Toaru Majutsu no Index III


A Certain Magical Index III

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: A Certain Magical Index III
Synonyms: Toaru Majutsu no Index 3, Toaru Majutsu no Kinsho Mokuroku 3
Japanese: とある魔術の禁書目録Ⅲ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2018 to Apr 5, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Theme: Super PowerSuper Power
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.791 (scored by 7457274,572 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #46542
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #868
Members: 203,811
Favorites: 726

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 5, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
“Disappointment is a sort of bankruptcy – the bankruptcy of a soul that expends too much in hope and expectation”. – Eric Hoffer

Watching Index Season III is like procrastinating a school project where hope seems lost with you clinging onto a tiny bit of hope that somehow, someway, everything may be ok. I began watching Index since 2011 and got into the light novels around 2014. While the first two seasons certainly had its share of flaws, both series managed to capture a good deal of concepts that I applauded for. It’s not easy to craft a story with so many characters, conflicts, and intersecting read more
Apr 5, 2019
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
I love the Toaru series, I really do, I have seen all the spin offs, read the novels, read the manga, will watch the third season of railgun and will watch the Accelerator spin off. Despite this I will be giving this particular adaptation of the show a low review, not because the source material is bad, but because its just a terrible adaption. If you want to actually enjoy this series, please just read the damn novels. This adaptation was basically JC Staff butchering the plot, stitching it back together incorrectly, throwing out important parts because hey we need to save budget for Misaka’s read more
Nov 9, 2018
Kuba4ful (All reviews)
Preliminary
Watching this anime is very painful.
Back in 2016 I've heard, that Toaru Majutsu no Index is very good light novel, so I've decided to watch the anime adaptation .After watching first two seasons of TAMNI I was wondering "this is at most decent, why is it considered a very good light novel?", so I've decided to try and read it. I don't regret this decision. Toaru Majutsu no Index is the best light novel I've ever read. And I'm not overrating it, I loved almost everything about it. Besides La Regina del Mare Adriatico Arc, even in light novel it isn't good. I've read whole read more
Apr 5, 2019
RiverRode (All reviews)
It’s been eight years since the previous season of Index, and six years since I started watching anime. Index was one of the earlier series that I saw, and at the time I really enjoyed it. However, a lot has changed in my life since then, and I’m not the same person I was back in 2013. I’ve been looking at this third season as an opportunity to reevaluate the series, and unfortunately, it doesn’t hold up under scrutiny. Many of the preliminary reviews suggest that this dissatisfaction is purely with the quality of this particular adaptation, but I feel the source material isn’t blameless read more
Apr 5, 2019
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
As the curtain closed on the season of Winter 2019, the epidemic known as JC Staph Infection had claimed yet another victim from the masses of announced sequels to previously aired shows. This time, it’s the adaptation of a popular Dengeki Bunko light novel series known as A Certain Magical Index (which is alternatively called Toaru Majutsu No Index). It is practically inexcusable to have people wait out just over seven years for another season, and then come out with such a disappointing product. Having watched and enjoyed the previous two seasons, I was really looking forward to an announcement for a third one. So read more
Nov 9, 2018
DeVo501 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Keep in mind this is only related to the anime adaptation and slightly targeted towards the Battle Royale Arc that just ended:

While I want to keep this short, there is something I just want to get off my chest, after having waited so long for an adaptation, since I am more willing to watch an anime than read a Light Novel (I did read most of the summary and wiki entries however), I couldn't have been more happy to finally see all these scenes animated with good visuals.

Sadly, this is where my heart just breaks down now, what is this J.C. Staff? What have you read more
Nov 18, 2018
Durmanstainer (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll be brief. This particular adaptation failed. Hard.

Either they tried to adapt everything in a short timetable, or the opposite, but J.C.Staff cut too much of the novel content in the process. I would prefer it if they decided to animate less in this season, but with better detail, instead of rushing through the story abandoning valuable pieces left and right. Story 4/10.

Characters' inner thoughts are omitted, some characters were not even introduced and just appeared with no backstory. As a result, their motivation is unknown, their actions seem irrational and forced. Even an off-screen narrator would do, like when Touma narrates about his situation. read more
Dec 23, 2018
SuperCheese88 (All reviews)
Preliminary
What happened to this show? The first 2 seasons were pretty good, you knew what was going on, why people were doing things and the arcs felt fleshed out. Season 3? "Naw bro, you gotta read the books to enjoy the show." NO! That's not how it's supposed to work, the viewer needs to know what is going on while readers get to enjoy nuance and animated fight scenes they imagined.

This season is a waste of time. I hate what they've done. I hate that I've wasted 6 hours on it and I hate that they'll probably ruin Railgun too.
Apr 5, 2019
fullmetalmasify (All reviews)
It has finished and I felt like I should make a review (just so it wouldn't be crowded with just negative reviews). So here we go:

The story for Index III isn't that bad. Personally I didn't think that it was rushed nor did I thought that it was confusing. Index has always been like this when if you don't pay attention there is a high chance in which you would be lost. Though I do admit that plenty of things were explained a lot better in the novels but this isn't a review of that but more as if I were an anime-only watcher.

The art read more
Dec 28, 2018
OG_Gattsu (All reviews)
Preliminary
After careful analysis, I’ve come to the realisation that the guys in J.C Staff want Toaru Majutsu no Index III to give Tokyo Ghoul re: a run for it’s money for the worst adaptation in recent years!

