Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Net-juu no Susume


Alternative Titles

English: Recovery of an MMO Junkie
Synonyms: Netojuu no Susume
Japanese: ネト充のススメ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2017 to Dec 8, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:40 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Signal. MD
Source: Web manga
Genres: Game, Comedy, Romance
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.951 (scored by 33,819 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #727
Members: 106,732
Favorites: 656

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 7, 2017
Sorainnosia (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Have you ever fall in love on the internet?"

The world has been connected with the international network since the edge of the 20th century, online chatting and online games have been one of 'everyday chores' until this period, we indirectly communicate with each other to gather information, play, or just to chat. The online communities keep growing larger and larger, and whenever a community grows larger, some potential can be noticed (look at MAL for example).

Net-Juu no Susume notice that potential, bringing the same concept as last year's NetoYome, Net-Juu no Susume brings us a tale of a female voluntary unemployed, Morioka Moriko as she read more
Dec 8, 2017
TuyNOM (All reviews)
IRL relationships are sometimes exhausting. They require us to constantly give a good image of ourselves, although this is not always the case. At work, we must always do our job as best possible, to evolve in the company, to get satisfaction from our boss (and prevent him from getting angry with you), and of course our livelihood and to provide needs of our family. With friends, we strive to behave in the most appropriate way possible and relationships can sometimes seem rigid and distant. There are things that we don't allow ourselves to tell (being a NEET for example) because we are afraid to read more
Dec 8, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Our society is made up of all sorts of people. The everyday working man, prodigies, movie icons, singing legends, book smarts, street thugs, leaders, professional gamers, ladies’ man, creative innovators. You name it. There’s always someone you’ve met in today’s society that you may be familiar with or completely contrasts who you are. There’s one type of people that our society doesn’t have a keen impression on though. That would be NEET. Know what it stands for? At its most generic definition, it’s a person that is “not in education, employment, or training”. The stereotype about “gamers that stay in their mom’s basement” applies there. read more
Dec 8, 2017
Aman_Bhaskar (All reviews)
Often There comes a show which we find ourselves enjoying more and more by the passing episode, But when asked, we find it difficult to describe in words,that what is it that we actually like about it. It is something most of us experience and, it all just might feel weird , to like something without a reason.The same had happened with me while watching this anime,I am not really sure why, Maybe it was the characters, the story, the music, or rather the entire show itself, however, in the end, It doesn't really matter, as long as one enjoys whatever they are read more
Nov 25, 2017
Harctor (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is a pleasant surprise.

It's got a rather simple plot but I find myself fully engaged in it. The characters while not too full of depth are likable and quirky, and they are very genuine. The one thing that sets this show apart from others is that the characters say what's on their mind and that's the real big selling point for me. It's extremely refreshing to not get frustrated because the characters spend 10 dam episodes to say what you know they're going to say but they just delay it to extend the plot. The plot here flows really well and the read more
Dec 8, 2017
Ankithadam (All reviews)
(Note: This review contains both positives and negatives, but it helps you decide to watch it nor not. 8/10 is just my view)

In this present Internet dominated world, We spend lots of time in social networks, gaming etc and we forget how we behave in real world and become clumsy, silly and awkward....That's depicted really well in this anime...and it also shows how we want to stay and dream to be in that dream world....


Please don't be deceived by the title "Recovery of MMO junkie" , To be honest I thought it must be a story of a recovering MMO addict and it might help read more
Oct 31, 2017
Tiemuuu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Net-juu no susume is a wonderfully crafted romance. The series' ambitions are not immediately apparent, as the story opens with a very generic MMO-registration sequence. It would be easy to write Net-juu off as just another typical virtual/alternative reality anime that fails to establish a personality and a mission statement in the first crucial minutes. After the first episode you're most likely wondering which direction the story is heading, as there is nothing inherently interesting about the game world or its mechanics.

The real point of interest is, of course, the characters. The online guild friends our MC encounters are charming, as are their real read more
Oct 30, 2017
SqueakierEel (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Possible minor spoilers ahead, if you haven't seen the first ep you have been warned)

To start off, this show title doesn't give a very good description of what the actual content entails, “Recovery of an MMO Junkie“ would make many think (well at least what I thought) a show entailing possible game rich functions, ideas and the such. Unfortuantly though it has more come across as more a pre-tense for the show and it revolves around a RomCom based structure, if you liked “Kiss Him, Not Me ” there's a good chance you'll like this show, they show many similar things and the comedy read more
Dec 8, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
I get it, Recovery of an MMO Junkie is cute and all, but is that really enough to get people to overlook a piss-poor story writing, shallow characters, and mediocre visuals?

Didn’t we just go through all of this with Gamers last season? Gamers was one of the most frustrating rom-coms I’ve ever seen and Net-ju no Susume is no different at all. 90% of the issues the characters face could be fixed if they simply communicated with each other.

Every episode more plot contrivances get added to the story that are so obviously utilized to pad out the length. If the writers seriously couldn't get read more
Dec 12, 2017
pmf96 (All reviews)
Story: Average

Being predictable isn't a shortcoming, but being predictable without any charm is.
We know right from the start what is the goal of the series and we are there just to lay down and enjoy the ride, and I sure didn't.
Most of the reason for that comes from the characters, but the plot is also at fault. If you make your end goal known to the public at least make your journey until there fun.
I mean, I'm pretty sure that I have watched this already. Isn't this just a mixture of ReLIFE, NetoYome, and Gamers! ?
- Romance involving two main adult characters read more
Dec 9, 2017
Jester_Monocle (All reviews)
The first half of Net-Juu no Susume, otherwise known as Recommendation of The Wonderful Virtual Life (Not Recovery of an MMO Junkie), was actually quite a joyous watch. Typically romance is a genre that lacks variety and intrigue. NJnS takes the additive route of just applying an MMO on top of the bland cliche scenarios you'd normally find and, surprisingly, it creates some level of appeal.

