Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ousama Game The Animation


Alternative Titles

English: King's Game
Synonyms: Ou-sama Game
Japanese: 王様ゲーム The Animation

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Thursdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Seven
Source: Novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 5.381 (scored by 17,342 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #82012
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #963
Members: 79,349
Favorites: 133

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Oct 26, 2017
H4nss0n (All reviews)
Ok, im going to give you the quick rundown.
The biggest problem with this anime is the way it executes a plot that is meant to be filled with dread and sadness. This is a survival anime where a bunch of peole go aginst eachother for survival more or less.
In survival animes the writers are supposed to make you feel for the characters so that when theirs lives are at stake you really get nervous. The characters are supposed to have motives and personalities that are at least a little complex and unique.
That way when they get pitted against each other the battle read more
Nov 7, 2017
Danae (All reviews)
Do you value your free time? Do you consider yourself of average intelligence? If the answer is yes to both questions, then you should stay away from Ousama Game. I usually abstain from writing reviews, even more so for incomplete anime, but I thought I should warn any person who might be in false hopes that this anime could be good because it has Miyano Mamoru’s name attached, just like my naive past self.

This anime is basically about a classroom that starts receiving orders from a self-proclaimed King via texts. If they don’t obey these orders then the King punishes them, usually with death. read more
Nov 9, 2017
cookies0 (All reviews)
Don't watch this anime if you can't laugh at how bad it is. The only joy you will get out of this is seeing how bad an anime can get, nothing else.
This show is not dark, something that's dark would be something like Berserk.
This show is not edgy, something that's edgy would be Elfen Lied.
This show is even worse than edgy.

Regarding the technical aspects.
The music is very mediocre, and the sounds are sometimes out of sync.

The art style is acceptable, but the facial expressions can be very ridiculous, and the gore scenes are over-the-top.

The animation is just plain read more
Nov 4, 2017
ProfoundBaka (All reviews)
Okay, I had to make an account just to write a review for this. The other reviews I read seemed to miss the mark, and in my opinion come from pretty naive point of views.

To me the worst part of this show is the animation and the sound, but it certainly isn't as bad as what haoliners has given us. I find it to be pretty tolerable, and considering animators in Japan are known to be severely under paid, I can certainly forgive it and proceed forward into what other qualities the anime has to offer. But if this is critical to your enjoyment, read more
Nov 10, 2017
shi_na (All reviews)
For you guys who value morality or only like animes for their cuteness and for fun purpose, you guys should stay away from this one. IT'S NOT FOR YOU GUYS.

This anime would be well-received by people who like one of the following genres: thriller, mystery, tragedy, psychological or who like anime like Higurashi, Mirai Nikki, Danganroppa or Elfen Lied.

This anime is really outstanding personally speaking, from the first episode up to sixth which I've watched I can't wait for the next episode to come out since it was just too good.

The story starts off with some kind of reminiscence or stuff about MC with read more
Nov 19, 2017
m-i-c-h-a-e-l (All reviews)
I wouldn't say I was "disappointed" with Ousama Game. I had no expectations for it to begin with... Okay, I had expectations, but they weren't positive ones. I figured it was going to be edgy; something along the lines of Danganronpa or Mirai Nikki. That's okay, maybe it will still be somewhat enjoyable right? But noooooooo. Ousama was able to surpass all levels of the shit-tier and earn its spot as my #1 worst anime (excluding memes). I'm not even joking when I say this abomination is worse than Akame ga Kill and Mayoiga.

***Light spoilers ahead, not like any of it matters***

Let's start with read more
Nov 22, 2017
AlexTenshi (All reviews)
I dropped this series after four episodes, and if you watch the series, I hope you can see why.

This anime is a major insult to the horror anime genre. The concept of the story, a "king" assigning tasks or else face death sounds really good in theory, but in practice, is not the case. The story was executed so poorly, with so many plotholes appearing; it's just unbearable. All we see is just more boring content.

There are also way too many flashbacks. This anime is based off of the second manga, Ousama Game: Shuukyoku, however, literally splices half of the first manga into it. They read more
Nov 12, 2017
Sinfulyte (All reviews)
This.. This animation is possibly one of the most horrendous things I've seen in a while. It surprises me to how it's even above a 5 on MAL, considering the disgusting amounts of tropes, and generic development, not to mention the completely mindless protagonist that just doesn't fit in the genre it's marketing. Watching the first couple episodes with friends, I've seen all I needed to decide that this is possibly one of the lowest of the low, during this season; hell, for the past 4-5 seasons. I'll summarize this piece at the bottom, and for those avid and mindful readers; I'll throw in a read more
Nov 10, 2017
RMDragon (All reviews)
I never write reviews, but this is the worst anime I have ever seen and I believe that I should warn people not to watch it.

One of the problems it has is the fact that all of its characters are completely forgettable. I am on the 6th episode and lots of people have died. However, I could only tell you something about 2 or 3 of them.

