Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Asagao to Kase-san.


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Morning Glory and Kase-san, Kase-san and Morning Glories
Japanese: あさがおと加瀬さん。

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 9, 2018
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Zexcs
Source: Manga
Duration: 58 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.901 (scored by 10,160 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7002
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2540
Members: 27,567
Favorites: 244

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 19, 2018
nozoparfait (All reviews)
Asagao to Kase-san is the most accurate depiction of a lesbian couple I have ever seen. Being a lesbian myself, this OVA made me so extremely happy and I really recommend it to other lesbians and bi or questioning women.
Although I love this movie, there is little story until towards the end, which is why I gave it a lower rating. The art and music is absolutely amazing. I fell in love with both the main characters, Yamada and Kase. Every moment of them interacting with each other just gave me such a great feeling.
Overall, Kase-san had me laughing, crying, and very happy. I read more
Jun 21, 2018
Erasariel (All reviews)
(Review is spoiler-free.)

The agonizing wait for a good vanilla yuri anime has ended. Asagao to Kase-san brilliantly delivers a finely crafted lesbian love story, with romance and drama blended in perfect proportion.

Vanilla yuri fans have had a rough time when it comes to original anime or adaptations. Although there have been tons of series with undertones of lesbian relationships, outright and/or serious lesbian romance hasn't really graced anime since Sasameki Koto and Aoi Hana (2009) or Sakura Trick (2014). With the recent advent of adaptations of derivative yuri series Netsuzou Trap and Citrus, I had hoped that this would herald a revival in good old read more
Jun 24, 2018
OneSaltyPenguin (All reviews)
(Spoiler free !)

I had very high expectations for this OAV since I've been following the manga for a long time now.

I was not disappointed.

The episode tells us the story of Kase and Yamada a little after they start dating (if you haven't seen the PV you should it's only 6 mins long and tells us how they start dating). It follows the general guideline of the manga but since the OAV is only 1 hour long, they decided to cut some scenes which I respect.

Story-wise this is excellent. We can see how the girls struggle but it never falls into angst. The read more
Jun 30, 2018
esaoud (All reviews)
This is one of the most shallow, frivolous anime I have ever watched. It has exactly two good points: Art and cutesy moments (which is at least 50% art, the rest voice acting and atmosphere). But outside of that there is nothing I can even find remotely redeemable about this anime.

A quick list of some of the very obvious problems with this anime:

- SHALLOW characters: Yamada is literally just the insecure, innocent, shy girl. That's everything about her character. She loves Kase, because she is nice? She gardens because why not give her a random hobby. The friend, while being my favorite character, read more
Jul 20, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
I was blinded by the lesbian-lensflare, then made speechless by the fluffy things, and further impressed by none other than the innocent, 2pure4thisworld romance development.

I really dig into that cute lesbian shit -- such as Tamen De Gushi and Stretch-- but both of these are manga series and not Taiwanese-origin cartoons which obviously sucks. Asagao to Kase-san is here to offer what has always been missing from this medium.

We find two lesbanese school girls in a relationship which focuses on them doing cute relationship thingies in awkwardness, experiencing what loving someone is all about. Unfortunately, it proves to be quite hard because they just read more
Jul 2, 2018
ProtectRika (All reviews)
Kase-san is everything I've ever wanted from a yuri anime. It's near perfection! Sweet and cute romance, great voice acting and music, and surprisingly amazing animation. The story isn't anything mind blowing and the characters aren't particularity "deep", but this is by far the best straightforward yuri romance anime out there!

