Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahou Shoujo Site


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Magical Girl Site
Japanese: 魔法少女サイト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2018 to Jun 23, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:55 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: production doA
Source: Manga
Genres: DramaDrama, HorrorHorror, PsychologicalPsychological, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.531 (scored by 3978139,781 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #59812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1034
Members: 110,047
Favorites: 521

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 22, 2018
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
The term “edgy” gets thrown around as some sort of criticism by people who like to sound smart and mature, because they engage with a medium for people half their age. Personally, I don’t use the word as a criticism, because I often enjoy edge a lot. I think there’s a level of edge that gets enjoyable, because it passes so many levels of believability that I don’t believe it was meant to be taken seriously in the first place. That’s where Mahou Shoujo Site comes in.

A more accurate term to describe this anime would be “campy”, but fucking nobody uses that term so I’m read more
Jun 22, 2018
SunlitSonata (All reviews)
Have you ever seen a show so banal, so worthless, so unintelligent, so uselessly defiant, so lazy and so pathetic that you hate it with every fiber of your being the longer it goes on as lazy jump ship of popular trends? For me, the biggest example of that, is the latest edge cancer to pound the anime community known as: Mahou Shoujo Site.
 
It is inevitable that within a community, when some concept does something to “break the mold” in a unique way and becomes a mega hit, there will be a ton of copycats spawning from it, to get a slice of that sweet read more
Apr 27, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

"People say my life has hit rock bottom, but I do not believe any of that."
-Our main bro while fapping to anime porn in episode 3.


This series has some serious issues. By this, I don't mean "flaws" or "cons", I mean real issues. This is the peak of insanity.


"Every day, all I think about is dying."


Our main character, who is the most pathetic looking girl imaginable, seems to be living in a world which is pretty much a fucked up place. All her school budies are literally evil bullies whose favorite past time seems to be kicking her ass and destroying read more
Apr 27, 2018
Cool-Guy-Senpai (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is awful. It touches upon a lot of heavy themes including but not limited to; bullying, domestic abuse, torture, rape, depression, and other such fun topics. However, not once does it feel the need to adress these topics in a serious manner. A lot of the abuse the main character seems to soak up like a sponge, and is only used as a way to make you sympathise with the girl. It’s essentially a guilt trip. What really doesn’t help is that the abusers are in no way written realistically. They’re not written as people with clouded judgement, or people who bend over read more
Jun 22, 2018
Aslt (All reviews)
We, the anime community, have been blessed once more with yet another edgy bullshit to digest, which has steadily and firmly joined the edgefiesta family. The newly born child of edge called Mahou Shojo Site sat among its emo relatives such as Ousama Game, Mirai Nikki and others and as their successor and production doA's first TV series, it did its job pretty damn well; I mean, succeeding in being a completely lifeless and rotten experience is quite an achievement...

Mahou Shojo Site is the prime example of how NOT to make the first episode, heck, of how not to make an anime. Through its read more
Jun 22, 2018
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
What is an edgy anime?

Edgy anime are the type of series that uses it and themes to make a serious tone however unlike mature shows where they create a permanent tone eddy shows would very often switch it’s dark tone around in favour of having a more lighthearted narrative and tone. A lot of the time these shows would often have a lot serious topics, and themes that ultimately goes nowhere thanks to they awful tone shifts and because of this a lot of theses edgy shows ending up very pretentious as a result. The real problem with theses edgy shows that like with ecchi read more
Apr 27, 2018
Relick (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is horrific, in content and quality. It is genuinely so bad at being a serious show that it becomes enjoyable in its own ridiculousness. The studio is genuinely trying to make a good thriller, and that's why this is so entertaining. Think you know edgy? Think you know insane? Think again. Then think again again because every episode gets *edgier and more ridiculous* than the last.

The ED is SPERM FLYING THROUGH THE AIR WHILST LIVE ACTION IDOLS DANCE. How do you top that? Well, the show manages to, with another live action ED involving idols dressed up as dogs. Here's hoping for episode read more
Jun 23, 2018
Bajar (All reviews)
Mahou Shoujo Site is absurd but its also an argument against absurdity. If that sounds like I made a contradiction that's because it was intentional. The absurdity within the show is also intentional. The show uses contradictions as a tool to highlight absurdity. It uses contradictory imagery and the main character also acts in seemingly contradictory ways. Although the show contains absurdity it also rallies against absurdity by having its characters fight for meaning in a meaningless and cruel world. Despite being absurd, Mahou Shoujo Site has strong morals and a positive message.

Mahou Shoujo Site uses contradictory imagery masterfully to juxtapose negative and edgy concepts read more
Apr 28, 2018
4mds (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't really write reviews, So I don't really know what to write, however, I'll try to write everything that comes up in my mind and it should be useful


Overall: 6

if you have never watched a Mahou Shoujo anime I think you will enjoy this show,

BUT IF YOU WATCHED A MAHOU SHOUJO ANIME BEFORE YOU WILL NOT REALLY ENJOY THIS SHOW BECAUSE IT'S COPY PASTED (I will explain it)


Story 6 :

The story is basically about a girl called Asagiri who lived an unfortunate life and got the chance to become a magical girl to change her life without knowing the consequences.

Years ago, one of read more
Jun 23, 2018
Sakurai_Aoi (All reviews)
[Free of Major or Specific Spoilers]

In my opinion, Mahou Shoujo Site is basically the King's Game of this season. It's an "edgy" anime with a low score. But this anime's been called edgy countless times and it's used as a reason to show why it's bad. I don't really agree with this.

