Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sword Art Online: Alicization


Alternative Titles

English: Sword Art Online: Alicization
Synonyms: Sword Art Online III, SAO Alicization
Japanese: ソードアート・オンライン アリシゼーション

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2018 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.031 (scored by 51,054 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5352
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #334
Members: 244,799
Favorites: 2,645

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Dec 8, 2018
TodAboT (All reviews)
"Watch Alicization, it's SO much better".
Literally equally bad as the other seasons and movie.
Should have noticed that before, since the creator wrote the movie while he was writing this arc, and the movie is also terrible.
But no, I'm a complete fucking idiot, and decided to waste my time.
So now I'm wasting my time writing this. Enjoy the ride if you can.
Some scenes could be enjoyed as a comedy. They are absolutely hilarious, but these don't happen that often.

Reminder: if I don’t go into exaggerated detail, I have no argument and I’m a baiter; expect this to be very long.
THERE WILL BE SPOILERS FOR EPISODES 1-10.

Episode read more
Dec 8, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
[Spoilers]

Covers as much ground as it can, but doesn't go in depth with anything it introduces. Lots of pointless content and irrelevant characters. Dreadful, pseudo-intellectual dialogue. Wine is often being drank when these conversations are had. Various things being shown from multiple different perspectives, or rather; realities. Hardly any plot advancement because showing a million different things is prioritized above all else. Good moments are scarce and typically enjoyable only because they suck so bad, but in most cases, the thing is just idiotic in a highly boring way and that's the end of this story. No, I didn't accidentally post my 'Legend of the read more
Dec 8, 2018
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
Overpowered characters.

From invincible action heroes to divinely powered chosen ones,
from arbitrary powerup masters to "willpower over logic" crusaders,
from technobabble technicians to omniscient pseudo-strategists,
from plot-powered self-inserts to absurdly popular harem leads.

Perfect in every conceivable way... except in terms of actually being well-written or compelling. And therein lies the problem with so many of them. Being overpowered is one thing, but they suffer from something far worse: being boring. They simply come across as bland and generic.

And I am not referring to the fact that they crush their opponents with ease. What I am saying is that their personality, motivations and dialogue tend to be read more
Nov 17, 2018
blacksmithx1 (All reviews)
For those of you who are unaware, SAO is the ISEKAI that brought the genre to immense popularity. While respecting that it is some what of a pioneer, the story tends to drag on unnecessarily and almost constantly views it's audience as unintelligent by walking everyone by the hand through plot points rather than allowing us to infer what is happening through context. It's SAO, so not watching doesn't make sense, but keeping it as a lower priority view for this season is recommended.

While the art is enjoyable and clean, they've left out other potentially visceral aspects. The story and characters are nothing read more
Nov 23, 2018
napandastia (All reviews)
So I decided to torture myself by watching another season of SAO, after being so disappointed that i dropped the second season halfway in (the end of the GGO arc), but I'm glad to say that this season exceeded my expectations.
The story has improved significantly and has an added element of mystery that is actually compelling. My only complaints being that there is quite a bit of exposition that could be done in a more interesting way and the second one being a bit with the direction that there may be occasions where the imagery may be slightly unrelated to the dialogue and a lot read more
Dec 9, 2018
seiryujin (All reviews)
Here we go, i saw a lot of negative comments about this series' start.
Of all seasons, I think Sword Art Alicization is one of the best series of sao, I didn't like the second part of the the first season (Fairy Dance) and all of the second season too much (the movie was cool though).
Story 9/10 the story takes place in a AR world not in VR anymore,really nice to see the difference beetwen the augmented reality and the virtual reality (I don't want to write about the story cause i think i will spoiler something).
Art 10/10 aniplex never makes mistakes. The art is very read more
Dec 11, 2018
Vescrow (All reviews)
As someone who is coming in attached to Sword Art Online because of the Aincrad Arc, who was let down by the Fairy Tale Arc, who felt GGO and the rest of SAO II was satisfactory, Alicization has done nothing but exceed my expectations. From the start, the world that was created around Kirito, Eugeo, and Alice was one that had me mesmerized. This was the world building that I saw glimpses of in the Aincrad arc, that I wish I had seen more of. From the details of the cove, to how the town looked, I was instantly drawn to this world. Although it read more
Dec 8, 2018
Shirokuza (All reviews)
This Sword Art Online name is no stranger to our ears, starting from video games and even animation. SAO itself now has two franchises, namely SAO produced by A1-pictures / original and "Gun Gale Online" produced by studio 3hz. After six The year since the first release of the anime this series has taken many people's attention not only in Japan but throughout the world and their popularity can be said to be the same as Naruto or One Piece. The fifth project from A1-Pictures studio adapted the advanced chapter "Alicization" in all chapters Online sword art such as progressive and others, this is the read more
Dec 1, 2018
sepid_96 (All reviews)
so i decided to watch s3 after i watched the movie which i liked...s2 was a disaster and i thought that i never would watch any other sao related movies or series BUT i watched the movie and surprisingly liked it...so i thought about it and decided to watch SAO S3 and give this season a try and its not bad at all :D

STORY 7/10 :the story is a good one tbh...after s2's nonsense this story is actually what sao needs :D kirito is experiencing a new kind of game where he can separate his soul and thoughts from the real world....and in the new read more
Jan 2, 2019
weeabootakbankai (All reviews)
This season of Sao so far is on par with the first half of the first season and its fix problem that people have with the previous season such as lacking world-building(I heard from the light reader that the world building is present in some arc).My complaint so far for this season is that the studio who are adapting this arc didn't include some character monologue such as Asuna, and it was her who solve where Kirito is in book 10. I really hate how the studio included anime-original scene during episode 5-6 subplot where they have every girl in kirito harem there having a read more
Dec 15, 2018
Rambo7112 (All reviews)
As a TL;DR, if you absolutely hate SAO, you're still probably going to hate this. Its improved but still has some of it's issues.

