Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Evil or Live


Alternative Titles

English: Evil or Live
Synonyms: Lixiang Jinqu
Japanese: EVIL OR LIVE

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 11, 2017 to Jan 2, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:41 (JST)
Producers: Emon
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Web manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.011 (scored by 13,548 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #73842
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1854
Members: 39,397
Favorites: 63

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 3, 2018
GinKaYa (All reviews)
In this anime, it's about content or form. To me, content is far more important than form. Because form stimulates your emotional response while content stimulates your logical/rational response. It's about thinking what is happening in this anime(to be able to see the point) and not how it looks like, are characters pretty or not are they moving super smooth with great visual effects of fighting each other.

*** I have to mention, also that story is taken from real life scenario, where teens are placed in internet addiction camp in China, and there is even involved death from multiple external injuries.

If you want to create read more
Oct 31, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Preliminary
Alright, Evil or Live is not nearly as bad as the MAL score would suggest. Yes, the art is poor quality, but the budget is obviously very low.
Despite its relatively low quality, I've been enjoying it quite a bit.

It’s a show that has gotten a lot of hate because people went into it expecting a horror, rightfully so given the genre that MAL listed. But it’s not a horror, it’s a comedy that tries to scare you with an absurdly dramatized interpretation of the modern internet-addicted youth.

If you’re able to look at all of the horrible things that the internet does to teenagers read more
Jan 2, 2018
Tomm01p (All reviews)
"Oh dear, this'll be a long one"

That's was my exact reaction after watching the first episode of Evil or Live. A show that was misunderstood at first, as the tag of horror confused a lot of people, me included. But in reality, it doesn't really matter. Evil or Live is a shitshow no matter from which angle you look.

Suprisingly enough, the overall story isn't really that bad, atleast in comparison to other aspects of the show. We are introduced into a world, where internet addiction became a common disease for the young population. Hence, a new "treatment" school is founded, and nerds with the read more
Jan 2, 2018
Th3DarkLight (All reviews)
I came into this anime with open eyes; but honestly, it's not that good. (It's horrible)

Story 4:
Overall, the story is a little better than the common hero saves someone. The plot is unique, but you'll likely be unable to immerse yourself into the story due to the horrible execution.

Art 3:
Art is just a joke. Obvious frame shifts, poor movement, etc. all make the anime a cringe-fest to watch. The animators seemed to not care at all when trying to find shortcuts and just taped a bunch of pictures together for the animation instead.

Sound 2:
The characters laughs, grunts, voices, their everything just sucks. It read more
Nov 14, 2017
Houcky (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tried to enjoy this show and see what lies at the end of it, but I couldn't. I don't know why people are giving this show anything over a six honestly. Everything about this show is "off" and doesn't fit.

The character is an internet junkie and socially awkward but can handle himself in combat and charm others to his side? The sound and the voice acting doesn't fix the character expressions, the art tries to be serious and a cheap man chibi when funny, and I don't know why this show wants to be widescreen with black bars on the bottom and top. It read more
Nov 12, 2017
kaiidou (All reviews)
Preliminary
Honestly, this anime isn't at all what the reviews would suggest and I found it rather enjoyable. It's getting shit on because people had thought of it as a psychological thriller/horror but if anything this is a dark comedy. Stay woke my fellow weebs this isn't a shit show at all.

Story (8) - I like the whole idea of parents sending their internet-addicted children off to this hell. It's really modern and conceivable. But if you were to take in only that what the introduction gives you, you'll be pleasantly disappointed. Because like I stated at first this is a dark comedy IMO read more
Jan 2, 2018
PixEFit (All reviews)
Evil or Live has ended this season. I do not hesitate to say this is THE worst show of this fall season. Its strange to think I somewhat enjoyed this show. This show is about a shitty kid with internet addiction who gets sent off to a school in the middle of no where. In this school, the kids are treated harshly with multiple public beatings every day. There is a lot of corruption and schemes everywhere. From drug trafficking to sexual abuse, its all very edgy. Now, this show has no positive characteristics. Absolutely nothing about this show was good. The animation is choppy, read more
Dec 4, 2017
Danny222 (All reviews)
Preliminary
this is my first review, i never thought i would write a review but here comes the day cus i couldn't stand this anime getting such a low rating.
from what it looks like, they just didnt have alot of budget and thats the only reason the art is kinda lacking, but otherwise i personaly think that this anime should get higher a higher rating.

iv'e rated the story an 8 because i like the idea of kids being sent of to a prison-like school.

Art 7 - because its not like its made in the 90's its a decent looking anime with decent art-style

Sound 6 - read more
Jan 28, 2018
DMentMan (All reviews)
This is my very first review and the reason I am writing this is because of the low score this anime has, even though it's actually very enjoyable.

While this anime has a very low budget, which can be seen by the real life images used for props and such, I find the anime itself very enjoyable. Character's movement can be awkward at times and effects aren't all that great, but it is very watchable and excusable since the anime is a great one in my opinion.

The story is quite good and it makes you want to know more, although the ending felt a little read more
Dec 27, 2017
abhiss (All reviews)
Preliminary
Written after watching episode 11

*Takes deep breath*

HERE'S THE THING

Story

Makes no sense. Every got dang episode throws a new wrench into the already craptastic plot making it less and less realistic and interesting. The farther I watch the more confused and outright annoyed I get with how things are playing out simply because it isn't going anywhere. Nothing has even been resolved since episode 1! Y'know what's gonna happen? The final episode is going to come around where the writers say "Oh frack, we need to end it now? Uhhhh okay. *proceeds to 'resolve' everything in a crappy manner within the 20 minute time slot availbale*"
Why read more
Dec 7, 2017
levantinh (All reviews)
Preliminary
The MAL commmunity nowaday is so fucked up. Giving this amazing anime 5/10 just because the art style. For anyone who still haven't watch this anime, check it yourself, you may dislike the art, but give it a chance, keep watching, the plot get better and better, believe me.

