Dorei-ku The Animation
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Doreiku: Boku to Nijuusannin no Dorei, Dorei-ku: Boku to 23-nin no Dorei, 23 Slaves and Me
Japanese: 奴隷区 The Animation

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 13, 2018 to Jun 29, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:00 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: TNK, Zero-G
Source: Manga
Genres: DramaDrama, PsychologicalPsychological
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.021 (scored by 1571115,711 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #77812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2134
Members: 46,149
Favorites: 49

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 29, 2018
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
As I've finished this anime, I can't help but notice that only 7 (not including me), have made a review of this anime 4 of them gave it a low score, one gave an ehhhhhhh kind of score and only 2 gave it a high rating. But ya know I kinda agree with Graylia when she/he said that this anime is "Stereotypical anime that tries too hard to be dark/edgy and then fails on all fronts. Lackluster plot, characters, everything. Relies on semi-nudity and shock factor to make up for poorly written plot. Disappointing." which is obvious since there isn't a lot who made a read more
Aug 10, 2018
iwantcandy2 (All reviews)
I want to start by saying that I thoroughly enjoyed this anime. I enjoyed it for all the wrong reasons, but that doesn't change the fact that I derived pleasure from its existence. This anime is a hot, steamy witch's brew of plot holes, contrivances, and WAY TOO MANY CHARACTERS.

The story is about people engaging in high-stakes games where the loser is psychologically compelled to become the winner's slave. However, the narrative is too disjointed and forced to deliver on any of the tension or intrigue. Instead, it's a sea of constantly changing power dynamics, coincidences, and weird sex stuff.

The only way I would read more
Jun 25, 2018
MrZentauruz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Heads up, I haven’t read the manga and I don’t plan to.

Tl;dr: Could have been an edgy entertaining, smart 200 IQ 4D chess plays with mind games thriller anime, but it failed. It’s shit and I don’t recommend it.

Now, let’s go to the meat.


Art (animation, character design, background):

-Animation: 5/10 (Average)
There isn’t too much to talk about it, the theme doesn’t allow heavy action each episode so you can’t expect fluid animation, but hey, Death Note got amazing animation for key moments, why this didn’t? Sometimes character would look off model so that’s a sign of bad quality.

-Character design: 5/10 (Average)
Just as the last read more
Jun 28, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Dorei-ku The Animation is what happens when Death Note and a softcore ecchi anime tried to get serious only for them to get drunk AND stoned in the process and then didn't give a shit to the offspring they created...

LA had a morbid curiosity in watching Dorei-ku The Animation and LA's curiosity bit LA in the hand if the intro statement is anything to go by. See Dorei-ku The Animation tries to mix in the mind games of Death Note's Light and L with risque and ecchi consequences for the loser however with what Dorei-ku The Animation tries and fails to do in terms of read more
Jun 28, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
This series is like if the world would ever one day reach Judgment Day, and God brings down the does-it-all device to judge humans the way He does best: Bless the heavenly and persecute the devils with an all-Godly item. And bear in mind, it also goes the long route to showing its strength at gore every step of the way.

And that my friends, is Dorei-ku The Animation, based on the manga Dorei-ku: Boku to 23-nin no Dorei (or 23 Slaves and Me), which explicitly tells the stories of 23 different people who became slaves, each with their own idiosyncrasies and knacks at their thinking. read more
Sep 2, 2018
shreeveera (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’m a great fan of Mind Games and Psychological thrills and chills anime bring up on the entertainment front. Death Note and Kaiji are my all time favourites for this reason.
I was really not expecting so much of a thrill ride that each episode of Dorei brings to the table. Don’t take this show’s premise too seriously, just enjoy the various ways people deceive each other through a variety of Mind games and tricks. This show literally kept me guessing till the end as to what the protagonist (really likeable) Eiya was up to.
I watched the dub and really enjoyed it.
If you really like thought read more
Jun 28, 2018
Kyte_56 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think this anime did not get the love it deserved.

The whole idea was very heavy when I first read the plot in MAL, but I thought it was interesting enough to at least give it a shot, and boy am I glad I did.

I found the characters very human, you want an SCM to get slaves for power or money, you want the thrill of the duel, you want revenge or simply want to make something you find as awful to stop.

I have not read the manga, and I am considering it, but I think that as a stand-alone anime this has been interesting read more
Dec 5, 2019
adaawip (All reviews)
TL;DR: I created an account on this website just to talk about how bad this is. Please stay away. My main issue is the lack of consistency shown in EVERY aspect of the show. It is a great premise ruined by terrible execution. Mild spoilers below (I won't spoil the anime for you, but I have to talk about some things in depth).

-Premise: 8/10
I watched this show because of the premise alone. It seemed like the structure for Yugioh season 0, with the cat and mouse aspect of future diary, and the darkness of Kaiji. I was so excited that I watched this despite hearing read more
Apr 25, 2019
lrdalucard (All reviews)
Remember Goblin Slayer backlash? Yap, its the same issue, and was it bad? Exactly, it wasn't! Hence why this poor reception by the media. (A Brief and Spoilless Review is my main intention.)