Another problem is the fact that a lot of the characters die in the same or the next episode in which they are introduced (or get a bit of focus). This does not only mean that it is read more
Nov 9, 2017
wild842 (All reviews)
TLDR:
This anime is the most tasty garbage.
If you like to watch things like The Room, Birdemic, or Mayoiga you will have a great time watching this show! I recommend watching with friends for a good laugh! 8/10
If you don't get a laugh out of absurdly bad shows, leave now and never look back. Without ironic enjoyment, this show deserves a 4/10

FULL REVIEW:

STORY: 6/10
A high school class begins receiving text message commands, that if they disobey they die in a most gruesome manner. I'm talking screaming, exploding body parts, and projectile limbs. The story can be confusing at times, but for the most part its very read more
Nov 6, 2017
10q (All reviews)
This is by far one of the stupidest and most awful shows I have ever had the pleasure of watching. I chose the word pleasure very deliberately, as Ousama Game is an absolute blast to watch and has reached the fine line between 2edgy4me and utter trash.

I love hating every aspect of this show. I want more. Go to your local waste disposal center and pick up a copy of the Ousama Game manga. Read it every day. Take in the trash. Let it become part of your daily routine. Read it on your bus ride to school. Read it at work. Stream the Ousama read more
Oct 28, 2017
orkuncan (All reviews)
Let the master fodder this show in just 4 episode.

This fictional king is a crazy motherfucker who likes to see some highchooler cuckold action, you can just open your browser and view any hentai or adult movie to enjoy your fantasies and not use people as fun. You might say " Duh dis is just an anime, why are you writing about a character so much and judging that character so hard?". This character is created by creator of manga, to be honest this is the worst and most weird character i have seen on an fictional movie/TV show/anime/book. Thisi one has 0 good points read more
Dec 7, 2017
OudaiS (All reviews)
This anime makes mayoiga look like a good watch XD
The 1# worst anime on my lost by far , idk why my friends enjoyed watchig this sad excuse of an anime -_- , i guess it apeals for people who don't care about neither the characters or the story.
Now i only watched 6 episodes but I wad already at my limit and i only kept on going because i wanted to see if it could get any worse....and to no one's surprise it did.
Just save yourself the trouble of watching it.

On the other hand it provides some unintentional laughs and rhe characters die in pretty read more
Oct 27, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
The king's game is a game played with people pick numbers at random and a king calls upon whatever number you get. the number called has to do what they are told. In this anime if you fail to complete an order you die. This would work if the writing wasn't complete garbage. First, we have two games going on at one time. Well, a past game and the current one. So we have double dose of rape and betrayal. Once again this sounds like a good show although it isn't. They try to make us care about characters in a span of episode of read more
Dec 3, 2017
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
This anime screws itself over from almost the very get go, but I'll try my best to state the problems.

Story:
It doesn't help to have a good chunk of this series to be consisting of flashbacks to the previous Ousama Game. The leeway into the new Ousame Game plot is also not very well done. Honestly, it's the garbage version of Akame Ga Kill where all they do is just kill off characters like no tomorrow. At least Akame Ga Kill made me feel for and have an affinity for the characters that got killed off. At this point, it doesn't matter if it stays true read more
Nov 24, 2017
RainDancing (All reviews)
bruh.
this is balls.
when i heard the description of it i was all in. like uhhhhhh there's someone out there that's sending you mysterious messages that you must complete or you will be punished. ooo! very interesting! naw boy. naw.

Story 5/10
very intriguing at first. it sets up for some type of mystery and even a bit of scariness but it shatters all of that within the first episode. you expect at least a three-episode build up before the scary texts come in. Episode 1: kiss someone. Episode 2: draw a weiner on the classroom whiteboard. Episode 3: punch this guy in the face. NAW. it goes read more
Nov 10, 2017
Unzareh (All reviews)
This is a so bad it's good anime. It really is. The deaths tend to be hilariously bad, the characters are hilariously bad and completely unsympathetic. This is an anime where you watch the body count go up, and you really don't care about anyone in it. You just watch it because you want to see how much worse it could get.

Story (2): Pretty non-existent. People receive texts, and if they don't do things in the texts, they die. If they do things in the texts, they die.

Art (2): It's really bad. I think only Inuyashiki has worse art this season, cause at least this read more
Nov 9, 2017
BrowKing (All reviews)
So this is my first anime review here on MAL and bo-hoi do I have things to say about this abomination. I really, really wanted my first review to be somewhat professional and objective without any bias but I just HAD to review this just to let people know how dreadfully painful it is to watch this abortion of an anime every week just to feel the acomplishment of enduring the whole thing. SERIOUSLY!!!

Ever seen those "torture" scenes from bad sci-fi movies where a secret organization tortures a victim by forces them watch some psychological BS program to break them and ultimately, take control of read more
Nov 5, 2017
Burguburu (All reviews)
Ousama Game the Animation. The comedy of the season. The characters are so funny how they died (the girl that falls from the windows, why is so much blood when she falls?? that's not making any sense) all the side characters are plot device, for example: first episodes when some boys are beating the MC for reasons and the girl suddenly becomes pyscho in the second episode (and we don't talk about how they believe her when she accuses the MC of rape but that bitch wants sex early with another guy). Other intelligent character is the girl that wants to know who is the read more
Dec 16, 2017
MellowTiramisu (All reviews)
i think this anime is recommended for who have highly mental,certainly for adult age. no fun no laugh in this story but if you want to watch unusual sensation and enjoyment of the story and plot,personally i recommended to watch this
(cause i like this series,doesnt mean i'm a psychopath)

for Character i think its look good, because each other person is have a lot of wisdom which is different subtly

if you have same taste with me "watch some series because you want to undestanding the story not looking for art" (this series for example)
i think you will have enjoyment when you watch this

personally i'll give 8 read more