Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Garo: Vanishing Line


Alternative Titles

English: GARO -VANISHING LINE-
Japanese: 牙狼〈GARO〉-VANISHING LINE-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2017 to Mar 30, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:23 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.281 (scored by 12,279 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #25202
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1782
Members: 44,000
Favorites: 89

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 21, 2017
ColorIsles (All reviews)
Preliminary
At this time 11 episodes have aired now. This show is a good one, it evolves over time and becomes more in depth. Action is good and to be be honest the different stories are entertaining it's a show like I said before evolves in the sense that you feel like your watching two shows but in a engaging way. Characters are solid and certain backstories are explained very well. For me it's an entertaining show to pass by the time but certainly not my favorite.

Don't worry about the rating as you may like the show and think much higher of it.
Mar 30, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Sometimes, old ideas never die and Garo is an example that feels timeless regardless what setting it takes in. Upon being announced for a new anime series, I was rather ecstatic upon realizing the setting this show would take place. Contrary to some of the past series that took place in dark fantasy world, we got a modern Garo. That’s right, a series that takes place in modern times with politics, technology, and new dangers lurking in the shadows.

Confession time. I’m actually not a huge Garo fan. In fact, my first exposure to the franchise is from 2014 when Garo: The Animation aired. Basically, I read more
Oct 28, 2017
salman7 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all its no sequel of other Garos , so you dont need to watch any other Garo series in order to understand this 1 , so feel free to give a start.
I already watch the Garo animation so i know little bit about the monsters.This garo is an awesome series so far.Its 10/10 for me.
You got a cool Male mc that is badass and A girl who got guts to stand against horror , she is trying to find her brother tho.Don't worry if you wanna see badass girl then this series have 1.In episode 3 you will find a S rated badass read more
Mar 30, 2018
dadnaya (All reviews)
Would you like to get HYPED? Are you looking for some action? Here is the place!

Garo:Vanishing line is a standalone anime, so you don't need to watch the older Garos in order to watch this one. What is this about? Well the sypnosis probably tells it better but in summary: Knights and Alchemists fighting Horrors, making their way to uncover the mysteries of El Dorado.

Why did I like it so much? Because it was great. It did exactly what I was looking for.

Sometimes it feels like shows try to make action anime epic yet fail with some underhanded tactics. Either fights ending too soon, or read more
Mar 30, 2018
Zarnaav (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MILD SPOILERS

Garo: Vanishing Line is the third Garo TV series, with a modern setting with action happening in Russell City, it follows the story of Sword, a makai knight who dons the golden armor to protect human from the eternal threat called horror which comes to this world from Makai Realm using humans negative emotions, Gina, a makai priest who uses spells to destroy horrors, Luke, who uses guns to hunt horrors and Sophie, a girl who is searching for her brother.

Great unique story, well paced episodes having well choreographed battles, characters which whom you will instantly love and a ride that read more
Mar 30, 2018
Raggadish (All reviews)
As a MAPPA fan, I almost never deny their shows a try, with Garo: Vanishing Line being no exception. And it was actually a quite nice watch. Nothing mind-blowing or world-changing, but a comfortable and colourful watch. This is my first entry to the Garo-franchise, so I will have no comparisons with the other series in the Garo-universe in my review.

The story is a bit slow paced, taking its time to its finishing line (yes, pun intended). As gathered from the synopsis, the main story is about the girl Sophie Hennes and the Makai knight Sword, and their common goal to find this read more
Jan 22, 2018
Yarakumi (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have a feeling that this show is underrated. Many does not give it a chance because of CGI even tho it is only used in some parts that require it.

It is a very entertaining and action-packed story which is certainly one of the better action animes.
It is a world where humans who get too much hatred and greed might be consumed by the darkness and be turned into a monster who kills for something "El Dorado" which the protectors are trying to find out about.


There are so many different stories and moments, and you get to know many characters in a special read more
Mar 30, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Garo: Vanishing Line, the 3rd installment of the Garo series, which *SPOLIER TIME* if you don't know, here's a trait of these types:
1) Every Garo story takes place in a different city (Spain, Japan, US)
2) Whatever the story is, the good vs. evil divergence story setting is STILL the same with Makai Knights vs. Horrors and the masterminds behind each series
3) Expect intense action with good yet improving CGI since all of the Garo anime series are done by the one and only MAPPA.

...except, when you realize who's directing this series, and it's a Korean! This is Park Sunghoo's 1st role as director, and while read more
Jul 29, 2018
Itsumiyo (All reviews)
[Some considerations:
1. I haven't watched the previous Garo series so I'll write this based just on Vanishing Line.
2. I don't pretend to go deep.
3. No spoilers.]

I got hyped by Garo: Vanishing Line trailer, I think the promotional video is great. The first episode is really catching: animation, art, soundtrack and fight scenes are outstanding.

No doubt that the strong points of Vanishing Line are the same of the debut episode: Soundtrack, fights and art/animation. I'm amazed by their OST and how they managed to fit the animation (fights, calm scenes, dramatic scenes, etc). I would recommend Garo: Vanishing Line for anyone who enjoys great read more
Aug 28, 2018
CarelessForce (All reviews)
Garo: Vanishing Line is a fun anime with fantastic style that unfortunately just lasts too long.

The visuals are great, the concept entertaining and the soundtrack is so good, it's the best part of many scenes. However, the many episodic side stories mean it's all repeated too often, allowing it to go stale before the end.

Once the show starts to get boring, it's a lot easier to notice the poor writing and inconsistencies, as well as more difficult to forgive them.

There's a lot of fanservice in this but it's all western-friendly, only adult characters. The humour isn't great but it does keep the show from getting read more
Mar 30, 2018
rachachan (All reviews)
Story 8 / 10:

For me the story really kept my attention from beginning to end. I was interested in it even with some of the "filler" episodes with side stories for some of the main characters. I think it was a very engaging story up until the very end and while I predicted a few of the plot points along the way, most of the reveals were surprising to me and that kept the story even more interesting. While it didn't move me to tears myself, there were also plenty of moments that struck my heart and I think that's effective.

Art 7 / 10:

The art read more
Feb 16, 2018
aonoau (All reviews)
Preliminary
I feel like if you subscribe to the 3 episodes and then bail mentality you will be losing out on this one. The story and relationships therein are built up gradually with each episode. There is mystery involved that I am only really starting to unravel now in the 18th episode. I find myself progressively more stoked when another episode is released. I'm quite interested to find out how this ends.

I see reference to the use of CG. I personally greatly dislike CG. What was used is subtle and scant.

The reviewer who stated something to the effect of this being like watching 2 shows in read more
May 2, 2018
Lazaros742 (All reviews)
So i have never seen any other anime in this family... but it was very interesting to watch. There is a lot about the nature of the Horrors that i did not understand from the anime as a stand alone, maybe they were answered in the previous animes. The setting is very interesting and takes you to a bunch of different places, giving you a bit of variety. The story is probably its weakest point but it had a lot of potential. The battle scenes were fun and cool but at some point they started to feel flashy for flashinesses sake. The characters were all read more