Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Rei


Alternative Titles

English: When They Cry: Rei
Synonyms: Higurashi no Naku Koro ni 3rd Season, Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Dai San Ki
Japanese: ひぐらしのなく頃に礼

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 5
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 25, 2009 to Aug 21, 2009
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 30 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.511 (scored by 70,243 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #824
Members: 129,427
Favorites: 416

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 2, 2009
ddrcrono (All reviews)
Since a review is ~not~ supposed to be an plot summary, I'll give a general feel of what to expect and my opinion about it:

This OVA is broken into two basic sections: Silly episodes (the first and last) and plot episodes (the middle episodes).

You will likely not enjoy the silly episodes if you did not enjoy the silly/cute side of Higurashi. If, on the other hand you liked the antics throughout Higurashi, the silly episodes will probably just make your day. (They were the highlight of the OVA for me, though that's just personal taste).

The plot episodes have more of a traditional Higurashi feel to read more
Jun 14, 2011
L-sama (All reviews)
To be honest, I was a little leery about picking up this installment of the Higurashi franchise. The first Higurashi series was a blast, but Kai left a bit of a bitter aftertaste with how it handled its two crucial arcs. Still, I wanted to see where the series could go despite not knowing what to expect and even after all of the questions were already answered. I’m glad I did.

Be advised: The first and last OVA are nothing like the rest of this short series. They serve as comedic buffers to the main storyline in which humor makes virtually no appearances at all. In read more
Sep 21, 2009
SamFury (All reviews)
Sea-bears and Skylines

Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni Rei [Rei] is the third installment of the Higurashi series based on the games created by 07th Expansion. Like the game, Rei covers the events after Furude Rika had finally escaped the meandering halls of fate, breaking the cycle of repetition.

Rei serves as more of a side story, giving small view into life after reiterating summer. The first and last episodes of the set OVA's are for purely comedic purposes. Nothing really happens and the only insight we get into any of the characters is that Rena finds Keichii's 'sea-bear' cute. Yes folks Higurashi went there... they read more
Jun 27, 2009
tentacle_raep (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, do you want an ending to the Higurashi saga that is enjoyable, makes sense, and isn't full of government conspiracy, retconning, and actually has a sense of paranoia and sadness to it?

Well, skip the first episode which is just stupidity meant to ligthen the mood after two seasons of bloodshed and loli murder.

What has been done is a rather fresh and melancholy take on the series that finally wraps up the "mystery" behind Hinamizawa in a series of very well plotted episodes that solely focus on Rika Furude being trapped in an alternate Hinamizawa where none of the events of Showa 58 happened read more
Oct 16, 2009
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
Story: 8

For the most part, the storyline is good. It is well thought out, and even original, and rather enjoyable. However, there is a thing about the first episode of Higurashi no Naku ni Rei. It doesn't quite fit with the rest of the Higurashi no Naku that we know.

How to put it, it seems more like something we might see from "The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya." Or maybe one of the random Omake from the end of Bleach This isn't a bad thing, but if one has come to expect something from a fandom, it might come across as an actual shock to read more
Oct 11, 2009
kurodayuchi (All reviews)
There are crucial times in our lives when we made the wrong decision and we wish we had acted differently, then, not only us, but perhaps the whole universe would be brought to be different as well.

After finally getting to the end of the "perpetual murders", Rika is riding bicycle with her friends till she gets run over by a truck, which makes Hanyuu transport her to another reality in order to avoid the accident that could result in Rika's death. Yet, this time, in this other world, she cannot find Keiichi, Takano and other characters, while Satoko’s brother and Rika’s parents are still living read more
Jun 4, 2009
Sabato (All reviews)
Preliminary
As of right now, there are only 3 episodes out, but stil I felt as if I needed to do a review so here I go!
Story: for those who read the light novel and played the games, you could tell that the animation did a bunch of add-ins and drop outs to the entire story. When I played Saigoroshi, it took me at LEAST 6 hours to complete the entire thing..... haha, but nevertheless, it stuck to the story as much as possible. (Although I hated the fact that they changed Rika's chair scene...) It is pretty choppy though, and for those who just watched read more
Nov 2, 2010
Hurvilo (All reviews)
Pointless.

That is the one word that sums up Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Rei. Even before I started watching this, I questioned whether the excellent Higrashi no Naku Koro ni Kai really needed a sequel. The answer is no, it doesn't.

What saves Rei from the chasm of utter disappointment is the two comedy episodes, as those serve to tell the story of what happened after Kai, when Rika finally had escaped the cycle of endless deaths. Those two episodes - the first and the last - are great in their own way, as they serve as a sort of "reward" to us viewers. Fanservice, read more
Aug 23, 2010
Diassia (All reviews)
I've spent so long trying to find this last part of the Higurashi series and I wasn't at all disappointed.

As others have already discussed, the first and last episodes are simply comic relief. I enjoyed both of them - although while watching the first one and having explained to my friend about the gore and horror behind Higurashi, I was surprised at the daft storyline throughout the first episode. Despite that I loved it and loved how all the different characters who you had seen through the other two series are portrayed including Irie and Takano, etc.

Then, of course, there is the main plotline read more
Nov 15, 2012
WhiteBakemono (All reviews)
Anime: Higurashi no Naku koro ni Rei

Title: Lost all faith in this series.

