Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kimi no Suizou wo Tabetai


Alternative Titles

English: I want to eat your pancreas
Synonyms: KimiSui, Let Me Eat Your Pancreas
Japanese: 君の膵臓をたべたい

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 1, 2018
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Studio VOLN
Source: Novel
Genres: Drama
Duration: 1 hr. 48 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.631 (scored by 52,724 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #828
Members: 132,703
Favorites: 2,928

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 1, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
'I Want to Eat Your Pancreas' is a common drama production to this industry. It offers generic school settings with rather superficial teenage characters. The only thing it tries to accomplish is toy with its viewers' emotions to the point of some cheap tearjerking. Those who are okay with this will most definitely see how the movie accomplishes exactly all the thing it wants to. Those who want something more from anime, should look elsewhere.

This movie is a story about death. It starts when the most perfect mary sue on the planet starts randomly talking with a no-life loser dude who happens to be her read more
Jan 22, 2019
AurumGG (All reviews)
Kimi no Suizou wo Tabetai (I Want to Eat Your Pancreas) is predictable, heavy-handed, unoriginal, and, yet, I still love this film. I do not love the movie in any sort of guilty-pleasure way either; I unironically think Kimi no Suizou wo Tabetai is one of the best anime films I have ever seen. Why, though? Well, the film uses its predictability, heavy-handedness, and unoriginality to craft a message that is so unbelievably powerful, and it struck a chord with me and left my emotions in absolute, complete shambles. I honestly doubt most people could misinterpret the themes of Kimi no Suizou wo Tabetai, so read more
Oct 19, 2018
TheDragon3042 (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

A lot of anime fans seem to be under the impression that as long as some sort of tragedy is featured and said tragedy happens to a cute girl, an anime automatically qualifies as “good” with its flaws being dismissed due to its label as a ‘tearjerker’ or ‘feels’ anime. Kimi no Suizou wo Tabetai, or ‘I Want to Eat Your Pancreas’, is a recent addition to this label and, while falling into the same traps as many of its predecessors, the movie manages to accumulate even more flaws on its own, resulting in something that is ultimately underwhelming.

[Note: This review was read more
Dec 19, 2018
eizeral (All reviews)
Say what you want about this movie being generic or being acclaimed only because it is a “tearjerker”, but I don’t care. I loved this movie, and I cried my eyes out. The reason people love tearjerkers is because people want to be moved. We want to experience something that will truly take us away from our lives and make us feel something so strong that we are moved to tears. This movie did just that. In an effort to avoid spoiling anything for anyone, I won’t write about the climax and ending, but it was unexpected. That said, I couldn’t imagine it ending any read more
Oct 22, 2018
fillyy (All reviews)
Kimi no Suizou wo Tabetai, also known by the English title "I want to eat your pancreas", is a drama anime film with tragedy. It is about an outgoing girl who has a pancreatic illness which she has not told anyone except her family that she has this illness. A boy from her class stumbles upon her diary that she left in the hospital and she comes back to fetch the diary only to realise that he read it so she ends up telling him about her illness. Due to this secret knowledge of theirs that none of their classmates know about, they start to read more
Feb 16, 2019
Optigisa (All reviews)
"I Want to Eat Your Pancreas" is one of the worst excuses for a movie I have ever seen!

There will be spoilers! This review goes out to people who have seen the movie. If you liked it, please note that this is my own opinion, no need to bash on me. If you disliked it then this review is for you.

This movie starts off with our main girl, who is annoying, very annoying. She has no manners, forgets about the rules of the library (basically shouts all the time and annoys readers around her), and does not respect main character's privacy. She also read more
Dec 19, 2018
kokuborou (All reviews)
See you can make a memorable modern movie if you want too Japan! Made by a studio who nobody even heard about it "I want to eat your pancreas" is a rare gem that everyone must see! Like Frank Sinatra's song "Strangers in the Night" I too was a stranger before coming across this movie. This movie is a letter of love addressed to life who despite being short is damn gorgeous!

A strong point in this movie is how simple and enjoyable it manages to present the story for its audience. The strong willed female lead character made the story so damn enjoyable and read more
Dec 18, 2018
TodAboT (All reviews)
"I want to eat your pancreas" was very hard to sit through. Not because it was heartbreaking, but because it was really bland.

The story is simple, but good; it just needs to have characters we care about for the story to be good. This is where the movie completely falls apart for me.

The two main characters are very two dimensional, and only one of them is even likable: The likable one is the happy/extroverted one, the other one is the book otaku. The only good scenes are the ones where the extroverted one does things, usually by herself.
The side characters are really annoying and repetitive.

On read more
Dec 18, 2018
Fire (All reviews)
This review vaguely goes over themes discussed at later points in the film. Read with caution.

I've been forward to watching this movie ever since the adaptation was announced. Despite not having read the source material, the premise, while cliché, sounded less like a story that was larger-than-life and more like a passing, everyday one. And on a whole, the film started strong in that aspect but began to deflate upon itself when it took a down-to-earth story and made it more than it needed or was supposed to be.

The story is about a girl named Sakura who lives with the secret that she has a read more
Jan 31, 2019
lexifey (All reviews)
I enjoy clichéd, predictable tearjerkers as much as the next person (honestly, I do), but not like this. Kimi no Suizou wo Tabetai chooses to explore how we live out our relationships with others in the face of death, and does so by presenting a questionable relationship in the first place.