I was worried hearing that this OVA was only going to be an hour and was scared it might be a confusing mesh of different chapters from the manga. But it was actually really well paced. A perfect balance of cute moments, loving moments, brief jealousy, exploration of sexuality, and earned impactful drama. It really read more
Nov 26, 2018
GuanYu_7 (All reviews)
Asagao-kase san probably is the most satisfying and wholesome movie i have ever seen. The two main characters shining in every scene they meet each other, their bond is strong and the feelings that they share are about the same, feelings of love, of care, affection and all these stuff that melt my heart. Yui's pure intentions but with great anguish to discover and gain new experience and Kase's dynamic with feelings of admiration and allready erotic disposal create a woderful picture of a fantastic romance story. Even if they didnt succed to take their relationship on step futher the excitement when they meet was read more
Jul 3, 2018
Jaguar-chan (All reviews)
A six out of ten. I liked it, however I have one minor complaint near the end of the review.

The amount of fluff in this thing is real high. I wouldn’t call it the fluffiest romance ever, and definitely not the fluffiest show ever, however it’s up there.

The character acting is top-notch. As in, QUALITY. The lead character’s emotes are ridiculously cute and the little leaves that sprout out of her hair were honestly genius. Character sakuga in this OVA is off-the-charts. One could definitely go about analyzing the animation much further.

The rest of the art is also fairly beautiful, but it has nothing striking read more
Nov 28, 2018
captjoe213 (All reviews)
Hi! Welcome to another Robert's Too Late Review! Today we're tackling the single episode (OVA/movie/whatever) Asagao to Kase-san! As always check the synopsis, all that boring stuff. As we noted in the Kuttsukiboshi review, it will be a good bit harder to avoid general or even more specific spoilers due to the short duration of the anime. This is not a 100% clean no-spoiler review. If the overall number doesn't tell the story, the quick of it is I do recommend this anime, if you want to opt out now and go in 'blind'.

With that out of the way, we can move on to read more
Oct 17, 2018
Helo-chan (All reviews)
Okay this is my first review :3

Well, I think it's missing a review in Portuguese for the community about this incredible OVA.

Asagao to Kase-san é simplesmente diferente de tudo que eu já vi (Sakura Trick, Strawberry Panic, Citrus, entre outros). Retrata de um jeito espontâneo e "livre" a relação entre as duas meninas principais. Não tem cenas com exagero no tema sexo, não tem situações revoltantes como Citrus ("Não podemos porque somos irmãs.") e a animação é simplesmente divina.

A única parte que me decepcionou um pouco é que a menina mais alta parece "o homem da relação", eu acho isso ridículo, mas foi o read more
Jul 21, 2018
Botmj (All reviews)
The only good thing I have to say about this is the art and sound. Anything else, including the plot, character, and character interactions ranges from mediocre to cringeworthy. In Asagao to Kase-san, the anime rides itself on the fluff as well as the small dramas in their relationship; it's really the only two things that happens.

Before I talk about the bad parts of the anime I want to say, if you enjoy art and like the aesthetic you see going on, Asagao to Kase-san will be an utter delight. Also the voice actors are nice and Yamada sounds precious. As for Kase, I'm read more
Sep 15, 2018
Snowysknows (All reviews)
Story: 7

(Spoiler free)
The movie may had not showed how our two main girls met each other, What part they chose to be portrayed in this movie was perhaps a nice choice. I personally haven't read the manga so I don't know if there could've been a better selection of scenes to portray but other than that I'd say it's still rather enjoyable though at sometimes it could get a little boring.


Art: 9

Even though everyone has what some call "Same-face-syndrome" where every character's style of face looks the same, the art style is very calming and possibly one of the greatest things about this movie, Lot's read more
Sep 14, 2018
elledriverxc (All reviews)
I love me a good wholesome shoujo-ai. And that's what Asagao to Kase-san is. None of the usual yuri fanservice tropes are there; it's just a simple love story between two high school girls.

The only problem is...it's a boring story. The best part (realization of love and culmination to confession!!!) happens before the OVA begins, so you're left in this weird zone of not really understanding the relationship between the two mains. Yes...they're dating but...it seems like they're not? They *say* they're attached to each other, but we never have the pleasure of watching the relationship develop, so there's no real chance for viewers to read more
Jul 12, 2018
01Sharjeel (All reviews)
Asagao to Kase-san is everything I ever wanted in a Yuri Anime. Beautiful art-style, simple yet a really heart warming story and really lovable characters.

