Sword Art Online: Alicization
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Sword Art Online: Alicization
Synonyms: Sword Art Online III, SAO Alicization, Sword Art Online 3, SAO 3
Japanese: ソードアート・オンライン アリシゼーション

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2018 to Mar 31, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, GameGame, AdventureAdventure, RomanceRomance, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.611 (scored by 234943234,943 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #12592
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #192
Members: 489,916
Favorites: 8,777

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 29, 2019
Dark-Swordsman91 (All reviews)
when I watched Alicization while it was airing, after each episodes I asked myself several questions......
is this really SAO?
Is Alicization the Arc where Kawahara Reki finally makes SAO good?
before I watch Alicization I didn't like SAO ( only the movie was great ) , but after I watched Alicization I really can't believe the improve of this series.

I will mention the general points that made me feel the evolution of Sword Art Online Alicization:

((Warning: a major spoilers below))

1- Story:
it is much better than previous seasons, first reason because of the sequence of events and the mystery that we are not used to previously. Second read more
Mar 30, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
In a world where popular light novels gets anime, manga, games, and hell, even live action movies, there’s one title I’m sure no anime fan can ignore. Sword Art Online. Becoming ever more popular and entering a mainstream line of anime adaptations, the franchise has also no doubt sparked decent deal of controversy. But hey, controversy sometimes makes cash right?

It’s not rocket science to realize SAO would eventually get a continuation. It was just a matter of when and after 5 years since the second season, the time is now. Sword Art Online Alicization covers the light novels with an extended amount of material, read more
Mar 30, 2019
SunlitSonata (All reviews)
I tried to like this. I really, really did. I was even sticking out for it upon its announcement because for all of the problems earlier iterations of SAO had, there was always a sense that, if the finer details were checked over and looked at in complete retrospect of what came before, it could be deservedly fun, inspiring or genuinely meaningful. A series deserving of the immeasurable hype phenomenon it generated. Escapism, blurring between actions of reality and fiction was always a thematic that separated the series from the many isekais this decade that followed in its footsteps, and something that held my interest read more
Mar 30, 2019
Chrome_Falcon (All reviews)
The anime community seems to be split in its opinion on SAO. Half of them ignore everything positive about it and only talk about negetive things. The other half just does the opposite. No other anime has been this controversial for more than 5 years after its original release. Now here is a new season that features mostly different cast from the original. So is it worth watching or not? Here is my analysis:-

**THIS WILL INCLUDE MINOR SPOILERS ABOUT THE OVERALL SETTING **

The story this time is centered not on a game, but around a simulation of civilization. The aim of this simulation is to read more
Nov 17, 2018
blacksmithx1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
For those of you who are unaware, SAO is the ISEKAI that brought the genre to immense popularity. While respecting that it is some what of a pioneer, the story tends to drag on unnecessarily and almost constantly views it's audience as unintelligent by walking everyone by the hand through plot points rather than allowing us to infer what is happening through context. It's SAO, so not watching doesn't make sense, but keeping it as a lower priority view for this season is recommended.

While the art is enjoyable and clean, they've left out other potentially visceral aspects. The story and characters are nothing read more
Dec 8, 2018
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overpowered characters.

From invincible action heroes to divinely powered chosen ones,
from arbitrary powerup masters to "willpower over logic" crusaders,
from technobabble technicians to omniscient pseudo-strategists,
from plot-powered self-inserts to absurdly popular harem leads.

Perfect in every conceivable way... except in terms of actually being well-written or compelling. And therein lies the problem with so many of them. Being overpowered is one thing, but they suffer from something far worse: being boring. They simply come across as bland and generic.

And I am not referring to the fact that they crush their opponents with ease. What I am saying is that their personality, motivations and dialogue tend to be read more
Dec 8, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Spoilers]

Covers as much ground as it can, but doesn't go in depth with anything it introduces. Lots of pointless content and irrelevant characters. Dreadful, pseudo-intellectual dialogue. Wine is often being drank when these conversations are had. Various things being shown from multiple different perspectives, or rather; realities. Hardly any plot advancement because showing a million different things is prioritized above all else. Good moments are scarce and typically enjoyable only because they suck so bad, but in most cases, the thing is just idiotic in a highly boring way and that's the end of this story. No, I didn't accidentally post my 'Legend of the read more
Dec 9, 2018
seiryujin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Here we go, i saw a lot of negative comments about this series' start.
Of all seasons, I think Sword Art Alicization is one of the best series of sao, I didn't like the second part of the the first season (Fairy Dance) and all of the second season too much (the movie was cool though).
Story 9/10 the story takes place in VR and take place just after the movie event (I don't want to write about the story cause i think i will spoiler something).
Art 10/10 aniplex never makes mistakes. The art is very beautiful like the other sao.
Sound 9/10 I think 9/10 because the read more
Mar 30, 2019
NoizyFrog (All reviews)
Sword Art Online franchise presents a new entry with its Alicization ark and doubles down on familiar writing disasters. With this season SAO reaches new storytelling lows and also seems to lose its last redeeming quality – action scenes.
SCORE: 2 – Very Bad.

