Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ousama Game The Animation


Alternative Titles

English: King's Game
Synonyms: Ou-sama Game
Japanese: 王様ゲーム The Animation

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2017 to Dec 21, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Thursdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Seven
Source: Novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 5.171 (scored by 47,869 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #92852
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #809
Members: 113,640
Favorites: 194

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 21, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
“This show is fucking awful.”
-Me

The rules of the King’s Game are as follows:
1. All female characters must be appallingly sexualized, this is a MATURE show for ADULTS after all.
2. Every death has to be over-the-top and ridiculous, people like comedy relief, right?
3. Characters must never exercise common sense, how else would there be a conflict?
4. The plot must be as nonsensical as possible. We can just tell people it’s a “mystery.”

Ousama Game is revolting.
It’s not bad in a, "Wow this show has so much mindless violence," sort of way.
It's more like "Wow some perverted sicko was literally paid to animate their disgusting fetishes”.

I'm read more
Oct 26, 2017
H4nss0n (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, im going to give you the quick rundown.
The biggest problem with this anime is the way it executes a plot that is meant to be filled with dread and sadness. This is a survival anime where a bunch of peole go aginst eachother for survival more or less.
In survival animes the writers are supposed to make you feel for the characters so that when theirs lives are at stake you really get nervous. The characters are supposed to have motives and personalities that are at least a little complex and unique.
That way when they get pitted against each other the battle read more
Nov 7, 2017
Danae (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you value your free time? Do you consider yourself of average intelligence? If the answer is yes to both questions, then you should stay away from Ousama Game. I usually abstain from writing reviews, even more so for incomplete anime, but I thought I should warn any person who might be in false hopes that this anime could be good because it has Miyano Mamoru’s name attached, just like my naive past self.

This anime is basically about a classroom that starts receiving orders from a self-proclaimed King via texts. If they don’t obey these orders then the King punishes them, usually with death. read more
Nov 9, 2017
cookies0 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Don't watch this anime if you can't laugh at how bad it is. The only joy you will get out of this is seeing how bad an anime can get, nothing else.
This show is not dark, something that's dark would be something like Berserk.
This show is not edgy, something that's edgy would be Elfen Lied.
This show is even worse than edgy.

Regarding the technical aspects.
The music is very mediocre, and the sounds are sometimes out of sync.

The art style is acceptable, but the facial expressions can be very ridiculous, and the gore scenes are over-the-top.

The animation is just plain read more
Nov 4, 2017
ProfoundBaka (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, I had to make an account just to write a review for this. The other reviews I read seemed to miss the mark, and in my opinion come from pretty naive point of views.

To me the worst part of this show is the animation and the sound, but it certainly isn't as bad as what haoliners has given us. I find it to be pretty tolerable, and considering animators in Japan are known to be severely under paid, I can certainly forgive it and proceed forward into what other qualities the anime has to offer. But if this is critical to your enjoyment, read more
Dec 21, 2017
AndoCommando (All reviews)
Survival anime are nothing new when looking back over the last few years. Shows such as Btooom!, Danganropa and Mirai Nikki are all based around a particular survival game and have all found moderate to massive popularity among anime fans. Even outside of anime, you just have to look at franchises like The Hunger Games and Maze Runner to see how successful the subgenre is. It’s clear that stories based around a group of characters, their impending doom and how they try to survive such are intriguing to a lot of people. But why is that? Personally, I believe these kinds of premises can present read more
Dec 21, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
2017 has been an underwhelming year for fanatics of horror and survival based anime. Taking a close look at the lineups, there were barely any at all and the only ones we’ve got were short series that were easily forgettable. Where does Ousama Game position itself on the board? Terrible doesn’t even begin to describe what this anime turned out to be. Ousama Game is a primal example of how desperately an anime tries to get viewers to appreciate. It’s a catastrophe that self-destructed from the very start that the meme of “so bad, it’s good” doesn’t even come to close to describe what it read more
Dec 21, 2017
PhantomKurata (All reviews)
The King’s Game Anime Review. Anime from the Rabbit Hole

The King's Game is the worst anime I have ever seen.
Am not kidding. The King's Game is the most terrible piece of shit I ever had sat through
I honestly shocked at the anime director’s ability to blow all expectations of god-awful anime that are popping out from the rabbit hole.
When I aware that was I say this is the worst anime I have seen that it comes with the expectations of this somehow being worse than the likes of Big Order, Handshakers, and Eromanga Sensei which before I saw this they were the worst animes I read more
Nov 10, 2017
shi_na (All reviews)
Preliminary
For you guys who value morality or only like animes for their cuteness and for fun purpose, you guys should stay away from this one. IT'S NOT FOR YOU GUYS.

This anime would be well-received by people who like one of the following genres: thriller, mystery, tragedy, psychological or who like anime like Higurashi, Mirai Nikki, Danganroppa or Elfen Lied.

This anime is really outstanding personally speaking, from the first episode up to sixth which I've watched I can't wait for the next episode to come out since it was just too good.

