Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Toshokan Sensou


Alternative Titles

English: Library Wars
Synonyms: Library War, Toshokan Kakumei, Library Revolution, Library Rebellion, Library Crisis
Japanese: 図書館戦争

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 11, 2008 to Jun 27, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:45 (JST)
Licensors: Discotek Media
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.541 (scored by 20,069 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15842
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1706
Members: 51,837
Favorites: 356

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 10, 2008
Archaeon (All reviews)
Toshokan Sensou (or The Library Wars), is another one of those odd anime that I seem to end up reviewing. The show has a nice premise which is reminiscent of Orwell's 1984 and Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451 all rolled into one.

The anime is based on a series of four light novels by Arikawa Hiro (entitled Toshokan Sensou, Nairan, Kiki, and Kakumei respectively), which were published from 2006 to 2007. The novels were later serialized in two mangas. The first manga was made by Yumi Kiiro, and published in Lala magazine from September 2007. The second was made by Furudori Yayoi, and was published Dengeki Daioh magazine read more
Aug 4, 2009
freesia64 (All reviews)
I just happened to hear about this anime by chance from another website. The premise was interesting so I decided to give it a try and was totally amazed. The storyline, characters, artwork, and sound are engrossing and completely draw you in. While the characters themselves may not be completely unique, their interactions with one another and the realistic emotional outbursts are i think rare among most anime.

Most people don't really mention this but I also consider this a full romance. The relationship between the main characters develops more naturally over time. They are not sappy or fake but there was a lovely tenderness read more
Aug 10, 2008
formosan (All reviews)
I tried really hard to hate this anime. I watched the first episode and I was absolutely geared up to hate the whole thing and bring all my negative emotional baggage down on it.

I failed. I fell in love with this anime.

It deals with a war very unlike Western wars, and with laws very unlike Western laws. In the real world war is incredibly lawless and ugly, and law enforcement is terrible. But this anime deals with an extremely civilized war with very strict rules of engagement, very limited weapons, and scrupulous regard for human life, so it's not like watching read more
Jan 7, 2009
Ilyaoh (All reviews)
This was probably one of the best decision to watch back in 2008.

The story is about a special trained military force for the "Library", to protect good, fun and important books. It sounds intresting, but not good enough.

The characters and the art help you through the series, in which the story develops nicely. The characters are done great, their backgrounds, relations and personalities, they really look like humans which just got animated, through their personalities that is.

The art is okay, sometimes they could've drawn more realistic, some female characters look too much on their male co-characters. But that's probably meant to be that way, read more
Apr 29, 2019
Diana_Sofia (All reviews)
I really enjoyed the series, although I don't think it can be recommended to everyone. The idea, although not unique, is handled in a very special way. It's a combination of slice of life and romance, with a few action and comedy moments.
The main idea, - of two factions fighting and having legal permission to do so, - does seem a bit unrealistic. The pacing is really slow in the beginning. I had to wait for 4 episodes to finally get invested in the characters and the overall plot. But the rest of the series, including the movie, were worth it.
Characters are just great, in read more
Apr 7, 2011
Inushinde (All reviews)
To really enjoy this series, there are two hurdles that must be passed:

1. Disbelief of the fact that these people are fighting to the death over books
2. The extremely dull and lifeless opening

With that small disclaimer aside, Toshokan Sensou is an anime series that follows the beaten path in many regards, but does it so well that the lack of originality can be forgiven. Nothing is done here that hasn't been done before, and not every single element works, but it's certainly satisfactory as a brisk watch. Some series try to wow with deep drama, complex plots, and dizzying relationship webs. Others opt for read more
Dec 22, 2008
mel-hime (All reviews)
Toshokan Sensou is one of my very favorite series. The only thing that bothered me about it was that it was too good for only 12 episodes. I really wanted more.
The story is interesting. Though not something genuinely unheard of, the way it portrays the humanity and realness of the events has turned it into something great. I found it realistic, funny, but sad also at times. What proved to me that it was a great series were the funny moments between the characters. Especially Doujo and Kasahara were just too amazing.
I also liked that it had a very nice and sweet romance fragrance embedded read more
Apr 4, 2012
deoxys101 (All reviews)
I just came across Toshokan Sensou by browsing through some animé lists here. I'm not Japanese, nor am I knowledgeable in the language, so I didn't really know what "Toshokan Sensou" meant until I read the translations: "Library War."

My initial reaction was "...what?" simply because it's a combination of two words you'd least expect to be together in a sentence, never mind a title. I also saw it was tagged as a romance animé, and I'm a sucker for shows with a little bit of romance (think of Ed and Winry's scenes amidst all the twists and turns of the Brotherhood storyline) Then again, here read more
Sep 27, 2012
Pyrokenesist (All reviews)
This anime is quite unique, but not bad my any stretch. The storyline is most likely to most unique thing about it, followed by the characters. The art and sound are pretty typical.

Story: Something that could definitely happen in America, probably already started happening, but on a much more technological level. The seizing of Historical documents that portray the government unfavorably, because if you don't know your history, it's bound to repeat itself? Yes. A government military is created to hopefully stop this

Art: Pretty Typical, much like Nodame Cantabile, or Lovely Complex, read more
Sep 6, 2018
LunaPrecure (All reviews)
【 The following is a review of : Toshokan Sensou and Toshokan Sensou: Kakumei no Tsubasa 】

Toshokan Sensou, or Library Wars, it's English name on Crunchyroll, is beautiful monotony. As many of you already know, Production I.G. is known for animating very pretty things.

