Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gaikotsu Shotenin Honda-san


Alternative Titles

English: Skull-face Bookseller Honda-san
Japanese: ガイコツ書店員本田さん

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2018 to Dec 24, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:30 (JST)
Producers: Lantis, Half H.P Studio
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: DLE
Source: Web manga
Duration: 11 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.421 (scored by 13,336 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19612
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1772
Members: 46,171
Favorites: 124

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 28, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Anime this great only appears like once a year. This is a series about a skellington dude who is working at a manga store. The entire things centers around his job and interactions with coworkers and customers. To say that this series is a meme would be an understatement.

The comedy is totally badass. We have colorful bunch of all sort of weirdos from mom person who comes to buy manga for her son whom she proceeds to call a nerd for reading manga out of all things, to a an adult man who is looking for homoerotic Gintama tentacle porn doujinshis asking like waddup hope read more
Nov 7, 2018
felipefelix (All reviews)
Preliminary
That's the kind of series in which your knowledge about Japan's culture becomes crucial. Gaikotsu is a collection of chronicles told by a Japanese bookstore's staff. Those bookstores are really, really peculiar and that is why I think many people will not be able to connect with the comedy in this series. I live in Japan, so I could comprehend the troubles those guys are passing by and I found it's hilarious! It's a pity that some people will just skip Gaikotsu for not getting the message behind the story, but I'll be here supporting this series that is brilliantly produced, has beautiful visuals, really read more
Dec 23, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
"No sorry we don't have that it's...uh...SPECIAL YAOI BOOK!" - Honda-san

I'm gonna give this an outstanding score just because. Can I (or we) call this the SOTY (Short of the Year) for 2018? Because this short-form 10 minute series, as simple as its premise goes, drives home perfectly about more than just being a fun and educational series. Heck, anime like this really are once-in-a-blue-moon novelty! And...this is brought to you by director (not Shouto) Todoroki Owl (his very first directorial work). (Aw, Shouto almost had his own anime...)

Originally a Pixiv web comic, Gaikotsu Shotenin Honda-san is an accurate depiction of Japan's culture of bookstore read more
Dec 23, 2018
Txra (All reviews)
'Skull-face bookseller Honda-san' is without a doubt one of the best short shows of 2018, and perhaps even the best comedy I've ever watched. Seriously.

It revolves around our main character, a skeleton called Honda, as we watch him work through his job as a bookstore employee; within the bookstore, we meet his fellow co-workers, who each have very expressive personalities, and the daily shoppers who visit the store. This whole entire show is comedy gold - especially if you get the references - filled with BL jokes and western tourists along with the relatable struggles at work that Honda and his co-workers go through that read more
Nov 5, 2018
ShadowWarriorL (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've watched lots of anime and have read a fair amount of manga in my time, but never have I come across a show as amazing and awe inspiring as this one. One might say that the humor is rather simplistic and is constructed in a way that will make it easy for a wide variety of people laugh, but "laughing" isn't simply enough to describe the amount of pleasure I have experienced from this work. Simply put, there are so many layers to this show's level of comedy that I can't say that I've got it all figured out.
One of the things I’ve been read more
Dec 23, 2018
Kipo0007 (All reviews)
Selling manga that customer wants , without being overwhelmed by the strange turns, that is the task of a Comic Bookstore. - Honda 2018

This anime series is a Hidden gem in the fall season. A short 15 minute per episode series but packed with a lot of comedy plus actual daily life of a book store employee problems and antics mixed.
The series is basically depicted on the daily work life of a skeleton guy ,yea he is literally a skeleton wearing normal clothes and not only that there are other weird looking characters/employees example, a mummy girl a pumpkin head etc. which will read more
Dec 23, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Have you ever wondered the life of a bookstore owner?...

Gaikotsu Shotenin Honda-san is an anime short about a skeleton bookseller by the name of Honda-san voiced by Souma Saitou and his misadventures of daily life as a bookstore owner.

Now this kind of premise at first looks mundane but this being an anime adaptation of a web manga written and drawn by the author's own caricature who was a bookseller in Japan named...Honda, it gives us an insight to the life, trials and tribulations of a bookseller for comedic effect with his co-workers. From keeping book shelves tidy and organized to talking to foreign customers, otaku read more
Nov 12, 2018
donati01 (All reviews)
Preliminary
*NO SPOILERS*
*The review is only for the 6 first episodes*
*I plan to do another full review after the end of the anime*

[Story 7/10]
It's based on a true story by a guy who worked at a bookshop.
It's not that big of a story, but it's pretty enjoyable as a story because you start to relate to the protagonist despite having other serving jobs.
It's executed well and very realistic as a story.

[Art 7/10]
Unique doesn't mean good. It's just different, I don't have to say anything about it.