— Art & Sound —
At best, the art is inconsistent, and at worst, it's fully distracting. If you want to trace my confusion at the character art as you watch, pay attention to their noses. Sometimes Sakura looks like she has no nose, and sometimes she looks normal. When facing forward, they have little dots read more
Oct 21, 2018
Katsudon96 (All reviews)
I decided to watch this Movie in the split second that nearly made me miss the last bus that would make me arrive at the cinema on time.

From the Title you know what you are getting yourself into. even at the start of the film it starts just like Grave of the Fireflies. after it takes you back to where it began and you embark on an amazing journey that makes you Sad and happy with how Sakura handles her illness. As time goes by you immediately feel uneasy and sorry, until the credits roll and longer as a the end credit scene plays read more
Dec 24, 2018
Zuki_147 (All reviews)
I have never given my opinion about anything in MAL. But honestly, I had to make an exception here.

-  I want to eat your pancreas.

Impressed, amazed, fascinated and grateful. There aren't words to describe the wonderful way in which this was carried out. With a story in which we don't even need the name of the protagonist to feel identified; to be in his place.

You could call it one more movie. But, for me it's a masterpiece made with a lot of love and commitment. It's so real that 5 minutes is enough to focus your attention to the facts. It exposes read more
Dec 26, 2018
Its-Maki-kun (All reviews)
What will you do if you know that you are going to die in one year? Of course, most people definitely want to live their life to the fullest, fulfilling anything they want, going to places that is impossible to go, or maybe devoting themselves to a spiritual journey in the name of God. This anime film definitely will reminded you of death that eventually come to us whether you like it or not, how you should leave your mark in this world and how it could change other person to a better one. Having the most misleading title I have ever heard, I Want read more
Dec 22, 2018
BigWillyGaming (All reviews)
"Kimi no Suizou wo Tabetai" was a movie that was able to emphasize the main protagonists to be unique dynamic characters that underwent change throughout the whole movie. The movie's plot was unique and was not generic at all. "Kimi no Suizou wo Tabetai" advised viewers about what it means to be "living" through focusing on Sakura's unaltering fate of death. The anime's art and sound were able to perfectly intertwine to create an enjoyable experience for viewers. Ultimately, I perfectly enjoyed the roller coaster of feels that "Kimi no Suizou wo Tabetai" gave me. The movie highlighted the unchangeable fate that all living individuals read more
Jan 1, 2019
longkazama (All reviews)
Terrible.

The main guy was awfully underdeveloped at the beginning, which made him completely unrelatable and boring . As the story progresses, he got a bit more developement and became quite a decent guy. But he is largely a very mediocre character.

The secondary characters - the "best friend" and "ex-boyfriend" - were dumb and annoying. Calling them a bitch or a dick would not be a harsh treatment. At the end of the movie, I had to ask myself if those two had any brain at all.

The plot is a recycled melodrama telling the story of a dying girl meeting a guy with the most useless read more
Dec 26, 2018
Tachii (All reviews)
I recently watched this and toward the end, I felt strongly about how *bad* it got near the end and had to write my thoughts down about it. But before I begin...

Let's just get this out of the way. While I understand the meaning of "I want to eat your pancreas", why would someone ever title a story over this? Did you have NO other creative title to suit the needs of this story? How about Living with Dying, the title of the journal the main girl wrote? Was it copyrighted, and you couldn't think of something better? Was that too literal, and was too read more
Dec 20, 2018
KiliianSleipnir (All reviews)
I've gotta say just one thing to start off with, watch this. sit down, don't get distracted, don't stop/pause it in the middle for a bathroom/popcorn/snack/smartphone break... pick some time where you WON'T be interrupted what so ever. this movie is excellent. I've no clue what the novel or it's manga is like; but as a stand alone movie this one SERIOUSLY ties my #1 choices up in knots. 'Kimi no Na wa.' WAS my singular #1 anime movie ever. but now I think I've got two.

I guess the biggest 'YES' for this movie is: Haruki is me. for over 40 years now I've read more
Dec 24, 2018
elleskim (All reviews)
Ahhhh, i regret that i find this anime just now,i should watch it when it first came out !!! Love the story sooooo much !!! I love the characters a lot. The way how the story goes are so good and the fact that i cried watching it definitely shows how beautiful this anime is. At fisrt, I did not expect much from it but then after finish watching it my heart felt something like woww i really want to live my life the way I want and I dont want to have any regret left. The story teach me that even doing something simple read more
Oct 3, 2018
MadLadOfCulture (All reviews)
With the misleading title turns out to be a comedy/romance/drama anime. Well, the trailer pretty much gave it away that it doesn't involve Tokyo Ghoul like scenario. The story focuses on a popular girl (Sakura) utilising her last moment with a guy (Haruki) that found out about her disease. At this point, the story kicks on with those two spending time together, but with no romantic feeling around it.

The protagonist was drag into her selfish request to tick-off her lists to experience before her death, as well as holding onto the secrete from everyone else including her best friend. This pretty read more
Oct 18, 2018
elizabeeth (All reviews)
When you watch a movie you know is going to be about terminal illness, you expect there to be some heart-stopping moment where the story suddenly takes a drastic turn. Unfortunately for me, I didn't experience this throughout this film. There weren't any particular scenes that really stood out to me, and it felt like it seemed to go for maybe twenty minutes extra that it didn't need to. In summary, it's no Your Name or A Silent Voice. Despite this, there were elements to the movie which I found particularly enjoyable that kept the experience worth the movie ticket.

STORY - 7/10.
Very The Fault In read more