Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Golden Kamuy


Alternative Titles

Japanese: ゴールデンカムイ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 9, 2018 to Jun 25, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Mondays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Geno Studio
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 44,918 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9172
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #910
Members: 114,707
Favorites: 594

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 25, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching Golden Kamuy made me realize how amazing a series is when it’s anchored so firmly to the concepts of war and survival. Even though it has an archaic feel, this anime convinced me that there’s hope for more great historical fiction tales. I say this honestly as someone who isn’t a big fan of historical fiction. On my first viewing, it was incredibly easily to dive into the show as we meet Sugimoto, a survivor of the Russo-Japanese war. It shouldn’t take long for fans to realize what they’re in stored for and I’m talking about a story that is much deeper than war read more
Jun 25, 2018
dadnaya (All reviews)
Just because the setting isn't highschool doesn't make the anime automatically good.
Golden Kamuy is a combination of a National Geographic/History channel program about the Ainu and rush for gold.

Before the Spring2018 began, I had gone over the trailers of the shows to air this season.
Golden Kamuy presented a nice cast of voice actors I like, an era around 1900, guns, wolves and rush for gold.
Sounds like a pretty solid action anime.

Now, I can't deny that Golden Kamuy had some sweet action, but unfortunately, both the action and the story took a backseat to the "Ainu culture".
I don't know, after watching most of the show, people read more
Jun 25, 2018
KANLen09 (All reviews)
At the time of this review, the series has been greenlit for Season 2 this Fall, and I could not be more than happy for a continuation of the series! But what all the hoopla, what is this series actually about?

Golden Kamuy (in Ainu language: Golden Gods) is more than just the typical action-adventure anime like so many others out there. It's fun, great and enjoyable for many reasons, to the point where it’s proof that we want at least a 2nd (to 3rd if possible) season to continue the series (if possible).

The story goes of the 20th century Russo-Japanese war, centered in the city read more
Jun 25, 2018
RebelPanda (All reviews)
Rarely do we get action-adventure stories with as much depth and intrigue as Golden Kamuy. Made all the more fascinating by it’s setting, a period of Japan’s history not often explored in anime. What sets it apart from other historical post-war stories is the focus given to the Ainu; a marginalized group of indigenous Japanese people that I’m willing to bet most of us hadn’t even heard of until this series.

While Golden Kamuy tells an action-packed treasure hunting story, it deftly weaves in an unflinching portrayal of Ainu culture. The in-depth detail that the culture is shown in is likely thanks to the Ainu read more
May 1, 2018
jRad522 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Golden Kamuy is that rarest of things among anime: a pleasant surprise. It combines elements of action, slice of life, and military anime into a period historical drama that is both harrowingly tense and a whole bunch of fun. For the characters and action alone this show is worth watching, but the small window it gives us into the history and culture of the Ainu people makes this show a must-watch.

Story:
In the frigid northern reaches of Hokkaido we meet Saichi Sugimoto, a legendary veteran of the recent (1904-05) Russo-Japanese war who is said to be nearly immortal. It is good that he is apparently immortal, read more
Apr 30, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Golden Kamuy looks like yet another seinen which anime adaptation aims to destroy everything its source material accomplished. These were my expectations anyway, but I was wrong.


The writing is a bit lacking with its "pray and spray" war tactics and telepoting buddies who save the day on last possible second, but the atmosphere quickly makes up for this. In the first 5 minutes of episode 01, we get a scene where drunken man sits on a snowy river bank, gazing into nothingness while the heat from his campfire seems to be his only comfort. This scene is perfect. It gives us understanding of the series read more
Apr 30, 2018
Aleckill (All reviews)
Preliminary
Geno is a very new study, coming from people who used to work in Manglobe. His quality is by novice, now with the director of Goshik and with the screenwitter of Baccano?

-Synopsis-
A soldier named "Sugimoto the Immortal", after the Russo-Japanese War of 1905, starts looking for gold to pay for the operation of sight of the widow of a friend fallen in combat. There he discovers that there is a treasure map of the "Ainu" (Nippon Eskimos) and joins with a loli of this tribe to get hold of it. And there are CG bears.

-Story-
the story is quite interesting, there is a lot of hidden read more
Apr 17, 2019
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Golden Kamuy is an anime from just last year. It's based off a Noda Satoru manga that's been going since 2014 and the anime was handled by Geno studio. No relation to a certain marionette with a gun arm. So, I don't know anything about either the writer or studio. Let's dive right into the series. We'll just be looking at series one today. I might look at the second another time. 

Story:

The story is set shortly after the Russo-Japanese war. Our hero, "Immortal" Sugimoto fought in the war as a soldier and always managed to survive in spite of being put into many deadly situations. Since read more
May 3, 2018
Uzumaki_tobi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hello there this is ma first review on MAL...
On my first review am going to write about the Anime 'Golden Kamuy'.First thing is this anime is about a guy who team up with a Ainu girl(a Japanese tribe)to search a vast amount of gold which is hidden.
Story: As mentioned above its like a treasure hunt but the thing is anime takes place during Meiji era.(Japanese ruler who ruled japan around 1914 and who supported modernization in japan)So the theme of war can be seen.A guy kills the members of Ainu tribe and steals their gold n he hides it somewhere.When he was arrested he draws read more
Aug 16, 2018
Kiriikun (All reviews)
Apart from the 3D CGI animals this anime is pretty well done they follow the manga and the facial expressions was pretty well done and the colours in this show was outstanding, I also have to give credit to the opening and ending but mainly the ending because the visuals during the ending was brilliant and the ending track was awesome as well 👌 I gotta say among the shows that was airing at the same time this seires was the most enjoyable to watch every week I did feel a bit sorry for the animals that they killed and ate tho R I.P but read more
Jun 26, 2018
LainCP (All reviews)
In case someone just wants the quick review right away, my verdict is that if you have even a bit of curiosity in the manga series or manga in general, then read this over watching it.