• I.G. collaborated with GAINAX for the End of Evangelion and other very successful projects. You may be thinking, well duh, Luna. Get to the point! The point is: The actual director of this series, Takayuki Hamana, apart from the studio, hasn't worked on much.

• This isn't always something that ruins a series. I mean, he did direct Beast Player read more
Dec 28, 2011
AnimeTroll1088 (All reviews)
Story: The premise of the story is really strange when you first read the summary. Libraries in the year 2019 have become militarized battle zones between the pro censorship group / against censorship group. You may first think this is really unrealistic but in the 21st century censorship is still a big problem around the globe. Books/movies/and other forms of media are deliberately censored/ blacklisted by governments. Aside from that the show is a cliched romantic comedy. Since it is a 12 episode series it felt kinda rushed as well but it is expected. If you think about it, this series would most likely read more
Oct 14, 2010
NoblesseOblige3 (All reviews)
Toshokon Sensou is a show about a war that takes place in the future between an army that enforces censorship on all forms of media and a force who ensure the safety of all books and media by creating a special task force to keep them safe.

The show follows Kasahara Iku as she joins this Task Force, you will see her in her happiest times and her struggles with various people as well as finding love.

Art/Animation
Some people might not like the art because it does use a thicker black border but personally i like it and it added nicely, the characters were all designed well, read more
Jan 24, 2012
Bishounen_Hunter (All reviews)
Hello Everyone! If you are a little sick and tired of the regular run-of-the-mill, clichéd anime shows out there, then boy do I have a gem of an anime to recommend to you guys! Toshokan Sensou or Library Wars is the perfect solution to break up that anime monotony. It's an intelligently written, 12 episode series that's got a small cast so you don’t have to wrack your brains trying to remember 42 million characters. It's got comedy, action, romance and even some political intrigue! It's done by Studio IG, the same people who animated the Ghost in the Shell series. So visually it's very read more
May 26, 2010
Noofar (All reviews)
Library War is an enticing anime of how people fight for their rights of freedom to read, watch and so on. It is an amazing display of how one must fight to obtain what they want?! The main character starts off at the low-level as a trainee then little by little she gains experience, love and encouragement!? You will fall in love with the anime as it has a good amount of comedy even though it is not that much and the amount of romance is all under but you will realize how one needs to protect themselves to achieve what they deserve.

The main read more
Oct 5, 2016
camay1997 (All reviews)
Usually my reviews are a catalog of what I didn’t like in a series but, I don’t think I can love this anime more. First of all there’s none of the bad anime cliches I’ve grown to loathe over the years in it. Sure Iku Kasahara does her fair share of yelling about what’s right and just in this world, but most of the time that’s shut down by the other characters who remind her (and us the viewer) that the real world is more shades of grey than black or white. It’s not outrageous cyber punk nor is it rife with needless fanservice. It read more
Sep 11, 2016
Polkadottedsky (All reviews)
I'm a bit lazy so I'm also doing this on behalf of the animated movie into this review, I know that's probably a bad idea or a wrong style but laziness. This was also the start of my admiration of Tomoaki Maeno when I had no idea who he was, the voice actor of our Doujou.

Story, I don't even remember or know how I gave this a try but I do remember the fact that this wasn't my usual style, especially with army/military theme or cliche. I was able to broaden up my taste of theme even more. Book burning, restriction, censoring, librarians defending back, read more
Feb 19, 2016
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Set in the near-future, Library War is focused on the members of the Library Team Defense Force, a military organization created by local governments in defiance of a censorship bill where the country's military has authority to confiscate and destroy books considered "harmful" to Japanese society. The title's main focus is on new recruit Iku Kasahara, who learns of the challenges that go into the fight against censorship with the defense force and putting up with the rigid training of her instructor Atsushi Dojo.

To a good extent, Library War is focused on the regular operations of the Library Team Defense Force as they handle different read more
Dec 9, 2012
mrsKWON (All reviews)
At first the story and plot seems a bit ridiculous. I mean, it’s not every day you encounter a story about library war. However, as you watch it, you will surely understand the weight of the plot and what message it’s trying to give to the viewer. It shows how important it is for us to be informed and gain knowledge from books, magazines, internet, newspapers, tv shows, movies, and anime/manga. Without it, all of us would be kept in the dark of what really is happening to the world. But more importantly, it shows that we should fight for it. Having rules doesn’t necessarily read more
Apr 19, 2013
Caraniel (All reviews)
Likeable characters, lulzy concept and excellent animation.

PLOT: I watched Toshokan Sensou back when it was airing and remember being very entertained by it. It’s all very light and fluffy as the series focuses on the characters rather than dwelling on the whole censorship war that is the setting. Basically the premise is that this is a world were censorship of books and the media is a big issue and two factions are perfectly willing to spill blood over books and freedom of the press. Its in this climate that Kasahara Iku decides to join the Library Task Force to follow in the footsteps of read more
Nov 4, 2016
GamerPrincess (All reviews)
I am reviewing this anime after watching it twice and reading the manga about 10+ times. So, I started with the anime. I was looking for a good anime with a tsundere type character and a decent romance line. This caught my eye mainly by the reviews on myanimelist. So I watched it and it began to intrigue me. It never pulled me fully in but it did introduce me to the manga which made me OBSESSED!

I get it, manga will always usually reign supreme as it doesn't have the restrictions anime do. However, there were some read more