About the Anime: Several months have passed since the horrific events in Hinamizawa came to an end. Little by little life returns to normal, with Rika and her friends doing their best to put the past them and mend their old wounds. All seems to be going well until one day tragedy strikes again as Rika is unexpectedly involved in a bloody traffic accident that shatters her short-lived peace. As she wakes, she finds herself thrust back into the nightmare summer of 1983, and sets out to once again correct Hinamizawa's twisted killing read more
Jun 7, 2011
Simonian (All reviews)
"Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Rei" takes place right after the events of "Higurashi Kai" so even though this is actually an OVA, it could also be classified as the third series. To put it simply, Rei is hilarious. Think of this as a reward for all the horror you went through watching the first two series.

The first episode is all about comedy, when I watched it I couldn't believe my own eyes, I couldn't believe that I was actually watching Higurashi. To put it bluntly, it looked more like teenage softcore porn. Yes, I know what I just said. But when Rena suddenly read more
Apr 27, 2010
Kairazai (All reviews)
I'm a huge fan of Higurashi, don't get me wrong. However, Higurashi Rei has been a disappointment to me as such a fan.

The story has been completely made for fanservice. With unneeded scenes and plots, this season really stood out of the original "Higurashi genre". With feeble attempts to resemble the original plot of both the first and second season, Higurashi Rei fails to bring the excitement and originality of such. It also holds many questions that are never answered.

The art of this new season is beautifully done and well animated. I did not give a perfect score, since I had seen better, honestly. The read more
Jun 2, 2010
Archon_Wing (All reviews)
Higurashi Rei is the epilogue for the entire story. For those of you that are expecting more craziness, this isn't really the place to look for it as Kai had wrapped up everything properly. However, if you'd like to gain more insight into the world of Higurashi as well as deal with character introspection, check this out. It's best to think of this as a closing act. The first and fifth episode of the series are just slapstick comedy and don't bear any relevance-- they are just for fun.

In general, the story delves into the character's pasts a bit more, and comes up with a read more
May 3, 2019
JustaMAL (All reviews)
Higurashi: Rei takes the happy ending found at the end of Higurashi: Kai and flips it on its head. This story here captures the fact that your actions, no matter the intent, have consequences. Here the protagonist is faced with the duality of a seemingly perfect existence and the existence that they have fought so hard to achieve. There are choices to be made.

As always, beautiful art and sound. Ever improving animation. And a capstone to finish off one of the most well known stories in anime.
If you stuck through the first and second seasons of Higurashi there's no reason you'll have trouble sitting read more
Jul 17, 2010
Gamer2009 (All reviews)
Watching Rei was a great experience for the fans of Higurashi.

The first and last episodes, the funny episodes, were a great break from the stabbing and murder, and gave the series a lighter air, and it felt good to sit and watch from the sidelines instead of playing the game.

But the three middle episodes, the episodes that were really what Higurashi was all about, was another great experience as well.

At first you think, Oh great! Takano is gone, she's been caught, now Rika, Hanyuu and everyone else can live happily ever after! Well, that is hardly the case. On the way home from the read more
Oct 29, 2011
sk3499 (All reviews)
If you are a big higurashi fan like me, you may not like these ova's as much as the first and second season. First of all, skip episodes 1 and 5 right off the bat.... too silly to watch, totally destroys the feel of the show. For the good-ish episodes, watch 2-4 of the ova's. They are a real chapter... though in my opinion a little less well done than the first 2 season's.
Aug 11, 2017
Tyrannicswine117 (All reviews)
Warning possible Spoilers

With a story that ends in the best way possible I was a little surprised when I discovered a third season, luckily it was only 5 episodes so it was pretty much something for us fans who wanted to see some kind of aftermath for the characters oh so we thought.

After breaking the cycle Rika and the others are finally able to enjoy their lives, but suddenly Rika ends up in an accident which somehow transports her back in time to another world where all her friends seem to have never experienced the horrible things in their past which makes Rika think which read more
Jul 11, 2015
Eagleshadow (All reviews)
After first episode of ABANDON ALL LOGIC, I was afraid this won't be Higurashi at all, but just some stupid spinoff parody. Luckily, after first episode, it goes on to be the Higurashi we expect and love. It lays down another mystery that didn't even feel out of place, and even went on to further explain some of the in universe mechanics that were left unexplored. Mystery was in true Higurashi style, and it was pretty great. Definitely recommended to anyone who enjoyed Higurashi. Final resolution was just slightly sketchy. Continued in spoiler section:

SPOILERS AHEAD:

Hanyuu's argument in the end, of doing it read more
Nov 19, 2013
TheManiacalGamer (All reviews)
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Rei mostly centers around the character Rika Furude (Let's be honest when isn't she a part of the show in some way) and the ordeals she faces when she finds herself in a completely different world than what she's used to. The story details how desperate Rika can actually get when faced with an ordeal like the kind she's in during this OVA. I found it enjoyable because it gave a lot of explanation to everything that happens and so much more.
Jul 12, 2010
missmindkill (All reviews)
ok so this is my first ever review

although the story seemed to have ended with higurashi no naku koro ni kai
the second series in the when they cry trilogy
this 5 ep ova to the series still continues to excite warm and intrigue you

the first ep admittedly throws you of your guard although being a very complicated mysterious psychological type series u have to admit it has its sweet warming and very very funny episodes andscenes.
but it is these scenes that create a great part in creating shock and awe when the inevitable happens and this is just how this ova does it

it reels read more