Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Boku no Hero Academia 3rd Season


Alternative Titles

English: My Hero Academia 3
Japanese: 僕のヒーローアカデミア 3rdシーズン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2018 to Sep 29, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Producers: TOHO animation, Shueisha
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.691 (scored by 251,891 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #92
Members: 522,115
Favorites: 8,128

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 12, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
My Hero Academia is no longer the 2nd coming of Hunter x Hunter. Rather, it is starting to look like the 2nd coming of Fairy Tail.

Story:

We don't really have any plot or driving motion in the series anymore. The lack of build-up in former seasons is backfiring hard, and the pacing which is all over the place is not helping. The content itself is practically pure heroism for the sake of it, and heroes winning because they are the main characters. Really starting to look like it's made by Marvel.

The new arc is really bad. First part of the "training" ending in 5 read more
May 12, 2018
TheSatox (All reviews)
Preliminary
After a great first season and a no less than fantastic second season My Hero Academia is back at it again with season 3, not even six months since season 2 ended. I wrote in my early review for season 2 that I was skeptical that it would be able to carry on being as well refined as season 1 was. Now that the second season is done there is no doubt that I was worried all for nothing. This is the exact thing I'm feeling heading in to the third season of Hero Acca. I'll just sit back and enjoy the ride, cause I read more
Sep 29, 2018
Heumers (All reviews)
“This season is about 2 lads,

The symbol of hope & the symbol of victory,

One is introvert & the other is mad,

And both are always in each other’s memory,

They were friends in their childhood,

But both turned to be an obstacle in each other’s road,

One is a hero that’s always praised,

And the other is a hero that’s unrecognized,

Aggressive, prideful and a bully boy,

Who sees the other as a nothing, but an annoy,

Cheerful, shy and a dreamer youth,

Who can pay anything just to rescue someone, even if the price is a tooth,

Both are like water & fire,

The only common thing was the person whom they admire,

And becoming his read more
May 12, 2018
maartens31 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The beloved shounen series is back again, adapting some of the manga’s finest arcs.

Although it starts with a slightly unnecessary, but well-handled recap episode, it gets right to the story afterwards, starting off with some cool set-up and character moments. Then, things get serious.

Suddenly, villains are everywhere, putting everyone to a test.

What is so loveable about shounen is the theme of not giving up and pushing to the limit, overcoming your obstacles no matter how great they are. Which BNHA exemplifies. On one side with the battles themselves. Especially the fight between Izuku and the physically superior Muscular will have you hyped, read more
Sep 29, 2018
kostasnk (All reviews)
I always considered mha for a mediocre enjoyable show. 60 episodes in and we had very little story progression and world building which is dissapoiting.

Season 3 started of with a typical generic school trip. Few attempts of comedy here and there that simply didn't land. Other than that some todoroki development and deku vs muscular build up were only things worth seeing first 3 episodes.

Characters training was much longer than it should have been. Wasted some time imo. Deku vs muscular fight was okay. The animation was great but again it was so generic and it lacked both creativity and choreography. No tactics used at read more
Jun 19, 2018
WeeabooColin (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Note: I wrote this review right after episode 9 of season 3 of BNHA, so if you want to read my thoughts on episode 10 and 11, go to the section that starts with “EDIT.” This isn’t a traditional review of season 3, it is more of a retrospective for the entire series up to this point. This is not my full review, as it is too long, if you want a link to my full review, pm me.)

Considering the praise that Boku No Hero gets, a lot of the fans of the series usually include the clause that the reasons that BNHA is popular, read more
Sep 29, 2018
Lindle (All reviews)
Before this, I would recommend reading my reviews of the first two seasons of Boku no Hero Academia. Many details that explain my opinion on this series in a broader sense are already covered there.

This season picks up where the previous season left off, with the students preparing to go to an inevitably doomed summer training camp. The plot takes a much darker tone this season, with The League of Villains newly-emboldened by Stain's actions in season 2, and full of fresh faces. The first arc of this season gives the new villains a chance to show off what they're made of, and set up read more
Sep 29, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Superhero stories feels like it’s been populating the entertainment industry from these recent years. Marvel and DC successfully adapted many of these superhero tales with huge fanbases. The CW Network have aired shows with a large following like The Flash, Arrow, Supergirl, and Legends of Tomorrow. My Hero Academia always reminds me that it has a place with its own set of superheroes and villains. With that in mind, I was pretty ecstatic about the return of My Hero Academia.

The third season does a bit of recapping at first to get viewers comfortable with its characters, story setting, and general concepts. As someone who has read more
May 12, 2018
sageofagora (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hero Academia's poor character development has ruined an otherwise engaging story.

If you enjoyed the first 2 seasons in spite of a few absurd story arcs and silly character development, and you're willing to overlook poorly thought out character motivations for the sake of grand themes of heroism then you might be able to enjoy and even fully embrace season 3. I disliked the nonsensical villain motivations in Season 2 and I feel that their motivations seem to make even less sense in Season 3.

Since Season 2, we have seen that most of Hero Academia's villains want to kill All Might because he happens to read more
Jul 2, 2018
_Blank_Space (All reviews)
Preliminary
I do not like Boku no Hero Academia.

Boku no Hero Academia is probably the most popular anime of recent years and is widely regarded as a great series. But I’ve never understood the hype. There are familiar characters with dull motivations and extremely boring humor. BnHA is pretty much 50 percent "comedy" comedy with BIG quotation marks and 50 percent fights. I'd like to explain why I think BnHA fails in both of these departments in this review.