So let's start with the characters first:

Kase, Tomoke who is one of the Main characters of the show. A girl who is very athletic and is extremely popular among other girls. Pretty cliche right? But who cares if it's cliche or not as long as it's done right and looks fine.

Yamada, Yui is our second Main character of the show. She is a very light-hearted, shy and innocent type of a girl whose most favorite hobby is gardening. read more
Dec 28, 2018
Kyonale (All reviews)
As I started watching this I realized I was seeng just a fragment of the story, and once you get that out of your head, you can enjoy it.

The art and the sound arre lovely, so there's no way you can question that aspect of this OVA

Asagao to Kase-san depicts quite accurately the problems of a couple who just started dating, and on their last year of school, and some others that go beyond that time lapse and scenario.

Fun fact: (watch out for a spoiler)

When Yamada was runnig to the train station I found myself yelling to Kase-san to wait a little longer...
Dec 20, 2018
Occupyingmyeyes (All reviews)
Having read the manga online, I knew I was going to love watching this.

I loved watching this.

Everyone who is a fan of the Yuri genre should watch this. It's cute, fluffy, and beautiful. It's pretty much everything I was personally looking for in Yuri, being someone who loves vanilla romances. It was everything I expected and I just loved seeing how much love and fluff was put into this :3. As much as I'm enjoying In Bloom, and liked Citrus for my own reasons, I knew this was going to be my favorite Yuri romance just because of how much Yui and Kase read more
Nov 28, 2018
Leyren (All reviews)
It's short, it's yuri, it's beautiful.

First off, you have to be aware of 2 things:
- It is a promotional OVA for the manga with only a bit less than 1 hour. It basically summarizes/adapts a portion of the main story from like the first 11 (?) manga chapters.
- It is purely romance, and yuri at that. So if you can't accept lesbian romance, this won't be for you.

Other than that, it's simply a nice fluffy romance. There is no deep tragic drama (but it isn't completely plain either), it's the kind of romance you simply can lay back and enjoy the adorableness.

The story read more
Oct 22, 2018
AngelWin14 (All reviews)
Asagao to Kase-san OVA was really good. It didn’t disappoint. I could really tell that they adapted the source material really well. I’m so happy!

The OVA starts off around the time when Yamada & Kase were just started dating. You get to see their really really cute innocent & awkward moments together. But it’s not only happiness and rainbows, we get to see the struggles of the couple, especially on Yamada’s part, as Kase is quite popular in their school. If we compare this to the manga, they sure skipped alot of scenes and chapters. Still, the OVA feels compact and complete, like the scriptwriter read more
Aug 22, 2018
Fire (All reviews)
I've heard nothing but good things about Asagao to Kase-san, ranging from its frivolous cutesy moments to pure and innocent romantic atmosphere, so I had to check it out for myself to see if it really lived up to the praise it had been receiving. To sum up my thoughts, it did certainly match what people had been saying to a tee, but yet I still left feeling strangely unsatisfied with the experience afterwards. Somehow it didn't sit right with me; maybe I'd expected too much out of a 1-hour OVA and thought it would have more substance than what there actually was, or maybe read more
Jul 21, 2018
MoriHimari (All reviews)
I named it "homosexual shoujo"
Simply love it. This is the type of yuri I was searching all my life, so pretty and pure, also like a real lesbian couple and without that "comedy" or fanservice included in others of the genre (It's totally respectable, but not my type of yuri...)
If you're searching for a lesbian romance anime I think this is perfect. I enjoyed it a lot, was like a flash lol, and the art is so sooo beautiful, reminds me a little of Makoto Shinkai films, it has that type of relaxing aura.
You can empatize well with the characters and her situations, I thinks read more