Story: 9/10
Art: 6/10
Enjoyment: 10/10. This and Inuyakishi are the best anime this season in my opinion.

Thank you for taking your time to read my review. I want to write more but my english is so bad. This show is really good but the label is wrong, it's not horror, its more like comedy but with serious read more
Dec 7, 2017
TypicalAnimeLead (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't think this show is a horror or a comedy, its more of a drama, and i disagree i don't think its taking a jab at teens with an addiction to the internet, its clearly a story about a corrupt boot camp style school full of kids with shitty parents who cant take care of their own kids properly. The first episode did something important with the red letters spelling out reality when the kids were getting beat, even if these kids didn't understand ''reality'' showing them what it is like that would drive them even deeper into seclusion but read more
Feb 6, 2018
RyujinKatana (All reviews)
This series is a masterpece by Chinese standards and proof China is catching up in the anime-industry.
It being a low-budget anime, it should be judged accordingly as it would be unfair to pit it up against high-budget anime to make a comparison.
Which lead me to give it a score of 10, as judging fairly, they have done an excellent job with the ressources they had.

Story - 10
To understand this anime, and appreciate it, you have to understand that it is based on real events that happent in China. Where facilities were opened to rehabilitate internet-addicted students, that led in some cases to abuse and suicide, read more
Jan 22, 2018
Reggio (All reviews)
Good idea, bad execution. You could call this a modern teenage "Shawshank Redemption". The story is interesting and the characters had a good start.
The build up falls flat around the later middle though and the ending leaves loose ends in sideplots it had specially put emphasis just an episode before. The animation quality has to be overlooked for enjoyment; it's enough to make the point, but is at the edge of what I would call professional.
It feels like there was a good idea and spirit behind this series, but the team behind it was to little or unexperienced and started to fall apart towards the read more
Jan 10, 2018
Asterohnefos (All reviews)
For this low budget anime, I will use a different rating system.

A. Story - Character:
"Net Addiction" is so popular, it even appears on literature exam. But do we discuss it? No. Did any anime has done with this core idea before? No. So it's a very fresh and original. Something we might think but never too deep. Pretty predictable it has psychological which mean sure good content with mindbreak, fighting, control, smash or pass,... Very looking forward to.
So the more you watch, the more you know about what's happening (it likes playing "The Nonary Game" and you got all the bad ends first before the read more
Jan 3, 2018
Astor_Reinhardt (All reviews)
Story: A great story, something different from the usual anime you see...shame there's zero plot involved and what is there is confusing and muddled up. In the end, we get more questions then answers. No idea if they mean to give this another season or not but as it stands right now, that's not a great way to end an anime.

Art: Decent and pretty at times. Some of the characters looked very nice while others looked just...weird (Ban and Hyo stand out as looking really weird). The school looks dull but that's to be expected as it's setting. Nature outside the school is pretty. The read more
Jan 2, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Wow...just wow. I'm not gonna compare this to the other slew of shows that MAL's incomprehensible ratings can measure up in the Fall season. With that said, a lot of the shows from China haven't been graced with a lot of positivity from both Eastern and Westerners (e.g. Gin no Guardian) with a few exceptions (e.g. Fox Spirit Matchmaker), and Evil or Live falls within the latter being very bad, even from a Chinese manhwa adaptation.

Story:
The story at firsthand seems very believable, as one of the main first-world problems of the younger generation (myself included), experiencing internet addiction, and then the worst-case scenarios get sent read more
Dec 10, 2017
volleydorks (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story - 3
Art/Animation - 1 (the animation is ridiculously bad)
Sound - 3 (the VAs sound like they're just making random noises half of the time, honestly. And the MC's so whiny.)
Character - 1
Enjoyment - 2
Overall - 1

The premise of this anime is quite intriguing -- internet addicts are placed into a camp which is meant to prevent them from accessing the internet. The title itself, 'Evil or Live' was also something that made me want to watch it (you know, since evil backwards is live). However, the first episode was a bit of a disappointment. I watched on, hoping that it might get better, but read more
Jul 9, 2018
omry8880 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review, so please bear with me here.
Unfortunately, my first review has to be wasted on this anime, but I had to post it because of how bad this anime is. I don't find any joy in giving this anime the score I gave it, but that's what it's worth in my opinion.

So let's dive right in to the details:
Story (7/10) -

The story is pretty good. A guy gets trapped in a prison-like school and tries to get out asap with the girl he met there (which he also likes, obviously). This short description shows so much promise, and yet, everything read more
May 18, 2018
KaRue3 (All reviews)
I started this show wanting to gouge out my eyeballs from the horrible cross cut animation, the ridiculous fanservice, horrible characterization, and other things. However, as I watched this show I found that what is so bad about this show in my opinion is beyond just the surface layer. In China Internet Addiction Reform Camps are a thing, and this anime was based upon a Chinese manga inspired by this very concept.

Before I get to the meat of my problem with this anime, I'll start with the basics.


Story: Awful. It's like someone took all the main ideas from Kill la Kill and Deadman Wonderland read more