Gloriously followed up by the characters, Morioka or "MoriMori", is a shut-in who quit her job to play MMOs all day everyday. Well, really it is to escape the real world that is filled with anxiety and depression read more
Dec 8, 2017
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
After many years of stressful and unfulfilling work, Moriko decided to quit her job and is now a NEET playing a MMO game, what awaits her (and us, the viewers) is a fantastic experience totally worth watching.

Net-juu no Susume is in my opinion one of the most solid executions of the romance genre and a very interesting take of the game one. The ingame world is well developed and has a good number of scenes that really showed the feelings that provide playing this type of games, like trying out clothes and how they looked depending on the character, the “wtf dude” moment when someone read more
Dec 8, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)
This was a pleasent surprise and a very enjoyable watch. I am gonna be short and on point with this review.

The story follows our main female character(30 years old) after she quits her job and decides to relieve her stress by playing a MMO game. Those who are familiar with the MMO games will like this genre and get easy attached to the story, characters and plot . The main focus is not the game itself if you wonder but the characters and how they influence each others daily lives after interacting with each other in the game. A little romance and read more
Dec 8, 2017
SubarashikiHibi (All reviews)
A woman walks into the convenience store wearing a plain jacket and blue sweatpants. She has dark circles under her eyes and her dark purple hair looks like it hasn’t been combed in a week. She grabs two beers in the drink section and walks over quietly to the gift card area, making sure that she doesn’t bump into someone along the way, and picks up a prepaid game card for an MMO. She leaves quietly but always comes back.

This woman is Morioka Moriko, a thirty-old-year shut in.

At first glance Net juu no Susume seems like a mediocre show, and I wouldn’t blame anyone read more
Dec 8, 2017
Fircoal (All reviews)
Online interactions are an interesting thing. While for many it’s a supplement, something to do when they’re bored. For others it’s an outlet for the things they wouldn’t say in person, lest they be judged. And for another group of the population it’s something much more. Something beautiful in itself. Something so very important to one’s life, one that allows them to live the life that they want to lead.

It is this latter part that Net-juu no Susume gets so well. Real life can be hard and painful. Work and school are stressful, and interaction with people in real life that seem to have so read more
Nov 4, 2017
Missica (All reviews)
Preliminary
*SPOILERS*
Story: 9.999
This anime is about a woman in her thirties that quit her job. She's now a NEET.Having nothing to do, she goes and plays an MMO. She pretends to play a boy. She meets a girl while playing this, sorta falls in love with her I suppose, Ends up that the girl was a boy in real life. It's probably only me but I already guessed this. The story flows well nothings suddenly popping up and happening.

Art: 10

Nothing special but the background was well detailed and great. Character design, nothing to complain it's all fine. Characters had something that stands out about them, read more
Dec 11, 2017
kai_2_tatsuya (All reviews)
Preliminary
Not often you get an anime that really knows how to pace a story in terms of fantasy role-playing. How it manages to keep me watching even thou the stories are sometimes predictable. But some stories are meant to be predictable in a loving way.
Here we got an anime that revolve around two lovely people that are meant to be with each other.It doesn't have any lewd scene in it. Rather tame in a cute way and there is no kissing scene even thou it should. So feel free to watch it with your lovers, friend or sibling. I highly recommend it.

The art of read more
Dec 9, 2017
Whoahoho (All reviews)
Just as you think you're gonna have another NEET, who seemly wasted his or her life or has dedicated his life to live in a virtual world of MMORPG, along come this and yes, it's RECOMMENDATION OF A WONDERFUL VIRTUAL LIFE, unlike any anime that has a Hokikomori NEET/ MMO Junkie where one would wanna go in there to drag that guys or gal's ass into the real world , this one features an MMO junkie Mori Mori, who quits her jobs cu'z she disillusioned with the real world and finds meaning in a gaming site Fruits de Mer but in the end she came read more
Dec 8, 2017
Graylia (All reviews)
Recommended – No.
Read the Manga – No.
Best Characters – n/a
Worst Characters – n/a

PLOT ❷/❿
Though the story is based on 30-year-old NEETs/gamers, the romance is 100% shoujo, definitely not the mature josei romance I was hoping for. Sure, its cute, but vapid. Most of the plot relies on coincidences; neither MC really makes a real effort to build their relationship. The relationship is quite an unconvincing puppy love as well; the semblance of past history feels forced and their over-politeness makes it seem like they don’t even really like each other that much.

CHARACTERS ❶/❿
Bland; no one has any personality, everyone is just nice and friendly. Moriko read more
Dec 8, 2017
juneboba (All reviews)
Recovery of an MMO Junkie quickly became one of my favorites and I can say with full confidence that there has never been a romcom anime like it. There's nothing convoluted about the story, there are no gimmicks, and no long-lasting misunderstandings. These are stable adults, making responsible decisions, and fostering healthy relationships. The creators masterfully portray 30-year-olds feeling deep-seated, heart-racing, butterflies in your stomach romance. And it's a treat.

Moriko Morioka is a self-certified NEET and Yuta Sakurai is a company man with a good heart; both have shared interests and a chance encounter that changes the course of their relationship. Unlike most heroines, Moriko read more