Index season 1 and 2 were relatively decent, however season 3 is a complete trainwreck. J.C Staff are trying to adapt so much this season, that they crammed too much in each episode, causing it not to flow cohesively anymore.

They skipped a lot of content from the Light Novel, as a result the story is extremely rushed and most anime watchers don’t know what the hell is read more
Apr 30, 2020
LaLa629 (All reviews)
I’m going to be real honest here. The only reason I was able to sit through this entire series was Accelerator. I remember being so excited watching season 1 with the premise that I started to read the light novel. Season 2 wasn’t great but it was still bearable. This show is an utter train wreck. Don’t waste your time on it. Tomua is a bland protagonist. He drags the show down. You never know what is actually going on. I still can’t believe this was my favorite arcs in the light novel. After this disaster I am done with all Toaru content.
May 9, 2019
SSP77 (All reviews)
I admit I didn't watch the Light Novel; so I went into the anime with an open mind and I really enjoyed it. The animation was great as always from JC Staff; the fight scenes were thrilling (I especially loved the Kakine vs Accelerator fight and flying around those buildings) and the story...while a bit all over the place, was very interesting to watch...and as usual, the soundtrack is amazing and memorable like the first two seasons.

I felt sad for the death of a certain characters (I think you all know who that is)...though the ending was very emotionally powerful and I loved the reunion read more
Jan 1, 2021
Mati_Boi (All reviews)
**THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS**

"My disappointment is immeasurable, and my day is ruined" ,encapsulates the reputation the 3rd season of Index has formulated over the past 2 years since its initial release. I started the story through its anime replica 2 weeks ago at the time this review has been posted, and I accumulated a deep interest into the franchise, so naturally being aware of the 8 year gap between season 2 and season 3, I was thrilled to see the differences in quality between the two, however, this season has proved that we shouldn't take its situation into fave value just because of hypothetical read more
Dec 2, 2018
AnimeOracles (All reviews)
Preliminary
And So the Index franchise is back with another season, at the time of the review the 9th episode had just finished airing so without further ado let's get in with it.

I love it !! The first thing I loved about the third season is the stakes, this season is a direct follow up of Index ii so we all know the God's Right seat are the villains this time around. It starts off with Touma facing off against them as always but what I particularly like about this season so far are how multiple protagonists are popping up. In fact, I think this read more
Feb 22, 2020
gachiHYPERR (All reviews)
Art, Sound, Character, and Enjoyment: N/A
DOESN'T MATTER! These parts of the anime might have been decent, if not for the horrendous way the story is told. So whatever effort the studio put into these factors, the fact that you don't know what's going on makes it absolutely pointless.

Story and Plot: 2
"Who the hell is that? How are they doing that shit? Why are doing it? What is heppening?" Are pretty common questions while watching this anime.

I know there's a good story buried somewhere deep under the convoluted mess J.C. staff made, but I just can't see it.
The story arcs move way too fast and are read more
Feb 19, 2019
Arglos (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review is **SPOILER FREE**

The ToAru franchise has caught me by storm back when I started watching anime. It just had this certain "something" from the getgo, that kept me entertained. I couldn't express how excited I was when I heared about all the news about the new anime adaptations coming in 2019: so then, why am I so disappointed?

Sidenote: I've seen the entire ToAru franchise (5 seasons including the new "ToAru majutsu no Index III" (up to episode 19). I've rewatched the previous installments multiple times, both in release order and chronological order and I've bought all the source material (Lightnovels + Mangas). I read more
Apr 8, 2019
DNGlist (All reviews)
I'm a fan of "Taru Series" for the first time, I'm disappointed with the adaptation of the Taru Anime project. after I could enjoy season 1 and 2 stories, movie, and the Toaru Railgun series. In season 3, the Toaru Majutsu 3 index failed. knowing that a lot of stories have to be spent in one season so that a lot of parts are wasted, there are a lot of espers and top ranked wizards but in season 3 it looks like they are just a display. even I am reluctant to accept this as season 3, this is just a joke adaptation of jC read more
Nov 9, 2020
anifriedchicken (All reviews)
Contributing a review as my score is way above the average for this installment in the series. I am an anime-only and so I have no basis to judge as to how well they have adapted the source material. However, as I have watched all of the Toaru series back to back in the span of 1 month, I found Index iii to be the most gripping and enjoyable by a mile.

Perhaps due to less slice of life elements being incorporated, and focusing more on the magic and science worlds colliding parallel to world war 3, I've never been more compelled throughout consuming this read more
Sep 24, 2020
Phebe_The_Weeb (All reviews)
Toaru Majutsu no Index, or in english, A Certain Magical index. A certain magical index is the main story within this series, which follows the lead of Touma Kamijo and his Co-Lead, Index. With their lead, the story progresses with Touma protecting his city from various magical threats using a mysterious power located in his right hand.

One of the biggest focuses with the drama of this anime is the tension between scientific and religious beliefs.

This anime features so many side characters within Index alone, I can count about 30 important side characters within Index alone. You might think that with many side characters, they read more
Jan 31, 2019
Rogue_Player (All reviews)
Preliminary
Toaru Majutsu no Index III or a certain magical index III has been full of anticipations and excitement as the previous season end was foreshadowing the events that were about to come since this is the climax for the old testament (which is this season), however it is starting to turn into an anticlimax..., Let's start of with the story

Story: 3/10
Although this was adapted from the novel (which is probably the best novel i have ever read), It has been executed very poorly through the first half of the season and i bet it's going to continue like this through the end, read more