Ok, so, the story of Mahou Shoujo Site revolves around Aya and her miserable life and a website that can turn people into magical girls. It had the potential for some good psychological depth...but that potential was kinda wasted. I feel bad for a lot characters, especially Aya, but I wish more depth could've read more
May 18, 2018
NebulaDaBest (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't like how people are just dissing on this anime...

I really recommend this anime, even if MAL overall rating for this anime is trash. The anime is about a girl being abused everywhere she goes, from school to home.

This anime is not for the light-hearted of viewers... this is gory and kind of ironic because of the Magical Girls theme. I mean it is anime... anime logic...

The anime is fucked up and meets its dark theme. It might take some of the serious themes lightly, well its fucking anime so get over it.

If you like this anime, then you should read more
Jun 22, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Just about anyone could have made Mahou Shoujo Site. I say this with an open mind because it really comes down to a bunch of grimy ideas mixed together at once. Before I get to the who, what, how, where, and why, you really need to be aware of what’s ahead. As someone who have read the manga, I say with regret that Mahou Shoujo Site (Magical Girl Site) ended up being one of the worst shows of Spring 2018. It’s actually a bit demoralizing considering that there aren't many big magical girl hitters this year and it already set the bar very low.

Forget read more
Jun 24, 2018
StopShot (All reviews)
(No specific spoilers are mentioned in this review, however the overall direction of the anime will be mentioned through vague descriptions and thematic comparisons to Madoka Magica which I presume everyone here has at least watched since this is yet another grim-dark magical girl anime.)

You may have stumbled upon this review wanting to check if anyone would have given the likes of Mahou Shoujo Site a perfect score of 10 and whether a review like this was written on the premise of satire. This will be my first review, so satire is completely unintended.

The grim-dark magical girl genre is nothing new, but for as copy-paste read more
Jul 2, 2018
pluvia33 (All reviews)
Magical Girl Site is what you get when you take Madoka Magica and mix it with Higurashi, but then remove all of the interesting story elements. It is a grim-dark, edge-lord misery porn revenge fantasy with no real substance to back it up. Oh, also while we’re making this comparison, get rid of any interesting character development from Madoka and any well executed moments of levity from Higurashi. Because you know, it doesn’t really matter if you actually care about any of the characters that are having horrible stuff happen to them and you totally don’t need any nice moments to break up the misery, read more
Jun 25, 2018
jmscjrdn (All reviews)
Why you should watch Mahou Shoujo Site?

Story is Outstanding (10). I was was never a fan of the Magical Girl genre since I was young, although I've watch a good amount of Card Captor Sakura and Sailor moon since I don't have a choice back in the Television era. But there is something with Magical Girls and a dark and morbid story that really tingles my weird taste in anime.

Mahou Shoujo Site is another anime that I did not expect much to blow me away in the Spring Anime 2018 lineup together with Hinamatsuri. I just thought that this is a mixture of totally read more
Aug 1, 2018
The_Walker (All reviews)
The "Horror" genre of anime comes with an extremely bizarre and inexplicable phenomena, in where people who absolutely hate this genre will watch it anyways expecting it to be something else and then lambast it for in fact being exactly what the show originally claimed to be. This is then followed by multiple Dunning-Kruger inspired reviews that vary in intellectual quality but are all easily spotted by their superfluous use of the word "edgy". Why horror is the only genre "haunted" ( dohohohoho I make joke ) by this oddity is anyones' guess.

But anyways, on to the anime in question itself: read more
Jun 22, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Mahou Shoujo Site is not for the faint of heart. Despite the name and its creator Kentarou Satou, this series is actually a spin off (not direct) of his earlier manga series called Magical Girl Apocalypse, which used action-horror undertones to showcase what would it be like if magical girls were ever this frenzy and evil-like. AND...despite everything else, this series is just too bloody, gruesome and an uncomfortable feast for the human eye to process.

The story of Mahou Shoujo Site is no different from Satou's earlier work, defisive to say about its main character, Aya Asagiri, through her measly self always being the target read more
Nov 3, 2019
Mirai_Hunter (All reviews)
This anime was good enough for me. It was a heck load of edge and I was invested in seeing what Aya Asagiri will do next with the lurks that are out to get her,I was a bit annoyed that we didn't get to see what happened when the tempest arrived as I think it could have been pulled off very well, I was screeching when her brother got tortured and was keen to see what was going to happen next in the manga. The voice acting was on point, fight scenes were great and I thought the characters were decent.
Jun 20, 2018
bondtux (All reviews)
Preliminary
before i start my reviews, i would ask you a few question,
1. Do you ever want to suicide but you dont have any courage to die?
2. Have you ever been bullied but never had any courage to tell anyone else?
3. What is the meaning to be stronger to you?
4. You always get bullied day by day, but magicaly you had a power to stop time, but when you using those power your aged will shortened by 1 or more years. What will you do?
5. Last but no least. You had a sibling that always kicking your ass every day and he or she never looked read more
May 16, 2018
tiink (All reviews)
Preliminary
was a really good anime i rate it 10 was so sad and i felt so bad for her going through all this especially the cat that was so sad, i love watching this show i hope there is way more to this anime soon more episodes and more seasons i really love this anime and i also want her fucking brother to die already from her i been waiting for that moment for him to just die from her i havent seen a anime like this for awhile now but very good anime

definitely needs more episodes soon

i really love how her personality becomes read more