Golden Kamuy

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Golden Kamuy
Japanese: ゴールデンカムイ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2018 to Jun 25, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Geno Studio
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, HistoricalHistorical, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.831 (scored by 8438384,383 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #676
Members: 211,158
Favorites: 1,602
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 25, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching Golden Kamuy made me realize how amazing a series is when it’s anchored so firmly to the concepts of war and survival. Even though it has an archaic feel, this anime convinced me that there’s hope for more great historical fiction tales. I say this honestly as someone who isn’t a big fan of historical fiction. On my first viewing, it was incredibly easily to dive into the show as we meet Sugimoto, a survivor of the Russo-Japanese war. It shouldn’t take long for fans to realize what they’re in stored for and I’m talking about a story that is much deeper than war read more
Jun 25, 2018
dadnaya (All reviews)
Just because the setting isn't highschool doesn't make the anime automatically good.
Golden Kamuy is a combination of a National Geographic/History channel program about the Ainu and rush for gold.

Before the Spring2018 began, I had gone over the trailers of the shows to air this season.
Golden Kamuy presented a nice cast of voice actors I like, an era around 1900, guns, wolves and rush for gold.
Sounds like a pretty solid action anime.

Now, I can't deny that Golden Kamuy had some sweet action, but unfortunately, both the action and the story took a backseat to the "Ainu culture".
I don't know, after watching most of the show, people read more
Jun 25, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
At the time of this review, the series has been greenlit for Season 2 this Fall, and I could not be more than happy for a continuation of the series! But what all the hoopla, what is this series actually about?

Golden Kamuy (in Ainu language: Golden Gods) is more than just the typical action-adventure anime like so many others out there. It's fun, great and enjoyable for many reasons, to the point where it’s proof that we want at least a 2nd (to 3rd if possible) season to continue the series (if possible).

The story goes of the 20th century Russo-Japanese war, centered in the city read more
Jun 25, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Golden Kamuy tells an action-packed treasure hunting story, it deftly weaves in an unflinching portrayal of Ainu culture. The in-depth detail that the culture is shown in is likely thanks to the Ainu consultant on the production staff, ensuring the greatest accuracy possible. Moreover, this series never shies away from discussing the ugly way Japan treated the Ainu in the past either, in turn making the story more realistic and believable.

The story follows Saichi “The Immortal” Sugimoto, a gruff survivor of the Russo-Japanese war. Famous for violently slaughtering his foes to escape from dozens of life-threatening combat situations; as we see in many thrilling read more
May 1, 2018
jRad522 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Golden Kamuy is that rarest of things among anime: a pleasant surprise. It combines elements of action, slice of life, and military anime into a period historical drama that is both harrowingly tense and a whole bunch of fun. For the characters and action alone this show is worth watching, but the small window it gives us into the history and culture of the Ainu people makes this show a must-watch.

Story:
In the frigid northern reaches of Hokkaido we meet Saichi Sugimoto, a legendary veteran of the recent (1904-05) Russo-Japanese war who is said to be nearly immortal. It is good that he is apparently immortal, read more
Apr 17, 2019
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Golden Kamuy is an anime from just last year. It's based off a Noda Satoru manga that's been going since 2014 and the anime was handled by Geno studio. No relation to a certain marionette with a gun arm. So, I don't know anything about either the writer or studio. Let's dive right into the series. We'll just be looking at series one today. I might look at the second another time. 

Story:

The story is set shortly after the Russo-Japanese war. Our hero, "Immortal" Sugimoto fought in the war as a soldier and always managed to survive in spite of being put into many deadly situations. Since read more
Aug 16, 2018
Kiriikun (All reviews)
Apart from the 3D CGI animals this anime is pretty well done they follow the manga and the facial expressions was pretty well done and the colours in this show was outstanding, I also have to give credit to the opening and ending but mainly the ending because the visuals during the ending was brilliant and the ending track was awesome as well 👌 I gotta say among the shows that was airing at the same time this seires was the most enjoyable to watch every week I did feel a bit sorry for the animals that they killed and ate tho R I.P but read more
Apr 30, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Golden Kamuy looks like yet another seinen which anime adaptation aims to destroy everything its source material accomplished. These were my expectations anyway, but I was wrong.


The writing is a bit lacking with its "pray and spray" war tactics and telepoting buddies who save the day on last possible second, but the atmosphere quickly makes up for this. In the first 5 minutes of episode 01, we get a scene where drunken man sits on a snowy river bank, gazing into nothingness while the heat from his campfire seems to be his only comfort. This scene is perfect. It gives us understanding of the series read more
Apr 30, 2018
Aleckill (All reviews)
Preliminary
Geno is a very new study, coming from people who used to work in Manglobe. His quality is by novice, now with the director of Goshik and with the screenwitter of Baccano?

-Synopsis-
A soldier named "Sugimoto the Immortal", after the Russo-Japanese War of 1905, starts looking for gold to pay for the operation of sight of the widow of a friend fallen in combat. There he discovers that there is a treasure map of the "Ainu" (Nippon Eskimos) and joins with a loli of this tribe to get hold of it. And there are CG bears.

-Story-
the story is quite interesting, there is a lot of hidden read more
Jun 26, 2018
LainCyber (All reviews)
In case someone just wants the quick review right away, my verdict is that if you have even a bit of curiosity in the manga series or manga in general, then read this over watching it.