STORY: Boring exposition scenes interrupted by obligatory and meaningless fights.
At the beginning I was slightly confused, because SAO:A does not directly follow on its second season. This confusion lasted only a few episodes and worked as a setup for a new “death simulation” for Kirito, without his harem, but with the same amount of plot armor and OPnes.
Terrible writing read more
Nov 23, 2018
napandastia (All reviews)
Preliminary
So I decided to torture myself by watching another season of SAO, after being so disappointed that i dropped the second season halfway in (the end of the GGO arc), but I'm glad to say that this season exceeded my expectations.
The story has improved significantly and has an added element of mystery that is actually compelling. My only complaints being that there is quite a bit of exposition that could be done in a more interesting way and the second one being a bit with the direction that there may be occasions where the imagery may be slightly unrelated to the dialogue and a lot read more
Dec 11, 2018
Vescrow (All reviews)
Preliminary
As someone who is coming in attached to Sword Art Online because of the Aincrad Arc, who was let down by the Fairy Tale Arc, who felt GGO and the rest of SAO II was satisfactory, Alicization has done nothing but exceed my expectations. From the start, the world that was created around Kirito, Eugeo, and Alice was one that had me mesmerized. This was the world building that I saw glimpses of in the Aincrad arc, that I wish I had seen more of. From the details of the cove, to how the town looked, I was instantly drawn to this world. Although it read more
Dec 15, 2018
Rambo7112 (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a TL;DR, if you absolutely hate SAO, you're still probably going to hate this. Its improved but still has some of it's issues.

If you think parts of SAO were good and others (*cough* ALO) were bad, this season is as good or better than the Aincrad arc.

The story and premise for this season were overall very interesting and helped build an incredibly interesting situation. I have a few issues with the story (mainly the IRL portion), but overall its 8/10, pretty good. As a light novel reader, I understand the anime had to gloss over some things, but overall I think they are read more
Apr 4, 2019
ScottyKilmer (All reviews)
"Watch Alicization, it's SO much better"
Because it is. Because normal people don't cling to their hate of a series and use everything it did wrong in the past as a reason to hate it in the present.
Normal people won't go on about how "SAO's biggest problem is itself," or try their damn hardest to try to prove how Reki fails as a writer because of what he's done in the past. They don't compare every little flaw in Alicization to what SAO was in the past because THIS ISN'T THE PAST. Alicization isn't perfect, it has its flaws, but rating this series a 1, 3, read more
Jan 2, 2019
ApacheSnow69 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This season of Sao so far is on par with the first half of the first season and its fix problem that people have with the previous season such as lacking world-building(I heard from the light reader that the world building is present in some arc).My complaint so far for this season is that the studio who are adapting this arc didn't include some character monologue such as Asuna, and it was her who solve where Kirito is in book 10. I really hate how the studio included anime-original scene during episode 5-6 subplot where they have every girl in kirito harem there having a read more
Dec 16, 2018
RyuGood0 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm really sad that people give it a bad review because of the other seasons. This one is entirely different and better.

Alicization is clearly the best anime of 2018. The plot is good and you always want the next episode to know the rest. The characters are well written and they may be OP, but it doesn't matter. The story isn't filled by fights but when there's one, it still is good.

The music is amazing, nothing else to say about that.

THE DRAWINGS ARE AWESOME !!! I really liked SNK for the drawings and SAO managed to do even better than them.

Overall, I enjoyed this anime read more
Dec 1, 2018
sepid_96 (All reviews)
Preliminary
so i decided to watch s3 after i watched the movie which i liked...s2 was a disaster and i thought that i never would watch any other sao related movies or series BUT i watched the movie and surprisingly liked it...so i thought about it and decided to watch SAO S3 and give this season a try and its not bad at all :D

STORY 7/10 :the story is a good one tbh...after s2's nonsense this story is actually what sao needs :D kirito is experiencing a new kind of game where he can separate his soul and thoughts from the real world....and in the new read more
Dec 8, 2018
Syureria (All reviews)
Preliminary
This Sword Art Online name is no stranger to our ears, starting from video games and even animation. SAO itself now has two franchises, namely SAO produced by A1-pictures / original and "Gun Gale Online" produced by studio 3hz. After six The year since the first release of the anime this series has taken many people's attention not only in Japan but throughout the world and their popularity can be said to be the same as Naruto or One Piece. The fifth project from A1-Pictures studio adapted the advanced chapter "Alicization" in all chapters Online sword art such as progressive and others, this is the read more
Dec 10, 2018
Krishna_Reddy (All reviews)
Preliminary
First first off, this is like the third time I am posting this because "I didn't watch enough episodes before."

Okay, so first off, let me tell you that I have been an SAO fan for a while, as it will always have a social place in my heart, so if you take my review with a grain of salt that's fine.

STORY - 9

So far, the plot looks enticing, and with A-1 Pictures giving SAO Alicization 4 cours instead of 1 or 2, I don't suspect nearly as many plot jumps to happen as there were in SAO season 1. The working principles of the new read more
Mar 30, 2019
wanpapi (All reviews)
I scrolled through some of the reviews on this and I say 10s, plural, this show is not very good. As you can see from, my score I didn't love this season, my emotions ranged from excitement (surprisingly), to boredom, to hate. Mainly boredom though.

The show starts off ambiguously with us straight in the game world, the art and animation look great, the fantasy ambient music is playing in the back. It makes the first initial seconds feel really atmospheric. Your introduced to the first two main character as kids, within the first 3 minutes they come off as really endearing and loveable. read more
Mar 30, 2019
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
LISTEN, MAYBE IT'S AN UNPOPULAR OPINION, BUT THIS SEASON IS THE BEST SEASON OF SAO TO DATE.

I get it, people don't like it, but I'm gonna take a minute to explain why I loved it oh so much. Number one: the sound design and art are absolutely gorgeous. I think the storyline for this season gave a lot of opportunity for beautiful art, and this season didn't disappoint. I think I have a thing with lighting effects because every time I see an anime with stunning lighting, I have to bring it up. See: SAO. The sound, also, especially during the last half of this read more