If you think parts of SAO were good and others (*cough* ALO) were bad, this season is as good or better than the Aincrad arc.

The story and premise for this season were overall very interesting and helped build an incredibly interesting situation. I have a few issues with the story (mainly the IRL portion), but overall its 8/10, pretty good. As a light novel reader, I understand the anime had to gloss over some things, but overall I think they are read more
Dec 16, 2018
RyuGood0 (All reviews)
I'm really sad that people give it a bad review because of the other seasons. This one is entirely different and better.

Alicization is clearly the best anime of 2018. The plot is good and you always want the next episode to know the rest. The characters are well written and they may be OP, but it doesn't matter. The story isn't filled by fights but when there's one, it still is good.

The music is amazing, nothing else to say about that.

THE DRAWINGS ARE AWESOME !!! I really liked SNK for the drawings and SAO managed to do even better than them.

Overall, I enjoyed this anime read more
Dec 13, 2018
Chrome_Falcon (All reviews)
**There are NO spoilers in this review**
Want to know why this is the best season? Read on...

STORY:

Pros:
-Note that it has 50 episodes and not 25 like previous seasons. It is a SINGLE story for the whole season.
-It starts slow, with a lot of focus on world building.
read more
Jan 2, 2019
Yosarian (All reviews)
New season, same problems.

I'm going to get the good out of the way as quickly as possible. On a technical standpoint, the show looks and sounds good. the action scenes err of the side of over dramatic, but are still pretty solid all in all. If they had a decent story to work with, this could be great.

However, as usual with this series, all the mistakes have been made in the writer's room. They have a real opportunity to power down Kirito and make him vulnerable. Do they? Of course not! So is there ever any real tension for any of the fights? read more
Dec 16, 2018
tescocustomer (All reviews)
SLIGHT SPOILERS FOR THE PAST FEW SEASONS AS WELL AS THIS ONE.
This review covers the newest season of SAO. I briefly mention other seasons.

This season has been one of my favourite from the SAO franchise however, I do have one problem with it.

-I don't like the fact that another sexual assault scene is in the new season. There were two in the fairy arc and another in the gungale arc. I wasn't shocked to see it as it has happened multiple times before thus it doesn't really bring a shock factor anymore so I don't really understand why it has to be in there. I read more
Dec 10, 2018
Krishna_Reddy (All reviews)
First first off, this is like the third time I am posting this because "I didn't watch enough episodes before."

Okay, so first off, let me tell you that I have been an SAO fan for a while, as it will always have a social place in my heart, so if you take my review with a grain of salt that's fine.

STORY - 9

So far, the plot looks enticing, and with A-1 Pictures giving SAO Alicization 4 cours instead of 1 or 2, I don't suspect nearly as many plot jumps to happen as there were in SAO season 1. The working principles of the new read more
Dec 2, 2018
tough_bug (All reviews)
with no spoilers

i like to start by saying this is not your typical SAO

its not a kirito Harlem anymore. kirito not being the op MC that he trends out to be (season's half episode in at least not yet i'm sure it's just time being), New characters are not just there to make kirito look good on the other hand you could say some compete for his MC spotlight.
and most of all it's not just an online VR game anymore, Introduced Acton with all blood and gore (you know beheading and stuff). it's quite refreshing.
(fyi i mean these features with respect to the series read more
Dec 1, 2018
Adub217 (All reviews)
The makers of SAO have corrected their former mistakes and managed to put out a good quality anime for once. The main issue with the previous series was pacing; many events were too rushed and not given enough build up to achieve the desired impact on the story.
In the first series they tried to cram too many events into such a short series, it would have been much better if they had used the full 25 episodes to showcase the events of SAO rather than doing a 1/2 split between SAO and ALO arcs.
One example that readily comes to mind is the moonlit black read more
Dec 23, 2018
Innocent_Days (All reviews)
[Sword Art Online: Alicization First Cour Review]

DISCLAIMER:
This review assumes that you have watched the previous two seasons of Sword Art Online and possibly the Ordinal Scale movie, which canonically takes place in between Mother's Rosario and Alicization - as retconned by Reki Kawahara the author of SAO himself. This review is also more suited to those who have watched the twelve episodes of Alicization that have aired so far and NOT those who are only about to begin watching the anime.

-----

I'm reviewing this as someone who has read the entire fan-translated Alicization arc and is a fan of the SAO franchise. I feel like I read more
Dec 15, 2018
isnakie (All reviews)
Nice to see Kirito again, back in his harem-self. A little less harem-y so that's a plus. Still too much unrealistic shock factors. The story is a little different, but not too much, but nothing original. Artwork and animation are well done as normal. Not as good as the original SAO. The sound is unoriginal and not as good as before. I enjoy Kiritos character, for the most part, kind of boring, and the new side character is not bad. The side characters that are supposed to be the snobbish royalty were overdone and too crazy; they were lazily written.

Spoilers-ish
The world that Kirito enters is read more