Story: The source material for this manga is absolutely great. A comedy adventure Seinen which is a dream come true for my interests. The world is fairly fleshed in the anime, although the manga does moreso through the introduction of historical context and small tirades about local wildlife and food. The characters themselves become very interesting, more get introduced with their distinct personalities and reactions. One thing about adventure manga read more
Sep 17, 2019
SleepySRH (All reviews)
If netflix or a major anime viewing platform like Adult Swim or Toonami ever picked this up it would BLOW UP!!! Fans of shows like Rurouni Kenshin or Full Metal Alchemist will totally love this show. The protagonist bring back old classic hero tropes in a unique feeling. They are powerful and you know, the leads of the show, but they also feel very defeat able. No godlike powers just strong performances and strong wills to survive what the story throws at them.

Animal lovers beware though this show is not shy about hunting. It's the main way they survive and "the brains are usually tasty read more
May 3, 2018
Uzumaki_tobi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hello there this is ma first review on MAL...
On my first review am going to write about the Anime 'Golden Kamuy'.First thing is this anime is about a guy who team up with a Ainu girl(a Japanese tribe)to search a vast amount of gold which is hidden.
Story: As mentioned above its like a treasure hunt but the thing is anime takes place during Meiji era.(Japanese ruler who ruled japan around 1914 and who supported modernization in japan)So the theme of war can be seen.A guy kills the members of Ainu tribe and steals their gold n he hides it somewhere.When he was arrested he draws read more
Dec 1, 2018
Injenss (All reviews)
This Cabela's Hunting simulation game was amazing. 10/10 would definitely buy this game again. This is a wonderful anime about hunting. You follow our heroes as they hunt foxes, whales, fish, bears, squirrels and other game. It will teach you how to survive in the wilderness when the crap hits the fan. Need to know how to gut a deer and warm yourself with its innards? Golden Kamuy has got you. Need to know how to burn poop in order to antagonize a wolf? Golden Kamuy has got you. Need to know how to skin a squirrel? Golden Kamuy has got read more
Jun 26, 2018
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Golden Kamuy follows the journey of Japanese soldier Sugimoto and the Ainu girl, Aspira, partner up to track down the whereabouts of stolen Ainu gold with the map of it being tattooed in portions to the bodies of escaped convicts. Also in the search for the convicts are a couple rival parties consisting of a criminal alliance and Japanese imperial officers who are seeking out the gold for their own ends.

Golden Kamuy sticks out particularly for its historically accurate depiction of the Ainu indigenous people. Through Aspira and other members of her tribe, the series offers a look at the indigenous customs, appearance, language, and read more
Jun 25, 2018
GokaiKing (All reviews)
Golden Kamuy (meaning Golden Gods in the Ainu Language) is one of the better Original Anime that came out this Spring 2018 season. Even before it aired it had a lot of Hype behind it since the manga already had a big folowing. So, Did it live up to it's hype? Let's Find Out.

Story: 7/10
The Story Follows Sugimoto "The Inmortal", A soldier that survived the Russo-Japanese war of the Meiji era that Wants to help his deceased Comrade's wife, along with Asirpa, an Ainu girl that saves Sugimoto from the harsh, cold Climates of Hokkaido, in their Quest to find a stash of gold hidden read more
Mar 28, 2019
JBT81 (All reviews)
HINNA HINNA

i feel like i should just write that a hundred times for my review... but someone might read this so i'll try to do a legit (ish) review.

Basically, this story is inspiring to me. not because of the effort that the two main characters (Asirpa and Sugimoto) put forth, in spite of all their hardships. not because of the trust these two characters gave to each other. not because of the artwork or musical score. not because of anything other than the peek into Ainu life. only because of "hinna, hinna" if you will.

i had never considered that there might be native Japanese people read more
Dec 14, 2018
ToshiKata (All reviews)
This is a review of the anime only. I have not read the manga.

This is a really unique, surprising, dark, funny, and fun show. I highly recommend it. Honestly, the description doesn’t do it justice.


What I liked about it:

1. I love that it was set in Hokkaido. It’s a part of Japan that doesn’t get much love in anime and it was refreshingly different. Plus, they utilized every aspect of that unique setting to their advantage and did it well. It wasn’t just a setting or backdrop. It was an integral part of the story.
2. The hero is a truly morally read more
Jun 25, 2018
chuckpugs (All reviews)
There are anime in this world that bring upon the community entertainment or a meaning in life beyond what our personal experiences could hope of comprehending before encountering such masterpieces. And then you get those series which exist to only advertise their source materials.

Story: 6/10
The story begins with a unique setting of the early 1900s after the Russo-Japanese War. It has a conflict that is already set up with a Japanese soldier, Sugimoto, and an Ainu hunter, Asirpa, who search for prisoners tattoos which connect to make a map leading to a treasure of Ainu gold. The conflict is set up and read more
Dec 21, 2020
Raven57 (All reviews)
Golden Kamuy is that anime that I'm not spected anything, and it give more than I wanted.. The story is amazing as wel as their characters are incredible everyone. So the point is, that ugly 3DCGI Bear near ruined everything, why is this importan? because when you have a good story but you see something that crack the moment, crack the ambient, crack everything, that was a very very bad decision at time to doit, when you forget that, the anime Walks straight again. When you forget that 10 horribles minutes you can be in love again with this series.
Jun 1, 2020
Blue_Maroon (All reviews)
A very fun show. All of the characters are entertaining and have their own understandable motives. It has a playful atmosphere for a good amount of the show, but it never takes away from the intensity of the serious, violent moments.

I especially liked how there are multiple parties that are pursuing the same goal and how they interact with each other in their pursiuts. It always feels natural and true to their characters which made me look forward such meetings.

Some drawbacks were the rough CGI for the bears and fires, in addition to there not being a solid ending.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed the read more