The story starts off with some kind of reminiscence or stuff about MC with read more
Nov 9, 2017
wild842 (All reviews)
Preliminary
TLDR:
This anime is the most tasty garbage.
If you like to watch things like The Room, Birdemic, or Mayoiga you will have a great time watching this show! I recommend watching with friends for a good laugh! 8/10
If you don't get a laugh out of absurdly bad shows, leave now and never look back. Without ironic enjoyment, this show deserves a 4/10

FULL REVIEW:

STORY: 6/10
A high school class begins receiving text message commands, that if they disobey they die in a most gruesome manner. I'm talking screaming, exploding body parts, and projectile limbs. The story can be confusing at times, but for the most part its very read more
Dec 21, 2017
Twilight-Dweller (All reviews)
Ousama Game is undoubtedly among the worst pieces of Japanese media that has ever been produced and most definitely the worst anime I’ve had the experience of consuming. I’ve been seeing a lot of people saying that this anime has a good concept and is only hindered by poor directing but the slew of issues with this anime would lead me to believe that either what these people find interesting is the genre itself or they are just plain blind to the plethora of issues plaguing this production. Before you spend four and a half hours of your life watching this abomination for whatever reason read more
Dec 21, 2017
thepath (All reviews)
Preliminary
I personally found this anime very enjoyable. If you enjoy watching people brutally killed, suffer, break their fingers, forced to have sex, extreme drama and female character with evil/sadistic personality, then this is the right anime for you.

For me this anime proves that you don't always need those "well written anime" to enjoy it.

A lot of haters here are just judging anime based how well written the story and how much plot holes or because some character act stupidly in some situation. Those haters start analyzing the this anime as if it is Shakespeare story book or some kind of scientific journal. I don't read more
Nov 22, 2017
AlexTenshi (All reviews)
Preliminary
I dropped this series after four episodes, and if you watch the series, I hope you can see why.

This anime is a major insult to the horror anime genre. The concept of the story, a "king" assigning tasks or else face death sounds really good in theory, but in practice, is not the case. The story was executed so poorly, with so many plotholes appearing; it's just unbearable. All we see is just more boring content.

There are also way too many flashbacks. This anime is based off of the second manga, Ousama Game: Shuukyoku, however, literally splices half of the first manga into it. They read more
Nov 10, 2017
RMDragon (All reviews)
Preliminary
I never write reviews, but this is the worst anime I have ever seen and I believe that I should warn people not to watch it.

One of the problems it has is the fact that all of its characters are completely forgettable. I am on the 6th episode and lots of people have died. However, I could only tell you something about 2 or 3 of them.

Another problem is the fact that a lot of the characters die in the same or the next episode in which they are introduced (or get a bit of focus). This does not only mean that it is read more
Nov 12, 2017
Sinfulyte (All reviews)
Preliminary
This.. This animation is possibly one of the most horrendous things I've seen in a while. It surprises me to how it's even above a 5 on MAL, considering the disgusting amounts of tropes, and generic development, not to mention the completely mindless protagonist that just doesn't fit in the genre it's marketing. Watching the first couple episodes with friends, I've seen all I needed to decide that this is possibly one of the lowest of the low, during this season; hell, for the past 4-5 seasons. I'll summarize this piece at the bottom, and for those avid and mindful readers; I'll throw in a read more
Nov 6, 2017
10q (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is by far one of the stupidest and most awful shows I have ever had the pleasure of watching. I chose the word pleasure very deliberately, as Ousama Game is an absolute blast to watch and has reached the fine line between 2edgy4me and utter trash.

I love hating every aspect of this show. I want more. Go to your local waste disposal center and pick up a copy of the Ousama Game manga. Read it every day. Take in the trash. Let it become part of your daily routine. Read it on your bus ride to school. Read it at work. Stream the Ousama read more
Dec 7, 2017
OudaiS (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime makes mayoiga look like a good watch XD
The 1# worst anime on my lost by far , idk why my friends enjoyed watchig this sad excuse of an anime -_- , i guess it apeals for people who don't care about neither the characters or the story.
Now i only watched 6 episodes but I wad already at my limit and i only kept on going because i wanted to see if it could get any worse....and to no one's surprise it did.
Just save yourself the trouble of watching it.

On the other hand it provides some unintentional laughs and rhe characters die in pretty read more
Oct 28, 2017
orkuncan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let the master fodder this show in just 4 episode.

This fictional king is a crazy motherfucker who likes to see some highchooler cuckold action, you can just open your browser and view any hentai or adult movie to enjoy your fantasies and not use people as fun. You might say " Duh dis is just an anime, why are you writing about a character so much and judging that character so hard?". This character is created by creator of manga, to be honest this is the worst and most weird character i have seen on an fictional movie/TV show/anime/book. Thisi one has 0 good points read more
Oct 27, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
Preliminary
The king's game is a game played with people pick numbers at random and a king calls upon whatever number you get. the number called has to do what they are told. In this anime if you fail to complete an order you die. This would work if the writing wasn't complete garbage. First, we have two games going on at one time. Well, a past game and the current one. So we have double dose of rape and betrayal. Once again this sounds like a good show although it isn't. They try to make us care about characters in a span of episode of read more
May 13, 2018
JLaxius (All reviews)
If there existed such thing as an anime definiton of "dreadful/pathetic", it's Ousama Game. No need to write a detailed review.

The only SOMEWHAT mediocre part of this anime is the "story" and they managed to make it incredibly unappealing the longer it went on. However if you came here expecting to find some answers to this thing's "story", you're in tough luck. You aren't getting them. Because they were never given...

The animation was so poor that sometimes you could actually count frames. Horrendous art style that sorely lacked detail. Some sound effects were okay-ish but I can't remember ANY tune from the OST. They're that read more