twist and turns, the inciting point, the characters, the development, and every other minutiae that i’ll hopefully get to later. Still it's high concept is one of its read more
Apr 1, 2018
henkuku (All reviews)
Here we go again, another one of those which you either love or hate. No in-between.

We've seen plenty of instances in the past in which anime series have utilized time-related concepts as their main plot device, and more often than not it may be confusing and over-complicate matters. Kokkoku, for me, is one of the better series to have handled the concept well.

The story basically sees all our characters enter the strange and mysterious world of "Stasis", which is a version of the real world stopped at a single moment in time. As usual, conflicts between two factions occur and everything starts happening. read more
Mar 27, 2018
BlaxadowFire (All reviews)
I liked this anime a lot,
It was my favorite anime of the winter 2018 ongoing anime.

The art style was pretty nice and fit very good with this kind of story.
The characters where portrayed in a good matter.

At the start of the anime, you are kinda curious about what is going to happen.
Then, it is starting to get interesting, and you want to see more.
Eventually you'll be hooked to this anime, since it has this certain vibe.
Then you realize this anime is almost to its end, and you are starting to feel a little sad.

The story never got boring in my opinion, and was always very read more
Mar 25, 2018
SoraSenpai (All reviews)
The story was actually really good until the brought the backstory of the Church into it. I was all about This dysfunctional family trying to get their kidnapped brother and grandson back from some bad guys, and in turn fight some people in this frozen timeline. Then things got weird, people turned into trees, people were being rescued from being trees, and a woman who we knew was very important in the very beginning doesn't show up the entire series until...spoiler alert...the last episode. This series took a nose dive after episode 6 and spiraled out of control once episode 10 aired.

I really enjoyed the read more
Mar 25, 2018
Its-Maki-kun (All reviews)
With people started to like those skip the opening button just to get into the point of some anime, an anime made us realize that you should not skip the opening just to have that hype so you can stay and watch a mediocre yet predictable anime like this one. While having the source material have ended long before the adaptation as an advantage, Kokkoku, an anime adaptation of a manga created by Seita Horio, did not manage to steal many hearts to invest and drive themselves into the world of stasis.

The major flaw of Kokkoku lies in the very predictable and mediocre plot. Three read more
Feb 7, 2018
Koalas_InTheRain (All reviews)
Preliminary
I would say, since Boku Dake Ga Inai Machi, this another time traveling or I should say heart Stopping anime is quite a pretty good anime for this season. I don't care if others don't like it but I'm sure you're gonna love it. It is a story about a family forced to stay inside a place where the time has stopped ticking (I'm not gonna spoil everything but I am sure you're gonna love this plot.) and they are being chased with a cult.The real plot here is not how are they gonna escape the conflict but how the conflict would shape them as read more
Dec 15, 2018
Demundo (All reviews)
I only wanted to log this series into what I have run through, but seeing top reviews actually make this series out to be bad and not well written, I can't stand by without saying anything.

Let's be frank, this series isn't something you can really like/love at first sight. It's a mess and it happens in like, what the hell? Only 1 moment? Almost a day? Not to mention loop holes in writing are all over the place. Many explanations don't meet up with what they were supposed to answer, it's like they are not even trying to explain anything to be with...... Even read more
Apr 20, 2018
Gundroog (All reviews)
Throw another one to the pile of “euh” anime. Kokkoku I think accurately gets across the feeling of getting a bus to go somewhere nice and then you miss your stop and get out in a place you don’t know and look pretty bad. What started out as an intriguing thriller that meshed the usual kidnapping scenario with supernatural elements turned out to be a weird supernatural drama that went all over the place instead of focusing what was good about it.

I genuinely liked the beginning of it, first half of Kokkoku stood out to be as anime thriller done right. We kick off read more
Apr 2, 2018
MoodMojo (All reviews)
In a sense, this has been such an amazing experience. I'm glad to find some improvement in psychologicals nowadays since they've been overwhelmed with the fanservice-themed anime these days. However, don't worry, even if you're not a fan of psychological anime you'll still enjoy this in most cases.

Story
The family enters Stasis in order to save a NEET and a little kid who were kidnapped on their way home. Stasis is like time travelling, but very detailed. Every thought about how it would be to leap through time? Well, I know I did and this anime incorporates it magnificently. What's even more amusing is the fact read more
Mar 25, 2018
Raggadish (All reviews)
When I was a kid I used to fantasies about being all alone in a still and quiet world. To just walk around in it and explore without disruption, gave kid me the chills and the feelings of excitement and calm at the same time. I don´t know where that fantasy originated from, maybe a book I read, but it stayed with me for a long time. So, naturally, I was very intrigued when reading the synopsis Kokkoku (Moment by Moment). An anime that bases in this frozen world concept, count me in! But did it evoke the same feeling my childhood fantasies? I will read more