Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Pingu in the City


Alternative Titles

English: Pingu in the City
Japanese: ピングー in ザ・シティ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2017 to Mar 31, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 09:20 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Other
Duration: 7 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 8.591 (scored by 8,631 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #762
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2468
Members: 26,708
Favorites: 711

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 10, 2017
CatSoul (All reviews)
Preliminary
In 1986, the “Pingu” animated children’s program began in its home country of Switzerland. The cartoon quickly became a worldwide hit because of its unique, universal method of storytelling and simple humor that entertained all ages. There were two countries in particular where “Pingu” became a massive hit: the United Kingdom and Japan. The United Kingdom-based company HIT Entertainment purchased the rights to “Pingu” for a whopping £15.9 million after production on the Swiss version was stopped in 2000. They used their investment to produce more episodes of the series from the years of 2003 to 2006.

Both the Swiss and British versions of “Pingu” were read more
Apr 6, 2018
MrXboxdylan (All reviews)
Pingu in the City is an amazing show with plenty of laughs. The characters are charming and the humor is top notch. The mimicking of the claymation stayed true to the original concept and the lack of dialogue makes this a universally appealing anime with no language barrier. Pingu in the City is very episodic and realistically you could watch any episode in any order back to back as there isn't any real overarching story. This is a simple kids show and a great one at that. Very little shows can capture the charming, carefree nature of children as well as this did. I personally read more
Nov 10, 2017
backdoornight (All reviews)
Preliminary
Pingu in the City's first weeks in MyAnimeList's database have been rather turbulent. We've got everything from obnoxious, unfunny kids giving it either extremely high or low scores and its occasional inclusion in the overall top 10 through spam-filled, rule-breaking 'reviews' to toxic discussions over its status as an "anime" given the lack of loud, spiky-haired boys and annoying copy/pasted teenaged girls with extremely large eyes among its characters.

Pingu in the City can be better described as a spin-off of sorts to the award-winning European animated series "Pingu". The Western version of this show features the titular Pingu's various stunts and misadventures in a South read more
Nov 11, 2017
HappyD (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is meant to be a fair preview of NHK’s 2017 children’s anime “Pingu in the City.”
In this preview, I aim to provide credible information regarding this anime to those who might look into this show no further than reading the reviews on this page.

Story 6/10:
As the newest season of a mainly episodic series with little to no overarching plot, Pingu in the City is by no means groundbreaking. With that being said, the 6 episodes of this season that have aired are far from bad. The stories are predictable and follow traditional themes of children’s storytelling, but there is a uniting theme read more
Apr 4, 2018
Eoussama (All reviews)
Just imagine over several thousand of years had passed, the human race would have gone extinct ages ago, and the wildlife had taken control over once again, some form of life descended to earth, and discovered the Disney park, now wouldn't they think we human, the previous residents of earth were worshiping Micky mouse, regarding him as a mighty god? well, what would happen if they were to get a copy of the Pingu in the city series? now that would be something to be looking for, wouldn't it? but seriously guys, the series that emerged from our dark nature of memes, and gained most read more
Apr 18, 2018
TK8878 (All reviews)
Review in brief: Pingu’s surprise anime reboot, while a resounding hit with pre-established fans of the European claymation series, is difficult to recommend to newcomers despite being fairly entertaining in its own right. Though this short series provides simple fun, it’s a definitive step down from the older claymation seasons. That said, if you’re already a fan you’ll probably like Pingu in the City just fine.

Review in full: Though this review is solely about Pingu in the City, it would be difficult to truly understand what’s right or wrong about it without looking back to its source. Originating from Switzerland read more
Oct 17, 2018
Ke_Zunjian (All reviews)
Pingu in the city is based on an older pingu which aired on 1990 to 2006. It was, at the time, the most enjoyable show I've ever watched when I was a child. Though granted, some of the details may have been lost in childish nostalgia but one thing is what I remembered from that old classic, I was anticipating each and every new episode in the morning whenever I get up. It's amazing to see that most of what I loved from the past still has been implemented in this show. All the characters I've come to know and love to the classic "noot-noot" read more
Jan 2, 2019
StargazerSazuri (All reviews)
As a child I grew up watching Pingu. Although, it was never my favorite, I did definitely enjoy it. After many years, I was surprised to find a reboot. I was crying. My childhood Anime!

Pingu in the city is an emotional masterpiece. From character design to the art and to the plot, everything is perfect. When I was watching the first few episodes, i didn't expect much. However, after episode 4, I realized it wasn't that this Anime was bad, it was different. Pingu is an original. Unlike other Anime out there that lure in hormonal teens with shirtless guys and short skirt girls, Pingu read more
Dec 12, 2018
Number1AnimooFan (All reviews)
The stopmotion clay animation is a dying art. Pingu in the City immerses itself in the dying embers and emerges as the magnificent phoenix which it is. The incredible sound design is orgasmic and Pingu's voice actor is honestly top tier. The character arcs are incredible and the development of not only the main character but also the side characters is immeasureable. The enjoyment level I got from watching this is too high. I had to change my underwear multiple times while watching as the sweat got too concentrated around my crotch and butt areas. Overall it is honestly a masterpiece that will honestly probably read more
Dec 2, 2018
GaylordSensei (All reviews)
Pingu's friends connects deeply with the consciousness of Pingu and catches a glimpse of memories that she retained but he forgot from their childhood. Pingu's friends sees how Pingu endured torturous experiments from Dr. Daddy and received a picture book called The Pingu and the Dingu , which was her one source of comfort, from a caretaker. Pingu and Pingu's friends caught their first glimpse of each other when she was being dragged into the lab, where she experienced painful experiments if a laser blowing a hole through her hand. A caretaker tries to take her book from her but Pingu fought back until read more