- The anime starts off in an aggressive tone, as expected of a Seinen(grown up's anime gender) if you are a sensitiv person or plan to watch this with someone else, you better consider it. Due the nature of the plot it self, "Masters and Slaves", those roles are assigned, immediately after you get someone to play a random-game and have the "Win or Lose" roles assigned. The winner gets supremacy over the read more
Jan 3, 2019
BadAshley (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you want a magical retainer that lets you fulfill your S&M fantasies?

Yeah, me neither.

Anyway so this anime is about a magical retainer developed to train dogs, but if people use it, it allows users to enslave others if they win some kind of game of chance in a "duel."

That's pretty much the premise of what winds up being an anime about the worst people you've ever met doing awful things to each other because I guess that's what people into this kind of crap like to do.

It's mostly what would happen if you could take advantage of someone and how much of a jerk read more
Aug 1, 2018
philipageling (All reviews)
Short overview

With beautiful visuals, a catchy soundtrack and interesting concept, Dorei-ku certainly has a pretty interesting and unique foundation. My only real complaint would be regarding its story-telling and plot, which unfortunately has A LOT of PLOT-holes. But if you're ready to look past that, this is definitely worth a watch.

The story

Dorei-ku, as mentioned before, has a pretty cool and unique foundation. The base story is not bad, and its style reminds me of something like "Kakegurui" - where the human psyche is what really makes the story. Unfortunately, the anime contradicts itself by constantly breaking the made up "laws" or "rules", which is a read more
May 12, 2020
nessylunatic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Great series especially if you're into S&M type stuff. Very intriguing plot and I genuinely enjoyed it for the most part. Most of the characters are interesting and well fleshed out. The art style is great too.

However, there is a huge gaping plot hole that I don't get. They know that this guy can insta beat anyone in a duel right? Why not just take our your chip right before a known confrontation and physically beat him to death. Easy solution. It even says slaves can go without the chips for short periods so I just don't get it.
Dec 6, 2019
hollww (All reviews)
The anime could be good, but it make so many mistakes. It has a different proposition, and some interesting twists, but there are several issues that make the experience sucks.

At the beginning of the anime, you get tense not knowing what can happen to the characters, everything is uncertain, but over time you really stop worrying, because becoming a slave, which at first seems to be the most horrible thing possible, it soon becomes common. People enslaved left and right, slaves who change masters, and characters you even forget the name for being totally forgotten after their episode of apparition.

Speaking of characters, what an ugly read more
Oct 26, 2018
xcomprr (All reviews)
A retainer-like device known as the "SCM" is being sold on the internet and rumours have it if you wear it and challenge another person that's also wearing to a duel, you can turn them into your slave when you win. Ohta Yuuga comes across Eia Arakawa one day after dumping her best friend. After discovering how daring and smart she is, he requests she becomes his insurance partner. He knew the risks of the device but wanted the thrill it would give him during duels while he tested his own abilities. However, he also wanted to be prepared for the worst case scenario and read more
Oct 6, 2018
NiQ1 (All reviews)
This is another dystopia story, which revolves around a device which can enslave people to each other. There are numerous characters but not really good and evil or more accurately no good, everyone's evil at some point or another. I think this is the one single message behind this show - too much power can and will corrupt everyone. Coming to think about it - I'd say it's even somewhat realistic because if a thing like that were to actually exist that's probably what people would do with it.
Having said that, the plot itself gets a little boring past the first few episodes. Basically person read more
Sep 4, 2018
chaggo (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is another one of those shows that tries too hard to be edgy and raw and brutal and ends up being cringy and bland and boring.

The plot is pretty average and quite frankly kind of ridiculous even for edgy anime standards. The whole "magical braces that control people minds even when they're removed" is just too nonsensical and convenient and the explanation they give for it is incredibly weak. And hey, i get it, it's anime, it's not supposed to be super realistic and incredibly believable but the thing is they kind of try to make it seem like that, they take the whole read more
Jul 12, 2018
slipping (All reviews)
wow ... this anime was just bad. when i first started it, the concept really appeared to me. i enjoy all genres especially psychological so i jumped onto this anime. i really shouldn't have.

the story : the slave concept is pretty new to me and seemed interesting. it was executed terribly. it always felt like way too many things were happening at once?? the beginning was okay, but by the end i was begging for something exciting to happen, but i continued to be disappointed and just started wishing for this anime to end. it would bounce from one character to the next without read more
Jun 9, 2020
BloodAngelBA (All reviews)
So I will be honest i watched it because the cover looked like a hentai but it wasnt labled as one so i had to see what was up and i was pleasantly surprise. however major trigger warnings on this show; sexual violence, physical violence, and verbal violence are major features as it explores the insane implication of a mind control device.

So the story is a little complicated due to the amount of characters and plot lines that come together by the end and that will be off putting for some viewers but personally i am a fan of more complex shows as it makes read more