Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Evil or Live


Alternative Titles

English: EVIL OR LIVE
Synonyms: Lixiang Jinqu
Japanese: イーブル オア ライブ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 11, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:41 (JST)
Producers: Emon
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Web manga
Duration: 23 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 5.551 (scored by 4,638 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #79512
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2183
Members: 25,229
Favorites: 29

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Oct 31, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Alright, Evil or Live is not nearly as bad as the MAL score would suggest. Yes, the art is poor quality, but the budget is obviously very low.
Despite its relatively low quality, I've been enjoying it quite a bit.

It’s a show that has gotten a lot of hate because people went into it expecting a horror, rightfully so given the genre that MAL listed. But it’s not a horror, it’s a comedy that tries to scare you with an absurdly dramatized interpretation of the modern internet-addicted youth.

If you’re able to look at all of the horrible things that the internet does to teenagers read more
Nov 16, 2017
KaijiYagami (All reviews)
In this anime, it's about content or form. To me content is far more important than form. Because form stimulates your emotional response while content stimulate your logical/rational response. It's about thinking what is happening in this anime(to be able to see point) and not how it looks like, are characters pretty or not are they moving super smooth with great visual effects of fighting each other.

*** I have to mention, also that story is taken from real life scenario, where teens are placed in internet addiction camp in China, and there is even involved death from multiple external injuries.

If you want create awesome/the best/most read more
Nov 14, 2017
Houcky (All reviews)
Tried to enjoy this show and see what lies at the end of it, but I couldn't. I don't know why people are giving this show anything over a six honestly. Everything about this show is "off" and doesn't fit.

The character is an internet junkie and socially awkward but can handle himself in combat and charm others to his side? The sound and the voice acting doesn't fix the character expressions, the art tries to be serious and a cheap man chibi when funny, and I don't know why this show wants to be widescreen with black bars on the bottom and top. It read more
Nov 12, 2017
kaiidou (All reviews)
Honestly, this anime isn't at all what the reviews would suggest and I found it rather enjoyable. It's getting shit on because people had thought of it as a psychological thriller/horror but if anything this is a dark comedy. Stay woke my fellow weebs this isn't a shit show at all.

Story (8) - I like the whole idea of parents sending their internet-addicted children off to this hell. It's really modern and conceivable. But if you were to take in only that what the introduction gives you, you'll be pleasantly disappointed. Because like I stated at first this is a dark comedy IMO read more
Dec 4, 2017
Danny222 (All reviews)
this is my first review, i never thought i would write a review but here comes the day cus i couldn't stand this anime getting such a low rating.
from what it looks like, they just didnt have alot of budget and thats the only reason the art is kinda lacking, but otherwise i personaly think that this anime should get higher a higher rating.

iv'e rated the story an 8 because i like the idea of kids being sent of to a prison-like school.

Art 7 - because its not like its made in the 90's its a decent looking anime with decent art-style

Sound 6 - read more
Nov 26, 2017
PromiseKun (All reviews)
I don't understand why people have given poor ratings for this anime/This anime is better than Tokyo Ghoul or Sword Art Online.
It make experience how can I fought back my senseis in school.Fight against some who's stronger than me.
I am interested in physical works because of this anime.YOU COULDN'T FEEL THE EMOTION UNDERNEATH THE ANIME.
I hve watched many animes over 200+ and have listened to 1700+ utaite,vocaloid,utauloid songs.And also have read many mangas and hentais.
This Anime is one of the masterpiece like Steins Gate and Kimi No Na Wa.
Art is medium quality but the bodies of Shiori was nicely drawn.
Sound quality isn't determinable because there read more
Dec 7, 2017
levantinh (All reviews)
The MAL commmunity nowaday is so fucked up. Giving this amazing anime 5/10 just because the art style. For anyone who still haven't watch this anime, check it yourself, you may dislike the art, but give it a chance, keep watching, the plot get better and better, believe me.