[Sound 8/10]
The sound is great. Even though the characters are designed as skeletons, knights, pumpkins etc they really seem mature read more
Dec 27, 2018
Its-Maki-kun (All reviews)
If you don't know yet, I love reading books especially when I went home from working or anything with train and thus developing a skill of reading books while standing up in a moving train. And I am not talking about e-books, I am talking about real physical books which you acquire from a bookstore. Bookstore is probably a place I love so much that I could spent my day off there if I don't have anything else to do. Being surrounded by books feels like a heaven for me. But how about people who works there? People who have their everyday life surrounded by read more
Dec 24, 2018
Eoussama (All reviews)
When something hits, it hits hard. That was my take on Gaikotsu Honda-san. When you first look at it, there is the cover art, then the synopsis, and the genre, three of the arbitrary deciding factors that might give you a primary opinion on a said show, and for me, it was one boney boy and no idea on the plot whatsoever, and probably that's what appealing about the Slice of Life genre, you know it's following someone's daily life, you know it's going to be either hilariously on point or sadly relatable, probably both.
After watching Gaikotsu Shotenin Honda-san, I might just add an exception read more
Jan 6, 2019
Nagisayano (All reviews)
Seriously, who watched this anime before Mother's Basement talked about it. I'm glad he did because over 12 10 minute, 30 second shows, I got about as many laughs out of it as I did from The Disastrous Life of Saiki K. (and that was a lot).
The story took a backseat when it came to an over-arching narrative. That wasn't the point though. This manga's creator was a bookseller who wanted to recount his experiences. It didn't need cohesion.
The art is amazing. It may have a mediocre and dead look read more
Jan 2, 2019
Yosarian (All reviews)
If you've ever worked retail, you will totally relate to this one. The animation is choppy, and other than the characters, the art is super basic. The humor is spot on, although if you've never worked retail, it might not hit so hard. Being set in a manga store all the show to have work and otaku humor meet, which is fun.

Keep in mind, these are humorous vignettes that do not tell an over arching story. I binged it one afternoon, and the jokes start flattening out after a bit. Since there's no pressing need to see what happens next, I'd recommend watching read more
Jan 11, 2019
IvivinPigeon (All reviews)
Quick Summary: The show follows Honda-san and his coworkers at a bookstore.

The Hook: Honda-san and his coworkers are all depicted as odd mascot representations of themselves. Honda-san, to no one’s surprise, is a skeleton. Others include: a fencing mask, a paper bag, and a knight’s helm.

The Good: The show is charming and funny. It doesn’t overstay its welcome and can be very wholesome without sacrificing humour.

The Bad: Though the show uses it to its advantage (think Inferno Cop, dialed down from an 11 to like a 6), the production quality is minimal. Some of the side-stories fall flat, though not many.

Overall: Skull-face Bookseller Honda-san was read more
Jan 7, 2019
PeruraitoAkoya (All reviews)
"You there, who wanted to work at a bookstore after seeing episode 1...Thanks, but reconsider!"

In the twelve 11 minute episodes that Gaikotsu Shotenin Honda-san has to get its point across, it does so with comedy and style that I haven't seen rivaled by any other anime I've watched. While there isn't a super complex story present, Honda-san's daily life working at a bookstore captures your attention straight away with joke and reference after joke and reference. Anyone who has worked in retail can relate to what Honda goes through each episode and the different types of customers he deals with. Whether Honda is helping read more
Jan 3, 2019
Ardania22 (All reviews)
I haven’t watched much short-form anime- a.k.a, anime that runs for 12-minute episodes- over my brief period as an anime fan. When there’s an extensive back catalog of classics and blockbusters you want to get through, it’s easy to let the more minimalist stuff slip through the cracks. But if Skull-Face Bookseller Honda-san is anything to go by, I need to add more short-form anime to my diet. This show is a delightful little gem of a thing, smart and fun and pleasantly relaxing in its little bite-sized chunks. If this is the kind of low-stakes enjoyment the best of short-form anime can offer, then read more
Dec 28, 2018
sophimonogatari (All reviews)
Honda-san is an adorable, simple, and heartwarming anime short series that is an absolute joy to sit through without taking up much of your day. The short-and-sweet beauty of the show makes it an easy watch that holds your attention, since it doesn't even really need that much of your attention to begin with. As somebody who has trouble with staying interested in a show, Honda-san's mini plots really helped me breeze by without losing the want to keep watching.

The characters, especially Honda, are so beyond lovable and are all play their own little role to keep the silly, colorful nature the show strives for read more
Dec 16, 2018
korosenseinyan (All reviews)
Preliminary
I just tried watching this a while ago and I immediately liked it!
the topic of the storyline is not mainstream about a Japanese bookstore employee who confides how his daily life , and spiced with comedy, so this is very interesting
I also really like the art which is very smooth and the color is soft, the sound is okay! (honda's seiyuu fit him perefectly!)
they are all very funny, portrayal of characters and stories are not boring
because of this I got a lot of knowledge of how a Japanese bookstore manages stores and relationships between employees, insiders, difficult conditions, and other things
anime that is worth watching read more