Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu - Memory Snow


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Re: Life in a different world from zero, ReZero, Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu OVA
Japanese: Re:ゼロから始める異世界生活 OVA

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2018
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: White Fox
Source: Light novel
Duration: 1 hr.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.661 (scored by 21,365 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1011
Members: 105,457
Favorites: 345

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 7, 2018
Sigsig (All reviews)
Overall: 8/10
There was never a dull moment and I think it's a great movie. Feels very OVA-ish with a slice-of-life tone. I liked having no worries for once, although I was honestly worried for Subaru when some deja vu moments came up, but he laughed it off himself so I thought it'd be fine. Roswaald was amusing as usual and Subaru's comebacks were also funny.

We also got some expansion into Puck's backstory, and how he met Roswaald was also shown, with a comment from Emilia 'the map had to be redrawn afterwards' describing the scale.

Towards the end, we also get both drunk Emilia read more
Jun 9, 2019
KhalidSheikh (All reviews)
OVA doesn't progress the story as it should but gives more incite into characters and brings back characters from Roswaal's Mansion , as a OVA its very filler like and progresses a side plot which might be disappointing to some but to be fair is better than a cliff hanger and thats what a OVA does, so its still nice to watch if you haven't watched the 1st season recently and be reintroduced to the characters in season 2 hopefully soon (Summer 2019?). Overall great subplot, nice banter, took too long to be fansubbed considering its release in Japan in 2018 October? 9/10 Jihad.
Jun 17, 2019
Veronin (All reviews)
"It's cold. Cold things suck. Let's play in the snow."

There's your one-hour Memory Snow experience condensed into a few seconds. Those expecting the series' trademark gore, or any character development or backstory will find themselves considerably disappointed by Subaru and co.'s snow frolicking adventures. Nay, instead we have slice-of-life and comedy, because that's what everyone likes Re:Zero for, right?

I've had a lot of time to think and chat about the series in the three years since I wrote my original Re:Zero review. Though I was immensely critical at the time, there was something about the series that prevailed, that made it hard for me read more
Jun 9, 2019
swirlydragon (All reviews)
Story:-

No depression, no dying and respawning countless times for our boi Subaru this time. This is a wholesome episode that does not contain any pain or suffering for Subaru. The story is all about Subaru and everyone else getting through two days of harsh cold which is due to Puck's mana side effects which Puck can't do anything about. The story is decent. Contains comedy and a little bit of romance.

Art:-

The art is really good. It's as good as season 1 if not better. The last few scenes looked even better.

Sound:-

The OST used were pretty great. This brings back the memories of the first season read more
Jun 9, 2019
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
[A Snow Festival]

For a series that is renowned for its brutal death scenes, spectacular action sequences, and unrelenting feelings of dread, depression, and misery, will learn that this OVA doesn't contain any of these elements.

Instead of scenes filled with gore and violence, they will be replaced with wholesome moments of children playing and frolicking in the snow, Subaru making witty comebacks and anticipating his date with Emilia, Rem/Emilia acting cute and cheery, and Beatrice acting her usually tsundere attitude. It's refreshing to watch a series that's known for its dark elements to have moments of happiness and relief.

STORY:

Now, its story is simple and can be read more
Jul 9, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
It's not a hot springs episode nor a beach episode (Ohh LA wishes) but...

Re:Zero kara Hajimeru Isekai Seikatsu - Memory Snow takes place somewhere before the Capital Inauguration arc where Subaru finds a good place for him and Emilia to have a picnic date with, however Emilia acting a bit odd not to mention the temperature of the mansion drops...suddenly.

So this movie or OVA, though the narrative focus is with this premise, this movie is well...a snow festival, thanks to Puck not able to expend her excess mana thus the drastic temperature drop, so yeah, this movie is all in all wholesome especially with the read more
Jun 16, 2019
Kxrumi (All reviews)
This review may contain spoilers!

This is my first review, so it will have flaws and it won't be the best.

ENGLISH:
History: 8/10
Basically it's about Subaru trying to plan the date with Emilia... but during the development they tell us interesting things like how Roswaal and Puck met, the explanations about how Mana and Odo works and also showed us a little bit of the level of magic that Roswaal and Puck have.

Animation: 8/10
In general it is not better than the main anime, but it was good during most of the time and at the climax a leap in quality was noticeable.

OST: 8/10
Personally I liked it read more
Aug 23, 2019
Lolsebca (All reviews)
Story (9/10): While, compared to the nature of the anime, the direction and realisation of this movie might feel different in a way, dropping a few themes such as the gore and thrilling aspects, and even assuming such ambitions and dimensions as those belonging to the main plot are not found in this movie, the story, and its realisation, felt harmonic and appreciable.
Indeed, a slice-of-life spirit reigned from start to end, and the mood, while ebbing from times to times due to the comedic elements, was evenly disseminated. Though not especially standing out, the story did not feel incoherent in any major way, which is read more
Aug 14, 2019
Estonianbear (All reviews)
I made the mistake of this being my first experience with re:zero and its characters. I watched it together as a friend cause I don't really mind spoilers. Luckily there weren't many spoilers, not that I'd remember them anyway from this unforgettable movie. I am sure the actual show is good, but I recommend staying away from this.

Do not watch this unless you're already a an avid watcher of the show and just want some mind-numbing fanservice that feels more like bad shoujo than anything. There is nothing you will gain from watching this movie other than fan service. You should fully be aware and read more
Sep 10, 2019
AnimeBW (All reviews)
Essentially, this OVA is just an extended character hang-out session set between the second and third arcs, giving us an hour’s worth of time with the Roswaal Manor crew just hanging around the mansion against the backdrop of magic shenanigannery from Puck. As a result, it lacks the underlying darkness, grit and catharsis that defines Re:Zero at its best, the moments that propelled it into a genuine masterpiece, the sense of constant purpose and meaning that made the first season feel like such a complete package. But man, with characters this great, I’ll always appreciate being able to spend more time with them, and I read more