Story: 9/10
Art: 6/10
Enjoyment: 10/10. This and Inuyakishi are the best anime this season in my opinion.

Thank you for taking your time to read my review. I want to write more but my english is so bad. This show is really good but the label is wrong, it's not horror, its more like comedy but with serious read more
Dec 13, 2017
SligaPuH (All reviews)
Interesting to watch. Though, it might not meet expectations of many people. Firstly it is worth to mention that the anime is Chinese. For some guys, this fact can be important. What I like the most is the absence of boring fillers and moments in general. Every episode is filled with some action without redundant crying or all-are-temporarily-happy scenes.

POOR Synapsis
It emphasizes on a wrong thing. Looks like the authors wanted to create one thing and it turned out to be different. The stuff about the Internet addiction illness looks more like a random thing which can be substituted or even deleted without a big harm read more
Dec 7, 2017
TypicalAnimeLead (All reviews)
I don't think this show is a horror or a comedy, its more of a drama, and i disagree i don't think its taking a jab at teens with an addiction to the internet, its clearly a story about a corrupt boot camp style school full of kids with shitty parents who cant take care of their own kids properly. The first episode did something important with the red letters spelling out reality when the kids were getting beat, even if these kids didn't understand ''reality'' showing them what it is like that would drive them even deeper into seclusion but read more
Nov 28, 2017
Th3DarkLight (All reviews)
I came into this anime with open eyes; but honestly, it's not that good.

Story 6:
Overall, the story is a little better than the common hero saves someone. The plot is unique, but you'll likely be unable to immerse yourself into the story due to the horrible execution.

Art 3:
Art is just a joke. Obvious frame shifts, poor movement, etc. all make the anime a cringe-fest to watch. The animators seemed to not care at all when trying to find shortcuts and just taped a bunch of pictures together for the animation instead.

Sound 2:
The characters laughs, grunts, voices, their everything just sucks. It sounds like read more
Oct 31, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
One thing to note of this show is that it's based off a Chinese manga, then made into Chinese animation and localized for Japanese people (since you know Haoliners/Emon Animation is purely anime made for the Chinese). So if you don't like Chinese literations of anime, you can easily skip this no problem, but if you're the rare few watching this after the less-than-stellar localized anime, hear me out.

Story:
Young men and women are experiencing "Net Addiction" (which is very popular in China), a manifest of feelings and emotions which withdraw them into virtual reality. In the order of all the things happening, The Elite Rehabilitation read more
Dec 10, 2017
KatsuDONT (All reviews)
Story - 3
Art/Animation - 1 (the animation is ridiculously bad)
Sound - 3 (the VAs sound like they're just making random noises half of the time, honestly. And the MC's so whiny.)
Character - 1
Enjoyment - 2
Overall - 1

The premise of this anime is quite intriguing -- internet addicts are placed into a camp which is meant to prevent them from accessing the internet. The title itself, 'Evil or Live' was also something that made me want to watch it (you know, since evil backwards is live). However, the first episode was a bit of a disappointment. I watched on, hoping that it might get better, but read more
Nov 1, 2017
Athereon (All reviews)
Here is the thing the overall story and place where the Evil or Live takes place is good, I like the art style, sound decent'ish, characters are pretty good.

But the main characters voice actor sounds terrible sometimes, the characters writting is completely impossible to empathize or see anything good. He looks idiotic with his actions, thoughts, has zero idea where he is, wants to do complete idiotic things, deals with the "Devil" and then spits in his face and acts like a "hero". I can't count the ammount of crignyness I had watching this anime due to this character even more than in Highschool DxD read more
Nov 1, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
This show is about kids that have become addicted to technology and internet usage so their parents send them to a school to reform them. The catch is that the school is like a prison with little actually in class time and brutal training where if you fall out of line you will be physically punished. Now, this show has all the elements of a good show but at the same time, it lacks. Everything is taken to the extremes and that might put some people off. It is a serious story that will throw jokes at you in between and it does that pretty read more