The Fights
I'll be comparing an anime with fantastic fights: Hunter x Hunter with those in Boku no Hero Academia in these segment so if you haven't read more
Sep 30, 2018
DiscoMilf (All reviews)
[THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS for Hunter x Hunter, Star Wars: Return of the Jedi, Naruto, and Boku no Hero Academia Seasons 1, 2, and 3]

Whenever a show gets super popular here on my anime list dot com, a large group of anime viewers watch it and give it a rating. This rating is calculated with all the other user's ratings and creates an overall ranking system. The system MAL employs emphasizes an overall ranking that naturally lends itself to abuse by people who want their favorite show to be #1. This results in a lot of fluff being upvoted to near the top, and it read more
Sep 9, 2018
Sonikkuuuuu (All reviews)
Preliminary
This season was just more of the same of the previous two except longer. We first get another training arc, where the students are training to improve their quirks. The training portion amounted to “the more you use it, the stronger it gets.”, how exciting. The author must have realized how dull it was as it only lasted about half the episode and was never to be seen again for the rest of the season.

Next was another attack by the Shigaraki and goons, their goal this time is to kidnap Bakugo. We’re also introduced to a new one dimensional villain called Muscular, who read more
May 22, 2018
LluisSama (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you like boku no hero you might like this season because is the same again.

- Deku finds some bad people
- Deku SMASH
- Deku brokes arm
- Deku useless
- Deku is healed
- Repeat
- ???
- Profit

Is literaly the same as the old seasons, it hasn't evolved in any way. Neither his or his friends powers.

-Story: 5
What I said in top.

-Art: 7
Not much to say is not bad just this.

-Sound: 6

-Character: 6?
I can't say anything. We know how are all of the caracters so a 6 is enough?

-Enjoyment: DEKUSMASH /10
I'm not enjoying it at all, it starts feeling booring

-Overall: 6
If the formula works, don't change it?
May 12, 2018
Ignoramus- (All reviews)
Preliminary
3rd season of Boku no Hero Academia review:
(My English is not that good but atleast I tried)


-Plot/story , main idea:
The story and its meaning did'nt had much thought in it. characters are training to be heroes and to defend the world from evils. evils are trying to block the 'heroes' actions to take the control from them to achieve their goals.. It's all same read more
May 27, 2018
TXTSVUO (All reviews)
Preliminary
Maybe there will be spoilers, maybe there won't. I'm writing this on the spot.

I enjoy this show for the same reason I enjoy Fairy Tail. For every passing moment that the episode continues, I imagine the unspeakable atrocities that I would commit on this cast of boringass characters. I shit you not. I've been watching a decent bit of Fairy Tail and my imagination is the sole reason that I'm able to handle Natsu's shit.

If you like this anime, that's fine. If you think it's good, that's fine. If you think it's a 10/10 though? That's also fine. But when people start praising this heaping read more
Nov 26, 2018
Awi_Sem (All reviews)
This is actually my very first review so I'll try to be proper in terms of critique.

(Very Light Spoilers!!)

Boku No Hero Academia is one of those animes that I actually consider as mediocre regarding on how generic it is but at the same time I hate it because of how it leaves out many things in terms of characters, plot etc. and that will be explained in this review

⋆Story- 4⋆

The Plot of this season was based on the Licenses that they were supposed to be receiving through training in the woods and actually applying for the exam. Compared to Season 2, it wasn't done read more
Jul 1, 2018
Zauberspeed (All reviews)
Preliminary
After 12 episodes I can say this season is by far the worst. I thought the end of season two was the worst part but nah, it was only the tip of the iceberg phui. I dont want to spoiler at this point but to summarize it: the third seaon is almost one piece/fairy tail level. The first season started good, new, fresh and promising, but unfortunately, now it is getting annoying/boring.

For example, like how often the mc break his body parts. No one cares at this point. Sorry, one scene where the doc says, dont do it again boy or the next time your read more
May 13, 2018
nickzz235 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a review for overall BNHA although a little bit focus on season 3

BNHA is a Shounen series where superpowers , hardwork , talent , good vs bad and society are involved , and it is inspired from western superheroes as its base design.

Shounen done right, nuff said. the pacing is on point while not neglect the comedy / slice of life moment of Shounen series completely. might be a little bias , but I love Shounen but hate how Fillerto , Filler Tail destroyed it, where they could bother to create a brand new 1 cour arc and it was for nothing, not read more
May 12, 2018
Iki_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the most popular JUMP-series finally get the sequel they deserve for being super fantastic last season.

Boku no Hero Academia once again bring the storm to anime-community and has proven that they're the best modern-shonen in the business. The last three episodes spoke for itself.

Starting the show with a very weak start, most of the watchers have let their guard down only to be blown away by the superb-quality from the best episode so far in the series, which is fourth episode. Oh well, if you haven't catch up until the fourth episode, watch it immediately, and it will be the best thing read more
Sep 30, 2018
KuroKagami (All reviews)
Have you ever liked an anime's characters so much you wished they got out of the dreadful story they are involved in?

Well, BNHA is this case.

Why does a season 2 or a season 3 always get more praise than season 1? That's because people who already saw the awful plot already dropped the series and the only ones remaining are the ones who praise it a lot.

But why do i keep watching it even though i almost gave Season 1 a 5? Well, because people told me Season 2 was a "masterpiece". I decided to give it another chance and I was not read more