Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shiyan Pin Jiating


Alternative Titles

English: Frankenstein Family
Synonyms: Jikken-hin Kazoku: Creatures Family Days, Jikkenhin Kazoku
Japanese: 実験品家族

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2018 to Jun 19, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 19:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: None found, add some
Source: Web manga
Genres: Sci-Fi, Seinen
Duration: 15 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.441 (scored by 3,373 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #59892
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2387
Members: 26,687
Favorites: 32

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 12, 2018
Jaylikeshamsters (All reviews)
Story- 9
art- 8
characters - 10
enjoyment- 8
overall- 8

What can I say? I really got exited for this anime, at first I thought "great another funny slice of life anime". I was really wrong about it. The story is about a boy named Deniss and his 4 siblings who were turned into monsters by their parents. the show shows how they suffer and try to live a normal life as a "human". the backstories are great too, they show how the characters had to cope at aa young age with their "psyhopatic" parents. The ep are quiet short and they left me empty after watching them, the read more
May 23, 2018
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
Preliminary
This Is a show that I saw the art and description for It and I got really excited. Well, the 4th episode aired 2 days ago, To put It simply, This Is kind of a disappointment.

I don't know how to properly explain It. But this show gives off a weird atmosphere to It. While some shows ( I.E Demi-chan wa Kataritai) Can give this nice friendly and energetic atmosphere. Shiyan Pin Jiating" Gives off I guess empty feeling, Nothing about this world feel really complete to me at least.

Two things I feel that contribute to this being such a disappointment are:

MC: The Main read more
Jun 24, 2018
M1chael0311 (All reviews)
Preliminary
[MINOR SPOILERS ON SOME ASPECTS WITHOUT CONTEXT]
A premise with great potential yet a rather mediocre realization - this is how you could summarize Shiyan Pin Jiating, a.k.a. Jikken-hin Kazoku, Creatures' Family Days, Frankenstein Family. And while awkward pacing, somewhat bland characters, and some inconsistencies could spoil your experience, the top-notch art and fabulous background music do kind of make up for the shortcomings. What you will eventually get is a quite enjoyable, high-budget anime based on a Taiwanese manga, dubbed in both Japanese and Mandarin Chinese.


Story [6/10]
The story starts off with five siblings living on their own after their parents suddenly "disappear" one night. The read more
Jul 11, 2018
Tomatogal (All reviews)
I went into this not sure what to expect. The premise looked interesting so I figured it was worth a watch. This turned out to be one of my favorites of the 2018 spring lineup. It's a shame this flew under the radar. It being a Chinese produced anime that was never picked up by any English licensers/streaming services most certainly contributed to it's obscurity.

This is yet another twist on the "monster girl" genre that seems to be ever growing in popularly. This time the main cast are siblings that all have some sort of experimental modification done to them. All but the read more
Oct 12, 2018
Inosenso (All reviews)
Frankenstein Family is an extremely rare Chinese manga adaptation that focuses on family bonds and maintains that every episode. The short 20 minute episodes successfully trim out harems, convoluted love triangles, confusing plots, and fanservice. The plot itself is slice of life level mediocre, with the monster family's focus frequently shifting in different directions and the child genius main character Tanisu causing those deviations by always being 100% child and 0% genius. I still watched it every week on release day because it reliably showed them facing challenges. The art scrapes the barrel pretty low where instead of making full use of the fact that read more
Sep 26, 2018
taffercharles (All reviews)
The problem with so many normies swarming anime so much lately, is that great anime like these go unrecognized, lately more than in past years. Sucks, doesn't it? The story is touching and deep, the plot is great, which is not something I say often for non Japanese anime. However, the styling of the characters is well performed, the seiyuu work is great. (A little awkward at times, given that this isn't a Japanese anime.) Some smudges on the animation, and timing/tempo. However, putting those aside, and considering the fact that I literally had to take a break from anime because there just weren't good read more
Oct 11, 2018
KalebBro (All reviews)
Concept: good
Execution: absolutely terrible

The first four episodes are full length and actually pretty good. They get you hooked into a story with what looks to be an overarching plot. Then it takes a complete 180, the episodes drop to 12 minutes or less after intro/recap and the other half of the 23 minutes are live action interviews with the voice actors talking about random stuff. I wouldn't have minded this as much if the story didn't feel like it suffered from it.

The lead up to the climax of the series is based off of characters acting completely contrary to what we have seen read more