Story: The source material for this manga is absolutely great. A comedy adventure Seinen which is a dream come true for my interests. The world is fairly fleshed in the anime, although the manga does moreso through the introduction of historical context and small tirades about local wildlife and food. The characters themselves become very interesting, more get introduced with their distinct personalities and reactions. One thing about adventure manga read more
Jun 25, 2018
Afloo (All reviews)
Golden Kamuy (meaning Golden Gods in the Ainu Language) is one of the better Original Anime that came out this Spring 2018 season. Even before it aired it had a lot of Hype behind it since the manga already had a big folowing. So, Did it live up to it's hype? Let's Find Out.

Story: 7/10
The Story Follows Sugimoto "The Inmortal", A soldier that survived the Russo-Japanese war of the Meiji era that Wants to help his deceased Comrade's wife, along with Asirpa, an Ainu girl that saves Sugimoto from the harsh, cold Climates of Hokkaido, in their Quest to find a stash of gold hidden read more
Dec 1, 2018
Injenss (All reviews)
This Cabela's Hunting simulation game was amazing. 10/10 would definitely buy this game again. This is a wonderful anime about hunting. You follow our heroes as they hunt foxes, whales, fish, bears, squirrels and other game. It will teach you how to survive in the wilderness when the crap hits the fan. Need to know how to gut a deer and warm yourself with its innards? Golden Kamuy has got you. Need to know how to burn poop in order to antagonize a wolf? Golden Kamuy has got you. Need to know how to skin a squirrel? Golden Kamuy has got read more
Jun 26, 2018
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Golden Kamuy follows the journey of Japanese soldier Sugimoto and the Ainu girl, Aspira, partner up to track down the whereabouts of stolen Ainu gold with the map of it being tattooed in portions to the bodies of escaped convicts. Also in the search for the convicts are a couple rival parties consisting of a criminal alliance and Japanese imperial officers who are seeking out the gold for their own ends.

Golden Kamuy sticks out particularly for its historically accurate depiction of the Ainu indigenous people. Through Aspira and other members of her tribe, the series offers a look at the indigenous customs, appearance, language, and read more
Dec 14, 2018
ToshiKata (All reviews)
This is a really unique, surprising, dark, funny, and fun show. I highly recommend it. Honestly, the description doesn’t do it justice.


What I liked about it:

1. I love that it was set in Hokkaido. It’s a part of Japan that doesn’t get much love in anime and it was refreshingly different. Plus, they utilized every aspect of that unique setting to their advantage and did it well. It wasn’t just a setting or backdrop. It was an integral part of the story.
2. The hero is a truly morally gray antihero and he was delightful.
3. All the characters were read more
Jul 16, 2018
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Long story short, Golden Kamuy is a cooking show featuring a sideplot of a murder mystery scavenger hunt and the traditions of a largely unknown indigenous people.  Whether or not this is a good thing is objectively questionable, but hey, it's fun as hell.

Story:

Our story takes place during Japan's Meiji Restoration after a bout in the Russo-Japanese war.  Discharged military officer Saichi Sugimoto comes across a story from a friend during a night of drinking in the woods about a horde of gold rivaling that of the nation's coffers hidden by a prisoner who tattooed a map to it on the backs of his fellow read more
Jul 3, 2018
EXStephen (All reviews)
Golden Kamuy is one of those anime that I think are undeniably entertaining, but I ultimately don’t have much to say about it. It’s not exactly in depth or memorable as some of the other anime this season, but it’s definitely good. I can’t deny that. At the same time, there are no particular scenes that stand out, no characters that I was truly interested in, and a plot that really doesn’t go anywhere. Despite all of that, I am still able to say Golden Kamuy was fun. If I had to pick an aspect of the anime that was memorable, it’d be that it read more
Jun 26, 2018
Brii90 (All reviews)
Golden Kamuy is a series that has a lot of potential as it continues forward to season 2. I think it narrowly missed some of the potential regarding character interactions, growth, and general direction in season 1. It certainly had some high moments and episodes, many laughs and surprises, but there was always a higher potential beneath what was portrayed.

The highest point for me (mild spoiler alert) as someone who recently played Hakuoki's numerous releases was the reveal of Hijikata being one of the main nemesis characters to the series. This tied the series into Japanese history and other popular titles in a way read more
Jun 26, 2018
AmericanSomnium (All reviews)
I really had a hard time determining whether this would be a 7 or 8 overall. I feel 8 has a certain level of quality, that the CGI made me have a tough time trying to justify it. Alternatively, 7 felt too low for the quality of characters, animations, and artstyle (besides the CGI) the season produced overall. The fact remains that in a season where I've dropped about 1/4 of the shows I started with, this one managed to stay until the end. While I know some manga readers were upset with the adaptation, others remained happy. I'll try to articulate what made Golden read more
Jun 23, 2018
tofuteh (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're looking for a complicated plot, a story that will move you to tears, animation that will blow you out of the water, don't watch Golden Kamuy.

HOWEVER

If you love the absurdity and violence of Jojo's, learning about Historical Japan/Ainu culture and a wonderful array of quirky, hilarious and scary (all at the same time) cast of characters, this is the show for you.

Yes, the first few episodes are quite rough, especially if you aren't familiar with the manga and are confused about the tone, plot and themes of the show, but once you realize what it offers, you'll definitely know if it's for you. read more