Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Natsume Yuujinchou Movie: Utsusemi ni Musubu


Alternative Titles

English: Natsume Yujin-cho the Movie: Ephemeral Bond
Synonyms: Gekijouban Natsume Yuujinchou, Natsume's Book of Friends Movie: Ephemeral Bond
Japanese: 劇場版 夏目友人帳 ~うつせみに結ぶ~

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 29, 2018
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shuka
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 44 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.421 (scored by 4,870 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2744
Members: 25,911
Favorites: 95

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 2, 2019
Phosphorous (All reviews)
This movie is essentially a longer Natsume Yuujinchou episode, with all the same flair albeit improved art and animation. It has a little bit of everything from the series and every character makes an appearance. If you enjoy Natsume Yuujinchou, you'll enjoy the movie too. If by some chance you haven't seen the series yet, watch it before watching this movie.
I enjoyed it very much.
Now, where's my 7th season?

Because MAL is a butt and wants me to write a longer review, I just want to say that Nyanko-sensei is the most precious anime character to every exist. I want my very own Nyanko-sensei to hold read more
Jun 22, 2019
RPWPA (All reviews)
Natsume yuujinchou never fails to amaze me, no matter how old I am or how I personally changed, I can never find myself unable to enjoy it, it is a work of art that continues to this day and I hope I can see more of it.
Whenever there is a movie made for an anime it usually has some random action and mainly flawed plot but thankfully this is not the case, this feels more like a longer episode of natsume rather than a movie, it is soothing, relaxing and it personally made me very happy considering I didn't like part 6 as much read more
Aug 21, 2019
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
Ah, it's nice to be back in the world of Natsume Yuujinchou. Legitimately, within the first few minutes of experiencing this lovely story, I just felt instantly relaxed and calm. I missed that feeling, so I'm glad I finally got to watch this movie.

Every time I review something from Natsume, I feel like all I do is gush about the same things over and over, but it really is such a great anime series that it's hard not to give it praise for the things it does really well. For example, the art style in this anime has always been really interesting to me. read more
Jun 30, 2019
Grizzziff (All reviews)


GASP! DON'T LOOK AT ME MY WHILE BIAS IS SHOWING!!!



I waited 6 long months to watch this movie! The wait was ever so justified by a solid hour and forty four minutes of Natsume and the Book of Friends feels train. I am quite obviously a fan of the series, and while I feel this feature film is very watchable as a stand alone media; I do recommend
watching the series in its read more
Jun 22, 2019
Figendog (All reviews)
At last, after almost 9 months from the original release, this movie was subtitled. This movie was honestly really cute, and really gave off that Natsume vibe! So, here I am with my very first review.

The story: 8
The story was well executed and easy to follow. It was fun to see how all the different aspects that don't seem connected slowly intertwine to make one whole story. Now it wasn't anything mind boggling, but it still left me feeling warm on the inside when the story was over.

Art: 8
The art for this movie is better than what we saw in season 6, even with season read more
Jun 22, 2019
pranaynighukar (All reviews)
The movie is basically an arc equivalent to 3-4 episodes of the series.It starts with Natsume returning a name of a youkai from the yuujinchou which initiates a turn of events leading into the plot of the movie.
The story leaves you with a fuzzy feeling like the original series does.The art though is better than the 6th season and the characters seem more clear than ever.The ED song is one of the most beautiful songs i have heard and would definitely give the AIMER EDs a run for their money.
I truly enjoyed the movie and would definitely recommend to watch the movie to those who read more
Aug 22, 2019
GreatAide (All reviews)
I'm going to save you from reading the usual fuzz that you can read in every other review ever on Natsume Yuujinchou. I mean, it's Natsume. You already know what Natsume Yuujinchou is.

That brings me to the good thing about this movie, it doesn't do anything wrong. It's good because it's Natsume, and if you're thinking about watching this movie, chances are you've already watched the last SIX SEASONS (!!!) that precede it. By this point, you probably like Natsume and know what to expect. What you expect is exactly what you'll find in this movie: the good old usual Natsume Yuujinchou.

Describing it as read more
Jun 24, 2019
Hydra_no_Mago (All reviews)
After a long wait, here it is, the subbed version of the movie we've all been waiting for. (Spoiler-free)

• Story: (6/10)
So many of Natsume Yuujinchou's stories have become rather repetitive over the years, not to say it does not pack a punch still. Anyone who watches it would be more than likely to guess the outcome of the story, yet when the end arrives it still leaves a bittersweet tang in its path, reminding viewers of the fugaciousness of life, be it human or yōkai.
Although it did not bring on the full-on bawling earlier seasons did (refer especially to Natsume's past), the pacing read more